Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Van Subaru

Kansas City, MO

2.6
63 Reviews

90 NW Vivion Rd

Kansas City, MO

64118

Directions

63 Reviews of Van Subaru

Sort by
July 28, 2021

"Terrible customer service. After spending over $1200 in..."

- denneyhunter

Terrible customer service. After spending over $1200 in service they ordered a part for me, simple side mirror back. I never received a call the part was in. A couple months went by and I called to confirm they had the part, a month later I scheduled time for the part to be installed. When I got there they sent the part back because they only hold them 30 days. I was treated terrible and they acted like I should have known this policy. There was no phone call telling me they part was going to be sent back. There was never an apology or acknowledgment of the situation, just a rude customer service rep!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Preston Copeland
1.0
Homer Wallace
1.0
Marcus West
1.0
July 23, 2021

"Had a great experience at Van Subaru. My salesman, Johnny..."

- doug64870

Had a great experience at Van Subaru. My salesman, Johnny Wickwire, did a great job, not over bearing, give me all the answers I needed to make my choice in the right vehicle for me. When I arrived, he had things ready to roll, and made it a quick in and out experience. Highly recommend the dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
John Wickwire
5.0
Jul 27, 2021 -

Van Subaru responded

Thank you so much for the outstanding review and recommendation! Our team truly enjoyed having you here, and we hope to see you again.

November 20, 2020

"Preface - this is the first review I have EVER written..."

- Sheep or Customer

Preface - this is the first review I have EVER written for (or against) anything! The single star is only due to the excellent job of the sales staff, and the excellent maintenance quality performed previously. I have no issues with the quality of the maintenance performed, or the reliability of the Outback we own. To the issue at hand. Disappointed in the Service Department customer counter interaction is the worst me or my wife, ever have experienced. Whether me or my wife are off base or not, the service department rep should be professional, reasonably respectful, and forthright suggesting maintenance repairs. Service Rep interaction failed in all areas. High Pressure, deflection, intimidation, are standard practice experiences through more than one visit. Typical example - fluid maintenance change is introduced as first fowled dirty, when asked how this happens in a 2018 Outback with 30K, then not debris - over heat break down due to driven conditions, then next - it's a normal maintenance interval to perform every 30K. Told metal shavings found in the brake fluid. Asked a question regarding whether the warranty is active, answer - I'm only helping out the guy handling this service? For what was an appointment for oil and tire rotation became a service maintenance invoice over $1000.00. My wife declined various tasks and after an agreed discount escaped under $700.00. After 3 hours the exit interview got worse. Another counter rep intervened after my wife made several request for her keys. Side Note - My wife is disabled and I work out a town. Wanna bet whether we'll be back there or not? I’m not paid to be part of the service rep BETA team.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
This is a Staff Problem
Nov 24, 2020 -

Van Subaru responded

We are glad to hear you had a great experience with our sales staff, but we are disappointed to learn about your visit with the service department. Thank you for bringing the situation to our attention. We will address these issues with our team and invite you to contact Blake Fanning at 816-527-8564 so we can do what we can to make things right. Thank you.

May 13, 2020

"I am gave the poor rating...."

- oheeee

Due the the poor management team. Call for an appointment, before I knew it I had two appointments. The new car sales manager call me wondering what he could to to purchase a new car from Van. WHAT, told him all I wanted to do is have an oil change and a hitch installed, why in the world would I want another new vehicle. Continued to receive multiple appointment notices, finally I was called by the service department curious why I had two service times, all I could say was you made it for me. Take the car in for my service and was told it may not be done the same day......What is the appointment for? Yes, I received a call telling me the service would not be competed the same day. A bit later I called told them to do the oil change and tire rotation an I will spend my money elsewhere. Five minutes later I get a call back telling me it will be completed that day. Pick up our vehicle and have bird poop all over and of course the car was never detailed, I was told they do not have the employees to detail the cars. After talking to a couple of "suites", I was convinced they should be fired and hire the employees back. I could go on forever. My sales person was worthless, he buried his head like a frightened turtle. The general manager offed me a free car wash, sure I will drive an hour round trip for a car wash that should have happened that day. Even more impressive is he offered a valet service next time I need service, so generous, of course I am going to let a complete stranger pick up my car and drive it around. This is what the GM of Van thinks of quality customer service. My first service experience at VAN.....Fire the "suites" and hire back the hard working employees. PS: I asked if they would let a new car off the lot with bird poop all over it?

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Marvin Powers
1.0
Other Employees : Sean, sales manger, his rating would be below 1. Kyle, Chris in service, quality quality gentlemen.
November 21, 2019

"Wanted me to pay for their mistake"

- brad

Took my Legacy in for the airbag recall. Got it back with the AIRBAG light lit. Took it back in and was told that it was a pre-existing problem (it wasn't), not related to the work they had done and that they'd be "happy" to quote me a price for the repair. Their guy Preston was pretty smug about it. Turns out the technician had forgotten to plug part of the wiring harness back in. Van wasn't willing to own up to their mistake, but would be happy to charge me to get recall work done right.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Preston Copeland
1.0
August 27, 2019

"Unhappy with poor service, hidden charges, long wait time."

- happyoutbackowner2015

I live in SC but needed an oil change/tire rotation in Kansas City. I scheduled an appointment for Sat. morning. The check-in went fine. When I got my car back 2 1/2 hrs. later, the charge was more than $107, and they wanted to do another $160 in "repairs", which I refused. They charged me for fuel treatment and oil conditioner, both of which I was never informed about nor given the chance to refuse prior to service. They also charged me for 6 qts. of oil, when my vehicle only holds 5. Then they added the oil conditioner, which made the oil level way above the 'full' mark. When I checked under the hood before leaving the dealership, I saw that the housing where the oil filter sits had not been wiped clean prior to installing the new filter. When I returned the next Mon. to meet with the Service Manager, he talked a good talk, but it sounded like just a load of BS.The work order said the lug nuts would be torqued to 100 ft. lbs. The Subaru specs call for 89 ft. lbs. for my vehicle. That was blamed on "computer error". same with the 6 qts. of oil. Until management starts training their service people better, don't expect anything better. Go somewhere else.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John Wickwire
5.0
Other Employees : Tyler Stout
July 30, 2019

"Don't buy from this dealership"

- Unhappy

I made an appointment to see about purchasing a new 2020 Ascent Subaru. I expected much more than I got. The first thing I was asked was what color I wanted and what color interior. I told the salesman and he said they did not have it in stock. First of all, I have never ever test driven a Subaru. I don't know whether I would like how it handles. I was never offered a test drive. They did bring up a different color of the Ascent for me to look at the inside but when I asked questions about different buttons inside I was told that after I made my purchase a tech guy would go over all of that with me. They assumed they had a guaranteed sale. After getting a price I wanted for the car I had planned on purchasing, I was told I was done. Salesman said "You can leave now." After thinking about it over night about how I was treated I changed my mind and decided I would never buy from them.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ron Smith
1.0
Marcus West
1.0
July 18, 2019

"Pretty miserable waits"

- unhappy

This place has the most cramped, unfriendly customer area I've seen in years. (For a refreshing change, try Tiffany Springs Honda, fish tank and all.) There are two small waiting areas, and both have TVs blaring awful daytime women's "talk" stuff. There isn't a place to escape it. Why not one little quiet TV free area? Why not some space instead of cramming everybody together? If they are to offer coffee, how about making the coffeemaker functional? This has grown to be a bigger issue as wait times have gotten longer. Now it is a couple of hours for an oil change service, so often the waiting areas are really too full. The staff are always courteous and the actual maintenance and repair services are as good as ever. (Caveat: my car is now in for repair. Day and a half, no word from the shop yet.) Meanwhile, a lot of sales people around. You can buy a car in minutes.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Not a chance
July 02, 2019

"WORST SERVICE EVER!"

- ANGRY Subaru Owner

DO NOT TAKE YOUR CAR TO THESE GUYS TO GET FIXED, OR PERFORM ANY RECALL ITEMS!!!!!! I NEVER had trouble with my Subaru UNTIL I took it to these sheisters! I live 1 1/2 hours from them in the country. I had a recall on my passenger seat airbag. I took it to them to get it fixed. As soon as I pulled out of the parking lot, my car began acting very different! I called them and they said it would have had nothing to do with the recall they fixed - even though they told me they had to TAKE THE ENTIRE FRONT DASHBOARD OFF TO FIX THE AIRBAG. I reluctantly drove home. After getting the worst gas mileage I’ve ever gotten and then having the entire eyesight system freeze up and then the parking brake refusing to disengage, I called them back to tell them that ever since they touched my car it has been terrible and now I was stranded!!! The guy on the phone was condescending and told me too bad. The problems I was having had nothing to do with the recall so I was out of luck. Told me to tow my car back to them the 1 1/2 hours and they would give me a BID ON HOW MUCH TO FIX THE PROBLEMS THEY CREATED!!!!!!!!! I asked him for suggestions on how to reset the eyesight system and he told me no. Basically, too bad!!!! I have maintained my car according to manufacture schedule, never let an oil change be overdue and for 122,000 miles I HAVE NEVER HAD ONE PROBLEM WITH MY OUTBACK until after they touched it!!!!!! In fact, I had the oil changed and the tires rotated a couple of days before I took it in on the recall. The mechanic told me that my car was in pristine shape and should be good for another 100.000 miles!!!!!! SO, SO SORRY I TOOK IT TO THESE GUYS!!!!!!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Preston Copeland
Lisa VanValkenberg
Homer Wallace
Marcus West
Shannon Young
May 02, 2019

"Service Appt for Replacement of Passenger Side Airbag"

- 'waltkcmo

Scheduled an afternoon appointment to get air bag replaced which was under recall. Said it would take 3 hours, and that I could wait. Brought car in, said they had several other cars ahead of me and that I would have to leave it overnight. The Svc Manager did NOT call to indicate this change, nor did he offer a loaner car, I ended up rescheduling for another day a week later, and this time dropped the car off in the morning and picked it up in the evening. Not even an apology for the inconvenience. My next car service will not be performed by this Van dealership!

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Preston Copeland
1.0
1
...
1 - 10 of 63 results