Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Volkswagen of Akron

Akron, OH

3.5
313 Reviews

447 West Exchange Street

Akron, OH

44320

Directions

313 Reviews of Volkswagen of Akron

Sort by
May 21, 2021

"I went down on a Wednesday to have them look at a scratch..."

- Cronickmarilyn

I went down on a Wednesday to have them look at a scratch on my car and was told it could probably be buffed out so made an appointment for 9 o’clock first thing on Thursday. I bought the car in March only had 450 miles on it. We brought it down exactly 9 o’clock he said it would be done around one plus there was an update to do; I called them at 2 o’clock was not done yet. We got there around 2:30 he went and checked on my car said it would not be done because they just painted it and they had not even done the update! It had been there six hours and nothing was done. 15 minutes later he brings my car out says they really can’t do much with the scratch I need to go somewhere to have them put clearcoat on it I thought they were a body shop. In fact they corrected a scrape that was there when I received my car so now that can’t do a clear coat?? I will never go down to the dealership again

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Don’t know names
March 04, 2021

"I live in Pittsburgh PA. I have been looking for a Jetta..."

- ajpalmieri

I live in Pittsburgh PA. I have been looking for a Jetta for a few months now, so I decided to take a trip to Akron to test drive a 2013 Jetta GLI – 6 speed manual. During the drive all seemed fine. The staff at your facility mentioned that the car is in great shape and has been through a rigorous pre-sale inspection before the car can be sold. So, with the reassurance from your staff I decided to purchase the car (11/25/20). While finalizing the paperwork I asked the financial advisor where the 2nd key to the car was. He mentioned that they have several garages/locations and that he would try to locate it and send it to me in the mail. A few days went by and I never heard back so, I called and they could not find the 2nd key. I asked him what the next steps would be to get a new one sent to me and he mentioned that he could get one, but it would be at cost to me - cost = $135.00 + programming. Three days later (11/28/20) the clutch went in the Jetta. I was driving along a highway and went to shift the car it started slipping and then the clutch pedal went to the floor. I had the clutch repaired at the local VW dealer for $1950. The VW dealer here in Pittsburgh mentioned this should have been caught by the pre-sale inspection. I understand this is a wearable part but it was not identified during the pre-inspection. I called AJ B. he mentioned this was not covered by the 30 day dealer warranty that provided with the car. This is hard to believe as I only owned the car at this point for 3 days. A week later, I was driving the car to work and noticed that the car was getting louder as I drove. When I got to work, I noticed that the rear muffler of the car was hanging down. After further inspection I found a “COAT HANGER” trying to hold up the back of the exhaust system with a significant section rotted away. I have attached the pictures. Certainly, you can imagine my disappointment and concern with this car. I feel like a bought a lemon. Did it go through your pre-sale inspection? Is this car safe for my family to drive? If the clutch would have gone 6 months from now, I can understand that, but the COAT HANGER? How do you explain this? How does that pass the Volkswagen of Akron’s pre-sale inspection? Wonder what a Pennsylvania inspection is going to find? I recently had a conversation and several email exchanges regarding my issues with Rob Franks. He mentioned he didn’t think the muffler was like this when the car was sold and that it was not in the pre-sale inspection video. As you can see from the attached photos the muffler has been in this condition for a long time. Rob also mentioned that he would cover the key and programming. The local dealer reached out to Rob on 1/7/21 via email and Rob mentioned he would overnight a check. The local dealership (Three Rivers Volkswagen) has still not received the check. It was supposed to be there no later than 1/9/21. I have now left 3 voicemail and sent several emails to Rob over the past 2 week and I have not heard back from him. I have also left 3 voicemails for the General manager and sent several emails to the owner and President. I have heard nothing back. Buyer BEWARE here!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Matt Bartholomew
December 21, 2020

"This is the 3rd time I’ve bought a car from Tom Hoza...."

- CRF086

This is the 3rd time I’ve bought a car from Tom Hoza. He’s easily the kindest, most caring & genuine person. So pleasant to work with, knowledgeable & trustworthy. He always goes above & beyond, & I will continue to be a customer as long as he’s here. Best salesman to work with, would recommend to everyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tom Hoza
5.0
November 30, 2020

"The people are friendly I will give them that, but my..."

- forster.patience

The people are friendly I will give them that, but my experience is horrible. They take advantage of women and think they do not know anything. I went in for tire change, rotation and alignment. They failed to call me and tell me I couldn’t receive the rotation, and STILL performed and CHARGED ME for an alignment. Knowing xxxx well they should have called and let me know so then I could have made my decision but instead they took my money and didn’t even perform the full job and gave me NO refund. I would never recommend this VW location for work on your car unless you no exactly what you want

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
October 14, 2020

"ok....thought going to VW was a good move. 1st, we..."

- kimleeser

ok....thought going to VW was a good move. 1st, we completed everything online for an appointment. It was confirmed. Show up the next day and no one has any idea. So we find the car and the PROCESS takes forever. Mind you we were cash buyers...so less profit for them. Bought a 2018 27k cost Tiguan with low miles that the car fax says 4Motion and the sales rep agrees....it was not. I have the carfax misstating what we bought. We drive on. Pay them and in one week need 2 tires replaced (on the lot like this with a nail or something in it). Went back yesterday due to rattling that happens when you are not ever driving and they tell me I need a alignment for $700. The tires cost 350 plus as there was a nail in one on the lot (we did not know). So so far they want an additional 1k plus on a car we bought less than a thousand miles ago. I have never had a worse experience. They said in a post below they would reach out...they did. They said the sales side would not offer anything...not a oil change or anything. I WOULD NEVER BUY A CAR FROM THEM AGAIN. Nor will they service our 2 VW's ever again. I will cover the carfax being wrong later. I am disgusted they would put out a 27k with low miles and then say hey lets service it to make it decent. I never experienced such horrible service in my life. Next is the BBB. This is the most I spent on a car in my 40 year life and also the worst experience. Akron VW needs to change their ways asap. Calling VW corp next and BBB report. That is the start. I got a lemon and I am NOT LETTING THIS GO!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Management
October 10, 2020

"Great experience. Tom was knowledgeable and offered a no..."

- SAJ

Great experience. Tom was knowledgeable and offered a no hassle car buying experience. The staff was able to answer any questions I had. I Would highly recommend this dealership to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tom Hoza
5.0
July 14, 2020

"Amazing car buying experience!! Tom is exceptionally..."

- christieluv

Amazing car buying experience!! Tom is exceptionally awesome.It took me 45 days to decide if I wanted to purchase a new VW. I was never hassled nor did i feel rushed. Tom demonstrated A+ salesman etiquette....kind, thorough, extremely knowledgeable about all features and functions of the vehicle that I showed interest for and he made me feel appreciated. Everyone I came into contact with (Jay,Matt & Chris)were upbeat and exceptionally friendly. I would highly recommend this dealership!

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tom Hoza
5.0
Other Employees : Jay and Matt
May 23, 2020

"DONT GO HERE! They robbed me of $822 only changed a dpeed..."

- Not satisfied

DONT GO HERE! They robbed me of $822 only changed a dpeed sensor. The man at the desk was very rude and annoyed I had questions. If you get work done that includes a multipoint inspection you shouldn't have to pay $129 for another inspection JUST for you to tell me my spring on my strut was broken. All I was wondering was what was found on the first inspection.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
David Mitchell
1.0
March 08, 2020

"I purchased a Volkswagen Jetta from them with zero..."

- Zdking0924

I purchased a Volkswagen Jetta from them with zero hassle. No pushy sales...no stuffy uncomfortable situations. Ive been at some terrible dealerships. I actually hate dealers all together..except Vw of Akron. TOM is the best sales guy in the business period..and James is the only sales manager I will ever deal with again. I have had limited contact with the service dept but I trust they are as honest and thorough as the rest of the place. AJ was easy to deal with in person although my emails after the fact went unanswered..but I was able to get the answers I needed from everyone else available . They held up every end of the deal we discussed..try getting that somewhere else...its not going to happen. If you dont buy from Vw of Akron..especially if your buying a VW...then your not getting the best deal. Thats how I feel about them 10 stars. If you know the typical dealer let downs then you will appreciate the honest business done at VW of Akron. Thanks guys.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tom Hoza
5.0
Other Employees : James
March 03, 2020

"Absolutely wonderful buying experience! A great team of..."

- A.Nicholson

Absolutely wonderful buying experience! A great team of professionals! Everyone we had contact with were kind, courteous and knew their job well. Thank you Matt Barthalomew, Chris Dawson, AJ Borisa, Cody and the entire staff for making our experience memorable and fun! We appreciate all of you!

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Barthalomew, Chris Dawson, AJ Borisa
1
...
1 - 10 of 313 results