Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Wilkins Subaru

3.7

92 Lifetime Reviews

6917 Ritchie Highway, Glen Burnie, Maryland 21061 Directions
Sales: (410) 376-8487

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

92 Reviews of Wilkins Subaru

Sort by Write a review
January 14, 2019

"Came in for a test drive..."

- Tae

Was quickly browsing at their website and left my contact information a few minutes before I was getting ready to go to another dealership of different make and model. I didn't pick up the call. Debbie texted me within minutes. I provided what I was looking for and explained my situation. She came up with the out-the-door price that was satisfactory. I texted back stating I will come in for a test drive only and will not make decision that night. She understood. I came in for a test drive a 2018 Subaru BRZ Limited. Wasn't too thrilled about the white exterior color. Debbie introduced me to Dennis and we went for a quick test drive. Even though I made it clear to them I am only going for a test drive, Dennis didn't mind nor pressured me to buy. (Loved the car after the test drive!) Funny thing is that we shook hands within the first hour of my arrival at the dealership! We had a few challenges along the way. Trade value, DC resident tax issue, recall on the vehicle, etc... And each time, I was in a dilema and hesitated. And each time, Dennis, sales manager and the general manager came out smoothed things out very casually and cool headed. I left that night excited but disappointed that I couldn't take delivery of the car. I was promised that as soon as the car is ready, Dennis will call me and deliver the car to me in Washington DC (that's about 47 miles, minimum one hour to two hours depending on traffic). I got the message early next morning the car was ready for delivery and Dennis asked when would be a good time. I offered to stop by the dealership instead. I came in and the car was ready with a full tank of gas. Eric at the finance office quickly and efficiently processed my paperwork and didn't try to bash me over the head about warranties or after market product like other dealerships. I rarely write reviews but when there's a need to let others know of good place to eat or do business with, I make sure I let my friends and families know. I would highly recommend this dealership and the team of people working there for your next car or just a test drive. :) Happy customer from DC

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dennis and Debbie
October 27, 2018

"2018 Forester"

- Joanne

We had a great experience buying our car at Wilkins. Debbie, Ramesh and Mike were super helpful. Debbie was very accommodating, emailing pricing on different cars that we were considering. There were no surprises from online pricing to showroom. She greeted us upon arrival and arranged our test drives with Mike. After a barrage of our questions and a few loops with different cars, Mike escorted us back to the office. Debbie and Ramesh worked with us to get the tech options we wanted at a good price. It was a pleasure to buy our car from them. They earned our business.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Debbie, Ramesh, Mike
August 03, 2018

"Terrific dealership"

- Annie75

Unfortunately I purchased my Subaru from another dealership and quickly realized it was not at all “for” the customer once they made the sale. I decided to go to Wilkins Subaru and thankfully I did. Their service and their care about a customer is truly the Best. They can be so busy but will always always have the time and concern for each customer. I have stopped by to simply Inquire about my car. Someone will be available to answer that questions. The employees are fantastic and knowledgeable. The concierge, Mr. Jacobs, does an outstanding job.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Uncertain
May 28, 2018

"Car Buying Experience"

- SubaruForesterdriver

My wife and I are longtime customers (since 2013). In May 2018, we decided to trade in our Subaru Forester due to engine problems caused by the service technicians at Wilkins Subaru. We got our vehicle appraised beforehand at Carmax and received a 9500 dollar trade in value. After speaking with Joe Landi, he explained that the vehicle trade in was worth 8100. We did not expect such sleazy car salesman like tactics from Wilkins. We have been customers since 2013, and also bought a new Crosstrek in 2016 and expected a fair value. The employees at Wilkins and especially Joe Landi do not care about long term customer loyalty or satisfaction. The manager Allison also called my phone over our lunch break to harass us about coming back to purchase the vehicle. Allison explained that a Mr. or Mrs. Wilkins' brother wanted to purchase the car but that they would hold it for us. These dishonest tactics have degraded all trust and loyalty. I will never go back to Wilkins due to poor service on our vehicles, terrible car buying experience, and dishonest negotiations and tactics.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joe Landi and Allison
September 23, 2017

"Questionable bait and switch"

- Subbiegirl

Found an amazing price online for an outback. When I called, I found out it was an error but the good news is that the price would be honored for 24 hours. The bad news.....it wasn't. I was told t h e price had changed but I could still drive there and get a really good deal. I went elsewhere. Buyer beware!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Don
August 19, 2017

"Very pleasant experience "

- Buddy

I purchased a new 2017 Subaru Outback the other day. The staff was extremely pleasant and courteous. Our experience was stress free and eceeded our expectations. I would strongly recommend Wilkins Subaru as well as our salesman, Rob Reisman.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rob Reisman
September 08, 2016

"NEVER AGAIN. PARTS RUNS LIKE A RUSTY 60 YEAR OLD MACHINE"

- Wilson123

I called in for some parts I needed for a customer at the shop I'm currently employed at. I simply ordered, one Rear Main Seal and six Exhaust Studs. Should be easy, or so I thought. Roger told me that it would take nearly a week to be delivered. I completely understood and agree with that for the reason of it being Labor Day weekend. Well, Wednesday came around, I called in to see if the parts arrived. They told that they did in fact come in, but could not be delivered today or tomorrow because their driver was sick; why a dealership only has ONE driver is beyond me. I accepted it and drove there to pick them up to reduce anymore hassle. Parts "MANAGER", Roger, greeted me with a seemingly annoyed face as he slowly dragged himself off his slumped over chair when I approached the desk. I politely informed him I was from Ace Motor Group and that I was there to pick up the parts. I waited for fifth teen minutes until he returned with just the Rear Main Seal and the same annoyed face. He said he believed that someone misplaced the studs because they were in the system. He left for another fifth teen minutes. He returned saying that the employee that stocked everything was out for the day so he would give us a ring the next day when they found it. Now a little disappointed but understanding, I agreed and bought the seal. I did not receive a call in the morning, so I called back with hope of the studs being found. My hope, however, was crushed when Roger told me that they did not find them and that he would have to order it for the delivery once again. My customer was under the impression that it would done today. To make it worst, Roger gave no regard, let alone an apology, to the drawback and disadvantage his mistake caused my shop and my customer. So when I informed him of his mistake over the phone, he being offended and augured that "things like this happen" Which is one hundred percent true, HOWEVER, you own up to your mistakes and apologize, not coward behind excuses like a ten year old boy. He then proceeded to tell me to "Go to Annapolis or Catonsville so they can deal with you". Is this how Subaru's managers treat every customer after their own mistake? Wilkins is officially off of my list for parts and my future purchase of a WRX. Annapolis kindly and happily got me the parts the same day and offered to deliver to us the same day. They saved the day with their customer service. Wilkins, however, is a sad excuse for a Dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Parts Manager, Roger.
August 09, 2016

"Took a month and my car is still not right"

- puzzlebobble

Wilkins Subaru has been one of the worst service experiences I have ever had with any car I have ever owned. On 6/2, while driving to work my Subaru developed a knock. I parked and then had the car towed to Wilkins Subaru on 6/3 where I was given a Jeep Compass loaner while they investigated if my car was covered under warranty (it was). My service advisor Miguel only contacted me once to inform me that I needed to fax him any receipts for maintenance on the car to help with the Subaru warranty process. Everything was going pretty normal until this point. After that a few days went by and I had to call to inquire about my car when Miguel informed me that my car wasn't even looked at yet. This was almost a week at this point where my car was just sitting at the service center. When a tech was finally free to diagnose the car, engine knock, they then ordered the appropriate replacement parts to replace the short block, turbo, and heads. I was never called once to be informed of any of this and never given any updates willingly, I always initiated the call and had to pry the information out of the service manager available. I contacted Subaru Of America to advise them of my situation and they then opened a case for me and contacted the dealership on my behalf. I then received one phone call update from Wilkins telling me the parts were ordered after SOA threatened them to do so. The parts arrived at Wilkins where my car was waiting for a tech to build the engine, but I wouldn't know as they never called me to inform me of any of this. Two and a half weeks later, after multiple delays, broken promised delivery dates, and multiple calls from myself and Subaru my car was finally rebuilt. I go to pick the car up (6/22) and Miguel is nowhere to be found and the person in charge just gave me a print out, keys, and tried to send me out the door. I was finally happy to have my car back and put the nightmare of Wilkins behind me or so I thought. On the drive home the car was extremely sluggish, almost no acceleration, and there was little wisps of smoke coming out of the hood. As far as the smoke, I think "New engine, oil on it, probably just burning off a random spill", I was wrong. I took the car to work that evening and on the drive home at around 8am the car had smoke coming out of the hood. I was able to make it home only to have oil spilling all over my driveway. I had to have the car towed in again (6/23) to be informed that they installed an oil seal without a spring so instead of sealing oil into the engine it just let it spray out all over my driveway (an issue that still has not been addressed). They gave me another loaner and that Monday I was able to pick up my "fixed" car (6/27). I have my car back and it is still not right after almost a solid month of it being at Wilkins. They refused to even acknowledge they did anything wrong until I had at least 1000 miles to break in my engine. I have opened a case up with SOA and they will be contacting Wilkins from now on. SOA is having me take my sti to another service center as they don't want to have to deal with Wilkins screwing up again. I would never take my car to Wilkins again as it was an absolute service nightmare and my car STILL ISN'T REPAIRED. Just to summarize: It took Wilkins almost a month to replace my engine, they never once called me to give me an update it was always myself calling or SOA calling them and telling them to call me, after the "repaired" engine dumped oil on my driveway my car had to be towed back to Wilkins to be repaired yet again, the "repaired" car is now a shadow of it's former self with lethargic engine and spongy clutch. Hopefully SOA will take care of this as they don't want Wilkins anywhere near this. Bottom line, don't ever go here for anything. **UPDATE** About a day after posting this review Robert Okopal, Wilkins Service Director, contacted me to get more info on my story. I gave him the run down and he offered to have me bring my sti back to Wilkins to have it looked at, but he made it very clear that they would only look at it with "real world machines" and if it tested factory they would give it right back to me as they wouldn't keep looking for problems based on me "having a feeling something isn't right". I told him I would consider it and left it at that. After that conversation I called and scheduled an appointment at Herb Gordon Subaru in Silver Spring as I did not feel confident in Wilkins being able to quality check their own work. There I dealt with Bob Thompson who listened to all my car concerns (rubber coupler damaged, engine was sluggish/underpowered, and the clutch was slipping) and told me that his techs would test to see if my car met factory specifications and then we would go from there. The next day, after checking my car, Bob called me to tell me they were going to replace the rubber coupler between the top mount intercooler and throttle body and that the car tested to factory specs. I was glad that they would replace the coupler, but was very disappointed that my car tested to factory specs (making me feel like I was crazy). I told him that was weird as the car still did not feel right, he told me that they were going to physically inspect the car as well to make sure everything was working as it should be. Bob called me the next day with a list of problems that the techs found with my car, which explained the problems I was having with the car. Those problems are as follows: boot between intercooler and throttle body splitting, boot from turbo to intercooler damaged and clamp faulty, clutch slave cylinder hose misrouted and kinked, one starter bolt falling out, and other assorted loose bolts that need to be re-tightened to spec. ALL OF THESE PROBLEMS WERE CAUSED BY WILKINS during the engine rebuild. The 2 air leaks made the car feel sluggish/under powered, the slave hose kink made the clutch feel like it was slipping, I didn't even know about the starter bolt pretty much falling out, and all the other random bolts that just weren't tightened and slowly working their way out to cause problems down the road. Herb Gordon techs were able to find all of these problems, get the ok from SOA to repair warranty work, and have my car back to me in a week (the majority of the time was spent getting the parts shipped). Now my car is back to, what I can feel as, normal!! FINALLY! Herb Gordon saved me a lot of headaches and Bob kept me updated almost daily on the status of my car. Hopefully my ordeal is finally over as the techs at Herb Gordon didn't have the time to disassemble the entire engine to make sure it was to spec. I can only hope that was all that was wrong with the car. In conclusion, Wilkins screwed up my engine rebuild and Herb Gordon Subaru corrected all the problems they could find without tearing the car apart. I would never want to deal with Wilkins nor recommend them to anyone, Herb Gordon Subaru all the way!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Miguel Gochez, Robert Okopal (Service Director)
July 10, 2016

"Wilkin's Subaru"

- rcalimon

Shortest car buying experience with ever had. They gave us the best deal for the new car. They even delivered the car to my house. I would definitely recommend this dealer to friends and family.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dennis Sanoske
June 26, 2016

"They are very rude and thiefs"

- Anil Prasad

Very rude sales people. They act like they are doing you a favor by selling you a subaru. Subaru sells itself but does not mean you can be rude to customers who come in to buy a car. I am going to Annapolis Subaru. First of all they try to lowball you on the trade and then they are rude when trying to sell you the new car. Stay away from Wilkins Subaru.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joe Landi
1
...
1 - 10 of 92 results