Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
Start your review of John Prattes.
John Prattes
John Prattes at Nalley Volkswagen
Refer Me
3.8

John Prattes

General Manager

Nalley Volkswagen

1550 Mansell Rd
Alpharetta, GA 30009

Contact Me

I am a native of Atlanta and understand the culture of the South. I have been in the Automobile business for 37 years at high volume franchises. I instill an ethical and transparent culture in the dealership that creates a customer service attitude that makes us different from the old stereotypical dealers. I make customers for life not just to get the one time sale.

Dealership Experience

5 yrs, 10 mos

Industry Experience

38 yrs, 6 mos

19 Reviews of John Prattes

January 12, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"My wife and I each purchased cars from Nalley VW. Both..."

- Nick Lanphier

My wife and I each purchased cars from Nalley VW. Both purchases were the best car buying experiences we have ever had! Thank you Nalley!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Jerry Mccoy, Craig Camay

Jan 13, 2021

Nalley Volkswagen responded

We really appreciate this positive review! Thanks so much!

June 27, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"I purchased a vehicle (Fiat 500X) last Friday from this..."

- soconno50

I purchased a vehicle (Fiat 500X) last Friday from this dealership - it was a used vehicle (still a paying customer and should be treated as such). I test drove the car, everything seemed fine; I proceed with the purchase - the salesman Serge was great! Then I'm taken to the finance manager's office where I'm told repeatedly that the car I'm purchasing no longer carries a manufacturer's warranty (also stated on the buyer's guide on the vehicle) and that because Fiat is owned by BMW they can be expensive to maintain (Fiat is owned by Chrysler - nice try). Knowing that Fiats have transmission issues - I proceed with purchasing another warranty anyway. When get the vehicle home, I notice a noise coming from the front end, barely any gas was out in the vehicle and I notice that the interior was not cleaned (crusty something on the passenger seat, food crumbs still in cup holders, garbage in the center console and the previous owner's Florida "Fast Pass" still stuck to the windshield). I text my salesman about it And he's asks me to bring it in when I am available next and he would schedule me an appointment. This is where it starts to go south. I take the car in on my next day off at the agreed upon time, only to have the Service counter advise me that I did not have an appointment, and that they don't service Fiats there. Literally verbatim out of someone's mouth was "They we're supposed to tell you about this..." They knew there was an issue and did not disclose it, thank god it was a recall. I called the Fiat dealership and scheduled an appointment. I speak with my Salesman and express my frustration for time wasted and he told me that they were going to take my car to Fiat for me and give me a loaner, but since I had already scheduled an appointment myself, I needed to take it in myself. When I called back to express my concerns with my experience, it took that sales manager 5 hours to return my call, and when he did, he had the service manager with him literally screaming into the phone and talking over me. Because they were unwilling to do anything to fix the HORRID experience that I had - I was left no choice but to report this dealership to the Federal Trade Commission. Never buy a car from Nalley dealerships. They will lie to you til the cows come home - to your face, on your buyer's guide whatever just to make a sale). Absolute garbage humans. I was truly hoping that the reviews people left were wrong, but most of them are 1000% accurate and if you read one that says that had a good experience, they have to be on drugs or delusional OR they have to be working for Nalley. There's no way anyone has had or will have a good experience here. I have never dealt with anyone as incompetent and unprofessional as this dealership. If you even think about going to Nalley VW of Alpharetta, try smashing your face against the concrete first, it may 1) give you a good understanding of what your in for and 2) knock some sense into you before you waste countless hours of your valuable time.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Aug 20, 2020

Nalley Volkswagen responded

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. Please reach out to me at (770) 629-9081 so we may assist you in moving forward towards a resolution. John Prattes, General Manager

February 29, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Silvia was wonderful. She got us out dream new car. We..."

- Sam

Silvia was wonderful. She got us out dream new car. We are so happy with our 2020 Tiguan! This is our 3rd lease with Silvia and she is the only one we will work with!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Silvia Egan , Ray was wonderful also. We were out of the finance department in no time!

Mar 12, 2020

Nalley Volkswagen responded

Sam, we are glad you enjoyed your customer experience with us, which led to this great rating! Please don't hesitate to reach out if we can assist you further.

January 28, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"What started with a bad experience was ultimately made right"

- Merry.akabua

Updating my original review to 4 stars: after significant pursuit of a satisfactory resolution, the corporation responded and made this purchase and experience altogether better. I can now say with confidence, that despite some initial poor handling at the dealership level, Asbury Automotive Group stands behind their vehicles and more importantly, behind their mission statement and made me feel like a valued customer. I sincerely appreciate their efforts in coming to this resolution! __________________________________________________________________________ As a personal code of ethics, I like to try to give the business an opportunity to right their wrong before leaving a public review. Unfortunately, we gave Nalley VW a week’s worth of opportunities to do right by us and left today after a half hour meeting with the GM with nothing more than an apology. The new car experience and excitement was taken away from us and on top of that, we now have a repaired vehicle rather than the new vehicle we purchased. If you’re thinking of giving this dealership your business, then buckle your seat belt (hopefully it’s not a VW seatbelt) and listen to the tale of the hellacious first week of owning a new car from Nalley VW. I bought a top of the line Atlas on 1/21. I test drove and purchased the car at night and didn’t notice the scratch all the way across the mirror. I should’ve never driven the car home. Upon arriving home with said new car, the odometer stated that the car had almost 100 more miles than the paperwork stated (the GM would later offer me 20 cents per mile reimbursement stating that as industry standard. Better check with the IRS on that one). I returned 2 days later for installation of upgraded wheels I had purchased and was told this would be a 45 min appt. 6 hours later, I’m leaving the dealership. But wait! The remote start button doesn’t work. Back to service it goes. As I pull off the lot, I notice a gash in the leather steering wheel and immediately return to show them that they’ve damaged the car. As I wait, I hear them arguing over which department’s budget will cover the cost of this damage. No one will call the GM as I’m told he leaves at 5 pm every day and I’m sent home in tears with a damaged steering wheel on my “brand new” car. I sent the GM an email that night and receive a response in the morning full of apologies and remedies so it won’t happen to others. On Friday (after purchasing the car on Tuesday, bringing it in for wheels and paint repair and a fix for the remote start on Thursday), the tire pressure light comes on. Saturday the check engine light comes on. I contact the GM and they offer us a loaner until they can fix my “new” car. Today, exactly a week after purchasing a new car, my husband and I went in to discuss what our options are with the GM. My car buying experience was ruined, my new car is no longer new, and it has depreciated significantly because of the damage and having more miles on it than their paperwork stated. John Prattes asked what would make me feel whole as a customer. I felt that a reasonable ask here was for them to replace my vehicle with a new one just like it or look up the value of my car today and refund the amount that vehicle has depreciated in a week’s time. John responded in a harsh and condescending manner about how I “felt entitled to thousands of dollars” and how he absolutely could not do either of those options for me. He then proceeds to tell me a story about his daughter’s VW stranding her and her children at night in a small town (maybe not the best story to tell customers who already are concerned about the reliability of the car they just purchased) and how even then, his daughter didn’t feel entitled to what I was asking for. Apparently, I have a lot of audacity to pay for a new vehicle and want a new vehicle or want to want a refund making what I pay equivalent to what I own (purchased a new vehicle and was returned a repaired vehicle) . John has equal audacity to offer us a gift card to dinner for our trouble. Nalley VW mission statement is plastered on every wall and I didn’t see a glimpse of what their executives state they’d like for customers to experience. Buying this vehicle has become my biggest regret and I’m not sure how this dealership has stayed in business with the unethical operation they run and the poor experience they give. At the end of the day, they’ve repaired the damage they’ve done and the mechanical issues which are warrantied but have done nothing but offer me an apology for my time invested and their unethical business practices.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jan 30, 2020

Nalley Volkswagen responded

Hello, thank you for the high rating! Our team works tirelessly to provide excellent customer service.

January 25, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"I purchased 2 vehicles here this month. I can be quite..."

- RNorthrup

I purchased 2 vehicles here this month. I can be quite difficult and temperamental when it comes to spending money. Everyone I dealt with was very patient and understanding. They worked extremely hard to get me the figures I needed and they went above and beyond. I would recommend Nalley VW to anyone. I know you all will be well taken care of.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Jerry Mccoy, Yasir Oraif , Damian Seard

Jan 28, 2020

Nalley Volkswagen responded

Hello, thank you for taking the time to post your rating. Your review is very important to us, and we are really pleased that you had a positive customer experience with us. Kind regards!

January 25, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Love my 2020 Tiguan. Awesome people, excellent GM. Highly..."

- FabianRD

Love my 2020 Tiguan. Awesome people, excellent GM. Highly recommended. The process was seamless and I enjoyed working with the management of this dealership. Thank you!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Craig Camay

Jan 28, 2020

Nalley Volkswagen responded

Thank you! We hope to be of service to you again!

October 28, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"First car easy purchase"

- John P

Easy transaction. We really like the car for our daughters first. No high pressure. Sales team listened and we were able to quickly come to an agreement. Silvia was very helpful and truly helped move the process quickly. Appreciate her help and making this an effortless process. Thanks to John and Mike too

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Silvia Egan

September 23, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Happy with sales, but disappointed with service and GM "

- Jean

Jerry was great to work with when purchasing our new Atlas. He was attentive and patient and overall was a pleasure to work with. I brought my car in to the service department and did not receive acceptable customer service from the GM (John) or the service department, but Jerry continued to be amazing and helpful and did all he could to help me. I appreciate his level of customer service and definitely recommend working with him; however, i would not recommend the service department or dealing with the GM.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Jerry Mccoy

September 16, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great Service Experience"

- Cbuck24

Awesome experience with the team at Nalley Volkswagen in Alpharetta. Serviced our Atlas there this weekend. Kris was our service advisor and she was spot on and super friendly. While walking around the dealership we met the Sales Manager Jeff and General Manager John who, offered us cold drinks and even some lunch. The service manager Chris texted us the day after our visit thanking us and making sure we had a great experience. Class acts all around. If you want a dealership that treats you the right way, this definitely seems to be a good place. Go and see them!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Kristen

August 26, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"A teenager car"

- M.M.G.

John Prattes came referred to us by a friend! He took great care of us. And Andrew Krum was our salesperson and he was hospitable and friendly and very kind!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Andrew Krum

1
1 - 10 of 19 results

Dealership Inventory (190 Vehicles)

new 2021 Volkswagen Jetta car, priced at $18,238

2021 Volkswagen Jetta

$18,238

new 2021 Volkswagen Jetta car, priced at $18,238

2021 Volkswagen Jetta

$18,238

new 2021 Volkswagen Jetta car, priced at $17,470

2021 Volkswagen Jetta

$17,470

new 2021 Volkswagen Jetta car, priced at $25,999

2021 Volkswagen Jetta

$25,999

new 2021 Volkswagen Jetta car, priced at $18,238

2021 Volkswagen Jetta

$18,238

new 2021 Volkswagen Jetta car, priced at $18,238

2021 Volkswagen Jetta

$18,238