Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back
Tim Border
Tim Border at J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville
Refer Me

Tim Border

Salesman-Cedarville Store

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville

200 North Stephenson Street
Cedarville, IL 61013

Contact Me
5.0
282 Reviews

Buying a great pre-owned vehicle doesn't have to be loaded with drama and stress! Take a drive to see me in "downtown" Cedarville for a stress free buying experience. I've been in the auto business since 2005 and General Motors Factory Certified in Sales and Technology since 2007. Buying a car should be fun and exciting!

Dealership Experience

9 yrs, 7 mos

Industry Experience

16 yrs, 1 mo

Specialties & Trainings

Buick & Chevrolet Factory Certified

Languages Spoken

English English

Employee Video

5.0

282 Reviews

Write a Review

282 Reviews of Tim Border

July 27, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"I have purchased 2 used cars from Barkau. The service..."

- pwlfamily

I have purchased 2 used cars from Barkau. The service each time was truthful, complete, and thorough. If you are looking for a used car and want to deal with honest and down to earth people, Barkau should be on your shopping list for a used car.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Erick Santiago

July 13, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"The dealership and workers were very honest and patient,..."

- yinsocks12

The dealership and workers were very honest and patient, it was an amazing first time buyer experience! 100% would refer this place to a friend.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

July 08, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Tim was absolutely amazing to work with! Very..."

- karney

Tim was absolutely amazing to work with! Very knowledgeable and wasn’t pushy with me at all. Understanding when I had stuff come up. He knew my expectations and well exceeded them! Finance went super smooth too and I didn’t have to go back and forth with them like most dealerships! Thank you for everything!!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Adam Sherman

July 01, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Hands down, Tim Border’s service was an experience we..."

- royalhouse1416

Hands down, Tim Border’s service was an experience we will always remember! He is like no other. He is personable. He relates. Tim listened to what we needed to get done and he delivered on making it happen for my family, he and his team. He is a clever kind of guy! I do not think this review does him justice to be honest! My family and I say thank you, we will remember you when we think of car sales and great experience! Going strong since 1952!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

June 22, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Very happy customer! Super fast and easy deal! Thank you!..."

- J4ck1

Very happy customer! Super fast and easy deal! Thank you!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Chad Piefer, Adam Sherman

June 15, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"We have always had a great experience here. Tim is 100%..."

- Jenmp

We have always had a great experience here. Tim is 100% the best around! He goes above and beyond to make sure you are leaving with what you truly want. Purchasing my second equinox from him was quick and easy!!! Thanks Tim for your amazing customer service. We will be back to see you for a truck soon!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Adam Sherman

June 15, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Tim was very helpful in helping me get into my new-to-me..."

- bradley.krueger

Tim was very helpful in helping me get into my new-to-me vehicle. Very quick and clear communication. Very smooth transaction. I would work with him (and Barkau) again if I find myself in the market.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

June 02, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"After months of searching for the perfect truck for me..."

- Bbiesiada

After months of searching for the perfect truck for me and my family - I came upon this dealership. I was blown away by the customer service provided by Tim! He was helpful in keeping in touch with me about availability of the truck. At the end of the day the deal was too good to pass up! Thanks to Tim and the people at J H Barkau!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Chad Piefer

Jun 09, 2021

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this awesome review and giving us your take on how we are doing. Tim and the Barkau Team here at JH Barkau & Sons are thrilled that customers like you are have great car buying experiences at our dealership. We're happy that you are happy and we look forward to your next visit. Enjoy your new truck!

May 27, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Had an absolutely wonderful experience with Tim we have..."

- loringflooring

Had an absolutely wonderful experience with Tim we have bought all our vehicles from barkau! Love our new silverado! Our daughter who is in the military purchased her first car from Tim as well and the experience was great so we chose to work with him too. We have had nothing but great experiences with all our vehicles from barkau which we still currently have 3 we drive

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jun 09, 2021

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

Thank you so much for your excellent 5-star rating, kind words and continued business! Tim and the Barkau Team here at JH Barkau & Sons are happy you are happy! We appreciate you being a loyal customer and are here for you anytime. We look forward to working with you in the future. Enjoy your new Truck!

May 24, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great experience from beginning to end. Tim was amazing!!..."

- Marla.Farias8711

Great experience from beginning to end. Tim was amazing!! Friendly helpful thought of every detail. Even found awesome surprises in car a week later! Thanks for a car buying experience I will never forget:-)

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Chad Piefer, Adam Sherman , Detail guy was also great. Sorry didn’t have his name.

Jun 09, 2021

J H Barkau & Sons Cedarville responded

Thank you for the excellent review Marla! Seeing that you had such a great experience at JH Barkau & Sons is the best thing we could hope for! Tim and the Team are happy you are happy with your recent dealership visit. We appreciate you being a customer and we are here for you anytime. Come back and see us next time you are in Cedarville!

1
...
1 - 10 of 282 results

Dealership Inventory (206 Vehicles)

used 2014 Ford Escape car, priced at $13,452
2014 Ford Escape
used
Sunset exterior
Automatic
Four-wheel Drive
used 2014 GMC Sierra 1500 car, priced at $32,952
2014 GMC Sierra 1500
used
Bronze Alloy Metallic exterior
Automatic
Four-wheel Drive
used 2019 Honda Civic car, priced at $23,952
2019 Honda Civic
used
Aegean Blue Metallic exterior
CVT
Front-wheel Drive
used 2016 Honda Civic car, priced at $20,452
2016 Honda Civic
used
Lunar Silver Metallic exterior
CVT
Front-wheel Drive
used 2016 Dodge Dart car, priced at $13,952
2016 Dodge Dart
used
Bright White Clearcoat exterior
Automatic
Front-wheel Drive
used 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport car, priced at $26,952
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport
used
Twilight Black exterior
Automatic
All-wheel Drive