About Us
Copyright 2015 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

AutoNation Ford White Bear Lake

3588 Highway 61 N, St. Paul, Minnesota 55110
Sales: (888) 884-7756

Makes: Ford|Service Center
25% Recommend
2.3

137 Lifetime Reviews

AutoNation Ford White Bear Lake
3588 Highway 61 N,
St. Paul, Minnesota 55110
AutoNation Ford White Bear Lake Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

Zumbrota Ford Inc.

412 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
New Prague Ford Chrysler

434 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
137 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
K1252
3/17/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Find another dealer"

Horrible customer service! First of all, don't use your existing vehicle as a trade in as they insult you and your vehicle with their low ball offers. Second, we test drove a Jeep Wrangler and the vehicle started violently shaking during the test drive. The salesman made the comment "usually we like to have a notice for test drives. Just so I can drive the vehicle before customers show up to make sure it doesn't fall apart." That made us feel great... We got passed along to another salesman named Roger. Now let me say this I am in my early 20's I felt like this man talked down to me the entire time. He was degrading and insulting as he refused to run my credit app when we found a vehicle we liked. I know where my credit is at and I know what I qualify for. I will never do business with this dealer and I will never recommend this dealer to anyone. STAY FAR AWAY IF YOU WANT GOOD SERVICE!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Roger

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
cameroncylk
2/20/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Find a different Ford dealer"

Before I write my review, I would like to mention I have been a loyal customer for over ten years. In that time, I have bought a few vehicles, and my family has bought over a dozen. So this review comes not from one single visit upset customer but someone who USED to be an advocate for AutoNation for a long time. As a dealership they have really gone down not only in quality but in customer service severely in the past few years. They do not stand by their cars or service. Every department works against each other and no one takes any responsibility for their actions. I recently bought a used car and it obviously was not inspected properly or even worse was and they just push it onto the lot. The SUV I bought had severe leaks, missing safety features (which the dealership is legally obligated to repair before the sale of any vehicle), plus a variety of other mechanical issues that they did not disclose. It’s a lemon. I originally went to them because my previous car died, and they said they would help me and get me into a solid, dependable vehicle. Plus I’ve been with them for years and I believe in loyalty. Rather they took full advantage of me. I made the dealership aware of the issues I had right away with the SUV and they were going to charge me to bring it in, even though I had it for not even a week. Everyone kept waving me aside when I called saying it was an AS IS car so tough luck. Remember, safety issues were wrong on the car, which they are LEGALLY obligated to repair. And I made them aware of it instantly. After many phones calls, finally spoke to the GM and they said they would “make it right.” This is their favorite phrase they have said it for years and I swear every time they say it, it loses its meaning more and more. I tried trading the car back, refunding it, any option to get rid of it. Remember, I had all these issues with the car before my first payment. And I also didn’t drive it for half the time of having the car due to it not working properly. Their “making it right” was having me eat well over $2,000. So they could make a profit out of me three times over. I am still stuck with this car. My brother also bought a car from there a few years ago and the transmission blew with in the first 30 days. You think we would have learned our lesson. Unfortunately, like most people we are not mechanics and trusted them too much. Brings me to their service department, used car department, etc. They are terrible and do the bare minimum to make a car pass, or worse say we missed that. Do not use them, or trust them. God forbid some gets hurt in one of their vehicles. I have taken my car to other mechanics after them and they will call them out about their poor job. They will not make anything right nor admit when they screw up. I could talk forever about their terrible service department, but I will move on. The finance section, if you work with Mike Ferraro, walk away. He is infamous for raising the price of a car then lowering it to make it seem like you’re getting a discount; his “making it right.” In short, the lesson to learn people, DO NOT buy a used car no matter what the condition it is from AutoNation. They are no better than your local used car salesman. I would only buy a brand new car with an amazing deal from them. Because that way their service department had nothing to do with it, and you won’t have to worry about the headache I received. Go to Maplewood Toyota or a dealership that will stand by their cars and guarantee them. Toyota no matter what condition one month or 1,000 miles will fix any issue with your car. Plus at Toyota you may get some decent service. My problem was I put trust into my relationship with AutoNation and expected my loyalty to matter, but in the end they care more about making a few extra bucks then you returning. Sadly, I had the same sales guys for over a decade, great guys. But unfortunately they work for a company that cuts corners, doesn't support them, and does not care about your satisfaction. Best part is I am buying a new car in a few months but not from them. My family, friends, any one I run into, I will make sure does not go there. Find a different Ford dealership if you want a Ford.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Mike F, Rico B, Geoff J, Pete T

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
lorraine love
12/02/2014
Reason For Visit
Service

"PAPER WORK VS. HE SAID"

after having my vehicle serviced, I noticed the paper work stated that I had a broken sway bar, I called to see why it wasn't repaired ( under the second extended warranty ) and i was told the mechanic was gone for the holiday but they would call me on Monday, no one called on Monday so on Tuesday i called and was told the part was missing therefore it's not covered under the warranty. i mentioned that my paper work said nothing about missing but instead says it's broken. i then spoke to someone in sales who stated that the service women came to them and asked if they warranted rust, so when i spoke to him he had not bothered to listen to anything I had to say but rather kept repeating what the service person said to him. this truck is in excellent condition no rust at all. but since they refuse to listen to me or even what they themselves put on paper they have lost a customer for life. sincerely Mrs Love

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

travis / cindy

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
SheilaZK
8/13/2014
Reason For Visit
Service

"Worst experience ever."

I purchased a new ford on 6/28. The car had a defect with the sunshade that we expected to have fixed on 6/28, but was not. Brought it in on 7/2 to service but was told I would need an appt. They made an appt for 7/17. On 7/21 I called for an update and was told it had not been worked on. I picked the car up that day and was told they would need Ford approval to fix it...and the parts would need to be ordered. I went back to sales and asked if I could return the car since they had so many issues fixing it and was told it was too late. THe sals staff said they would find out about the warranty of the replacement parts. As of 8/12 still have not heard anything. Worst service experience ever, the car was returned to me on 7/21 dirty. The service people and sales stuff seem very disconnected. Lots of good talk from the sales staff, but no follow through.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Steve

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Saniti01
3/20/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"When a dealership employee repeats the phrase, "We..."

When a dealership employee repeats the phrase, "We are not in the business of selling junk cars", Every other sentence it makes you wonder..I guess it was the fact that he (Greg Wilret) lied about paying $150 for getting his car detailed during the initial sit down then later stating that "Even I don't get deals on getting my car detailed here" (Which I made him (Greg) aware he was contradicting himself) made me pay much closer attention to what else was coming out of his mouth! So lets talk about the Vehicle I was "Interested" in. I was looking at a Used 2008 Chrysler Town & Country. Online this car looked Great, it was a 7 year newer and upgraded version of what I currently own. When I made it through the meet and great everything was great. It was when I seen the car in person that I was not impressed! Let me start off by saying I consider myself knowledgeable about cars both Mechanically and as a Detail-er of 4 years for all the dealerships on Hwy 61 (White Bear Auto Care, when it was owned by the Robert Lee). So when I was able to see the car in real life I noticed first and foremost the tires were balding in the front (Tie rods??) I moved on looking around the vehicle noticing some rear end and front end damage commonly associated with being rear ended and pushed into something! Again I moved on to the sides of the car (Still exterior) and noticed some more physical damage as if it was run over a curb (I then asked if the vehicle was in an accident and there was no certainty there but I am sure a "No" was produced). I then began my initial first glance at the interior, noticing this vehicle was more than likely used and abused as a Currier Vehicle from the "Tell Tale" signs throughout (I could be wrong) but moving along I could tell that the Vehicle was Very Poorly cleaned. I am highly allergic to dog's and there was so much dog hair around the sides of the seats and under the seats I was wondering was this vehicle used as a "Pet Grooming Transport". This being a newer upgraded version from the 2001 (180,000 miles and still kicking at 17-22mpgs) I was unclear on how the two rear captains chairs operated ( as it looked very similar to a "Stow & Go" option). Apparently my sales guy Greg Wilret had NO CLUE either. So as I watched Greg try and explain what they were (After about 4 min of fumbling around) he managed to disengage the seat entirely, exposing a dog choker chain and a lot more enjoyable dog hair!! He then realized that the seats only swiveled not stowed we moved along pretty quickly from that point to the test drive. I again looked passed all of this as it is a "USED Vehicle". It felt like I was driving a Pontoon Boat on dry land, The suspension was obviously gone and with the bald tires I could only help but think how dangerous the vehicle would be in poor driving conditions. I simple over steering would probably cause the vehicle to lose control. My wife and I have 4 children all under 10, so their safety trumps a "Great Price"....Safety First!! I AGAIN was able to look past that and we made it back to the dealership were the "Uncomfortable Conversation Started", I wanted to get out of the van and process everything that I have just experienced. But Greg my Sales guy was already in Salesman mode. Which turned out to be a GREAT thing. The longer the Van sat at an idle (As his HIGH PRESSURE SALES TACTICS started) I could smell burning oil, between that and being trapped in a car trying to process everything was starting to make me very uncomfortable and annoyed. After about 10 min of Greg talking we finally pulled the Van back into the bay and I asked why he wasn't showing me any other vehicles that I was interested in. At this point I want to say that I was very forthright from the very first phone call to them that I did not have the best credit and I was a Army veteran living on 100% Disability and that due to my poor credit score I was ONLY inquiring about some vehicles and was not in a good position (At that time) to purchase. I was trying to make it as easy and straight forward as I could. I really needed another vehicle and did not want to waste anyone's time....With that said I had between $1500-$2000 Cash Money to put down and was concerned I would be unable to get financed as I stated above. Greg reassured me that "Auto Nation" does Millions of dollars in deals and I was in the right spot. So as we make our way back inside AGAIN he sits me down at the table within the building like I was buying a time share (It felt like). He began to present me with a document stating that I was approved the Van. (I did not know I was applying for the Van, He went ahead without asking me or my wife ever being present both Verbally or Physically) I also never gave him any physical information to prove I was who I said I was or that I had any actually Money to put down. He then turned an already VERY UNCOMFORTABLE situation and Violating Experience into an Extreme last ditch effort to sell me the Van, making statements like "No one else will approve you if you don't but this van", "It was hard enough just getting you approved for this loan (19.99%)". I then said to Greg "Well I can put down $2500 if that helps the interest rate or help get me into a better car, one that doesn't have all the same damage and problems that my 2001 Chrysler Town & Country already had", His comment was "Oh you have $2500...I'll need the full $2500 ($2000 down was already approved on paper right in front of me)". He than began to explain why the price on the Internet varied from the price I was seeing on the Loan Documents. Which he stated that the (Detailing Department) charges $250 for a complete detail and that "Even I (Greg) DO NOT GET A DEAL AND I WORK HERE" (Choker Chain, Excessive amounts of dog hair when seats where moved). At that moment I decided to "CALL HIM OUT" and remind him that when he very first sat me down he said (After I told him I used to detail cars for a living so i'd be a little nit picky) that he stated he payed $150. He then began to talk over me to move things along never acknowledging his very contradicting statement. I felt like I was being held against my will and that he was verbally trapping me there. I could feel my anxiety and PTSD kicking in (Fight or Flight) I could feel my blood pressure rising the more and more he was desperately trying to force the Van on me. The store was closing in 45 min and I needed to PROCESS everything , Talk to the Wife and make a good decision for my FAMILY. After about another 15 min of Extreme Disrespect and Uncomfortable high pressure sales I just wanted to leave and put the whole experience behind me, he asked me to leave all my documents (Which he never seen at any point of all of this), I said NO. I am not sure why he ran my wife's credit and shopped for car loans without asking me or her if I actually had a Vehicle that I wanted to buy. My wife has NEVER spoken or physically given Greg Wilret ANY INFORMATION. Not sure if that's legal or not. I did give him all my information so I assume that gave him the right to do as he pleased as far as car loans go. Although Greg told me very admittedly that I would not get approved ANYWHERE else and that the 19.99% loan and unclear intentions on obtaining the additional $500 Cash from me was the only option I had I chose to follow my gut and retain the Self Respect I have for myself and just WALKED AWAY. I am very offended that he chose to lie to me and when given the chance to correct himself he chose to disrespect me and talk over me and try and pressure me into a sale I never wanted. I am also very upset that when I came to them from the very beginning as "Honest and Open" as I possibly could he chose to TRY and take advantage of me. As for the additional $500 he wanted from me. That is what I would call trying to swindle someone. I did try calling and talking to any type of Management in which I was transferred then transferred and with everything I have stated above be as true as I can recall from 3 weeks ago I wanted to say I was approved for a car with GMAC at a much lower interest rate with my initial $2,000 down payment being "More than enough". I would advise people to be assertive and to never feel pressured to purchase anything from a dealership that does "Millions in deals", from what I have read about this service Manager and my experience I wonder how the GM really feels this Company is doing.. I will never buy a car here and I'd like to remind people there are plenty of Excellent Dealerships further south on Hwy 61. I hope this information is useful to you as I will chalk it up as a learning experience.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Greg Wilret

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
srtrusten
3/03/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"I've gone back to Tousley Ford and called Tousley..."

I've gone back to Tousley Ford and called Tousley Ford multiple times and I never get the answers I need. They are not willing to help if they aren't making a buck. I'm extremely frustrated with their finance department. It has taken over 6 months to get my Gap insurance back and I'm still far from getting it. Every time I call and leave a message, nobody calls me back. If I stop in, they consistently tell me I am missing paperwork. I am so frustrated I will NEVER recommend this company to ANYONE.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Kim-she was fine. Financing was not.

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
casper0254
11/05/2013
Reason For Visit
Service

"I recently took my truck to AutoNation for a collision..."

I recently took my truck to AutoNation for a collision repair, through an insurance claim, and it was an extremely frustrating situation. When I dropped my truck off I clearly detailed all the issues I was having after the accident, the same issues I informed the insurance company about prior to bringing my truck in, and gave them a copy of what my insurance company had already estimated for repairs. I was told I would receive a daily call updating me on the status of my vehicle which never happened. When I did receive a call, from the insurance company that was covering the claim, I was told that they were not going to cover portions of the claim. I would have to call the mechanic regarding the other issues because the insurance guy didn't understand what damage we were talking about. That is when the trouble really started. I called the first mechanic (Dave) and spoke to him and he told me he would have another mechanic call me back because he had never been informed there was another issue to look at other than my bumper. Another mechanic called me back and I began to describe the issue with my vehicle, as soon as he started to reply the store manager grabbed the phone and interrupted our conversation to tell me that nothing else would be covered under the claim. The manager didn't even know what we were talking about and he refused to let me get a word in edgewise to clarify the actual problem. The manager kept insisting we were talking about a different issue and he was adamant that there is no way it could have been caused by the accident, however he wasn't talking about the same thing I was. I even had to put my wife on the phone because I was getting so frustrated with the store manager (who isn't a mechanic and had never even seen my vehicle) not listening to what I was saying. He wouldn't let my wife talk either or listen to her. He was extremely rude and pushy. We had to get our insurance agent to call them to get them to take my truck for a test drive. They called the insurance agent back to tell him that the store manager could find no issue when he took the truck out and completely invalidated our concern, but a later review of our "tattler" in the vehicle showed he only went 2 miles with a top speed of 52 miles on his "test" drive which isn't going to allow someone (especially someone who isn't a mechanic) to accurately evaluate the performance of a truck. At that point they had no other "authorized" repairs left on my vehicle yet I didn't hear back from them for days. Finally four days later I called them to inquire when I could pick up my truck since they weren't willing to actually check out the other issue and was told they were waiting for me to call them. The store manager immediately had attitude with me and was talking over me when I was asking about getting my truck back. This man has no concept of customer service or even general decency. Based on their poor customer service, rude management and lack of thoroughness I would never recommend anyone bring their vehicle here, even if the repairs are being covered by insurance.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

store manager

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
3
snuffleupagus
9/07/2013
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"We are purchasing a new ford explorer...that is a..."

We are purchasing a new ford explorer...that is a given...its just a matter of from whom ....looking to spend $40000...and they made me run away. They did everything they should NEVER do IMO when selling a car.... "let me go get my manager"....."Whats it gonna take to get you to buy this car TODAY"....it was sickening at best. THEY DID HAVE A GREAT SELECTION OF NEW VEHICLES-BETTER THAN ANYWHERE...but their selling skills made me run away. They were EVERYTHING I HATE about buying a car...

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

steve...and "mike the manager"

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
4
DogandMaxx
7/30/2013
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Both Kyle Goede & Ann de St. Auben provided..."

Both Kyle Goede & Ann de St. Auben provided outstanding customer service ! We were very pleased with the attention & follow thru from Auto Nation! We feel every one at Auto Nation was very friendly & attentitive!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Ann de St. Aubin, Kyle Goede

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Seh2013
7/23/2013
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"I bought a 2012 Fusion from "Tousley Ford" back..."

I bought a 2012 Fusion from "Tousley Ford" back in 2011. I came in May 2013 to trade it in because I needed something bigger. I figured that I would give the same dealership my business because I had a really good experience the first time. My Sales rep Billy Luhrs was AMAZING!! I would definitely go back to him if he was at a different dealership. For 4 weeks Ive been jerked around by 3 different people in finance trying to get my warranty refund figured out. Long story short, STILL trying to get an answer, just DONT TALK TO STEVE IN FINANCE! He will quote you something and then lie about it later saying that he never quotes.. All I have been getting is voicemail after voicemail after voicemail from everybody. And if I'm not getting voicemails, its rude customer service. I just learned my lesson to NOT BUY FROM Auto Nation Ford in White Bear Lake.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

STEVE IN FINANCE

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
6
1
...
1 - 10 of 137 results

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory