About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Learn more

Cavender Toyota

5730 NW Loop 410, San Antonio, Texas 78238
Sales: (210) 681-6601
Service: (877) 676-9734
Parts: (877) 356-4764

Makes: Toyota | Scion | Service Center

Showroom Hours: 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Good
76% Recommend
4.1

150 Lifetime Reviews

Cavender Toyota

Hours: Open Now

5730 NW Loop 410,
San Antonio, Texas 78238
Cavender Toyota Info
Hours
Amenities
About Cavender Toyota

About This Dealer | Hours of Operation | Amenities

About Cavender Toyota

Sales/Showroom

Monday 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Friday 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Service

Monday 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Parts

Monday 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Sunday Closed

  • Children's Play Room
  • Customer Lounge Area
  • Drive-In Service
  • Express Service
  • Free Coffee
  • Free Drinks
  • Free WiFi
  • Instant Financing
  • Laptop Computers
  • Authorized Parts Store
  • Rental Car Service Onsite
  • Shuttle Service
  • Television
  • Vending Machines
  • After Hours Drop-Off
  • Automated Car Wash
  • Cable TV
  • Pet Friendly
149 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
Jang87
6/17/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Great sales experience "

I've had bad experiences at the service department, but sales were fabulous. Ask for Raul Cervera!! He was amazing! Very patient, accommodating, and comfortable to work with! Hopefully you get lucky and get Donna as your finance specialist, she was knowledgeable and so sweet! Great overall experience! Thank you!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Raul Cervera, Donna T.

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Cavender Toyota responded to this review

June 20, 2016

Jessica, Megan, thanks for the great review. You're right, Raul and Donna both continued our heritage of excellent customer service with helping with your purchase. We appreciate your business, and congratulations on your brand new Toyota Tundra!

AngryWomanSATx55
6/10/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Lied, Decieved, Manipulative"

Went in with my bank approval, they didn't want that, they were adamant they wNt ed to finance.they offered me 700. For my 06 solara, stated they could sell it, they were doing me a favor. I left, manager called me next day telling me that independent car buyer whom we never saw appraised my car, would be happy to buy my car. I didn't take their offer, they ran my credit after I clearly said no. A week later, David Reyes calls me back, asks if I still had 06 Solara, yes and I was crystal clear, I had already bought a car. He stated they wanted my car for purchase because, "the hail situation was winding down and they needed cars to sell, so if I came in, I would leave with check in hand. I came in and David passed me off to another salesman, told me, great news, they now offered me 2000.00 fot7my 06 Solara, why didn't they offer this to me the first time I was there? So salesman then asked me, what I bought, I told him but that was non of his business, I was brought in with intent of toyota buying my 06 by an independent buyer, what a crock! They were still trying to take advantage of me. It was a ploy to manipulate, lie , Decieved me. I was seething. I am still seething!! Who wouldn't be. Cavender claims integrity, quality customer care, instead I was Decieved, lied, manipulated into buying their way, dismissing my bank. I will never walk into or recommend Cavender Toyota. Cavender had no remorse treating me second rate, I have no issues sharing my stressful, horrible experience. I will make every effort to locate Cavender Corp HQ, I'm sure Cavender family would be intrested how I was mistreated, disrespected.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Williams.

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

AngryWomanSATx55 responded to this review

June 20, 2016

There was never any confusion plus I listened to my voice message again, it was David Reyes. Each time I was pawned off on someone else. Secondly, you eluded to answered my question: why was I told that your intrest was now in purchasing my 06 Damaged Solara? Offer went from $700.00 to $2000.00 !!?? "Independent car Buyers " is a sneaky, manipulative sales tactic. Confusion, No Sir, I am 58 years old, I don't confuse Deception with Lies for Integrity. even the poor attempt at i am sorry is bull. Cavender. is now associated with lies, deceptions, snakes and liars. Fortunately, my story has a happy ending, provided by Alamo Toyota!

Cavender Toyota responded to this review

June 10, 2016

Sylvia, thank you for your review. We apologize for any confusion with your visits to our dealership. The person calling you was a David Dickinson, not David Reyes. Mr. Dickinson, however, was calling from Mr. Reyes’ phone extension, which is probably the reason for the confusion with names. The reason for the low number for your 2006 Solara during your first visit was due to the accident showing on the CarFax report, the Hail damage on the vehicle, the current body damage to the side of the vehicle, and the condition of the interior. Simply, it is not a vehicle we could in good conscious sell to any of our customers; we can only send it off to wholesale. We were willing to pay more for your Solara in order to help with the purchase of your new car; however, during your second visit when you said you had purchased a car already and only wish to sell it, we restated it is not a vehicle we would purchase as a retail vehicle. We offer our congratulations to you for the purchase of your new car from Alamo, thank you for the opportunity to serve your automotive needs, and we wish you the best in the future.

I.Carrillo
6/07/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Spencer Herrera was fantastic"

Spence Herrera was very informative and professional. He was the only contact that actually sent me vehicle quotes that matched my configured vehicle. He was responsive and the purchase process was as painless as these things can be. xxxxx to Melissa Garza as well for answering all our finance questions.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Melissa Garza

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Cavender Toyota responded to this review

June 07, 2016

Isaac, thanks for the great review. You're right, Spencer continued his trend of excellent customer service with helping with your purchase. We appreciate your business, and congratulations on your awesome new Toyota Tacoma!

Unhappy with Service
5/27/2016
Reason For Visit
Service

"Service Problem"

I have purchased two vehicles from Cavendar, a 2004 Tundra and a 2011 Avalon. Previously I purchased a 2000 Camry from another dealer in the San Antonio area. In August of 2015 I took the Tundra in to complete the passenger air bag recall. When completed the air bag cover didn't match exactly the rest of the dash. Since the truck is over 10 years old I didn't worry abut it. Since that time the part which was either replaced, cleaned or somehow else changed has deteriorated and now is very sticky and black plastic is starting to show through. When it took it back, under their service warranty, they said they never removed that part and refused to fix the problem. Basically if their paperwork didn't show that it happened, it didn't in their opinion. Even though the part obviously doesn't match the rest of the dash and if they bothered to look they would see that the original airbag is still in place, they never got past looking at their 8 month old service record. They even stated they didn't have the vehicle for more than 3 hours and couldn't have done anything. We took the vehicle in before the dealership opened, put the keys through the slot and picked it up when my wife got off work. There are only two of us, she worked that day. It is absolutely impossible for us to have taken the truck to the dealership at the time they show it as being received. I would recommend you look for another dealer. If you must go back to them for service I highly recommend you take photos of your vehicle before you leave it with them because if something happens they will not take responsibility. I contacted Toyota and they said this was a dealer issue and refused to get involved other than having the dealer that I had already spoken to twice, all the way up to Director of Operations, contact me. If the manufacturer won't do anything more than that to investigate I will not buy another Toyota either. That isn't something I am happy about as my three Toyotas have been very good vehicles but as they say "fool me once shame on you". I will not be fooled twice.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Gilbert Figueroa, assistant service manager, Rick Caldera, Service Manager, Dan Warshire, Operations Director

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
GEORGE SALAZAR
5/10/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Excellent experience "

Spencer went above and beyond to insure I was able to get the car that I wanted, outstanding sales rep. I will definitely see him again on my next vehicle purchase.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Cavender Toyota responded to this review

May 12, 2016

George, thanks for the great review and wonderful compliments of Spencer; he is one of our best. We appreciate your business, and congratulation on the purchase of your Mercedes!

xx
5/08/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Great purchasing experience!"

Spencer made this transaction short and painless. The terms were more than amicable. Martin made the finance end a breeze. Would recommend to all. Great experience for once.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Cavender Toyota responded to this review

May 12, 2016

Alain, thank you for the great review and compliments of Spencer and Martin. We appreciate your business and congratulations on the purchase of your brand new Toyota Tundra.

Oneilm1
1/28/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Horrible communication."

I had to go through numerous hoops to get into contact with anyone at this dealership in regards to a used vehicle. I had to email several times in order to get a response, and got nothing. I stated in the email that emailing was the best way to reach me, as I work during the day, and I still recieved a phone call. The salesman who reached me seemed very rushed and uninterested, he avoided giving me the detailed information over the phone even after I mentioned that I am located in Houston. After contacting several other employees, I was finally able to set up a date to go purchase the vehicle. An hour before I leave for the appointment, I called to ensure the vehicle was still there only to be told (after several calls) that he vehicle was sold the night before. I was not contacted about this. I could have already been there only to find out that the vehicle was sold. As I mentioned already, i'm located in Houston. I am livid, he communication and professionalism of the employees at this dealership leaves something to be desired. Not 5 minutes after I got off of he phone with them, I recieved a call from another dealer offering the vehicle for a lower price, with less miles. Not to mention, they are driving the vehicle over from anoher dealership over 2 hours away.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Cavender Toyota responded to this review

January 29, 2016

Melisa, thank you for your review and your feedback. We apologize for any miscommunication between the multiple salespeople you contacted regarding the vehicle of your interest. We will use your comments as a learning tool to improve our processes. We also apologize the one vehicle in our inventory your expressed interest in was purchased purchased by another customer prior to your visit to our dealership. We appreciate the opportunity to earn your business, and congratulate you on your above mentioned vehicle purchase.

Happy Car
1/24/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Great Attention and perseverance"

First time buyer at Cavender Toyota. I was impressed with Ernesto Davila. His listening skills were top notch. We soon learned about my delicate financial situation. Ernesto"s experience and commitment to were second to none. I drove out with the new car. I am 2 days into driving that car and liking it a whole lot. I think I was at Cavender Toyota at the right time and working with Mr Davila made the sale feel i was in the right place.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Cavender Toyota responded to this review

January 26, 2016

Thanks for the great review and we appreciate your business!

Mary
1/23/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Excellent"

I purchased a 2016 Rav4 from Cavender; Spencer is our go-to guy for sales, and has always been professional and informative. He is friendly and applies no pressure. He listens to the customer, and explains things clearly. My 2014 Rav4 had been totaled by a guy who ran a red light, and Spencer was efficient in helping me acquire a new vehicle. My husband and I have bought 5 or 6 cars from Cavender since 1991. Spencer has handled the last several purchases, and he has always been helpful in every way.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Cavender Toyota responded to this review

January 26, 2016

Mary, thanks for the great review and we appreciate your repeated business!

kennethcalk
1/19/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Shady Pricing Practices"

I contacted this dealership (via email) on 1/15/2016, interested in a Toyota Tundra. Shortly after contacting them, I received an auto response email listing their current new vehicle specials, followed by a response from their internet sales manager Mario. In that auto response email, the dealership advertised $10k off left over 2015 Tundras. I responded to Mario asking if they do in fact have $10k off the 2015 Tundras. His initial response was “We do have $10k off the 2015 Toyota Tundra 1794 editions.” Now this is the first shady practice by this dealership. When you check their inventory, you will see they do not even have any 2015 1794 editions. So if I went to the dealership thinking they had some 2015 1794 trucks with $10k off, I would not be able to purchase one. It is simply a tactic they use to get you to their dealership. And I will show further proof of this tactic. The email clearly said $10k off ALL 2015 Toyota Tundras. So I responded to Mario stating this. His exact response was “Congratulations, not everyone will receive that email, we do not have many 2015 Tundras left over and I would like for you to take advantage of the $10,000 off of our remaining Tundras.” I’m not sure what he meant by “not everyone will receive that email.” I received that email as an auto response when I originally emailed their dealership. Ignoring the fishiness of this $10k off tactic, I decided to visit the dealership on 01/16/2016 and get an Out the Door price on one of the left over 2015 Tundras. I checked their inventory which showed they still had 9 available. When I got there, they told me all they had was just one left. It was parked in front of the dealership and was a 2015 Platinum edition, msrp $47k. I wanted to make sure the truck would then be $37k plus tt&l. They assured me they do not add on any dealership fees, prep fees, document fees, etc. The truck would be $37k plus tt&l. The next step was to value my trade-in. And this is where their $10k off tactic occurs. I brought them my trade so they could value it. Before they would even give me an offer, they called up my financial institution to find out how much I still owed on the car. This is a very shady practice as they used this number to offer a lower amount. Any dealership who wants to know how much you owe before offering you an amount is just shady. The KBB trade-in value on my car is $26,229 to $28,888. The dealership offered me $24k on my trade in. The fair purchase price on my car is almost $32k. And this is the value of the car in stock form. My car has many expensive upgrades that this dealership wants on the car. They told me if I wanted to take these upgrades off the car, it would decrease their trade-in offer. Here is how dealerships like this work: -They will advertise something like this, say $10k off ALL 2015 Tundras. -When you ask them about it, they will try and say it is on certain trims (example 1794) -When you call them out on that, they will say something stupid like “congratulations, not everyone blah blah blah…” -They convince you to go to their dealership with this $10k off offering -They don’t want to lose $10k by selling the truck so they try and make it up elsewhere, I.E. your trade-in -They will over you $24k on your trade-in that is worth $28k (trade-in value) and $32k market value -They then make $8k off your trade-in, so they make $8k off of you. -They then only sold a left over 2015 model for $2k off MSRP When I questioned them about why they are not offering KBB value, they responded with “kbb is just a guide” and “kbb is not buying your car, we are.” But then when you go to their website, they advertise kbb used car guide on their webpage. This dealership is another stereotypical dealership that uses shady tactics. Don’t fall for it. Look at the overall picture before purchasing from them. If they offer $10k off, see where they are trying to make it up. Don’t be a sucker and let them make money off of you. I didn’t even get to the financing stage but I bet they try and screw people over there as well. If you do decide to buy from this shady dealership, I recommend getting preapproved through your bank first. If they are shady with pricing, they are probably shady with the financing. They probably add on 2% interest when they arrange financing for you. Legally they can do this to you and you would never know unless you went and get pre-approved elsewhere first.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Mario Camarillo

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Cavender Toyota responded to this review

January 26, 2016

Kenneth, thank you for your review, and we appreciate the opportunity to earn your business. We thank you for speaking with our management team and allowing us to clarify any misunderstandings, and we are glad to have been able to work out the figures to allow you to purchase your new Toyota Tundra from our dealership. Again, thank you for your comments and we appreciate your business.

1
...
1 - 10 of 149 results
Recently Reviewed Employees
Reviews of Spencer Herrera
Spencer Herrera

Internet Sales Representative

38 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of David Reyes
David Reyes

Team Leader

3 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Julio Ortiz
Julio Ortiz

Internet Sales Representative

18 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Michael Gonzalez
Michael Gonzalez

Internet Sales Representative

6 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Martin Silva
Martin Silva

Finance Manager

5 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Paul Garza
Paul Garza

Finance Manager

5 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Brandon Price
Brandon Price

Digital Marketing Director

4 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of D J Braxton
D J Braxton

Sales Representative

4 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Frank Garcia
Frank Garcia

Sales Representative

3 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Michael Mares
Michael Mares

New Car Sales Manager

3 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
View All Inventory
New 2016 Toyota Sequoia
2016 Toyota Sequoia

PriceN/A

Mileage0

Exterior ColorBlack

Interior ColorSand Beige

New 2016 Toyota Tundra
2016 Toyota Tundra

PriceN/A

Mileage0

Exterior ColorSilver Sky

Interior ColorBlack

New 2016 Toyota Tundra
2016 Toyota Tundra

PriceN/A

Mileage0

Exterior ColorBlack

Interior ColorGraphite

New 2016 Toyota Camry
2016 Toyota Camry

PriceN/A

Mileage0

Exterior ColorMidnight Black

Interior ColorAsh/Black

New 2016 Toyota Prius
2016 Toyota Prius

PriceN/A

Mileage0

Exterior ColorMidnight Black

Interior ColorAsh

New 2016 Scion tC
2016 Scion tC

PriceN/A

Mileage0

Exterior ColorBlack

Interior ColorDark Charcoal

New 2016 Toyota Camry
2016 Toyota Camry

PriceN/A

Mileage0

Exterior ColorCelestial Silver

Interior ColorAsh

New 2016 Toyota Corolla
2016 Toyota Corolla

PriceN/A

Mileage0

Exterior ColorSuper White

Interior ColorIvory