About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Clay Cooley Nissan

39690 Lyndon B. Johnson Fwy, Dallas, Texas 75237
Sales: (972) 709-2000
Service: (800) 587-6623
Parts: (800) 588-4187

Makes: Nissan | Service Center
Average
54% Recommend
3.2

76 Lifetime Reviews

Clay Cooley Nissan
39690 Lyndon B. Johnson Fwy,
Dallas, Texas 75237
Clay Cooley Nissan Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

Don Davis Nissan

995 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Grubbs Nissan

92 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
76 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
MamaSensei
3/24/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Kind, but very shady"

First night we visited this dealership, they offered us a great price for our vehicle and for theirs. We asked for it in writing so we could return with financing. When we returned, they refused to hold to their written word, then offered us $6k less than what we originally agreed on. We went back and forth for a month. Never offered us a decent deal for our van and would quote theirs higher than the advertised price. They were really pushy about us coming in, but the fact that they weren't willing to deal via calls or email let us know that we should go elsewhere. We were certain we would purchase an NV, but the experience here and other local Nissan dealerships was atrocious. Thank you for driving our family into a Mercedes. Will not look at another Nissan ever. Virgil was our sales guy, very friendly and eager to make a deal. I would work with him again, just not this dealership. It was his upper management that caused the unpleasant experience.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Virgil

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
raymond83
2/14/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"HORRIBLE PLACE TO BUY A CAR"

Told me my issue was my problem now that car was sold. Clay cooley called me up and said if I was nicer he would of helped resolve my issue.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Clay Cooley

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Coolshay
2/08/2016
Reason For Visit
Service

"This dealerships is a JOKE"

I had my car towed up to Clay Cooley Nissan of Dallas on LBJ because it wouldn't start. Got in it one Friday morning to go to work. Pushed the botton to start it , dash lit up but car would not start. After pushing the button several times, I couldn't get the car to turn off (dash would not go off) . I had to be at work so took another car and left my Maxima with dash lit up or I guess you can call it "on" but not running mode. Needless to say when I got home 8-9 hours later car is off and battery drained. Car is towed to Nissan Saturday morning. Monday morning Service Advisor calls and says the battery is down! I'm like are you kidding me! I told you on Saturday the reason for the battery being down. That is not the cause of the initial problem. Advisor proceeds to tell me that they can't tell me what's wrong with the car because they can't get it started! I swear to you I'm not lying. You mean to tell me that Nissan doesn't have a battery they can put on my car to aide in diagnostics? You " Nissan" a multi billion dollar corporation doesn't have a battery? Are you not a car dealership?? I tell the advisor" sir I just purchased a new battery 8-9 months ago.. Have you tried to charge the battery?" Do you not have a battery you can put on the car? That way we know for sure it is the battery ( maybe bad cell or something- I'm grasping at straws here). The advisor says " We don't have test batteries here. The best I can do is take your battery off your car. You come pick it up, take it back to NTB have them give you new battery. We can then diagnose your car". "Oh and by the way, I'll have to charge you a $20 labor charge for battery removal". Ok, you are charging me $135 for initial diagnostics, now add $20, because you can't diagnose it because it won't start because it potentially needs a battery? What's the $135 for.? My thought is you puta battery on the car, you say, " Hey we diagnosed your car, it was the battery, it's $135 , if you would like to purchase a battery from us it's another ..uh $125 so, total cost to repAir car is $260 . Or bring us $135 and take the battery you have back to NTB". I had to go up there, get my battery take it to NTB get a loaner battery, take it back to Nissan.. Awaiting diagnostics.i will never ever use Clay Cooley Nissan of Dallas again.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Service advisor Chris

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
carol
2/08/2016
Reason For Visit
Service

"The Clay Cooley Nissan dealer in Austin on Hwy 35 South"

I bought a truck, the salesman said they would detail it and get it all cleaned up. Also the oil was at 30% life remaining, and a couple of the tires were missing the valve stem covers. Little stuff. I called for an appointment to have this all done, was told I didn't need one for detailing, just come on by anytime. I drove 23 miles, was rudely ignored for 20 minutes by the service people, (even after I got out of the car and stood by the kiosk looking right at them!) when I finally was able to get one to help me he told me I had to arrive early in the morning, leave the car all day, and bring a "Wheeoh". (This turned out to be a work order from the salesman who sold the car, cutely called a "We Owe"). So I would have had to drive over to the sales dealership, find the salesman and get this form, (and at no time did the service flack offer to phone the salesman and have it faxed over), and then come back another day (another hour driving through Austin) and leave the car all day. For a washing and an oil change. I suspect this is how they get out of honoring their commitments, by making it way too inconvenient. So for $37,000 I got one key to the truck ($190 to get another), 2 out of 4 tire valve stem covers, elderly oil, and I get to clean the thing up myself. Aaaaaand, they (service) were really rude. So, yes, I think one star.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

some reluctant service person

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Just My Opinion
2/06/2016
Reason For Visit
Service

"Worst Service (to be fair, it has recently improved**)"

I purchased a new Maxima and had to have Cooley replace my battery 4 times in 3 years. They kept the car 9 days and couldn't find the problem. The only reason I got my car back after 9 days was because I called and asked if it was ready and they said I could come get it but they can't find the problem. They tried to tell me that the reason my AC changed from floor vent to face automatically, the only reason my display shut off, the only reason my dash lights changed on their own....was because the sensors on the dash that determined it was night must be faulty. Yet, they never replaced them, they just kept my car 9 days and did nothing. Three(3) Batteries later, and I replaced the car. I love Nissan, and they make good cars, sometimes cars have problems...but this dealership is VERY poorly run. The sales staff are excellent, why not, their pay depends on it. The service department is horrible...why, because they get paid for repairs...the more they do, the more they make, but they are terrible at repairing your car. One day, while sitting in the service waiting area (averaged 1-2 hours for an oil change), a salesman went person to person, trying to get them to trade in their car and to buy from him. That infuriated me, you NEVER use a captive audience to sell cars...I will NEVER buy from Cooley again...horrible leadership and service.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Service

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Marcopolo
10/15/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Tiffany rice is the best "

I really I enjoyed the time and they really work hard for u and they really just all around a good place to come n get a car from

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Tiffany rice

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Cynde1
9/28/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Ripped in pieces"

I purchased a 0 mile 2013 Nissan Sentra From the beginning A month after purchase I started having issues the service department kept giving me the run around on this car I was having issues with my car quitting also the fuel hand kept showing empty although the car was on full they service department keep telling me they do not have a loaner car available remind you I do not know anyone to pick me up I'm not from Texas my last visit to clay cooley was recently they charged me $110 so they could diagnose the car so they tell me for $1300 they could replace the fuel pump because I'm out of warranty I explained my issue to floor manager Vincent his reply is that I have a 100k warranty covered by GM he asked me to call them for the last two weeks I have been calling around getting more disappointed because GM states they do not issue warranties on Nissan so I spoke with Nissan & I recently found out clay cooley service department didn't repair any of the recalls on the vehicle as they promised so now it's been two months going on three without a working vehicle so I called clay Cooley back to find out Vincent works at another clay Cooley dealership he was just filling in a the Nissan dealership the day I called spoke with manager Matthew he was so confused the only thing he wants is for me to escalate off of his line so he transferred supposively to the service department but whomever the lady was she had me to explain my story just to transfer me back to him & he sounds upset that I was transferred back so now he wants to transfer me back again I told him not to because I'm tired of the run around & I will be contacting an attorney at this point

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Letty Bustamante

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
kimdawn
9/28/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Just Don't Do It!!!!"

If you are in the market for a car please DO NOT go to Clay Cooley Nissan of Dallas!!!!!! I went last Friday to Clay Cooley to get my tags because they called. I pull up there is woman picketing in front of the car lot. Turns out they sold her a lemon and won't fix it. One of the service men said her car broke down 3 days after she bought it. I tell the receptionist I'm there because I got a call saying my tags are in. Guess what? They tell me my tags were not in because my car needs an inspection!!! Wait what?! Ok, whatever...I ask for new paper tags because my tags will expire and they tell me they can't because accounting is closed. I get the inspection and leave. Now let's fast forward to this Friday. I get a call at 7:22 p.m. that my tags are. I just pulled out of my dad's neighborhood and I see flashing lights behind me. I'm not speeding so I'm like what are they stopping me for...you got it expired paper tag! I explained to the cop I literally just got a call that my tags are in. Of course he doesn't believe me so he start to questions me where are you coming from...in my head I'm like why but I answer the question. Anyway, he asks for my license and just my luck I can't find it. Ugh! He took my info and goes back to his car. I then call Clay Cooley. Ma'am I was pulled over because my tag expired would you please explain to the officer you guys just called. I gave her my name spelled it for her and all. Oh yes we did just call you can just tell him but by this point I'm nervous/irritated because he has not come back to my car...you have seen the news. He comes back I get a ticket for the license because everything else checks out. As soon as I'm done with this cop I head to Clay Cooley. It's less than 2 minutes away. I'm pissed with a capital P. Yes I did storm in and tell them they need to put my tags on my car. The receptionist asks for my name and I tell her. She asks how to spell it...I tell her really the same way I spelled it when I was on the phone with you 2 seconds ago with the cop...long story short they called the cops on me because I'm pissed, irritated, angry, and I showed it. Did a threaten them? No. Did i throw or break anything? No. Was my voice elevated yes.. general manager Matt Kusez refused to put my plates on the car. Sir I really don't wanna hear it just put the plates on the car because all of this could have been avoided if yall gave me the paper tags when i came last week. This dude then was like we are not your slave.... I told him SLAVE whoa I said nothing about slaves just put the tags on the car. I had had enough I went outside to wait on the cops. As I'm leaving out the door dude is like put the plates on the car. They come ask what's the problem...I start to speak and immediately they are like ma'am we are talking to him. 5 seconds later he asked me what's the problem told him I just got pulled over for expired paper tags and I want my tags so I could get the xxxx out of here. Do yall know the cop had the nerve to ask me why I didn't leave...I literally told him I needed my tags, they called cops, and the way things have been going I am not trying to shot. He asked me what's keeping me from leaving now I told him not a God xxxx thing and left....I did not know it is against the law to get upset with a business for not providing proper service...The whole situation could have been printed if they would have printed the tag last...and for all of you that are asking why didn't you get it done during the week because I get off work too late and the accounting department would still be closed!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Buck, Lora, Kusez

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Ty Johnson
6/24/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Turnaround"

I purchased my 2014 Nissan Maxima New from Clay. Since the addition of Lionel Valdez, I think the service manager, the level of service increased dramatically, from close to nothing to impeccable. Even the attitudes of the other employees I have encountered is totally different and impressive. My last visit for my 5000 mile oil change, the service attendant was warm, funny, and pleasant and Mr. Valdez addressed me by name. This level of impeccable service has added incredible value to me, and I now look forward to my next vehicle purchase from Clay Cooley Nissan.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Lionel Valdez

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Revrent
6/09/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Over and above Service Manager"

I had just bought my 2014 certified pre owned 370Z at another dealer and dropped by Clay Cooley service about a tire light to set up an appointment. They would not hear of me setting an appointment and took the car in right away to reset the light. After getting the car home I detailed it and found a bad window seal and a plastic paint protector that had discolored. I drove back to Clay Cooley and asked them about those items. The service manager Kevin came over and immediately stated " I will order them and give you a call when they come in"...NO HASSELS, NO COMPLAINTS....just "Ill order the parts". Kevin personally called me a few days later to say the parts were in and could I bring the car in (as early as that day). So I took the car over right away, and dropped it off, they even gave me a ride home. When I went back to pick up the car they had even fixed a minor rattle I had mentioned in my first visit (they kept it in the records). I cannot say enough about this service department. I have rarely gotten this kind of service and personal attention from any of my previous dealerships. I have definitely found a home for the servicing of my car. If I could have given Kevin 10 stars that would still not be enough to say how high I rate this service department.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Kevin Shutter

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
1
...
1 - 10 of 76 results

Need a new car?

The report has been submitted to DealerRater support. To view the status of the report at any time, save this link.