About Us
Copyright 2015 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Fred Martin Superstore

3195 Barber Road, Barberton, Ohio 44203
Sales: (330) 753-4444

Makes: Chrysler|Dodge|Jeep|Ram|Service Center
Average
41% Recommend
3.4

103 Lifetime Reviews

Fred Martin Superstore
3195 Barber Road,
Barberton, Ohio 44203
Fred Martin Superstore Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

103 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
Getupango1
6/29/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Anthony wants you to buy a car you've never seen 😖"

I came in after going to Klaben to see a van that is brand new. It was fully loaded and priced a little lower on sale than what I looked at at Klaben. I texted rob sabol and told him I was on my way to look at the van and that I didn't want to waste my time. He said ok and that they would be expecting me and I would see the sales manager when arrived. I arrived and was greeted nicely and everything was ok until Anthony came and took care of me. Although he was nice, he was very stiff and treated it like a sale more than a conversation. I felt like I was part of a "process" instead of a laid back approach like Klaben an hour earlier. He was knowledgable to his credit and never rude so I must credit him there. My problem started when I was filling out a trade form and realized I hadn't even physically viewed the vehicle I drove a half hour to see! Why am I filling out a trade form and I have nothing to trade so far for? Remember, I arrived around 645. I was told while I was filling the trade form that the owners wife was driving the van around and that it was a "demo" van. So I immediately asked them to call her and ask her to bring it down that night if possible. The term "no harm in asking" applied here. I was a customer, that drove down from Kent to BUY a van on the spot. I did not care who had the van. They advertised it to get me there and then they hesitated to WANT to call because of who it was. Ummmmm, make the call and sell the van. Anthony said they would work on it and told me we should work on the trade value while waiting. I expressed my feelings and agreed to proceed. It wasn't into l 830 that I finally had them get done test driving and coming up with a number for the trade. He asked me what the payoff was and I said around $11500, and he responded by telling me that I said $11000 earlier. If I would have said the wrong number like he accused me, then I would have been sabotaging my own chances of a good deal!!! I was not happy now. I asked what was happening with the owners wife and they said they needed to call and ask how many miles were on it to determine the interest rate. Ummmm, they didn't call that whole time since 645 to even see if she could come by. Now we are working on a deal for a van that is advertised as new but could have a few THOUSAND miles on it and it ISNT EVEN THERE. I about had it by then. He kept insisting that it was a good deal to go with and that if it was him he would buy the van without seeing it with all the warranties and guarantees that apply. Ummmmm, bull. You don't buy a vehicle without looking at even something comparible to know whether you like the look, feel, and functionality!! He then had me sign a sheet that was hand written that I would promise to buy the van if they got the deal I was asking for. This was too much. Thanks for having me there for a few hours to never see a car, asking me to buy it, and then never even making an attempt to get it there after I told them NOT to waste my time!!! Rob was the only one that kept me in the game. He talked to me the next morning and told me the van actually had 5100 miles!! That isn't brand new!! That is someone living in it for several months!! He tried to salvage the deal by looking for the same van in red which is the color my wife wanted and I thought that was very kind. But what upset me is the lack of communication from Anthony when he said I JUST wanted red. I said that we preferred red but that the van I wanted in granite is what we came to buy. Thanks rob, stay away Anthony.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Anthony, Rob Sabol

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Mike
6/02/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Bought a Dodge!"

Had a great experience at Fred Martin working with Scott Sanders was pleasant.everytime we go there we have worked with him Bought 2 cars now within a year and will def. be back!! thanks Scott

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Scott sanders

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
laculp1987
5/08/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Just poor!"

I would not recommend this dealership to anyone! They did not make me feel good about me and myself at all. They wanted to put me in a very bad situation and they keep calling me to do this!Well guess what? I bought a new car somewhere else!They don't even deserve a rating!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

John and Tracy

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Dpelly1
3/31/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Horrible Sales experience "

Anthony tried force me into a car that needed a replacement part in the engine that was causing an extremely high pitched and noticeably loud and annoying screeching sound. I was very clear with him what my budget was and what I was looking for and that fixing that noise was what the sale came down to. He told me his maintenance guy thought he could fix it within a week when the part came in but in the mean time.. He tried to get me to buy the car that night with no guarantee or assurance that the noise would be taken care of. I said any deal I did would be contingent on that part being fixed and if the noise could not be removed the deal would be nuified. His response was they would "look into it for me" if that part didnt fix the noise the car was making. Something about me buying a car he wasn't even 100% sure what the problem was to begin with was without any verbabe written in the contract that protected me seemed really, well..., stupid. When I told him I'm not comfortable buying a car that essentially was not ready to be sold his polite and helpful demaner abruptly turned condescending and abrasive and he became visibly frustrated that I didn't want to buy the car and/or put a deposit down on it. My reaponse to him was super simple. Call me when that part is replaced and I can come by and drive the car and if indeed that noise was gone we had a deal but I was not going to do some freaky ass deal on a car that he admitted need repairs to it. Everyone else in customer service was great and apologetic to me when they followed up so just avoid Anthony if you go to Fred Martin. Anthony... I award you no points and may God have mercy on your soul. Everyone in the room is now dumber for having listened to anything you have to say.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Anthony

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
janet.combs.315
2/13/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Detailing"

I brought my 2014 Camry in to be detailed. I have been hauling my son's Siberian Husky around and there was so much fur in my car I was coughing up hair balls. I had resigned myself to it being my 'dog' car. Fred Martin did such a beautiful job I think it looks better than the day I bought it! When I dropped it off they offered me a ride (didn't need it). They were friendly, professional, truly kind and the facility is gorgeous. They were also $40 cheaper than their closest competitor. Don't go anywhere else, trust me! I will get my next car from them.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Josh

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
artydoc
1/05/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Great Team "

Went in looking for a newer car. Dave helped me out with the huge selection of cars to look at. This is my 3rd car I have got from Fred Martin In the past 15 years.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Dave

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
jeffrey.hauenstein
10/09/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Overall great experience!"

From the sales to the service, it was all excellent. They took care of me and my new car. Very pleased got an excellent deal. Salesman was also very nice and caring.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Kit Chacon

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
scootr68
7/24/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Stay far away from Fred Martin!"

Went in looking to trade in my truck for something more economical on gas. Was shown a Dart which I liked. Started talking about financing and explained the rate could not be higher than my current vehicle. I mentioned this over and over and when I got into financing...surprise it was higher. I blame myself for not just walking out of that office. To add insult to injury I learned 3 days later that I had to take a pay cut at work in order to keep from being laid off. Tried to talk to them about getting my trade in back. Basically they couldn't have cared less and was told that they invest $1800 into every trade for rehab. My trade was immaculate, I'm OCD about my vehicles but long of the short was I would have to pay them $4k to get my trade back. The new loan wasn't even funded yet. Again, I blame myself for even going to these heartless idiots. They are the poster children for slimey xxxxxxx car dealers. Seeing all the other less than stellar reviews just solidifies what a heartless bunch they really are. Their commercials are are tasteless and as classless as they are. We won't even mention the issues I've had with the Dart, like check engine light, flashing odometer and front wheel noise problems. Service took 2 hours to diagnose and acted like i made up these issues. They sang a different tune after realizing the HVAC head unit was bad. Part took a week to come in and then they couldn't even get me in for repair for another week after that. So both sales and service are not good in my book.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

the group as a whole

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
lmcgonigal
7/10/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Sneaky - Do your homework and don't budge from what you know"

Went in there to look for a vehicle for my daughter who is going off to college. She wanted a compact SUV. Our salesman, Bruno, was fantastic and had superb manners and patience. As long as he didn't know about what I'm about to say, he gets 5 stars. If he did, he doesn't. I have excellent credit and had a KBB trade in valued at $1200. They had a 2005 Escape with 130,000 miles on it priced at $8,000. That is overpriced. They would not come down and would only give me $800 for my trade-in. Got them to give me $1,000 for it, but ended up walking out of there spending $9,000 on the vehicle with tax and title. My biggest problem with the whole thing is this. I have excellent credit (800+) and they did not tell me they were giving me a percentage rate at 9.9% (I could have gotten 2.9% at my credit union). Instead 9.9 will tack on another $900.00 over the life of the loan. I didn't notice it until right before I signed it. I about had a fit. I'm like what good is it to have excellent credit if I'm getting some high interest rate here? They made some claim that no one would give me a loan for $4,000 without a high interest rate so they can make their money. I'm like well nice that no one even mentioned that to me. At this point my daughter was already emotionally involved and wanted this vehicle. I walked out of there thinking, ok I need to pay this off quick. But, I really can't. End result we will be paying $10,000 for a 2005 Ford Escape with 130,000 miles on it. CRAZY! Yes I was HAD! And if I had to do all over again, I certainly would not. Even looked up buyers remorse the next day. I found a 2008 with 80,000 miles on it for $8,000. I take full responsibility...I knew better. I'm so used to dealing with Ron Marhofer for all my vehicles, I was used to honesty. I need to get a car for myself and I will not be going back there. Oh...and the cd player doesn't work.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Bruno

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
rba0054
6/24/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"do your homework."

i purchased a new dodge on 6/14/14. i fill i got a fair price on my new car. but i had a trade. i did not do my homework. i fill like i was taken. do your homework. if you do not, if will cost you lots of money

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

do not want to say

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
1
...
1 - 10 of 103 results

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory