About Us
Copyright 2014 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Learn more

Honda Universe

1085 Route 88, Lakewood, New Jersey 08701
Sales: (732) 370-9700

Makes: Honda|Service Center
 
Excellent
89% Recommend

Overall Rating 4.6

326 Lifetime Reviews

Write a Review
Honda Universe
326 Lifetime Reviews

Hours: Open Now

Honda Universe Info
Hours
Amenities
About Honda Universe

Honda Universe has been at this location for over 30 years. We are proud recipients of the Honda President's Award for customer service. Visit our website for information on new, pre-owned, and certified inventory, price quotes, financing, or to have your vehicle appraised.

About This Dealer | Hours of Operation | Amenities

About Honda Universe

Honda Universe has been at this location for over 30 years. We are proud recipients of the Honda President's Award for customer service. Visit our website for information on new, pre-owned, and certified inventory, price quotes, financing, or to have your vehicle appraised.

Sales/Showroom

Monday 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Friday 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Service

Monday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Parts

Monday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday 7:30 AM - 6:00 AM

Sunday Closed

  • After Hours Drop-Off
  • Cable TV
  • Children's Play Room
  • Customer Lounge Area
  • Drive-In Service
  • Express Service
  • Free Coffee
  • Free Drinks
  • Free Loaner Cars
  • Free WiFi
  • Instant Financing
  • Laptop Computers
  • Authorized Parts Store
  • Pet Friendly
  • Shuttle Service
  • Television
  • Vending Machines
326 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
sheard1289
12/15/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"exciting car buying experience"

Upon entrance, I was greeted by a very friendly staff, with popcorn (fav snack), and openness. My salesman was Gregg Levine, who took the time to relate and get to know me. Gregg was so much fun to work with, making me feel much less anxious about the car buying process. After signing paperwork, Gregg and I went out to learn how to work the controls in my car. There are not enough nice ways to describe how Gregg related and worked with me. It was absolutely a pleasant experience. John, the Financial Manager was also very welcoming, got me an UNBEATABLE PRICE on my warranty. I appreciate him being willing to take the time, explain everything, and extreme friendliness. Everyone here literally treats you like family. I see why they USAA family recommends them. If you are a Honda enthusiast like myself, don't waste your time buying anywhere else, BUY HERE. Speaking as the most anxious, first time car buyer on the planet who can be indecisive, I can promise you that you will NOT regret buying a car here.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
kseymou02
12/12/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"awesome job"

John did a very good job at getting us a great price on a new 2014 Honda civic for my mom. Will buy again from John.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Janice G
12/02/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Thank You Karlos Merrick!"

We had the best car buying experience yesterday that we have had in over four decades thanks to Honda Universes sales person, Karlos Merrick. We were so lucky that we met him upon walking in and he really transformed the experience for us. He took so much time with us and showed us all the amazing features of the Honda CRV. Karlos was excellent, he listened to our needs, wants, concerns and budget and with his knowledge, expertise and professionalism found us the perfect car at a price that fit within our budget. I always felt that the salesperson you deal with is as important as the product they represent. Happily we found perfection in both. Thank you Honda Universe for having salespeople like Karlos Merrick at your dealership. Ironically we just came in to take a look at the CRV and now thanks to Karlos we now have this wonderful vehicle in our garage.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
vinny.d
11/27/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Great experience"

John McGraw was extremely helpful in all areas. Very friendly, very competent, and very knowledgeable of cars. He was easy to talk to and made sure we were happy with our car before we left. Great experience overall.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
BGUTHERZ
11/22/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"2015 Accord"

This was my second vehicle purchase from Greg. He's a GREAT salesman, and a pleasure to do business with. IIt's because of him I bought the car. KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!!!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
yubier
11/19/2014
Reason For Visit
Lease (Used)

"This is my story...."

Wow! What horrifyingly atrocious service! I did not use this group to purchase my last Honda but was considering leasing my next one by them. It started when I attempted to return a leased vehicle that was due back to Honda Universe in Lakewood, NJ as I was instructed by Honda Financial. I was asked to see Jerome Hofmann and leave the vehicle with him. I showed up first thing in the morning to return the car but Jerome Hofmann was not in yet so I left the keys with the service department as they assured me that they would give him the keys. I followed up about 2 hours later and was just sent to Jerome Hofmann's voicemail. I repeated this about 4 or 5 times that day but he didn't call me back until mid afternoon of the following day. I told him that I just wanted to confirm that he received the vehicle and thank him for his services. He became very nasty and asked if I had purchased the vehicle at Honda Universe. When I responded that I did not, he yelled at me that they are not required to accept any lease returns without any appointment and Honda Financial does not dictate which vehicles they are required to accept back. I did not know this so I apologized all the while still very polite and calm. He told me that the car was returned to my home the previous day. When I told him that I did not see it that morning or the night before, he replied in a very nasty tone "well, that is your fault and I hope you have insurance!" Well, after some time and effort I did locate the vehicle at a friends home sitting on his driveway with the keys in ignition. That was the address that I ordered the final lease inspection to so i guess they were able to find that address through the system. All in all, if that is the way they treat their customers in today's era, I would sooner take my business elsewhere even if its further.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Honda Universe responded to this review

November 20, 2014

Our goal at Honda Universe is 100% Customer Satisfaction. Honda Financial does not dictate but may suggest a dealership local to the customer for the lease return. Our Lease Returns at Honda Universe are conducted between the business hours of 9am-5pm and usually by appointment. If the customer did not lease or is not releasing another vehicle from our dealership there are specific documents related to the vehicle being returned which need to be signed off by the customer. Honda Universe is not obligated to take back lease returns originally leased from other dealerships or brokers, It is also a very critical time of the year and we may not have the room to store these vehicles at our expense. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.

ebauer92
11/14/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"The Man of Honda"

It was a glorious day when John McGraw walked out from the show room into the parking lot and b-lined striaght for me. From hello to goodbye he was an excellent host and was well informed on questions i had. The best car sales man in NJ by far.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Eriklindstrom
10/29/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"No hassles!"

Mike Galuppo was way more than accommodating when I visited him. I gave him a pretty challenging set of parameters, especially in terms of price, but he was able to come through with no hassle and no need for hours of haggling back and forth. He really took care of me! Thanks again for all of your hard work!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Michael Galuppo

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
frattacasa
10/24/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"An absolutely pleasant experience working with Greg Levine!"

We have been dealing with one of your salesmen, Greg Levine, for over 6 years and EVERY time we have purchased a car, he has been an absolutely wonderful person to deal with! He treats us like good friends! He has from the first time we met him and every time ever since! There are not enough nice words to say about him!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Carlan2
10/23/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Michael Galuppo"

I went to Honda Universe on Oct 22, 2014 to buy a 2014 Honda. I met Mike Galuppo, who took his time explaining various models and features. He took his time and allowed me to drive both an Accord and a Civic. The entire process went very smoothly. After driving both cars, I found that the Civic fit my needs. I am more than happy with Mike and the dealership. I will recommend Honda Universe to my friends and family...

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Michael Galuppo- Salesman

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
1
...
1 - 10 of 326 results
Recently Reviewed Employees
Reviews of John  McGraw
John McGraw

Sales

143 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Greg Levine
Greg Levine

Sales

25 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Karlos Merrick
Karlos Merrick

Sales

1 Lifetime Review

Read Reviews
Reviews of John Mclaughlin
John Mclaughlin

Finance

1 Lifetime Review

Read Reviews
Reviews of Rahsaan  Jones
Rahsaan Jones

Sales

10 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Jerome Hofmann
Jerome Hofmann

Sales

3 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Naresh (Danny) Patel
Naresh (Danny) Patel

Sales

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory