About Us
Copyright 2015 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Mccord's Vancouver Toyota

10455 Ne 53rd Street, Vancouver, Washington 98662
Sales: (360) 816-1333

Makes: Toyota | Scion | Service Center
17% Recommend
2.3

23 Lifetime Reviews

Mccord's Vancouver Toyota
10455 Ne 53rd Street,
Vancouver, Washington 98662
Mccord's Vancouver Toyota Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

Wilsonville Toyota-Scion

1430 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Dick Hannah Toyota

783 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
23 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
JSpaf
8/24/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"McCord Vancouver Toyota: It sounds Easy... It's NOT!!"

As a preface, I rarely write reviews and never write bad reviews. It takes a lot to get me to take the time to actually give a business a rating. However, I am frustrated enough with my experience with McCord Toyota this past month that I am writing a review: in part, to vent; mostly to enlighten others and help them avoid the same experience I had. To be up front, I have no wish to have McCord fixing issues with my car for free that are not of their making; but I am fairly sure that the issues that I will describe below were a result of their work. As a background, I own a 2004 LS430 Lexus. I am the second owner and bought the car last February. The first owner took immaculate care of the care; it only had 83,000 miles on it when I got it, which is practically brand new for a Lexus. I take super care of the car making sure that it has maintenance regularly. In July, I noticed that my car had developed some water spots that wouldn’t come off with normal cleaning. I decided to get the car professionally detailed because I didn’t want to wax over the top of these spots and make the issue worse. I got two bids on an external detailing job, but decided on McCords since I had used them once before for an oil change (and even so, considered them my go-to shop) and since they had Toyota tacked onto their name, I figured that they would stand behind their work should any issues arise. Apparently, I was wrong. I brought my car in for a detailing (and routine fluid/tire pressure inspection) on July 17th in the morning; I picked it up in the evening. Externally, the car looked nearly brand new and I was impressed with the job that they did. As I drove away, I noticed that the side mirrors were adjusted all the way toward the inside of the car, but waited to readjust them until I got to my home (five minutes away). When I got into my driveway, I tried adjusting my side mirrors. When I tried, the mirrors on either side wouldn’t budge (and yes, I had the selector switch selecting the appropriate mirror). Since I bought the car, I have had intermittent issues with the left mirror left-right rotation. I have had no issues, though, with up-down movement on the left mirror or up-down/left-right movement on the right mirror. Confused I ended up rolling down my windows and adjusting them by hand. When I went to roll up my left window, it got stuck. It would roll partially up and then stop. After a few seconds, I could roll it up a bit more and then, it seemed, the motor would “die” again. Mildly alarmed, I tried my right window and after a few cycles it exhibited the same behavior. My windows have never had an issue and the combination of all three issues at once convinced me that McCord had done something during the detail or routine inspection. I called McCord and talked to Wendy, one of the customer service representatives. She told me that if the issue continued that they would look into it. I brought my car back into McCords on July 21st for a diagnostic, as the issues did not go away. I tried to explain to the girl at the counter what happened and that I talked to Wendy and that they needed to stand behind their work and check out the car. She was very reluctant to understand that they might have had anything to do with the problem and told me that they would have to charge me $110 for the diagnostic. I left with the understanding that I might or might not be charged for them to diagnose a problem I was pretty sure they created; I questioned in my mind whether they would have a motivation to prove their own error, but hoped that they would do the right thing and get to the bottom of the issue. I got a call that afternoon (I think from Wendy) that they found that the side mirror button was worn out due to age and that it would be $400 for the button (I don’t remember how much for the labor). They couldn’t recreate the issue with the windows. They assured me (as if they were being generous) that I wouldn’t be charged for the diagnostic. I was pretty skeptical that they tried very hard to diagnose anything, because the window issue was occurring every 3-5 cycles and was very repeatable. Sure enough, when I went to pick up my car that evening, the first time I rolled my windows down one of them (I don’t remember which) got stuck. When I checked out, the girl at the desk gave me Kerrie Keesee’s card, the Service/Tire manager. I figured if I went up a level, maybe I could get some action. So, I e-mailed Kerrie, explaining the details of my situation and asking whether I could meet her personally to discuss the issue. Crickets... didn’t hear from her. A couple of days later, Wendy called me in response to my e-mail to Kerrie and I discussed how disappointed I was in their response. They obviously didn’t try very hard to diagnose the issue with the windows. Wendy came up with a couple of lame explanations for the issue (including it being a thermal switch “feature”)… ummm, no. I am a mechanical engineer who works on electro-mechanical systems all day and motors are not designed to work like my windows are working (something is obviously broken). When I probed her about the possibility of the detailer getting water in my car, she assured me that they don’t intentionally get water in cars... really??? Reluctantly, she told me that I could have my car looked at again. Frustrated and uneasy by the dodgy conversation that I had with Wendy, I e-mailed Kerrie again bluntly expressing my frustration with Wendy and with the fact that I had to bring my car in for a second time for something that should have been solved the first time. Crickets… again. I followed up my e-mail with two phone calls to Kerrie because I wanted to be sure to talk to her when I took my car back in. She wouldn’t pick up and there was no voice message option. On August 7th, I brought my Lexus in for a second diagnostic. When I first got there, I requested to talk to Kerrie, in person. The guy, Tom, who checked me in went to her office to find her, but, conveniently, she was not there. Before leaving, I took Tom out to my car to show him, in person, the window issue so that there would be no doubt that it existed. He called me in the afternoon to tell me that they found that the thermal switches in both windows are “dying of old age”. It would be about $1000 for both motors and $1300 for labor to replace them. He gave no explanation for how they would both start to fail at the same time (along with my side mirrors). When I went to pick up my car that evening, I asked to speak to the general manager, Phil. I was pretty impressed by talking to him. He was going to have his best mechanic look at my car, and was going to get Wendy, Kerrie, and the detailer in a room to discuss my situation. He assured me that they would get to the bottom of the issue. I finally felt like I was getting somewhere… apparently, I was wrong. I was having the conversation with Phil at the front of his showroom and apparently he was in de-escalation mode, but had no intention of carrying through with his promises. Wendy called me on August 9th to tell me that I had e-mailed Phil (which I had not) and that they discussed my situation and decided there was nothing else they could do to help. To summarize, I am thoroughly frustrated by dealing with these folks. They have no interest in their customers beyond the easy money. They truly have a “car salesman” mentality and, by all appearances, only go through the motions for appeasement sake. I feel like everything I tried to do to resolve this issue was successfully dodged by them. In a conversation with a Lexus mechanic and a Lexus service manager from another dealership (just for a sanity check), they said that the motors in my car windows don’t just go out. The Lexus mechanic said he has never replaced a window motor and, in fact, the motors aren’t kept in stock by distributors, but have to be special ordered. The total damage to my car isn’t small either. It would be upwards of $3000 to fix both mirror button and windows; and, quite frankly, I have no confidence that they properly diagnosed the issues. My recommendation: get your Toyota/Lexus servicing done elsewhere. If there is an issue that arises from their work, don’t expect them to stand behind it. Again, I don’t want McCord to fix issues arising from the age of my car for free; but every conversation I had with McCord convinced me that they aren’t straight-shooters and that they are doing the bare minimum to address the issue. Again, two mirrors and two windows all die of old age on the same day… really?? Yeah, mistakes happen, I get that… however, not standing behind your mistakes is unacceptable!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Wendy, Kerrie, Tom, Phil

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
evrk
6/05/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Left my personal information laying around for anyone to see"

When I went for a test drive, the salesperson asked for my license. He made a copy and left it "face up" on his desk while we were on the test drive. It was in the middle of the show room for anyone to see and had my name and address on it. My personal information should have been secured in a locked cabinet. I don't want to deal with a company that doesn't care to protect my personal information.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

I can't remember his name

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
NOYDB
6/02/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"You aren't good enough.Your not spending enough. "

We bought our first Toyota at McCords and gave us a great deal.So why not go back since the first time they were so nice. We had to take our car back in after 3 days after we bought it because it had such a bad pull to the right that you couldn't barely drive it w/o using all your might to keep it straight. They told my fiance that he probably hit a curb and put it out of alignment so they said they would check it for a price. We decline went somewhere else where they checked it for free to find out that it had a perfect alignment and that we had a radial pull from the horrible cheap tires they had on the car. So before making our first payment and putting out $500 for a DP on the car we had to put out another $600 for brand new tires. After all that we than had a transmission leak from a bad a gasket and took it in and had it fixed at Toyota and they told us that it would be $170 for everything I said is that for EVERYTHING because it was such a great price and the MGR said "YES, that is for everything" That is why we took it there and then when my fiance got their to pick up the car they gave him the bill and it was almost a $100 more so he called me and I asked to talk to Mgr(who i talked to and she was the one handing him the bill) who gave me the price and then she said "oh I forgot to add the transmission fluid price on to that we HAD to pay that price I said "oh, that is too bad that is your problem not mine so they gave us the price of $170." she said "you are right, it says in my notes here that this total is for everything and I should have doubled checked." So now we have paid our car off over 2 years ago and went on their lot to look at Sequoias(older one that has decent miles and around $25K we weren't looking for top notch or new but we should still be treated as any other customer that comes in there and spends $55K+) and we were walking around one of the salesman come over and says"what you looking for?" we tell him and then he automatically goes right into "how much are you approved for?" Still by this point there was no introduction or anything no name NOTHING. Then he says" well, the only one we have that is used is $55K." Still no intro still no name etc.. My fiance looks at him and says" So you are a Toyota lot and you ONLY have 1 used Sequoia and it's $55K then con't on to say "for that price I could buy a new one and so disappointed that your a Toyota lot and you have 1 used Sequoia when we saw a couple sitting on their lot." Then he walks away didn't even say have a nice day or good bye or anything it was like we were a bother because we didn't want to spend $55K on a car. My fiance says Thanks for no help and your no courtesy self you must have made your money for the day.. Then we walked away went home and I emailed and talked too a C/S rep or someone who introduced me to a sales mgr who asked me who we talked to and looked up their inventory and says we don't have a used Sequoia for $55K let alone our new ones are less who intern put me with I am not sure because I got no card he barely wanted to help me so and barely got any of our info in at what we were looking for so I know we will never get a call. Which is fine because they are overly priced anyways and rude. That guy also was in a hurry and didn't really want to help us and was telling the computer to hurry up I have people in financing. So I felt unappreciated as a customer and will never send anyone over there again. After I told my family and a couple of our friends about what happened they told me that they were treated the same way and will not be returning there and will pass the word on not to go there and we are ourselves praying that we find what we are looking for before they find anything so we can say "We found somewhere that actually cared enough and didn't mind helping us and our money was just as good as anyone else who spends $60K if they are even trying to find us anything. This place is a joke. Too bad for them because they have lost 3 sales and all them in the past 3 months where my family and friend spent Almost $45K-60K on their cars and trucks. All because this joke of a place has enough money they can afford to lose that kind of money in short amount of time. I wonder if the owners know how their new and loyal customer are treated.. If I had returning customers and they recommended people to me I would in fact insure that they got the best deal of their life and the best car buying experience ever so they would return and keep recommending people. Right now I have a friend that is buying a $60K Mercedes(this is including my sister and mom and another friend that spent almost $60K on each one of their cars thats $240K in cars of lost sales SAD!!SMDH) because of this place. She really wanted a brand new Sequoia but this place turned her off so bad that she will never buy a Toyota. She has also told everyone NOT to shop at McCords. My family too told everyone too. Way too go McCords glad you can afford losing business.. Do I recommend McCord's NEVER!!! Run Run you will get better service and probably a better deal somewhere else.. To everyone else good luck in your car shopping. P.S. Word of advice for McCords remember one nice deed or experience will go a long ways but may not go as far as you would like it to go but 1 negative experience for a customer will go 100X further. Also, remember that every person has more than 10 friends and those 10 friends have 10-20 friends that they will tell about their negative experience. Customer service is key to keeping a business going.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

HAHAHA!! are you kidding? If they all weren't in such hurry and we weren't a bother I would have told you them

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Toyotafan
4/18/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Attitude problem, treats women poorly"

I've tried to buy a car at this dealership 3 times in the last 15 years. They do not treat women seriously. Every salesman was condescending, I was treated like I couldn't possibly be able to afford a new car. Literally did not even want to let me have a test drive. The last time I did drive a Prius V and looked at a Highlander. The salesman would not discuss price with me, saying that all their cars sell at MSRP or better. Well, there are dealers in Portland that make deals, I know. I got a good one.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Gray haired guy

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
5
Newmelton
2/07/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Tires listed as rotated on service receipt"

I marked my tires to be sure tire rotation was preformed. This is my second Tacoma. They have destroyed 11 years of trust and loyalty.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Service

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
3
roboberto
1/31/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Does not peform required maintenance"

We bought our 2012 Camry new from McCord's two years ago. A two year maintenance contract was included. We brought it in every 6 months for the required maintenance work. In mid-December they performed the last of the two-year maintenance work, but they didn't change the cabin air filter -- which was filthy despite us not be smokers or pet owners -- nor did they change the engine air filter which also was dirty because it too had never been changed in any of previous maintenance work. I had to go to an auto parts store to buy the parts so I could replace these myself, fortunately they are easy to do, but this work was supposed to have been done twice during the two years by the dealer. I can only conclude they wanted to save a few bucks by not changing the filters. I took pictures of the filters. I'll be sending them to the service manager.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Kathy Fowler

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
3
Tania1975
12/04/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"awesome"

Worked with khalil. Was pleasant to deal with easy going, knowledge of product was good. Funny. Made it the easiest car deal ever. Yes rav4 does get better than 30 miles on highway. Thank mccords for having good people .

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Khalil zeeter

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
solderboy999
12/03/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Will Lie to get your business"

I had a terrible experience selling my used car to Vancouver Toyota. After taking it in once to have it inspected and to have them make an offer, I left and told them that I thought it would sell for more to a private party. After my one and only visit Vancouver Toyota then proceeded to call me almost EVERY OTHER DAY to try to get me to come back in and sell my vehicle to them. The biggest issue is that after 2 weeks of their calls I finally decided I would be willing to sell my vehicle to them. I spoke to the representative on the phone and said I would drive it back in to sell it to them, but only if they were willing to increase their offer. The representative told me she would have to check with the used car manager and call me back. 15 minutes later she called back and said that they were going to offer me a higher amount and to bring it in as soon as I could. That same evening after driving 1.5 hours in rush hour traffic to get to Vancouver Toyota they then proceeded to tell me that, "not only will we not increase our offer, but we really think it is worth less than our original offer". The fact that this business blatantly lied and misled me only to get me into their dealership is disgusting. Because of these types of sales practices I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THAT NO ONE TRUST THEM WITH YOUR MONEY OR YOUR BUSINESS.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Steve Starbuck

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
5
rcashk
11/23/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"great sales person"

I had a great experience with our sales person he even went as far as to pick me up at my house and take me down to pick up my car he was always available when I had questions it was a great experience

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

sales

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
lovegs
6/10/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Appraiser Sketchy"

I went in to test drive a 2014 Camry Hybrid base model and when it came to the point giving me a trade-in value for my 2011 Hyundai Elantra, which was in excellent condition, the sales person came back and said there was black smoke coming from the exhaust. I said that's impossible and she said "I witnessed it". At that point I had already been there going back and forth on the price for about an hour and after that comment, I was fed up and left. I took my car home (one mile away) and parked it in the garage. I immediately noticed a strong burning smell and found a ring of black gunk on the end of my tailpipe. Once I wiped it clean and restarted my car, the smell went away. I never smelled it before or after that day and I believe the appraiser purposely did something to my car to diminish the value. They had written on the estimate that the trade-in value for my car was "pending repair or warrant service". That same weekend, I traded in my car for $2,400 more than what they offered and now I'm driving a fully loaded 2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid LTD.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Sales and Finance - don't remember names

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
6
1
1 - 10 of 23 results

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory