About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Penske Honda

4.6

210 Lifetime Reviews

4140 E. 96th St., Indianapolis, Indiana 46240 Directions
Sales: (866) 762-5540

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

210 Reviews of Penske Honda

Sort by Write a review
January 28, 2017

"Purchase from xxxx"

- Reggiemiller98

So I go in one Saturday afternoon to test drive a Mercedes-Benz. I liked the car and so I decided to buy it, next morning as I'm driving my family to church I discover that one of the belt buckles does not work. My 11-year-old daughter it's constantly fidgeting with the belt buckle because it keeps popping out. I stop the car and I move her over to the other seat. I call my salesman and let him know that I need to have this fixed as soon as possible as it should have been caught in the inspection and that my daughters life was put in danger. So they tell me to bring it in for service which I do and at that point I'm told that I will have to take it to Mercedes-Benz myself and more than likely pay out-of-pocket and be a get reimbursed at a later date. So I ask to speak with a manager. At this point I'm hot because not only is the belt buckle not working, but the car alignment is off and the eco system is not functioning and a cigarette lighter is also not working. As I talk to the sales manager my voice is elevated because they seem to not grasp the concept that my kid could have been hurt by a faulty safety belt. I'm quickly told in a rude tone to "chill" and "calm down". I proceed to keep trying to explain how crazy it is to expect me to do all the leg work of having to take the car to a Mercedes benz dealership and pay out of pocket on a car I've only had for 7 days and the safety of my daughter. Another older sales manager gets up from his seat and gets in my face and towers over me and tells me to chill!! I ask him to please step back because he is in my personal space and I feel like I'm being threatened. He continues to get in my face and keeps telling me to be quiet. When I try to tell him that my daughter safety was at risk he laughs and tells me to relax. I have never in my life ever felt so bullied by anyone, I talk to the general manager. He tells me to move past it, and "what do you want me to do"? I had another vehicle all lined up to buy that day from Penske. Two vehicles in a span of 7 days. We are taking our business elsewhere for the second car. I expected an apology from the salesman who got in my face, to no avail he basically said "just leave". Please don't buy here, I could deal with having issues as I'm buying a used car, but to have to do all the leg work and pay out of pocket and having to jump thru hoops is too much. But to have a manager get in my face and try to intimidate me is beyond belief. I just purchased a 24k car and trying to buy another 15k car just 7 days later. I just asked you to make my first purchase right, safety belt inspection is so easy and crucial. If you don't get why I'm bothered by my daughter being put in danger by a half-xxx inspection process and not expect to get an earful then you are a business with no heart!! Penske Honda you have lost what would have been a loyal customer! Everyone I urge you to Take your business elsewhere. If they can't check a safety belt, imagine what the engine and transmission will be like!! I will not have a sales manager get in my face and told to be quiet and to leave!! Good day

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sean Weaver
not yet
rated
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.

To ensure accuracy, a minimum of 5 consumer ratings are required to calculate an average score.
September 03, 2016

"How to lose a long-term customer in 5 minutes."

- Hondalover414

My family and I have always brought our Honda to Penske on 96th for all my service needs (we even purchased our cars from them too), but quality of service has certainly gone downhill in recent months. Today at 3:05pm, I brought my Honda in for a simple oil change. I was confronted by an employee that stated they were not accepting oil changed after 3pm because of the holiday weekend and I would have to come back "sometime next week". It was surprising to me because the Penske Honda service I've experienced in the past years would never turn away business or damage a long-term customer relationship over 5 minutes. After calling and speaking with a service representative, I was informed that the issue was created by "too many service representatives being on vacation already". I would recommend taking your vehicle to a service center that really appreciates your long-term business, instead of finding excuses to turn you away.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service employees I spoke to did not have name badges
May 03, 2016

"Not very friendly"

- stephanieindy

I visisted Penske Honda ready to purchase a Honda Pilot but the prices weren't competitive compared to others in the area. I ultimately decided to go with another Honda dealer. To be honest I was a little disappointed. In the last 6 months I bought 2 brand new Hondas from Penske this would have been the third Honda I would've purchased there, the sales person showed little appreciation for this. I ended up purchasing Honda of Fishers 2013 Honda Pilot EX-L certified with 26,980 miles for $30,848 out the door. Penske has the exact same vehicle with 29k miles. I was quoted mid 34k out the door of course this wasn't before asking for proof that I had a lower offer from somewhere else and trying to debunk the fact that the other vehicles were of like quality. When asking for a quote I also refrenced another 2013 EX-L pilot which was being sold by a Jeep dealer with same miles but for only 28K out the door. My salesperson did little to actually earn this sale which was surprising again based of the fact this would have been my third purchase from him! Instead he asked to look through my phone to confirm that such deal actually existed. After he consulted with his manager he came back and basically said "too far apart, sorry". I guess I wasn't worthy enough of actually even hearing their best price, I had to actually ask for it which is where they came back with the mid 34s out the door price for the same exact vehicle with the same Honda warranty! I've never done business with Honda of Fishers and despite the fact that I have bought 2 Honda in the last 6 months from Penske I'll choose Honda of fishers any day over penske now due to the courtesy and respect of their salesmen.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Steve Jones
February 13, 2016

"Sold my car out from underneath me"

- al8apex

I attempted to purchase one of their cars they had listed, was the 1st to contact them and kept up my end and had conversations with them all along, even when I was returning home from my cancer radiation treatment ... I had asked for a quote on the Penske extended warranty (a HUGE additional profit for them) and then they sell it out from underneath me ... WOW!!! Amazing. I have had good experiences with other Penske dealerships, but it took me a week to settle down and compose this rating people involved with were Song Park and a "Nick" whose 1st language was not English either

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nick, Song Park
January 18, 2016

"What a nightmare!!!"

- Angryelf1

The car dealership was very helpful when it came to getting us to buy a car but as soon as we said ok we would like to buy the car - customer service went out the window. Paper work that should have taken an hour took 3 and no one showed any desire to help us out as they all "putzed" around the dealership. Honda is a great car - but this dealership has no problem wasting your time.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
All of them
August 27, 2015

"Best Service"

- Paula G.

Penske in Indianapolis has earned my business. I live in Lafayette, IN and I will drive the hour to receive quality service. Tommy Mecklenburg, my salesman, has been great and has gone beyond just selling me a vehicle. He seems to sincerely care about me as a customer. I have been a loyal Honda owner since 2003. My experience at Penske and dealings with Mr. Mecklenburg has restored my belief in Honda. I will be encouraging others to make the drive to Indy.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tommy Mecklenburg and Jace Smith
June 15, 2015

"Exceptional Dealership"

- Sandi

Tonight we drove home our beautiful new Honda Accord. This was our second purchase from Penske. The customer service was exceptional. Alli Sadler, our personalization specialist was helpful as we made our decisions on options. John Davisson, our sales associate, took an extraordinary amount of time to review with us the features of our car and went the extra mile to help us sync our phones to the system, program our radio, and customize our settings. This is a first-class dealership that puts the customer first.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
John Davisson, Alli Sadler, Bill Edney
June 15, 2015

"Plesent experience"

- Mark, WL

I leased a 2015 Honda Accord. Karen E my sales associate, is friendly, informative and new the features of the car. Karen, explained the how the features in the car worked and answered all of my questions. The price was very competitive as I had checked around at most of the other dealers. Both the finance manager and the sales manager were knowledgeable, and informative.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Karen E, finance manager, and I believe a sales manager.
June 15, 2015

"Painlessly buying a car"

- Judi99

Thanks to all Penske staff that worked with me. Needed a used reliable car, wanted to have my mechanic inspect. All were helpful in getting to the signing. Also made the one repair that was found.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Steve McGuire, Justin, Frank, Doyle
June 15, 2015

"Great customer service"

- Susan

Dawn was the consummate customer service rep. We had to wait 35 minutes to get a key but felt as if we had been taken care of beautifully. If I owned a business, I'd hire her away from Penske!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dawn
1
...
1 - 10 of 210 results