About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Penske Honda

4140 E. 96th St., Indianapolis, Indiana 46240
Sales: (866) 762-5540

Makes: Honda | Service Center
Excellent
91% Recommend
4.7

209 Lifetime Reviews

Penske Honda
4140 E. 96th St.,
Indianapolis, Indiana 46240
Penske Honda Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

Indy Honda

75 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
209 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
Hondalover414
9/03/2016
Reason For Visit
Service

"How to lose a long-term customer in 5 minutes."

My family and I have always brought our Honda to Penske on 96th for all my service needs (we even purchased our cars from them too), but quality of service has certainly gone downhill in recent months. Today at 3:05pm, I brought my Honda in for a simple oil change. I was confronted by an employee that stated they were not accepting oil changed after 3pm because of the holiday weekend and I would have to come back "sometime next week". It was surprising to me because the Penske Honda service I've experienced in the past years would never turn away business or damage a long-term customer relationship over 5 minutes. After calling and speaking with a service representative, I was informed that the issue was created by "too many service representatives being on vacation already". I would recommend taking your vehicle to a service center that really appreciates your long-term business, instead of finding excuses to turn you away.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Service employees I spoke to did not have name badges

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
stephanieindy
5/03/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Not very friendly"

I visisted Penske Honda ready to purchase a Honda Pilot but the prices weren't competitive compared to others in the area. I ultimately decided to go with another Honda dealer. To be honest I was a little disappointed. In the last 6 months I bought 2 brand new Hondas from Penske this would have been the third Honda I would've purchased there, the sales person showed little appreciation for this. I ended up purchasing Honda of Fishers 2013 Honda Pilot EX-L certified with 26,980 miles for $30,848 out the door. Penske has the exact same vehicle with 29k miles. I was quoted mid 34k out the door of course this wasn't before asking for proof that I had a lower offer from somewhere else and trying to debunk the fact that the other vehicles were of like quality. When asking for a quote I also refrenced another 2013 EX-L pilot which was being sold by a Jeep dealer with same miles but for only 28K out the door. My salesperson did little to actually earn this sale which was surprising again based of the fact this would have been my third purchase from him! Instead he asked to look through my phone to confirm that such deal actually existed. After he consulted with his manager he came back and basically said "too far apart, sorry". I guess I wasn't worthy enough of actually even hearing their best price, I had to actually ask for it which is where they came back with the mid 34s out the door price for the same exact vehicle with the same Honda warranty! I've never done business with Honda of Fishers and despite the fact that I have bought 2 Honda in the last 6 months from Penske I'll choose Honda of fishers any day over penske now due to the courtesy and respect of their salesmen.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Steve Jones

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
al8apex
2/13/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Sold my car out from underneath me"

I attempted to purchase one of their cars they had listed, was the 1st to contact them and kept up my end and had conversations with them all along, even when I was returning home from my cancer radiation treatment ... I had asked for a quote on the Penske extended warranty (a HUGE additional profit for them) and then they sell it out from underneath me ... WOW!!! Amazing. I have had good experiences with other Penske dealerships, but it took me a week to settle down and compose this rating people involved with were Song Park and a "Nick" whose 1st language was not English either

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Nick, Song Park

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Angryelf1
1/18/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"What a nightmare!!!"

The car dealership was very helpful when it came to getting us to buy a car but as soon as we said ok we would like to buy the car - customer service went out the window. Paper work that should have taken an hour took 3 and no one showed any desire to help us out as they all "putzed" around the dealership. Honda is a great car - but this dealership has no problem wasting your time.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

All of them

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Paula G.
8/27/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Best Service"

Penske in Indianapolis has earned my business. I live in Lafayette, IN and I will drive the hour to receive quality service. Tommy Mecklenburg, my salesman, has been great and has gone beyond just selling me a vehicle. He seems to sincerely care about me as a customer. I have been a loyal Honda owner since 2003. My experience at Penske and dealings with Mr. Mecklenburg has restored my belief in Honda. I will be encouraging others to make the drive to Indy.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Tommy Mecklenburg and Jace Smith

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Sandi
6/15/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Exceptional Dealership"

Tonight we drove home our beautiful new Honda Accord. This was our second purchase from Penske. The customer service was exceptional. Alli Sadler, our personalization specialist was helpful as we made our decisions on options. John Davisson, our sales associate, took an extraordinary amount of time to review with us the features of our car and went the extra mile to help us sync our phones to the system, program our radio, and customize our settings. This is a first-class dealership that puts the customer first.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

John Davisson, Alli Sadler, Bill Edney

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Mark, WL
6/15/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Plesent experience"

I leased a 2015 Honda Accord. Karen E my sales associate, is friendly, informative and new the features of the car. Karen, explained the how the features in the car worked and answered all of my questions. The price was very competitive as I had checked around at most of the other dealers. Both the finance manager and the sales manager were knowledgeable, and informative.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Karen E, finance manager, and I believe a sales manager.

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Judi99
6/15/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Painlessly buying a car"

Thanks to all Penske staff that worked with me. Needed a used reliable car, wanted to have my mechanic inspect. All were helpful in getting to the signing. Also made the one repair that was found.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Steve McGuire, Justin, Frank, Doyle

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Susan
6/15/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Great customer service"

Dawn was the consummate customer service rep. We had to wait 35 minutes to get a key but felt as if we had been taken care of beautifully. If I owned a business, I'd hire her away from Penske!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Dawn

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Rick15
6/12/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Very Smooth Car Buying Experience"

The entire process when buying our Pilot and Civic was great! Sales, finance, even service all worked perfectly together which made every step very smooth for us. The personal attention as well as their attention to detail made it feel more like a conversation than a business transaction. It was definitely a very easy and satisfying car buying experience. Thank you to the entire Penske Honda TEAM!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Song, John, Ray, Both Finance Managers

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
1
...
1 - 10 of 209 results

Need a new car?

The report has been submitted to DealerRater support. To view the status of the report at any time, save this link.