About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Penske Toyota Scion of West Covina

1.8

57 Lifetime Reviews

1800 E Garvey Ave S, West Covina, California 91791 Directions
Sales: (626) 859-7400

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

57 Reviews of Penske Toyota Scion of West Covina

Sort by Write a review
June 15, 2017

"Toyota RAV4 attempted purchase"

- shadyfinance

Paid $45 in Uber costs & spent 1.5 hours in traffic to get to West Covina, to look at and sign purchase papers for a new RAV4. Salesperson was great! She was kind and helpful, but the same can't be said about the finance department. Waited another 3 hours (???) for the finance manager to put together papers - and then the higher-ups said they couldn't go lower than the Costco invoice price they put together (which is xxxxxxxx, because the Toyota Pasadena dealership beat them on the exact same model by over $1k, I just wanted a different color), and then tried to nickel-and-dime me to the tune of over $1800 (AMS alarm xxxxxxxx, gap insurance I didn't ask for, and parts THAT WERE ALREADY LISTED IN THE CASH PRICE OF THE VEHICLE). Didn't end up reaching a deal. Wasted five hours of my time. Shady finance department. Find another dealership; your time is worth more than this.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lauren (sales)
June 11, 2017

"Lies and fabrications. High pressured an older lady."

- billandlinda1

My 74 year old wife took in her 2012 Scion XB for a coupon oil change. The car only has 25,000 miles on it. The service rep. John Ahulii, tried to pressure her into getting additional repairs to include front brake pads and tires totaling $1,300. When she explained that the front break pads had been replace only 12000 miles ago by Penske Toyota he did not have an adequate response. Brake pads only lasting 12,000 miles is ridiculous. Also Mr. Ahulii failed to tell her that since the tires only had 25000 miles on them there might be a manufacturers warranty that could still be used. He was only interested in manipulating her into costly repairs we shouldn't have to make. We have bought four new cars from Toyota and deserve better treatment that this. My wife asked to speak to a manager about this but no one showed up. The Service Manager, Demetrius, contacted us after I complained to Corporate Toyota. All he could do is offer trite platitudes about a new beginning and a new level of trust but offered only to have us bring the car back in so he could LOOK at it. We have been going there for years and deserve better treatment. FOLLOW UP NOTE: Their general manager, Rant, contacted me and gave me a song and dance that didn't relate to the service document provided to my wife at the end of her service visit. He called me twice and then criticized me for not returning his calls. They are liars and only trying to cover their butts. Corporate will here of this. Bill T. Bill T.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Rep, Mr Ahulii, Service Manager Demetrious, Location Manager Rant.
February 01, 2017

"Car bought from under me, as I was doing paperwork!"

- Bryan

Drove an hour and a half to West Covina to pick up a used FR-S. Started paperwork, hard inquiries put on my credit, got my apr, started paperwork. Then was told someone else is interested in the car AS WE ARE DOING PAPERWORK. Salesman leaves the office, comes back, "we arent making profit on your sale, if you buy gap insurance, it will put you in above the other buyer". I told them, I dont need gap insurance, if you priced the car incorrectly, that isnt my problem, you ran my credit, we agreed, lets finish this deal. Then I was introduced to the sales manager Tito, who informed me that they cant sell me the car, that the other buyer came in above me. So, drove an hour and a half back home, no car. Absolutely shady practices here, avoid it at all costs. I am floored that this can actually happen. So, thanks for the hard inquiries on my credit for absolutely nothing. I will be escalating this to BBB and Penske..

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
David Bae
January 12, 2017

"2017 Tacoma purchase "

- Joel & Maria Olaguez

This dealership is awesome, salesperson not pushy at all, but very knowledgeable, his supervisor also not pushy at all, they are very professional people, would greatly recommended them.thanks

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alex/Fernando
October 11, 2015

"Worst Car Buying Experience EVER!! "

- Jr182009

Awfully inadequate CAR SALES/FINANCE DEPT./MANAGEMENT etiquette. Purchased a vehicle in September, nevertheless Finance Department was deceitful/fraudulent from the moment I walked into the finance process. Not to mention they attempted to DECEITFULLY add maintenance packages that altogether added $6,500K to the contract w/o prior knowledge. They over and over attempted to affirm that the previous dealership owners, Sage Group where taken out by Toyota due to their practices. I've done business with Sage and hands down their practices surpass Penske Toyota's practices. I attempted to get in contact with their General Manager regarding the removal of maintenance packages, 3 times. The representative answering the call stated he was in a "meeting" BUT that he DID receive the email requesting a call back. I replied I didn't want him leaving for the day and not getting back to me, she said he won't. What happened next? I went into the dealership surprise, HE IS NOT THERE! There reply was he just left couple minutes ago. IRONIC! I asked a sales associate on his ETA back, representative gets on the phone with such hypocrisy as I hear him and see him peaking over to me, he comes back to say he is out for the day. Sales Manager (JOHNNY GARCIA), Finance (MAGDY), and General Manager (STEVE KWAK) are complete FRAUD! I would NOT recommend this dealership to anyone who is trying to PURCHASE or SERVICE, their ratings speak for themselves in the little time they been there. Not to mention compare to Sage Group? Sage was far more exceptional when it came to business dealings. NO customer service at all, DON'T FORGET WHO PAYS YOUR WAGES? The customers do! Your boss might sign them but w/o the customer.........

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Johnny Garcia, Magdy, Steve Kwak
September 20, 2015

"Un ethical Service Manager"

- rbtstock

Stay Away from this service department if you want to deal with a toyota authorized dealership, I recommend Puente hills Toyota, just up the road on Azusa&60Fwy. These guys overtightened my drain plug 3mos earlier and when I came in to this service dept on 09-18-2015, they first told me it was where I took it for my last oil change, when they found out it was this very dealership that did the damage, they changed thier story, and said the problem was common with cars of this mileage, It is not a moving part, it shouldnt matter how many miles it has I stated, they wanted to charge me $600 to fix the problem, I told them no way, make a long review short, they still got me for $100, to re-tap the Oil pan, and did not accept any responsibility for the damage, Agustine Gonzales is a money grubbing snake, stay away from this service department, you've been warned!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
William Nadler ii & Agustine Gonzales (Service Manager)
January 11, 2015

"deceptive/illegal sales tactics by the finance director"

- ysk

Great experience with one of the fleet managers...however, do not trust the finance dept, Jae Lee....he tried selling us an extended warranty package and based on previous experiences, we asked if we can think about it and purchase the ext warranty at a later time. He stated that ext warranty package CANNOT be purchased at a later time. Based on his statement, we ended up agreeing to it; we didn't feel right about it and did a little research when we returned home. Not only info on the internet but even the brochure we took from the dealer states that the extended warranty CAN in fact be purchased at a later time as long is its done before the original, 3year/36k warranty expires. I will be calling their mgmt and whoever else regarding this issue. Typical, shady finance director trying to make a quick buck. Hopefully his deceptive tactics were done on his own and the dealership is not condoning his actions. I will let u guys know later in regards to how the mgmt is going to be addressing this matter.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jae Lee
September 14, 2014

"LOVE MY NEW RAV 4!"

- glory.fang

Just bought a 2014 Rav 4 using the 0% interest 4-year program and am loving my new car :) The experience with Joseph H. was really great! He was kind enough to show me the different color options and upgrades so that I would feel 100% about my purchase. Worked hard to get the best price for me and Esteven A. was really great at making sure all the electronic gadgets were set up before I headed off on the road! Overall, great experience and would highly recommend to friends and family!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Joseph Hernandez
August 19, 2014

"Dishonest people from the top to the bottom"

- jwen66

This is the worst dealership I have ever dealt with. Everyone from the middle management to the general sales management are dishonest and full of lies. David Sanchez d*cked me around for 3 days promising that he would have a prius plugin for me and that he would even deliver the car to me. Also promised me that he would buy my old car if no other dealers wanted it. Was not able to keep any of his promises and never picks up the phone or returns calls. I would give this place zero stars if I could.. waste of time and worst customer service I have ever seen. I cannot believe Penske hired these folks and let them ruin their name.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
David Sanchez, Richard Silvia, Oscar
July 30, 2014

"Jeffrey Gonzalez"

- hirohimura

The dealers worked well with my father and I and we got the deal that would help us in the best set for us. It was Christmas in July!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Scott Peterson, Gustavo A. Hildalgo, Sean Sahrai
1
...
1 - 10 of 57 results