About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Learn more

The Autobarn Nissan of Evanston

1012 Chicago Ave, Evanston, Illinois 60202
Sales: (847) 475-8200

Makes: Nissan | Service Center

Showroom Hours: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM Closed

Good
86% Recommend
4.4

164 Lifetime Reviews

The Autobarn Nissan of Evanston

Hours: Closed

1012 Chicago Ave,
Evanston, Illinois 60202
The Autobarn Nissan of Evanston Info
Hours
Amenities
About The Autobarn Nissan of Evanston

About This Dealer | Hours of Operation | Amenities

About The Autobarn Nissan of Evanston

Sales/Showroom

Monday 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Friday 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Sunday Closed

  • Automated Car Wash
  • Customer Lounge Area
  • Express Service
  • Free Coffee
  • Free Drinks
  • Free WiFi
  • Instant Financing
  • Laptop Computers
  • Authorized Parts Store
  • Rental Car Service Onsite
  • Shuttle Service
  • Television
  • Vending Machines
164 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
myself1969
12/26/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Do not trust internet price"

I was interested in a Leaf and they offered the lowest price. I called in and spoke to confirm the price and they mentioned no hidden charges from the advertised price. I took an appointment and I was helped by Bruce. So Bruce starts with saying there are many incentives added to $14,575 price. He says $7,500 (federal credit) + $4,500 (state credit) + $5,000 (Nissan incentive) and tells the total price is $31,575. I mentioned $4,500 state credit is no longer available and it was stopped back sometime 2 years back. Then he starts saying, the MSRP is $32,000 and will subtract $7,500 (federal credit) and $5,000 (Nissan incentive) and the price is $19,500. I mentioned I am very interested and will buy the vehicle if the price is $14,575 + $7500 + $5,000, which is $27,075 (advertised internet price). He says let me check with my manager. After 5 minutes he comes back and says the price is $27, 075 + $895 (destination fee) + $1,000 (college graduate) + $500 (owner loyalty). I said these were not mentioned when I called in. Bruce mentioned this is the final price. I said the internet price does include destination fee and he said, no it is not included. I asked if they can honor the internet price and he said "no". I just walked away. I finally bought the vehicle from Star Nissan and they were nicer to deal with and honored the advertised price.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Lu1965
12/07/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Misrepresented vehicle price, and did not deal in good faith"

This dealership played the old monthly payment game where they don't show you the actual price of the vehicle, but just show you the monthly payment. They try to get to the payment you can afford without regard for the length of the contract and they try to avoid telling you the interest rate. They also add costs to the advertised price for anti theft, paint protection, etc. They state that it is already applied to the car and can't be removed. Therefore, they try to force you into buying something that you may not want or need. I feel that they use very deceptive sales techniques and do not deal honestly or in good faith.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Debbie123
11/24/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Oil Change"

I went in for a routine oil change and the service was excellent! I dropped off my car and it was ready when promised. The staff couldn't be nicer or more detailed when going over the check up performed on my Maxima. I would recommend the Autobahn for service to all of my friends for sure.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Tom Harrington

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Froglady55
11/23/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Great service"

I have dealt with Don Mekoola for many years. He has always been very helpful in explaining what needs to be done to my car.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
K tolli
11/17/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Great Service"

Don Mekoola was very helpful describing what services my car needed. I've been a customer for some years now & it's always good to get excellent, friendly service when I stop in.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
yonda1
11/15/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Great! !!!!"

Had a great experience Ms.Serita Ford was awesome and I would recommend her and this dealership to my family and friends thanks for the experience!!!!!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Marisol Mariscal
11/12/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Fair, welcoming, easy going!"

Autobarn Nissan of Evanston offers a great inventory, experienced sales staff, and the best of management. I have had horrifying car buying experiences in the past and I'm thrilled to say I won't return to any other dealership but Autobarn Nissan in the future! Being myself, I had a ton of questions which were answered impeccably by one of their internet sales rep, Ms. Cindy. Cindy remained patient and friendly throughout the whole procedure when requesting an appointment due to my hectic schedule. Upon my arrival Cindy introduced herself to me and handed me over to Mikey, the salesman who took care of me throughout my purchase. Pricing was also fair and honest. I'm very happy my friend recommended Autobarn Nissan to me! One of a kind experience.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Cindy Santos, Mikey Hadziahmetovic

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Anna_R
11/12/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Love my Maxima!! "

Unlike other dealerships, they got to me relatively fast, at first I delt with Escarleth. She was very helpful Answering all my questions over the phone and through email. When I came in she greeted me and then I worked with Eddie. He got me to love the car I was already fond of. We got to the numbers and signing the papers and I was out driving my brand New Maxima.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Escarleth. And Eddie

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
robin123
11/12/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Great place!!"

This place is great, took care of me right away, I've had my family come here also and it was excellent customer service. Great people to do business with!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
palmtree
11/11/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"bait-and-switch"

The tactics used by Marco, Slavey and Miki are shameful. Keep reading to see how they gouged me out of $700 (and how I got the money back). Marco showed me a used car I had seen on cars.com. I asked several questions about the condition, history, and specifically what service Autobarn had performed on the car. Marco gave me a schpiel about how they thoroughly inspect every used car that comes in--even those that are not Nissan (the one I was interested in was not a Nissan)--and they bring the cars up to some basic standards. He told me every car gets an oil change, among other things. A couple days later I returned to test drive the car again and take it to my mechanic for an inspection. I have been going to this mechanic for years, he knows me and I trust him. He gave me a list of problems including: dirty oil and filters rear brakes worn out bump in tire (which makes tire weak and at risk for a blowout) Back at Autobarn I asked Marco for a list of the work that was done on the car. He was unable to produce any documents. He kept coming and going, coming and going while I waited and waited and waited. He finally admitted that he couldn't locate any documents showing that the car had been inspected let alone brought up to any standards. Best case: he thought every car was inspected and fixed. Worst case: he was lying. I have no idea which but I would be dubious of anything he says. Enter Slavey, Marco's manager. Slavey was the stereotypical mean guy to Marco's sweet guy. Slavey was skilled at intimidation tactics such as the stony face, dead stares, the repetition mantra, silence, and shutting me down. He refused to negotiate on the price or problems, even when I pointed out that brakes and tires are SAFETY issues. It is UNCONSCIONABLE that a dealership would sell a car with bad brakes and a bad tire..and do so knowingly. And what kind of reputable dealer neglects something so basic as changing the dirty oil and filters? To his credit, Slavey eventually showed a softer side (after watching me cry and discuss and plead for an hour) and offered a deal: he'd replace the 4 tires (my mechanic said they were cracked and dry) and do the brakes; he would do an oil/filter change and I'd pay full price. I agreed even though those things should be standard and not items one has to spend 2 hours arguing over. Later Slavey reneged on the three dry, cracked tires saying they had a lot of tread. In the end, they replaced the one tire and supposedly did an oil and filter change (I don't know if they actually changed the oil/filters because the "need service" oil change code never went away--and again they wouldn't give me documentation). They fixed the brakes a few days later. Again, these are basic items should have been checked and corrected before the car was advertised and shown. Moving on to the finance department. After waiting around for over an hour I met with Miki the finance guy. There was a lot more crying and arguing and discussing. I balked at the high APR and in the end Miki--to his credit--gave me a good rate. Here's how he nabbed me though. Miki was quickly handing me one paper after another to sign. He puts the itemized sales contract before me while he's working on other papers. There's the sale price for the car and then there's $300 for theft shield etching and $400 for autoguard paint protection. "What are these extra charges?" I asked. Miki tells me they come with every car they sell and are not optional. I protested, saying I did not want these items and no one had mentioned them. No budging from Miki. He had slipped them onto the bill and didn't mention them, as though hoping I'd just sign and not notice an extra $700. In the end, I signed--I needed the car--but I really felt deceived and physically ill for paying way more than I felt they deserved for the car that had some problems (not just the 3 items mentioned above). Later, I filed a complaint with the Illinois Attorney General's office about the $700+tax of bogus charges. And you know what? I received a refund from Autobarn for $700 + tax for those bogus charges. I am SOOO grateful for the Ill. AG for helping me find some measure of justice.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Marco Vasquez, Miki Kadric

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
1
...
1 - 10 of 164 results
Recently Reviewed Employees
Reviews of Don Mekoola
Don Mekoola

Service Advisor

20 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Mike Peksin
Mike Peksin

Sales Consultant

3 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Serita Ford
Serita Ford

Sales Consultant

1 Lifetime Review

Read Reviews
Reviews of Hitko Kadric
Hitko Kadric

Sales

16 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Katy  Callinan
Katy Callinan

Sales

9 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Bruce Wittmeyer
Bruce Wittmeyer

Sales

9 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Bojan Kokanoiv
Bojan Kokanoiv

Sales Consultant

9 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Gina Chirca
Gina Chirca

Sales Consultant

4 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Kissy Freeman
Kissy Freeman

Sales Consultant

4 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Larry Cohen
Larry Cohen

Service Manager

3 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory