Read Reviews Thompson Toyota

Thompson Toyota

Thompson Toyota

122 W Swamp Road
Doylestown, Pennsylvania 18901


(215) 345-9460

Thompson Toyota
Manufacturers: Toyota, Service Center

  • Customer Service:

    4.9
  • Quality of Work:

    4.9
  • Friendliness:

    4.9
  • Overall Experience:

    4.9
  • Pricing:

    4.8

based on 62 reviews

Overall
4.9

4.9 out of 5

131 lifetime reviews

Thompson Toyota

Recently Reviewed Employees

  • Tim Earles
    Tim EarlesSales Consultant30 Lifetime Reviews
  • Frank Nocero
    Frank NoceroSales Consultant6 Lifetime Reviews
  • Bob Cohen
    Bob CohenSales Consultant5 Lifetime Reviews
  • Ron Copelin
    Ron CopelinSales Consultant4 Lifetime Reviews
  • John Kelley
    John KelleySales Consultant12 Lifetime Reviews
  • Walter McGinty
    Walter McGintySales Consultant8 Lifetime Reviews
  • Jim Griffin
    Jim GriffinSales Consultant2 Lifetime Reviews
  • Tom Messina
    Tom MessinaSales Consultant2 Lifetime Reviews
  • Jim Ogle
    Jim OgleSales Consultant2 Lifetime Reviews
View All Employees

Cars For Sale by this Dealer

Need a New Car?

Certified: Thompson Toyota

This dealership is a DealerRater® Certified Dealer and is committed to providing quality customer service.


As a Certified Dealer, Thompson Toyota has the opportunity to contact reviewers that had unsatisfactory experiences at their dealership. Contact may be made privately, without giving out anyone's email address, through the DealerRater Message Panel with the goal to resolve any issues the reviewer experienced. Reviews will automatically post after the two week reconciliation period has ended.

About Thompson Toyota

Since 1969, our success at The Thompson Organization has been built upon our commitment to customer service and excellence. Jack Thompson opened the first local Toyota dealership in 1969, and with hard work and perseverance, additional dealerships were acquired: BMW in 1986, Lexus in 1989, Scion in 2004, and Volkswagen, Porsche and Audi in 2010.

Our Location

Sales/Showroom

Monday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Sunday: Closed


Service

Monday: 7:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday: 7:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Friday: 7:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Sunday: Closed


Parts

Monday: 7:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday: 7:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Friday: 7:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Sunday: Closed


Our Amenities


See Service Reviews For This Dealership
""They did the impossible! They won back a former customer!""

wdesiderio
8/23/2014 6:17:21 AM

Reason For Visit: Sales (New)
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes
Employee(s) Dealt With:
Bob CohenBob Cohen
  • Customer Service:

    5
  • Quality of Work:

    5
  • Friendliness:

    5
  • Overall Experience:

    5
  • Pricing:

    5
  • Overall Score:

    5.0

My Review Of Thompson Toyota:

I am and have been a Doylestown resident since 1996. After purchasing a brand new 2003 Highlander from a very young salesman by the name of Andrew Walker at Thompson Toyota, I vowed at the time never to purchase a car from this dealership ever again. After lengthy negotiations on price, when it came to close the deal, Thompson failed to honor the commitments made by Andrew. Andrew's response was "I'm a car salesman . I'm supposed to lie." My observations of the dealership's culture in addition to Andrew's lack of ethics were indications of the way Jack Thompson wished to model his business.

As the result of this experience, my next two cars over the next five years were leased from Fred Beans Subaru and Peruzzi Toyota. Both experiences were OK, but against my better judgment, I decided to go back to Thompson in 2012 when it came time to turn in the leased Camry that I got from Peruzzi. I live close to Thompson Toyota and simply didn't want to be bothered with driving all over the place searching for a fair deal. That's when I met Steve Tagye (sales manager) who introduced me to Bob Cohen (sales consultant). Because of my experience with Thompson in 2003, I was pretty jaded in my discussions with Bob and Steve, but they easily grinned and bared with me and gave me a very good deal on a 2012 Corolla S. But I have to admit that I still wasn't in love with the place regardless of my good experience with Bob and Steve. The 2003 experience was still fresh in my mind and, to me, a car dealership was simply a means to an end in order to get my hands on the car that I wanted to drive.

Fast forward to today. Last week, I had brought my 2012 Corolla S in to Thompson for the annual inspection. While I was waiting, I walked around looking at the 2014 Corolla S and marveled how much Toyota changed the body, features and trim on the S model. I ran into Bob Cohen who I hadn't seen since leasing the 2012 Corolla S and to my amazement, he not only remembered my first and last name, he pronounced my last name perfectly which is no easy feat with those unfamiliar with it. And as cynical as I can be, I don't believe it was part of some conspiracy where the service department called over to the sales department to let Bob know that I was on the property. Frankly, even if it turns out to be that's what happened...Wow! What team communication and salesmanship to make a potential sale!

To cut an already long story short, I am happy to say that I walked out of Thompson Toyota last night with a brand new 2014 Corolla S. Bob, Steve and I put together an excellent deal where they bought me entirely out of the lease on the 2012 Corolla S one year early to get me into the 2014 Corolla S lease at a lower monthly payment! They had to locate the car in the color and model that I wanted from another dealer, which they did in three days, since they didn't have one on the lot. I had hoped to have made out better on the buyout of the 2012 Corolla S lease with some equity to be applied to the new 2014 Corolla S lease since the car I was turning in was in pristine condition and I had such low mileage on it. But I eventually realized that the dealership needs to turn a fair profit on a portion of the entire transaction when they sell the car I was turning in to be able to exist in the first place to continue offering great products and services through the help of great associates like Bob and Steve.

Suffice it to say that these guys have changed my entire outlook on the car buying experience. They are honest, do not employ hard pressure sales tactics, are entirely transparent in their disclosures and are always respectful even at times in the past when I'm embarrassed to say that I may not have been the same to them. If either of these guys ever leave Thompson, I don't know what the xxxx I'm going to do especially since we will eventually need to replace the 2003 Highlander that my wife still drives.

I would highly recommend contacting Bob if you are in the market for a new car. He and Steve work extremely well together.

Message to Jack Thompson...you managed to get back a former customer solely because of these guys which, as you know, is extremely difficult and costly to do. Don't screw it up and revert back to doing business the way a large portion of your industry does.

Was this review helpful to you?   

Response From: Thompson Toyota
Added: 8/25/2014 11:25:56 AM

While we are truly sorry to hear of your initial experience at our dealership, we are absolutely thrilled that you gave us another shot and that you had such positive interactions with Bob and Steve. They truly are as they seem - honest and respectful - as are all of our employees. Thank you again for your kind words; we hope you enjoy your new Corolla!

Twitter
"Great experience!"

hamer17
7/14/2014 4:30:31 PM

Reason For Visit: Sales (New)
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes
Employee(s) Dealt With:
Walter McGintyWalter McGinty
  • Customer Service:

    5
  • Quality of Work:

    5
  • Friendliness:

    5
  • Overall Experience:

    5
  • Pricing:

    5
  • Overall Score:

    5.0

My Review Of Thompson Toyota:

Walter was fantastic. From email to phone calls to him having the exact car I was looking for waiting for me when I came into the dealership. I really appreciated his non pressure sales. I knew what I wanted and he did not push me with something I didn’t want. I got exactly what I wanted and even more. Walt reviewed the interior and exterior with me and answered all of my questions I had. Great experience!
So happy I am now part of the Thompson family that I have heard so many great things about!

Was this review helpful to you?   

Response From: Thompson Toyota
Added: 7/14/2014 4:57:43 PM

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are thrilled to hear of your experience with Walt, and that you got exactly what you were looking for. Welcome to the Thompson family!

Twitter
"My experience with Tim Earles at Thompson Toyota"

mimi1973
5/21/2014 6:11:34 PM

Reason For Visit: Sales (New)
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes
Employee(s) Dealt With:
Tim EarlesTim Earles
  • Customer Service:

    5
  • Quality of Work:

    5
  • Friendliness:

    5
  • Overall Experience:

    5
  • Pricing:

    5
  • Overall Score:

    5.0

My Review Of Thompson Toyota:

My husband and I feel very luck to having Tim Earles as our sale man. He is extremely knowledgeable about Toyota product. He is patient, thorough, engaging and listening to our needs. We bought quite a few cars in the past 10 years and Tim is the best person to deal with so far. He makes the whole buying car experience easy and pleasurable (if that is possible). When we have problem with programming our garage door, Tim came out to our house right away to help us out. I will definitely go back to Thompson for the next car and will recommend Tim to our friends and family members.

Was this review helpful to you?   

Response From: Thompson Toyota
Added: 6/3/2014 9:12:27 AM

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are thrilled to hear of your positive interactions with Tim and hope you are enjoying your new purchase.

Twitter
"Wonderful dealership! Excellent salesperson!"

jbnoble
4/24/2014 10:49:23 AM

Reason For Visit: Sales (New)
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes
Employee(s) Dealt With:
Bob CohenBob Cohen
  • Customer Service:

    5
  • Quality of Work:

    5
  • Friendliness:

    5
  • Overall Experience:

    5
  • Pricing:

    5
  • Overall Score:

    5.0

My Review Of Thompson Toyota:

I have been purchasing new cars from Thompson Toyota for over 40 years and I have always been treated extremely well. My most recent experience in purchasing a new 2014 Toyota Corolla, L, manual transmission, was no different. The salesperson, Bob Cohen, was excellent. He was courteous, knowledgeable, friendly, professional, and very helpful and straight-forward with me. Another reason I have been a loyal, long-time customer of Thompson is because of their superb service department. As with the sales team, Thompson service personnel (such as Beth DeSteffano of the Gold Team) have always been incredibly friendly, knowledgeable, and trustworthy.

The bottom line is that Thompson is an extremely efficient, well-run organization with the highest integrity. When you walk into their dealership, for sales or service, you know that you will be treated fairly by their extremely capable employees, who go out of their way to make sure you will have a satisfying experience every time you are there.

Was this review helpful to you?   

Response From: Thompson Toyota
Added: 5/8/2014 5:06:27 PM

Thank you so much for your glowing review! Bob, Beth and our service staff are all integral members of our team, and we love to hear when they exceed our customers' expectations. Your kind words mean a great deal to us and we truly appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience.

Twitter
"4th car bought at Thompson"

Downtown393
4/19/2014 12:51:43 PM

Reason For Visit: Sales (Used)
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes
Employee(s) Dealt With:
Frank NoceroFrank Nocero
  • Customer Service:

    5
  • Quality of Work:

    5
  • Friendliness:

    5
  • Overall Experience:

    5
  • Pricing:

    5
  • Overall Score:

    5.0

My Review Of Thompson Toyota:

Always a great no pressure environment. Friendly staff with very well maintain cars. We told them what we wanted and where we wanted to be price wise and they make it work.

Was this review helpful to you?   

Response From: Thompson Toyota
Added: 5/8/2014 4:21:08 PM

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience! It is always wonderful to hear that our return customers are pleased with the environment at our dealership.

Twitter
"Very Satisfied New Customer"

ThomasGram
4/16/2014 2:03:37 PM

Reason For Visit: Sales (Used)
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes
Employee(s) Dealt With:
Ron CopelinRon Copelin
  • Customer Service:

    5
  • Quality of Work:

    4
  • Friendliness:

    5
  • Overall Experience:

    5
  • Pricing:

    4
  • Overall Score:

    4.6

My Review Of Thompson Toyota:

This was my first experience at Thompson Toyota, and I was impressed. Ron really made the experience, and though I ended up buying a different car than the one I originally came to see, I couldn't be more pleased. Interestingly, I noticed a small flaw on the windshield about a week after purchase--a small crack, which I know didn't happen when i had it. The day i bought it it was dark & rainy, and from where I sit the rearview mirror blocks it from my sight. We all missed it, and it turns out it was a crack inbetween the top and bottom panels of glass--in other words, not fixable and liable to spread. I was really concerned that i was stuck, but I called Ron and he got the used car manager on board and Thompson replaced my windshield at no cost to me, other than my time. I would recommend Ron & the Thompson team very highly--I was respected, treated well, and not pressured.

Was this review helpful to you?   

Response From: Thompson Toyota
Added: 5/8/2014 4:18:26 PM

We are thrilled to hear of your positive experience with Ron and our dealership! Our customers truly are our #1 priority, and we are so glad the issue with your windshield was resolved to your satisfaction. We hope you're enjoying your new purchase!

Twitter
"Tim Earles"

kevkay
4/15/2014 6:25:59 PM

Reason For Visit: Sales (New)
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes
Employee(s) Dealt With:
Tim EarlesTim Earles
  • Customer Service:

    5
  • Quality of Work:

    5
  • Friendliness:

    5
  • Overall Experience:

    5
  • Pricing:

    5
  • Overall Score:

    5.0

My Review Of Thompson Toyota:

I was grateful to have Tim Earles as our salesperson. Soft spoken and well informed, he knew the prices of the vehicles and the product better than any salesperson I have ever dealt with, and I have bought or leased close to 20 cars in my life.

My wife and I had our four year old daughter with us during part of the experience, and Tim showed immense patience as sometimes he had to follow us around as our daughter was quite active. Tim was also very patient with me, as I scrutinized every step of the process.

I would definitely recommend Thompson Toyota and Tim Earles to a friend for a great car buying or leasing experience.

Was this review helpful to you?   

Response From: Thompson Toyota
Added: 4/16/2014 10:41:40 AM

We are so happy to hear of your experience at our dealership! Tim is incredibly knowledgeable about our products and we are thrilled that he was able to help you!

Twitter
"adam was friendly and professional. he did all he..."

joewalton
3/3/2014 2:16:51 PM

Reason For Visit: Sales (New)
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes
Employee(s) Dealt With:
adam rosenthal
  • Customer Service:

    5
  • Quality of Work:

    5
  • Friendliness:

    5
  • Overall Experience:

    5
  • Pricing:

    5
  • Overall Score:

    5.0

My Review Of Thompson Toyota:

adam was friendly and professional. he did all he promised to do in a prompt fashion. worked to help me understand all of the options i had to buy the car.

Was this review helpful to you?   

Response From: Thompson Toyota
Added: 3/5/2014 11:04:29 AM

We're so happy to hear of your positive experience with Adam - thank you for taking the time to tell us about it!

Twitter
"Bob is great to work with when purchasing a vehicle! We..."

mariannebz
2/20/2014 6:59:27 AM

Reason For Visit: Sales (New)
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes
Employee(s) Dealt With:
Bob CohenBob Cohen
  • Customer Service:

    5
  • Quality of Work:

    5
  • Friendliness:

    5
  • Overall Experience:

    5
  • Pricing:

    5
  • Overall Score:

    5.0

My Review Of Thompson Toyota:

Bob is great to work with when purchasing a vehicle! We spoke with a number of different Toyota dealers, and he was the only one who could get the car we wanted. We drove 21/2 hours to purchase our car. We love our 2014 Highlander, and thank Bob for helping us get this great car!

Was this review helpful to you?   

Response From: Thompson Toyota
Added: 2/26/2014 2:16:40 PM

Thank you for your kind words about Bob! We are so happy to hear of your experience with him and with our dealership (even though we are located a ways away from you). Enjoy your new Highlander!

Twitter
"I came to Thompson because it is a Costco recommended..."

sharmastro
1/17/2014 8:09:05 AM

Reason For Visit: Sales (New)
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes
Employee(s) Dealt With:
John KelleyJohn Kelley
  • Customer Service:

    5
  • Quality of Work:

    5
  • Friendliness:

    5
  • Overall Experience:

    5
  • Pricing:

    5
  • Overall Score:

    5.0

My Review Of Thompson Toyota:

I came to Thompson because it is a Costco recommended dealership, and expected it to be like my previous car-buying experiences, with the addition of the discount. From my first call to inquire, to my visit to purchase, to the financing--everything was competent, no pressure, and pleasant! I would definately recommend this dealership--even though I had felt a loyalty to another one that never game me problems, but was definitely not the professional, personable organization Thompson Toyota is!

Was this review helpful to you?   

Response From: Thompson Toyota
Added: 1/17/2014 10:24:23 AM

sharmastro - Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to review our dealership. We are so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations - welcome to the family!

Twitter

Reviews 11-20 >>