About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Thompson Toyota

4.6

168 Lifetime Reviews

122 W Swamp Road , Doylestown, Pennsylvania 18901 Directions
Sales: (215) 345-9460

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

168 Reviews of Thompson Toyota

Sort by Write a review
April 23, 2017

"Two Hours Wasted - Crappy Quote Given"

- bikesandbeers

I called a few hours ahead to see if the dealer had the car I was interested in with the trim package I wanted to see. They said they did, and not only that, but they had a leftover from the previous year available. When I get there, it turns out the car was on another lot, 20 minutes away. We drive over to the lot, and it turns out it's a similar, but different car, not the one I'm interested in. We drive back, get the keys for the other car, stop at a local gas station to fill up, and then drive 20 minutes back. By the time I actually get to see the car I called ahead about, I've been there over an hour. It's a nice car, it drives well, and I like it a lot. I'm likely to buy one, but not from Thompson. Once we get back to the dealer, we start to talk about price. The salesman gives me a price on the car $1,000 above they advertised the car on the website, and when I point this out, does the old "I'll need to talk to my salesmanager to see what I can do about the price", despite assuring me earlier he was an expert on the model I was looking at, and had sold eight or nine hundred of them. He goes into the office and they waste another 20 or 30 minutes, even when I tell them I'm running out of time to be at the dealership because of how slow they are, and their final quote... is the same price as what's advertised on the website. Everyone was polite, the dealership was beautiful, and I did get an opportunity to see the car at the trim package I'm interested in. That being said, I felt like I was treated as an easy mark to sell a car above market value to, and my time was wasted. I won't come back to this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ron Copelin
not yet
rated
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.

To ensure accuracy, a minimum of 5 consumer ratings are required to calculate an average score.
March 30, 2017

"6 star experience"

- jtkm1997

Deal rater should have a 6th star for dealers that go above and beyond what you expect...I've been a loyal Thompson customer since 1984.. I have tried to look at other dealerships. but have always wound up buying my car from Thompson.. I have been dealing with Walter for a number of years (bought 3 or 4 cars from him).... the last couple of months I have been looking for a car for my wife,.. went back and forth between certified used or new.... Walter answered all of my questions.. without any pressure...I even brought in several "deals" to him (i.e. costco, truecar etc).. and he and his manager worked with me to get us the best deal.. afterwards the finance manager (sorry I forget his name but I think it may have been Tom.. last desk on the left).. went through several options (cash back or 0 interest) to make sure I was taking advantage of the best possible programs they had to offer...what impressed me most about the finance manager was when I told him I didn't like to take on a lot of debt.. he let me decide what I wanted to borrow.. (that may not sound like much, but I have talked to other dealers who try to tell you what you should borrow). Thompson seems to have a very simple business model... listen to your customers.. for the life of me I cannot understand why more business don't follow their model... Thanks for all your help... with a little luck I'll be buying cars from you for another 30 years.. Jim Molettiere

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Walter McGinty
not yet
rated
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.

To ensure accuracy, a minimum of 5 consumer ratings are required to calculate an average score.
Apr 03, 2017 -

Thompson Toyota responded

Jim - thank you so much for the 5-star review. We appreciate your loyalty to Thompson and to the Toyota brand, and are thrilled to hear that Walter was able to help you find exactly what you and your wife were looking for!

February 27, 2017

"Excellent and Pleasant."

- Ray Mattern

Excellent. Friendly. Professional. No hassle. Salesman understood exactly what I wanted, and the staff proceeded to completely satsfy my expressed preferences. Tom Messina and NatHan Clouded were excellent.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tom Messina
not yet
rated
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.

To ensure accuracy, a minimum of 5 consumer ratings are required to calculate an average score.
Other Employees : Nathaniel Clouden
Feb 27, 2017 -

Thompson Toyota responded

Ray, thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear about your experience with Nathan, Tom and our dealership, and look forward to working with you in the future.

February 18, 2017

"Great people to deal with"

- Carol

I have bought several cars from Thompson,everyone has been friendly, not pushy,nice to do business with. I was totally impressed with the fact that the sales person,Walt, knew my name when I walked into the showroom. I had purchased my car 5 years ago! Everything was explained clearly. Matt in finances explained in detail the warranties. The service department keeps me coming back. It's easy to work around my work schedule, and the fact I can get a loaner if my car is kept for a day is a big plus! The express service is wonderful. I can get the oil changed when it's convenient for me. I would most definitely recommend Thompson's.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Walter McGinty
not yet
rated
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.

To ensure accuracy, a minimum of 5 consumer ratings are required to calculate an average score.
Feb 20, 2017 -

Thompson Toyota responded

Carol, thank you for your kind words! We are so happy to hear about your recent experience and appreciate your loyalty to Thompson.

October 11, 2016

"New car purchases"

- Mcris310

I have bought 2 cars from Thompson and everyone from the sales to service team have been nothing less than stellar. I highly recommend this dealership!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Julian, Dean
Oct 11, 2016 -

Thompson Toyota responded

Thank you so much for the kind words and 5-star rating! We're happy to hear you had such a great experience with both our sales and service teams.

September 25, 2016

""Very Positive Experience!""

- T Buzitsky

We went to Thompson to look into purchasing a Rav 4. The sales consultant who introduced himself to us was Tim Earles. Right from the very beginning, Tim was friendly, very personable and genuinely seemed interested in helping us. He asked us questions about what features we would be most interested in and was a great listener! He suggested the Rav 4 XLE and we took one for a test drive. It was exactly what we were looking for! Tim took a lot of time explaining all of the safety features and technology that the Rav 4 offers. He was extremely knowledgeable! We never felt pressured or hurried to make a decision. Once we decided on the XLE, which didn't take long because we loved it, the rest of the process of finalizing the deal was extremely positive. We felt very comfortable with Tim! We trusted him and he honestly made the experience fun! This is the fourth new Toyota we have purchased from Thompson's and we never have had a bad experience. We have always taken our vehicles there for service and routine maintenance. We can't say enough good things about the service department. We have always felt that customer service and satisfaction is a priority at Thompson. Thank you Tim! We are enjoying and having fun driving our Rav 4. So grateful to you for making that happen. Looking forward to working with you again in the future.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tim Earles
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Other Employees : The gentleman in the finance office (I apologize I can't recall his name) was very helpful and clearly explained all of the information especially the extended warranties which we purchased for peace of mind!
Sep 26, 2016 -

Thompson Toyota responded

Thank you so much for the 5-star rating and for telling us about your experience with Tim! We're thrilled to hear that you're loving your new Rav and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

August 15, 2016

"Great experience, great car"

- HighlanderGeorgulis

We went in to look at a used Honda Pilot back in March of 2016 (sorry this review is late!). Our salesman was Tim Earles, who was highly recommended from a friend. We would not have thought to go to Thompson without this recommendation (we thought we wanted a Pilot and didn't put thought into any other SUVs). Tim was fantastic from the very beginning. We went for a test drive in the Pilot and there was something we weren't crazy over - he didn't pressure us, just accepted that we didn't like it and then waited for us to suggest what we wanted next. We didn't want to just leave - Toyota is such a great brand, why were we only interested in Honda?! So we asked to look at used Highlanders. We ended up really liking one, but went home to think about it. The next morning we decided we wanted a new Highlander, so I called up Tim and let him know. Not once had Tim ever tried to push a new Highlander on us. He let us lead and only make decisions we were extremely comfortable with. So, the following day or two he guided us through the purchase of a new Highlander that was only about $2k more than the used one we had been interested in. We highly recommend Tim as a salesman. We have already talked about going back for all future SUVs and would go to Tim first. Quality of SUV... better than we expected by a long shot. We bought a beige interior, something that made me nervous, and it's been upholding very well. Stains come right off and even our toddler hasn't been able to stain it. We love how it rides, and the gas mileage is better than the Pilot. AWD, third row of seats, not sure what more you can ask for. Won't ever look for another dealer. The price was better than we expected as well (of course it depends on the package you want). Service... every time we've taken it in (only once or twice for regular maintenance), it has been a joyful experience. My husband brings work and sits in the awesome waiting area. You feel like a client here, not a customer. Car has been in perfect condition after all work. My husband loves that they wash your car after all service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tim Earles
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Aug 22, 2016 -

Thompson Toyota responded

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a great experience with Tim and our dealership. Enjoy your Highlander and welcome to the Thompson family!

July 26, 2016

"Issue with passenger visor (camry hybrid '08)"

- cavecc.bills@gmail.com

First, Thompson Toyota is a unique place as it is modernized with extensive free WIFI \ monitors to know your status / TVs / free coffee,water,food. But to partially fund these nice elaborate expenses for customer waiting area, etc., they charge top dollar on services. One recent meeting: a defective passenger visor (cheap plastic type) that was deemed 'defective' and given extended warranty coverage for free (7 year after purchase date). I thought Thompson toyota replaced it along with my drivers side visor back in 2014 but did not. So now, my passenger visor needed to be replaced for same 'defective' issue and I am out of pocket $95! (and that includes a discount from the $110!)! Toyota has not budged for reversing the cost to me (reimbursing) even though they potentially botched doing it in 2014

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jim ??
Jul 27, 2016 -

Thompson Toyota responded

We apologize for any miscommunication that may have occurred during your most recent visit. We reviewed your records and found that the entire visor assembly was replaced in July of 2014, as outlined by Toyota. At your most recent visit, we replaced the entire visor assembly again - this time at a discounted price, as you were unfortunately out of the warranty extension period. Please feel free to contact me at 215-489-0100 x2128 with any further questions. Sincerely, Steve Zdunczyk

July 01, 2016

"Stay away from these jokers"

- camry xse shopper

We put our car request in thru truecar, they posted the exact vehicle we wanted. In subsequent contact, we arranged a test drive. They promised to have the vehicle in front for us to test drive. Next day when we came in...oh there was a mistake/miscommunication, the vehicle we promised to have here for you to see is not here, how about they show some other cars they had. Foolishly we agreed to look at the other cars and do test drives since we were already there. Their inventory is minuscule. The vehicle we ultimately wanted, a v6 xse, black/black was not available, in fact not even a v4 was present. They promised to get us the exact vehicle we wanted, we negotiated the price, they even had us sign off on an order purchase form (which were not countersigned by them nor had any vin # listed).. They gave us a printout of the car we half thought we had already purchased...half a week later, still no car, the Toyota rebate had expired and the only car they did find had a complete different and unacceptable interior color. Basically these guys were selling us a car they didn't have, wasting our time with their stupid hard sell tactics and penny ante b.s.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joe Spallone, Kevin Hamilton, Steve Tagye
Jul 27, 2016 -

Thompson Toyota responded

camry xse shopper - We would like to speak with you about your experience and have left several messages on your voicemail. Please contact us at your earliest convenience at 215-345-9460 x2153.

June 26, 2016

"Outstanding experience!!"

- Ckneves

From the first contact with our salesman, Tim Earles, to tje delivery of our new Prius, we had an excellent experience. We have bought many cars at Thompson over the past 25 years (all good experiences); Tim demonstrated knowledge of his cars and could answer every question we had. Moreover, he listened to our needs and helped us find the vehicle that was the best fit. He was friendly, consciencious, and diligent. It was far and away the most pleasant experience wehave had in purchasing a new car. Tim is clearly ideally suited to his profession and is a great asset to Thompson!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tim Earles
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Aug 01, 2016 -

Thompson Toyota responded

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience with Tim - and for your loyalty to Thompson. We hope you're enjoying your new Prius!

1
...
1 - 10 of 168 results