About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Toyota of Southern Maryland

3.9

270 Lifetime Reviews

22500 Three Notch Road, Lexington Park, Maryland 20653 Directions
Sales: (301) 863-7555

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

270 Reviews of Toyota of Southern Maryland

Sort by Write a review
September 06, 2017

"Failure to communicate "

- Unhappy customer

I have always had a positive experience with this dealership in the past however the seems to be changes in the customer care within the sales dept. after five days of talking with the sales dept, coming to the lot three times and getting a call to come for test drive to find out it was all in vain

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kat and mike
February 20, 2017

"Awesome experience!!"

- S.D.

After a horrendous car buying experience at another dealership, I went to see Matt Tevis at Toyota of Southern Maryland. I'm so glad I did! Honest, professional and friendly! There were no hard sales tactics used and I am 100% pleased with the entire process. Matt Tevis listened to what I wanted and delivered with a smile. Craig Payne made the financing work in my favor and had us out the door in under 20 minutes!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Tevis, Craig Payne
February 17, 2017

"GREAT buying experience!!!"

- Mark S.

I have to say that this was truly the best buying experience I've ever had...GREAT! I never thought I would say this after past experiences I've had buying cars (new and used) at many car dealers over probably 30 years. Usually, its a necessary evil but that was not the case here at all. I found a 2014 Tundra model that I had my eyes on and met all my needs. I knew before I went to look at it that it was probably out of my price range...but I still wanted a test drive. My salesperson, Matt Tevis, was excellent! He was very helpful, knowledgeable and NEVER once made me feel like prey while I'm looking it over. I'm sure many can relate. I asked for a test drive, again no pressure. This was what the car shopping experience should be like....allow the consumer time to see what they like and ask the questions. Afterwards at the bargaining table, the experience was well...easy. The numbers on price were clear, not a bunch of smoke and mirrors or weird hidden fees who's only purpose seems to be there in order to drive up the cost. After a couple simple, quick back and forths on the price I was presented with a deal that I literally could not refuse....all in a really short time frame. I totally expected this to take hours (them try to wear me down so I'd sign anything) or pressure me into something I'm not ready for - not the case at all...not at all. I'm extremely happy and felt that I was given much respect by everyone I worked with. Again....GREAT experience!!! I could not be happier. Thank you Matt Tevis and Myron Smith!! I wish I could remember the finance persons name.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Myron Smith
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Other Employees : Matt Tevis
January 28, 2017

"Bad customer service and don't value customers"

- expect better

I'm sorry to say that I did not have a good experience on my recent visit to this dealer. I went to the store on January 14 looking to buy a used Ram 2500. The sales people wouldn't work out a deal that I could afford at a decent interest rate or they were unwilling to help out on the price to get me to the monthly payment I could afford. We were about $40 per month apart on the payment. I called the sales staff on January 17 and asked if there was anything else they could do to help get me to a payment just below $500 per month and if they could do that, we would have a deal. I was told they would check with the GM and get back to me. I didn't get a call back from them until January 26 after I sent the GM an e-mail about the bad customer service I was getting. I did hear from the Business Development manger but she didn't have anything to do with the deal so she wasn't much help. I had a similar experience in 2012. I was going to buy a Tundra and was ready to buy it that day. I was told a deal couldn't be worked out so I left and went to another dealer and bought a Ram 1500. While I was at the other dealer doing paperwork on the Ram, I got a call from the Toyota salesman who said he could get me the deal I wanted. It was too late at that point. This is the second time they did this now. I Feel like they're just playing games. Their website states "See what it's like to buy from a dealer that values your business." I did not have that experience, customer service was bad. To never get a call after they said they would call back. We purchased multiple vehicles from Toyota over the years and we were treated like they never knew us,. I don't think Toyota understands what good customer service is. Even after I sent the GM an e-mail about my situation, he didn't even have the courtesy to return my call, instead, he had one the salesman call me. Instead of apologizing to me and trying to work out a deal on this vehicle, they just kept defending each other and made me feel like I was the problem. Very disappointed with this dealer after being a customer and spending my hard earned money there. I recommend going somewhere else.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John Booth
1.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Myron Smith
1.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
August 23, 2016

"Buyer Beware of bait and switch"

- Disappointed

I went to Toyota of Southern Maryland to trade my 2014 Mustang GT for a Rav 4 or small SUV. The salesperson was professional and pleasant. She brought me out a 2013 Honda CRV with comparable equipment like heated leather seats and XM radio. During the test drive the AWD light came on, when I asked he what it meant, she couldn't answer the question. I decided to buy the car because I assumed the dealership would fix any existing issues to ensure the vehicle was fully functional before being sold. The CRV came with a 6 month, 6000 mile limited powertrain warranty which I thought should cover any repairs thereafter. During the process of dealing with the financing of the vehicle, I was informed that the warranty for the electronics had expired, but that there were coupons available for an extended warranty that the Business Manager Ronnie would use to give me a 6 yr, 60,000 mile extended warranty. I thought that was great and signed the papers and took the vehicle home. I brought the CRV back to Toyota to have the AWD looked at, The Service department took the vehicle right away and the next day I received a call saying that the code indicated a problem with a pressure sensor in the differential,. The CRV would have to be taken to Honda to be serviced. 3 days later a service technician from Honda called to ask why the CRV was there and that someone from Toyota dropped the car off without much of an explanation. I explained that I purchased the CRV and it was up there to have the AWD looked at. I also told the technician that the extended warranty was in the glove box. A couple hours after I hung up with the technician, I received a call from the extended warranty company. They asked for some information and then hung up. A few days go by without word on the condition of the CRV. I called Toyota to find out what happened. I was informed that the extended warranty would not cover the repairs due to the AWD issue being a pre-existing condition. After some negotiation with the sales manager, I thought the CRV was repaired and returned to Toyota for me to pick it up. During this process, while filing paperwork, I reviewed the sales contract only to find that Ronnie charged me 3K for the extended warranty (not free from the coupons). I phoned Ronnie and had to leave a message saying that I wanted to cancel the extended warranty because he charged me for it. When I arrived at Toyota to pick up the CRV, I stuck around to speak with Ronnie since he hadn;t returned my call. I waited for over an hour until he was finished with another customer. I finally got a chance to talk with Ronnie and he informed me that the financing did not go through and that I would have to pay a higher interest rate through another bank. He also said that the coupons had expired and that he was glad I no longer wanted the warranty because he'd have to eat the cost. I mentioned that I was almost ready to ask for my Mustang back and end this transaction and he said he didn't care one way or the other. The only reason I resigned the paperwork is because I was saving even more money on the CRV which was another reason for me wanting to trade in the Mustang (lower payments). I had the CRV home for a week when the AWD light came back on. I immediately called Toyota and they were more than willing to bring it in the shop. I was informed that Honda never repaired the vehicle and that the Limited Powertrain Warranty would not cover the AWD issue because the warranty only covers engine and transmission and they said it was an electronics issue. The way I see it, the powertrain should include any component that makes the vehicle go (engine, trans, diffs, drive shafts, etc..). I spoke with the Service Dept. who said I had to take to the Sales Manager who said I had to talk to the Service Dept. I called my salesperson and expressed my displeasure at Toyota not selling me a completely functioning vehicle. The salesperson said she'd talk to her manager and get back to me. The next call I received was from the Sales Dept. that said they would order the parts and make the repairs if I paid a 100 dollar deductable. I agree and the repairs were made. I would never recommend this dealership and for those that want to buy from them, stay away from Ronnie, he's a rip off artist.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ronnie Ball
1.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Service Department
4.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Myron Smith
Other Employees : Rowan Wright (Salesperson), Salemanager
January 06, 2016

"WOW!!!"

- GoTeam

Wow! Jamie was our sales lady- What a great lady and a great experience. I never thought spending that much money could be so fun! She was very friendly, -- I have to say I have NEVER been hugged by a car salesperson before! I liked it :-) -- and she helped us with a ton of questions about pricing. She even called a competitor and asked them about their pricing while we listened in. Turns out the other dealer was not very straight forward with me when I asked them the questions- Shocking, yes I know..... Jamie got it straightened out and exposed their nefarious scheme. Believe it or not, I was drawn to your dealership due in no small part to the great service I got in the service department. I have a Toyota truck that had a recall for rust and the experience there was phenomenal- Have I mentioned "wow" yet?...so I decided to see about buying a car from you. In a word: WOW. You can even spell it backwards and it is still WOW. Thank you all for the great deal, understanding help and a great experience. Top notch. Expect to see me taking advantage of the fee car wash! Woo Hooo-o-o!!! Don't take it personal, but I hope to never have to see you for ten more years when I am there to buy another car. ?? Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. Oh yea, one more thing: WOW!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jamie Pizzio (sp?)
December 31, 2015

"Accomodating, Attentive and Professional "

- JK

Initially called asking to speak with Sales Manager, received return call from Mr. Wayne Cook and expressed to him my desire to make an appointment with a seasoned sales person. Told Mr. Cook I made several new vehicle purchases through the years, that I'd worked in sales after a military career and wanted a sales person who wouldn't have to get up in middle of sales price negotiations to get his approval. He quickly recommeded I work with Ms. Jamie Pizzo and a subsequent appointment was made for my wife and I to meet and evaluate four different SUV's from two different manufacturers. Over course of 2-3 weeks my wife and I considered SUV's at other manufacturer dealerships and decided to focus on Toyota Highlander. Before identifying interior/exterior colors desired another appointment was made to discuss every detail of pricing and what if any other costs would be added after we agreed on a sales price. Mr, Cook and Ms. Pizzo met with me and we agreed we would have to focus on a 2016 vice 2015 model, we came to a mutual agreement on sales price and a deposit was submitted. An estimate of 6-8 weeks was given for expected arrival of our Highlander with chosen colors. Ms. Pizzo updated us when she had indications it would arrive by a certain date in January 2016 and called a week later to inform us it had just been off loaded and we picked it up 12/30/2015. We strongly recommend this dealership and Mr. Cook and Ms. Pizzo for their outstanding professionalism.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Wayne Cook
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Other Employees : Jamie Pizzo
December 29, 2015

"Used Highlander"

- Krahlingja

Purchased a used Highlander here. Top notch customer service! Just moved back to the US from Japan and they were very helpful working with us to find a vehicle with a tight timeline and tight budget. Highly recommend.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Tevis
August 12, 2015

"Beware of misleading and dishonest tactics from finance depa"

- STEVENMEKUS

Be cautious of misleading and dishonest tactics when dealing with the finance department. Ask to see the total costs of any additional warranties and add ons, not just how much your monthly payment will be. Also, nothing is ever free, if promised something free, don't be rushed through the paperwork, review every line, if not, when you go home and review later, You will be surprised.......

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ronnie Ball
Other Employees : Johnny C.
August 05, 2015

"Great service for new car purchase!"

- Dash 123

Just purchased the 2015 Highlander, we absolutely love the car! We received excellent service through the whole process from Toyota of Southern Maryland. Anthony Bernal really helped us feel comfortable with the car and carefully explained everything.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Anthony Bernal
1
...
1 - 10 of 270 results