About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Jeffery Mays
Jeffery Mays, General Manager, Hawthorne Chevrolet
4.2

Jeffery Mays

General Manager

Hawthorne Chevrolet

1180 Goffle Road
Hawthorne, NJ 07506

Dealership Experience

6 yrs, 5 mos

Industry Experience

26 yrs, 4 mos

Specialties & Trainings

Successful automotive dealership management career spanning 26 years with some of largest dealer groups in the nation.

Languages Spoken

English English

Call
Email

11 Reviews of Jeffery Mays

August 08, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Great"

- MK

Buying my vehicle from this dealership was probably the easiest car buying experience I have ever had. I spoke to the GM Jeff Mays and told him what I was looking for. He immediately gave me a very competitive price with no haggling. The sale was finalized by JR Gray who was also aces. They did not pull any of the typical scams and were very accomodating to my requests. I will be shopping there again, along with my family.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: JR Gray

July 19, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"SCAM ARTISTS: BUYERS AND LEASERS BEWARE"

- Honestfeedback77

Buying or leasing a car can be a stressful experience for consumers. And I feel it is my duty as a consumer to warn others when I have had a horrific experience or whenever I encounter crooks. I hope this review helps you make a better purchasing decision, because we all work hard for our money, and I would not want you to fall into the same trap I did when I tried to lease a car at Hawthorne Chevrolet in New Jersey. I can assure you, this is not a place to negotiate if you are looking for an honest salesmen who offers and sticks to a fair price. (see below) I spent 2 weeks working on a deal with Gary Monnecka. Each day we spoke and each day he forget what we agreed to on the previous day. It's as if he had amnesia from one day to the next, as he attempted to change his offer throughout the entire process. The day finally arrived where I supplied Gary with all the necessary paperwork. Gary processed and vetted all the paperwork, got his affairs in order and then submitted to me in writing an approved deal that I felt was fair. I was then instructed to provide a deposit and to call my insurance company. I gave Gary the deposit to hold the cars and provided the insurance ID card and binder. The only task left to do was to sign paperwork and pick up both cars. BUT then, Gary started making accusations, that I misunderstood the deal, that he couldn't apply some of the discounts he had promised. He began to play games after he had taken a deposit and told me the deal and all the paperwork was approved. He began his scam by raising one of the lease prices, justifying his decision with reasons we never agreed to and reasons that were never disclosed to me. I then spoke with Jeffrey Mays who is the general manager, pleaded my case and was told to be patient while he reviewed the information from Gary that I provided to Jeffrey in writing. Seven hours later, and only after I reached out via email, I received a response from Jeffrey. Jeffrey had decided to increase the price on both leases, again justifying the increase with reasons I had never agreed to. Apparently, to cover his backside, Gary had told his boss lies about what we agreed upon as an approved deal. I suspect Gary approved a deal he was not supposed to offer customers and his boss tried to correct Gary's mistake at my expense. Gary is a shady character and his boss Jeffrey is a disgrace to the profession. Jeffrey should not be a general manager who handles customers and obviously tried to correct a mistake his employee made. To side with an employee over a customer that has written proof of an approved deal, vetted paperwork and whom provided a deposit is absurd. It's not only that they raised the prices after I had an approved deal, put a deposit down, and had my insurance company supply documentation, it's how much of my time they wasted. If they see no value in your time and are willing to string you along for as long as it takes to get what they want, then where is the trust? Even the slightest amount of honesty and trust is vital when conducting business. So again, please heed my warning or else you will lose countless hours being scammed by unprofessional car salesmen.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Gary Monnecka

Jul 31, 2017

Honestfeedback77 responded

Your apology on behalf of a general manager and his staff members blatant dishonest approach to leasing a car is ridiculous. A GM is about as high as a customer can go to get someone to fix issues, and your general manager took things from bad to worse. Apologizing also does not make up for the dealerships lack of company values. I wrote this review, not for an apology, but so others do not have to deal with the crooks you work along side of at Hawthorne.

Jul 31, 2017

Hawthorne Chevrolet responded

We appreciate you providing feedback regarding your recent service appointment. I am sorry to hear that you felt your experience was not up to our usual standards. We are committed to providing 100% customer satisfaction to all our guests that set foot on our lot. If you would please reach out to me as soon as possible, I would like to discuss your particular situation and try to make things right for you. I look forward to our conversation. -Ryan Mays Internet Manager (201) 579-6500 rmays@cadillacofmahwah.com

June 02, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Memorial Day Weekend Purchase of (2) Cars"

- Matt

We recently purchased (2) vehicles at Hawthorne Chevy, this past Memorial Day Weekend. Overall I will comment that the dealership was friendly and haggling was kept to minimum. My one comment is that they are very busy and did not have enough sales coverage. For them that is a good thing. For me, I felt as though the personal touch was severely lacking. After all I did purchase (2) vehicles. My salesperson was new and while he was friendly, the lack of focus (to me and family) was lacking. There were constant interruptions, whether it was due to another customer he was working with or someone at the dealership asking him a question about another deal, was not professional or courteous. I expect to be handled differently and would appreciate more attention. BTW...both times i visited we had appointments. I think you need to address working on common courtesies and polish. Please Note: General Manager Jeff was excellent!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

March 31, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"We dropped Honda and BMW to move to Hawthorne Chevrolet "

- Theresa nj

Rob DeSimone makes each purchase (now in our 5th family purchase/lease) with Hawthorne Chevrolet feel like going to get groceries. I can come in and tell Rob I am ready to get a new model and this is where I need to be at a payment. He always just makes it happen. It is like family there. the service department is just fun to deal with. Every employee feels like you are dealing with the owner. They greet me with smiling faces and actually listen, which makes each trip faster and effectual, so I really only have to go when ONSTAR tells me to. We love our cars and get excited about the end of leases. we no longer dread the transition.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

March 29, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"The best buying experience I've had in purching a newvecle. "

- John

The best buying experience I've had no hassel pricing the salesman was great price was fair the was delivered as promised. I would buy their again

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

March 23, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Frustrated "

- angelina13

I will never send anyone to this dealership . They are holding our $500 deposit on a vehicle that we are not taking anymore. Yes!! it was a special order vehicle, but we are not taking the vehicle. Does not give you the right to keep our $500 refundable deposit. I'm not going to give a whole story but just letting everyone know this dealership does not deserve any business . Also as for Steve Barna for no reply at all tells me a lot about how you deal with your customers.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Apr 11, 2017

angelina13 responded

I want to say Thank you very much to Ryan Mays. He asked for me to reach out to him to help me with my frustration of this matter and maybe I should of did that from the start. Instead of getting frustrated over something that could of been taking care of sooner ,so I want to apologize to the team at Hawthorne Chevy for over reacting and I'm glad we solved this problem and I received my deposit back. Thank you again Ryan Mays. 100% Customer Satisfaction I am! Thank you!!

Apr 03, 2017

Hawthorne Chevrolet responded

I can understand your frustration over this. I’d love to be able to speak with you, as we strive for 100% customer satisfaction at all times. I hope you’ll take the time to please reach out to me at your earliest convenience. Thank you for giving us this feedback, as we can always improve. I hope to hear from you. -Ryan Mays | Internet Manager (201) 579-6500 rmays@cadillacofmahwah.com.

February 25, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"2017 Tahoe LT"

- Javier Santos

Very pleasant experience with Leon leasing my car. I got the price I was looking for and am very satisfied with the service I received.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

February 08, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Two cars in one year!"

- Pammycakes

Great deals, the dealership staff extremely courteous and friendly, no surprise they are still in business! Way to go Chevy very appealing line up of vehicles!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Robert DeSimone, Rich Mongiardo

Feb 10, 2017

Hawthorne Chevrolet responded

Thank you for taking the time to submit this amazing feedback. Our team takes pride in their friendly and courteous customer service and will be ecstatic to hear that you left Hawthorne Chevrolet satisfied. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best, Jeff Mays | GM | jmays@hawthornechevrolet.com

June 12, 2016

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"A pleasure to do business with. "

- R.Martinez

I just got a 2016 Chevy Tahoe LT Luxury package. My salesman was James Gary or J.R. How he introduced himself. Working with him and Jeff the From Management, has been nothing but a pleasure. They truly are great guys and as honest as they come, Thank You guys for such a great experience in buying my Tahoe which by the way my wife, kids and I love. I'll be back in November to pick up a Silverado. Thanks again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: JR Gray

Jun 12, 2016

Hawthorne Chevrolet responded

Thank you for writing about your visit with us, and congratulations on your new Tahoe LT! JR and Jeff are assets to Hawthorne Chevrolet, and it is encouraging to hear they impressed you by delivering our trademark service. I’m so happy to hear we were able to help find the perfect vehicle for you. We would love to work with you again. Find us on Facebook; we offer exclusive specials for our likers. Kind Regards, Jeff Mays GM, jmays@hawthornechevrolet.com | Hawthorne Chevrolet

February 22, 2016

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Jeff was great!"

- Mclaire

I would recommend this spot to anyone looking for a car. Experience was quick and easy and they got me a lower price than any other dealer in the area. 5 stars!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Feb 23, 2016

Hawthorne Chevrolet responded

Your kind words mean a lot to us. At Hawthorne Chevrolet, we always strive to provide the utmost in quality and customer satisfaction, and we try our best to make the car buying experience as easy and stress-free as possible. We look forward to assisting you with your future sales and service needs. All the best, Jeff Mays GM, jmays@hawthornechevrolet.com | Hawthorne Chevrolet

1
1 - 10 of 11 results

Dealership Inventory (614 Vehicles)

2017 Chevrolet Malibu

$27,095

2017 Chevrolet Silverado

$41,500

2016 Chevrolet Silverado

$49,020

2016 Chevrolet Silverado

$48,920

2017 Chevrolet Camaro

$39,125

2016 Chevrolet Silverado

$49,340

2017 Chevrolet Camaro

$36,735

2017 Chevrolet Silverado

$47,325