Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Bob Smith BMW

3.9

107 Lifetime Reviews

24500 Calabasas Rd, Calabasas, California 91302 Directions
Sales: (818) 346-3144

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

107 Reviews of Bob Smith BMW

Sort by Write a review
July 11, 2019

"Amazing!!!"

- raterboss

Amazing service from Paul Simms, Kurt C, and Catherine the service Manager. Friendly and takes car of everything on time and effective. Highly recommended, outstanding service every time.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Paul Simms, Kurt C, and Catherine
June 28, 2019

"Superior service"

- Wailea

!st time was in 1974 for a Porsche at Bob Smith in Hollywood, and I still go to Bob Smith for 3 current BMW's. Yes, it's more expensive than domestics and many Asian Brands, but my service is always correct and there is nothing to complain about.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kurt Carruthers
May 24, 2019

"If you want to die then take your car here to be serviced. "

- BMW Whitleblower

I went for a recall and they installed the part wrong, which caused exhaust fumes to blow into my car for over 2 weeks, causing me to inhale co2 gas for weeks. Had to go there 3 times and they kept telling me it was something else and I needed to pay to fix the other issue and that's what the smell was. I then had to investigate what was wrong myself and went back there and show them exactly what they installed wrong and they admitted that it could have killed me and was blowing exhaust fumes into the car. So if you want to die then take your car here to get fixed. All the people there want to do is sell you on more repairs and not take responsibility for what they do.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Toni, Cathrine
May 14, 2019

"big scam"

- normalCarOperator

Rey Silva was the worst service person I've ever dealt with. He just repeated the same words over and over at my face. He was unable to move past the salesman/scam/farce thing they have going on at this dealership. When I asked to speak to a manager, the ENTIRE ROOM OF 20 PEOPLE stared blankly at me. There apparently is no manager there. Rey told me that my car doesn't need oil, so I walked out. Right after I walked out, I saw 5 other workers congregate around him and begin to make fun of me. One trip to the BBB showed me that I'm not the only one who thinks Bob Smith BMW is a big scam!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rey Silva
May 24, 2019 -

Bob Smith BMW responded

We’re sorry we were unable to perform the oil service due to your maintenance warranty guidelines. We tried reaching you to reach a resolution and we would like you to contact Catherine Hodac, our Service Director at catherine.hodac@bobsmithbmw.com.

April 14, 2019

"A scam of a dealer - avoid!"

- George A

Catherine - I purchased about 11 months ago a BMW i3 certified pre-owned at your Calabasas location. My experience has not been the best, so I will explain beyond my review and hopefully you can fix these issues for current and future customers. Do NOT try to send me this canned email about me not understanding the terms, it's an insult! I purchased a BMW i3, first I mention I did not want the car theft stickers, but you have to pay a ton of money for those. I asked him about the warranty, service, etc. Everything worked out perfect, but I figured out quickly that was not the case. Your sales rep mentioned they were working on painting it before I got the recently purchased preowned car, I asked him to please not rush it. The problem is that, it’s exactly what happened, the car was not ready to be sold. It was rushed through the painting process, the color did not match, but your sales rep continued to say he thought it was the same, probably the sun. I still believe that was not the case. I brought it back about the color, he said it was the sun, so I let it go. The cleaning process, when I purchased the car I got the car dirty inside, brought it back after I mentioned it to your sales rep that I received it dirty and he said to come back for detailing, I got it back and it was exactly the same, dirty. The problem is that now I see a scratch that probably happened during the detailing or I did not see before I signed off the contract. I park in my own private space, but I trusted your sales rep since he said the car had been painted to meet your dealer’s standards, so I did not I immediately inspect the car. When I got the car the first time, it was parked in a curb facing down and I was not able to fully inspect either. So when I called your sales rep about the scratch, he made it seem like, oh, you can probably buy some paint to cover the scratch (which I did buy and I was advised by an expert not to do so). But yes, I was not careful enough to make sure no scratches were left out from painting it initially or after the detailing. Another issue, I didn’t know that my license plates were already behind the car hidden behind a paper. I was not told, so I ended up waiting 6 months, and I ended up going to the DMV for new license plates, and while putting them in, I found that it already had license plates. Then I figure out that it does not have a license plate holder or holes in the front. It is illegal in California to drive without license plates in the front. I contacted Your sales rep and he said they “usually” do it for free, today when I went for my appointment I’m told it would be free but I would have to pay $100 for the part if it was not initially left in my trunk. Your sales rep should have told me that. Every car I have purchased I make sure it includes an extended warranty and a regular maintenance package like oil changes, etc. for around four years. My previous car had the same type of service plan. I asked your sales rep if it included service, I was comparing to the deal I got at another dealer. I was clear about it and he said yes and you Catherine are assuming I misunderstood my warrant terms, that is unbelievably an insult and poor customer service from your part to post that online, it is a lie. So I met with my advisor, after I got an orange warning engine light. He tells me that BMW i3s have had this issue from the beginning. That he has had a car come in 3 times with the orange engine light. That the reason for the issue is the extender. Why was I not told this before I purchased this car??? I also get the surprise that really got me upset, that my 4 years do not include oil changes, microfilters, etc. because service maintenance is NOT transferable from the previous owner. I am in shock, now I have to give your dealership approximately $1,000 every year for maintenance? This is unacceptable and I am now in the middle of a bad situation.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Catherine
March 14, 2019

"Unresponsive dealership"

- Wgu8213

Called in 4 days ago to get a quote on how much it would cost to transport for an out of state purchase on a executive demo 540i they have. They promised someone would call me back that day. No one did. I called back in the next day and left a voicemail for a same day response. No one called me back. I called back on the 3rd day and again asked for a transportation quote. This time I made it clear that I have tried several times to speak to someone and I want to talk to a person this time. Receptionist sent to the managers voicemail after reassuring me the manager would absolutely respond that day. No one called me back. It’s the fourth day and I purchased a 540ix from a responsive dealer. Avoid this place if you’re out of state.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Eric Kleiser
Mar 15, 2019 -

Bob Smith BMW responded

Will, Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We're sorry to miss being in contact. Our sales manager reached out to you to make sure you knew we saw your feedback. We'll make certain to avoid this situation again and your business is always welcome.

February 04, 2019

"Would not recommend"

- bmw640i

I had a very bad experience with this dealer. I leased a corporate pre-leased 6 series from them and I was assured the car was fully inspected (sales BS) during the test drive where i brought up hearing a rattling noise with the car. To which the salesman said he cannot hear and its not there. Made an appt with a closeby dealer to find out that the rear strut is bad and leaking oil. the noise was confirmed by the foreman during a test drive. Since the strut is not available in the US, it has to be shipped from Germany and i have to go back again. Foreman also discovered there is an issue with the passenger side sear air bag and i had to leave the car there for 5 days. I have to take the car again once the parts arrive. For getting an almost new car (7K miles) that as supposed to be tested, i shouldn't be spending time at the service dept and going back and forth this soon (first week).I sent an email to the salesman, internet sales manager and ops manage ... no response This will be first and last time.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Prefer not to
Feb 06, 2019 -

Bob Smith BMW responded

Thanks for considering us for your leased vehicle. However, we would like to find out more about your concerns. Please contact Catherine Andrews, General Manager at csa@bobsmithbmw.com to discuss this further and allow us to fully understand your feedback.

May 14, 2019 -

bmw640i responded

I would like to believe that someone monitors that email but it doesn’t look like it. I emailed couple of times and provided contact info just to make sure I give you a chance to respond. But no one emailed or called back. Please don’t pretend that you are responsive and ready to listen.

May 21, 2018

"Only if the wait was not that long"

- SirSJW

I have been coming here for years to service all of my BMW's, the following is my overall observation after more than 5 BMW's being serviced with Bob Smith. 1)Wait is too long avg. 1/2 hour to get checked in. 2) No shuttle service on the weekends (out of luck if you do not have a loaner) 3) Their advisers are superb and the main reason why I keep coming back

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
I cant recall sorry,
March 17, 2018

"Unresponsive Con Artists"

- BobSmithBMW

I go in here for an oil change and I'm told that I need new tires and guess what you're in luck, if you buy a set of Four you qualify for a Pirelli refund, brining your price to a record low. OK. Sounds Great. Lets do it. That was 3 months ago. They do not want to respond. I even contacted their General Manager for service department by phone and by email that I can show you confirmation for. Here, I'm thinking to myself, if. you have have the basic courtesy or decency to respond to a customer about your own claims, then what good are you ? Why should anyone trust you ? I cannot recommend Bob Smith BMW to anyone. Probably one of the worst service places on the planet. Why are you selling me on things that are not true ? Is that how Bob Smith Rolls ? By deceiving customers ? Not bothering to respond ? By having General Managers who don't respond to emails or telephone calls ? I recommend Bob Smith change its name to Con Man Smith BMW. Go Elsewhere for your services. These people are no good.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Catherine Hodac, Service Manager
Mar 29, 2018 -

Bob Smith BMW responded

Our Service Director emailed you back a few weeks ago and she never heard back from you. We wanted to find out the status of your feedback here. Please contact us at your earliest convenience to reach a resolution on this. Thank you.

Mar 30, 2018 -

BobSmithBMW responded

Liar Liar Pants on Fire. BMW Should look into BobSmith Service Department and why they are making FALSE CLAIMS. I've called and repeatedly Emailed Bob Smith about this issue, and find that their claim that they ever have responded is categorically FALSE. I challenge the GM to show me the Email or the Telephone Log that you have bothered to reply to me. DO NOT TRUST BOB SMITH BMW. Whatever they once were they let slip a long long time ago. These guys are untrustworthy, unreliable, unresponsive charlatan con artists. Why are you - Bob Smith BMW - having your sales people pitch a set of 4 brand new Pirelli's at a discount, given a Rebate - that never materializes - Ever. Steer away from Bob Smith BMW and from Pirelli claims of Rebates. I never got anything form either of them, three months after purchase. And neither of them wasn't to bother with a response. Take your business elsewhere. You asked me to cal you - I called you - and found that your service department has a new manager. I don't blame you. But the new boss is same as the old boss. I suggest BMW look into Bob Smith BMW. They are dragging your brand down with false statements and promises to the customer.

Apr 09, 2018 -

BobSmithBMW responded

Irresponsible. Unresponsive. Tells you they try to contact you. Really ? Show me when. Show me the Email. Catherine Hodack, service manager, never got back to me. Bob Smith - you have a team of liars.

October 23, 2017

"EXCELLENT AS ALWAYS"

- TheMonaghans

My thanks to Hans, Lorelei, Amir and my buddy Tiger... You got me into another "dream" car. With the remodeling and all employees in a small area, I had the unique experience of seeing the commendatory and respect the employees have for each other.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Hans, Lorelei, Amir and Tiger
1
...
1 - 10 of 107 results