Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Bohn Toyota

Harvey, LA

2.3
183 Reviews

3800 Lapalco Blvd

Harvey, LA

70058

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 183 reviews

October 23, 2021

"Worst experience I've ever had or even heard of at a..."

- bklynmik

Worst experience I've ever had or even heard of at a dealership.  Found my dream car there, a Challenger 5k under MSRP and my 1st question to my salesperson, Forest Felks was "What's wrong with it?" He looked me in my eyes and said "Nothing." Test drove it and it was fine but I noticed bug scratches all over the grill. Asked him if he could get that out and he said no. Then he went to the Used Car manager's office and came back claiming the car was priced wrong but I was getting away with a steal. That sounded like used car salesman bull but I ignored it cause I knew the price point was good. He proceeded to put the form in front me to sign trying to rush the sale claiming that this car would go fast in this market. He only agreed to buff the grill after I put money down. He texted me daily the next week trying to get me to close yet when I arrived, the car wasn't even ready. He said he couldn't get it buffed but he was sending it off for a paint job for the grill. I closed the sale and waited nearly another week for my car.  When I came back and picked it up on a Friday evening it looked fine at first. But the next morning, after driving it home, I noticed the bottom of the grill was cracked and bent up in several places and sloppily zip tied together with wires hanging off the bottom. I contacted Forrest about it and he tells me the manager won't do anything about it because it was already marked down. But after pressing him further he says, "You should've known that when you first looked at it." I'm irate at this point cause the first thing I asked him was "What's wrong with it?" and he said "Nothing." I remind him of this and he backs up and changes his story to "that must've happened while they were doing the paint job." We go back and forth another minute before he hangs up in my face claiming he has a customer. Completely ignoring the fact that I AM a customer. So apparently it's standard practice for Bohn Toyota to sell a damaged used car, lie about its condition several times over, then hang up in the face of the customer they just swindled thousands of dollars out of. It gets worse. The following Monday I call the dealership and ask to speak to the manager. After explaining my situation, the manager, Martin Bonura, tells me they'll take care of it. That he'll even have the Used Car Sales Manager, Bruce Bishop call me to give me a rental while they fix it. Knowing that a grill that's cracked in several places with hanging wires has to be replaced, I naturally assume that he means they're going to replace it. (Much like the Service Departments of many dealerships require of the customer when we have significant damage to a part of our car connected to a much bigger part and end up having to replace the whole part.) But when I tell Bishop that "we'll fix it" most likely means replacing the grill, he says his manager didn't say anything about that and he'll have to call back about that. He does so and then the manager calls me back accusing me of putting words in his mouth. He now claims that since he doesn't know what's wrong with the car since he hasn't seen it, he can't make any promises. He's gone from "we'll take care if it" to "we'll have to look at it first."  I'm beyond irate at this point. I tell him I want to terminate the contract and he says that's not possible. I tell him I'll have to consult my lawyer to which he responds, "We've got lawyers too." I feel like I'm being bullied by gangsters at this point. All but forced to comply, I bring my car in the next day to see what they might offer. I talk with Bishop after handing over the keys. As I told Martin Bonura the day before, I tell Bishop I don't really care about the $1,000 or whatever the repair of the grill would have cost. I could have done that myself. It's about being intentionally lied to. Repeatedly. At this point its beyond bad business. It's downright disrespectful and borderline legalized criminality. The distrust from it all makes me wonder if the grill is the only problem, since that's clearly not a $5,000 problem. He claims that's the only problem he knows of but that the tag on the front of the car which says "Acceleride" means that the car is damaged in some way.  So that's at least 3 ways I've been lied to. Forrest knew about the cracked grill. He claimed the car was mistakenly marked down when he knew it was because of the cracked grill. And he had to know that indeed something was wrong with the car because it was tagged in a way that only the dealership would know and yet he told me nothing. And it's likely that Bishop, the manager whose office he came out of with claims of how they messed up and marked it too low by mistake,  was in on the lie too. Bishop was the same one who told Forrest to tell me they wouldn't do anything about the damage because he (Bishop) already priced it low. He's also the same one who told Forrest that it was "mistakenly" priced low, when we initially started talks. So again, it's hard to believe that Bishop, a self proclaimed upstanding Christian who's been at this for 40 years, wasn't in on the swindle too. I left the car with Bishop and he said he'd call me the next morning with a report from the body shop. It's 5 days later and I still haven't heard from him.  There's no actual way to repair this kind of harm. The corruption is apparently ubiquitous at this place so there's no one internally that can fix it. The least they can do at this point is replace my grill free of charge and communicate clearly as they do so. The sooner I can have nothing to do with them ever again the better

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Forrest Felks, Bruce Bishop, Martin Bonura
August 18, 2021

"I purchased a truck from them and in just two weeks it..."

- Fabian harper

I purchased a truck from them and in just two weeks it broke down. Had to have it towed back home. Apparently this dealership does not disclose all thats wrong with the vehicles they sell.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brain Carter and Bishop
Aug 24, 2021 -

Bohn Toyota responded

I apologize for the issues you are experiencing with the vehicle you purchased from us. Can you please contact me so I can make this right? I cannot find your name in our database, I would love to hear back from you at mbonura@BohnZone.com Martin Bonura General Manager

April 15, 2021

"This dealership "tacks on" a $3.99 "shop fee" on ALL auto..."

- Ronny

This dealership "tacks on" a $3.99 "shop fee" on ALL auto services they provide. I went in for a website special for a full synthetic oil change for $39.99, with NO mention of an additional $3.99 "shop fee!" (not even in the fine print -- false advertisement!!). That is like a restaurant charging an additional "kitchen fee" on each meal, or maybe if Walmart were to charge a "parking fee" to visit their store. Are you serious? This is getting ridiculous, and is against Better Business Bureau's standards. I imagine that's why Bohn Toyota is not accredited by BBB. Get ready to "bend over" each time you schedule auto service from them. Pretty soon we'll be charged "cement fees" to drive on their premises, or "oxygen fees" for breathing their air while waiting for our autos to be serviced!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Manager
Apr 16, 2021 -

Bohn Toyota responded

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I apologize for your dissatisfaction with our fees. I would like an opportunity to fix this and to earn your business, please contact me at mbonura@BohnZone.com. I look forward to speaking with you. Martin Bonura General Manager

Apr 16, 2021 -

Ronny responded

I asked a salesperson if I could speak to the General Manager about this matter. He replied that you were not there in your office at the moment, but Phil (Service Manager) could help me. Well, after discussing the matter with Phil, he had " an opportunity to fix this" in real time, but held his stance and chose not to do so. Our discussion was distasteful and fruitless. So, now this same negative experience review appears not only here on dealerrater.com, but also in google reviews, Facebook reviews, Yelp reviews, Cars.com reviews, etc. I felt "a duty" to inform future service customers about these "hidden and unethical tactics." I'm now pleased that my son, Damian, bought his brand new Toyota Sienna van from Toyota of Slidell last week, rather than yours. He had to drive further from Cut Off, but at least he was able to purchase that vehicle at the "promised" price without "hidden-surprise!-showroom-lot inventory", or any other "tacked on" extra charges!

February 13, 2021

"Don't go for tire repair! They gave 5 different stories..."

- Jalisa.mo

Don't go for tire repair! They gave 5 different stories on why I couldn't get service after I already called to verify that I could. Oh and they warranty dept closed on Saturdays... really?!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Na
Feb 15, 2021 -

Bohn Toyota responded

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I apologize that your recent service visit was anything but satisfactory. I would like an opportunity to address your concerns and to earn your business, please contact me. I look forward to speaking with you. Martin Bonura General Manager mbonura@BohnZone.com

December 17, 2019

"At first, we were really pleased with this dealership,..."

- Memob2002

At first, we were really pleased with this dealership, but by the end, it became a complete disaster. We agreed on a price for a vehicle, and on the day of pick up, they went up $500 on the price because a small repair they promised ended up costing them an extra “$500.” This was after waiting on them an additional two days longer than originally promised. No deal. We walked away.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bishop
Jan 17, 2020 -

Bohn Toyota responded

Memob2002, Thank you for your feedback about this because that should not have happened. I need to use your case as a learning opportunity, so we can fix the issue in the future. Could you please contact me? Raul Ramos General Manager raulramos@group1auto.com

June 25, 2019

"Great Service!"

- #NOLAcarguy504

Today’s service was very quick and great customer service. This morning was customer appreciation day and enjoyed the treats and water for customers. Also truly appreciated Kimberly Polk for being so helpful and ensuring I had the best customer service experience!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kimberly Polk
June 11, 2018

" My experience there was ridiculous. "

- Shasteen

So first off when I went to purchase my car everything was good. I realize that the car had a few dents and the windshield was cracked. I suddenly asked Jason Virgil can this be fixed if I purchase the car he said of course it can I would just have to bring the car in when I’m off. We came to an agreement that they would fix it for me, I would just have to take my car in on one of my off days in which I did. My car has been there for six hours until I called for them to tell me that they didn’t fix anything on the car. I let that go. I brought my car back on Monday and for a whole week I still haven’t gotten my car back it is now Monday again and they’re telling me they still have more dents to fix on my car that’s ridiculous. These people don’t care about you once you sign the papers and they have your money. I’ve requested to speak to a manager he came on the phone he was very rude I requested for the manager to call me back I still haven’t gotten a call this will be my first and last time at this dealership. I do not recommend anyone to this dealership to be honest and I’m not just bashing them to bash them I’m bashing them because I have a serious problem with bad customer service I have a serious problem with lack of communication. And I have a serious problem that it’s still been a week and I have no car to drive I’ve been taking Uber‘s and buses to work and I’ve also been taking Uber’s in buses back to my house at 2:30 AM. Their response is if I want something to be fixed I have to wait. That is not true because firstly he told me that it will take three days to fix the dents three days turned into week and if I did not call I would never gotten update on the car that’s my issue. The sale represented is trying to be nice but nice is not going to cut it because you’re messing with first of all the fact that I have to work hard to pay the car note you’re messing with my money you’re messing with my time. Lastly when I requested for a manager to call me back the sale representative response was if I think that the manager is going to not attend a meeting just to come talk to customer that’s what I was told. I normally do not do reviews honestly and I always told myself if I was supposed to do review it would be a great one but nothing great about this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jason Virgil and the Manager
March 22, 2018

"Vehicle Purchase"

- Unhappy Customer!

My buying experience WAS going great. My sales representative, Brian Carter. WAS initially very attentive. I had some issues and concerns that he promise he would take care of. BUT once the payment for my purchase cleared, suddenly he stop answering my calls. It seemed I was no longer valuable. I would call the dealership asking to speak with him but he was never available. I left VM and text messages requesting callback. but never got one. I tried to get someone else to address my concerns but was referred back to sale rep who again was suddenly unavailable for me. After nearly one month, I still have unresolved issues. This is my first car purchased at this dealership and most definitely my last.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brian Carter
February 26, 2018

"Brought Truck in for Repair"

- hweysham

I cannot believe anybody that went to this dealership has anything good to say. I work with 10 other people in our office and they all hate the service center. I was in customer service with ten other people and nobody was happy. The customer service rep. was talking to a customer on the phone that was unhappy about his bill for battery/cables, etc... She was rudely explaining why his battery was bad (burnt cell) and how it burned up his battery cables and they had to replace the battery and other items. He was not happy with the cost. She told him to wait a minute and she muffled the phone and spoke to the service rep. The service rep. told her that they did not replace the battery. They were charging him for a battery they never replaced and they only reason it was caught was because he questioned the cost.. I am sorry, that is theft, plain and simple. Everyone in the service center overheard her conversation. She even yelled at another customer. Needless to say, I had words with her regarding my car, and had my car towed out of the dealership. I went to Toyota of Slidell and it was not even a comparison. Excellent service. I will never step foot on their property again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Large woman at the service desk.
January 18, 2018

"Excellent service"

- Mel’s car

Dwight Arceneaux and Peter Edel were excellent. I have bought many cars from them and referred people to them. They always go above and beyond. I’ll be back when I need another car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Peter Edel; Dwight Arceneaux
1
...
1 - 10 of 183 results