Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Capitol Mazda

N/A

7 Lifetime Reviews

980 Capitol Expressway Auto Mall, San Jose, California 95136 Directions
Call (669) 231-1432

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

7 Reviews of Capitol Mazda

Sort by Write a review
November 18, 2017

"Great customer satisfaction"

- Japanese Surfer

Capitol Mazda has lots of inventory. So, you can see full range of each car including model, color, 2WD/AWD, and etc. I had services by Victor Bradley to buy 2017 CX-5. He is a really kind person and gives explanation not only merit /positive points but also demerit / negative points. So, even though I'm not an native speaker, he gave me lots of suggestion and patience until I caught the meaning well. I could get a great car with sufficient price with smooth transaction. I think it is a good store if people want to buy Mazda car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Victor Bradley
Nov 20, 2017 -

Capitol Mazda responded

We appreciate the great review!

November 16, 2017

"Awesome experience at Capitol Mazda"

- Mhsmith

I’ve purchased two new cars from Capitol Mazda in the last nine months. Ashley Fortini is the reason we went back! Thank you Ashley!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ashley Fortini
Nov 16, 2017 -

Capitol Mazda responded

We appreciate the great review! We love hearing from our happy car buyers!

September 08, 2017

"Do not buy from this dealership - they are dishonest"

- Sherry Chapman

The sales manager (Steve) and sales associate (Leslie) are dishonest and do not treat people well. In addition, Steve is an outright liar! My daughter was all set to buy a used car from them. She was very excited as it was her first car and she worked hard all summer saving her money. She looked at the car last weekend over the holiday and was told that it was not ready and still had to go through safety inspection. Steve told us that she had first rights to it since she was the first one to come look at it. We were told that we would get a call back on the status on Monday. No call was received so we called on Tuesday. Reply received back on Wed. stating that it would be one week until it was ready. Then she got text this Friday afternoon (only two days later) that there was another buyer and we had to come test drive. I rushed home from work to take her there, only to find out that it was sold. Steve’s manager tried to tell us that they were legally obligated to sell it to the person who got there first - that's BS! This is unprofessional, not the way to treat people and they do not deserve to be doing business in our neighborhood. There are many other Mazda dealers in the Bay Area so please do not do business with this one!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Steve, Leslie and Steve Manager
December 20, 2013

"Let me be the first to tell you DO NOT BUY USED CARS FROM..."

- ShaneShaheen

Let me be the first to tell you DO NOT BUY USED CARS FROM THIS DEALERSHIP. THEIR MECHANICS ARE NOT SMART CANT TELL THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN WATER AND COOLANT!! OR READ A TIRE GAUGE!! I purchased a 22k car from them and specifically asked about any issues with the engine transmission and electrical and was told the car had no issues. A few months later I took the vehicle in for a oil change at a independent shop and got a inspection. Boy was I in for a surprise. There was oil leaks building up in the engine for some time in the spark plug holes and leaking down to a puddle on the engine. Also I got a inspection report from them which shows me their mechanics are dumb . During my oil change and inspection the mechanic found nothing but water in my cooling system!!! which is really really bad. So I was lied to even while asking the right questions just so they can sell the car.. if their mechanics can't tell the difference between coolant and tap water would u take your car there? I highly advise getting a inspection done by a Independent shop before you buy a vehicle from them. They are liars! all in all Ive spent almost 2000$ in repairs after i have bought the car. i than filed a complaint through BBB and got response from the GM Corini and he basically told me " who would put water in there " and im thinking to my self who the hell inspects it and doesn't see it. Capitol Mazda Mechanics that's who. and than he tells me that i had a 3 month warranty only later to tell me it started after i bought the vehicle such LIARS!! also the tires were replaced after 2000 miles of purchasing the car due to the mechanics wrote false numbers on the inspection. so all in all ive replaced two gaskets front and rear breaks and rotors flushed the coolant and replaced the tires...wow!! i shouldn't have been so dumb and not read the yelp reviews. They hid all the problems from me even though i specifically asked.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike Wynn, Corini
August 17, 2012

"I was not pleased with Mike's business handling for a few..."

- omega71044

I was not pleased with Mike's business handling for a few reasons. First off, I was not treated professionally. Mike Wynne is not punctual and efficient person; He had 2 appointment simultaneously, although, we agreed to meet at a specific time to test drive a few Mazda models. I felt disrespected and not valued customer at all. I was given a different impression about prioritizing his business items and about his customer service. I was very disappointment. The second reason, there was poor demonstration of knowledge about Mazda 3 i touring car. He is very rigid and not flexible. Third reason, when I requested a ballpark price for Mazda 3 i touring 6-speed tranny, he did not offer incentive price. After an hour of negotiation, he came up with 19,979.79 with fee + tax. This car is a base model. While other dealerships offered less price than Capitol did so and much better demonstration. The dealership claims about their commitment for customer service. From my experience, I saw a waste of my time and I am glad did not make business with them. I don't recommend making business with this dealership. Always, look how they treat you before business.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike Wynne
October 12, 2011

"Came to buy 2011 MAZDA CX-7. We didn't know the car was..."

- Romich1978

Came to buy 2011 MAZDA CX-7. We didn't know the car was on sale that day. The salesperson took off sales price tag and hid it (2000$ off). When we accidentally found out that the car was on sale and asked him to sell the car on sales price, he refused to do it and explained that sales price was for cash only. But other people were buying same type car - just in front of us! - without this "special" condition. Don't recommend this dealership to anyone. I will stop maintaining my old MAZDA at this place. I suggest you to avoid even to come close there.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Do not remember
October 14, 2010

"We bought a Mazda5 from Capitol Mazda on Sept 11. The..."

- Katenigma00

We bought a Mazda5 from Capitol Mazda on Sept 11. The first annoyance was the low price they were willing to give us for our 2005 Toyota Matrix trade in. We had guaranteed offers for $6500, but the first number they came out with was only $4800, and the number we finally negotiated up to was only $5300. All told, there was a lot of back and forths haggling over the price for an hour, and literally the salesman said any lower and we'd be taking food out of his children' mouths. We were happy enough with the price, but when we got home I checked http://Edmunds.com (we went in for the GT, but ended up with the Touring to get the price where we needed it) and we paid exactly $10 less than Edmunds listed as the True Market Value and what everyone else in San Jose is paying for that car. For that $10, it seems it shouldn't have been as much of a fight and with so much melodrama. However, while annoying, that was partly our own negotiating and we accepted the price of the trade in and the car, so it's unfair to complain about the deal after we'd agreed to it. The *real* problem came when the time was coming up on when the first loan payment was due, and we hadn't received our loan documents. We tried to call starting 2 weeks before the payment was due, and it took 3 calls before we even got someone to call us back. The Finance manager said the papers had been sent and they would arrive at least a week before the payment was due. When that didn't happen, we called again. We were told, again, they would be there any day. When they hadn't arrived 3 days later, we called again. She then looked further and said the paperwork had gotten "misfiled" and the loan never sent to Chase. She had us pay them over the phone via credit card and said they would send the payment with the loan papers so the payment wouldn't be late while we waited on the loan documents. That was Wed, Oct 6th, and the payment was due Oct 11th. On Oct 8th, the loan appeared in my Chase online banking, but not the payment. So we called again. We were assured the payment had been sent and would just take "a couple days" to show up since it wouldn't have been processed until the loan was set up. Oct 11th was a holiday,and I know from being a longtime Chase customer than transactions that happen late on Friday through the weekend don't show up in Online banking until Tues morning. Because of the Holiday, I expected it to show up on Wed. When it didn't, my husband drove down to the dealership instead of calling. He was given a few halfhearted apologies, and a copy of the email directing the business office to send the check- On Friday the 8th- and the UPS receipt. The email to cut the check wasn't even sent until 45 minutes AFTER we'd been assured the payment had already been made. To make matters even worse, although the email said to write the check for the right amount, the check was actually written for $1 less! (The first check finally did clear Chase today, the 14th) If they had told us on the 8th that the check had never gotten sent, we could have asked them to reverse the charges (Or disputed them) and made the payment ourselves, for the proper amount, on time. Instead, the check didn't even arrive until the day after it was due- and didn't get processed until 2 days later- and for the wrong amount. They have allegedly overnighted another check for $1 and did manage to email us a .pdf of a copy of the check. We can only assume it has been sent. It has also now been just short of 5 weeks, and we haven't received our license plates. I'm dreading that phone call, because I wonder if that paperwork was "misfiled" too. I have no idea how a business that is run so dishonestly and incompetently can stay in business. It's also scary because this group owns 6 other dealerships in Capitol Auto Mall and the Bay Area, and all the paperwork goes through the same business office.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Luis, Rhonda
1
1 - 7 of 7 results