Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

CarMax

2.0

130 Lifetime Reviews

6801 East Frontage Road, Merriam, Kansas 66204 Directions
Sales: (913) 384-6697

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

130 Reviews of CarMax

Sort by Write a review
September 02, 2019

"Extreme Rust on a $40K Denali"

- Denali

Purchased a Denali Truck from Carmax in Greenville. Took it to GMC to be inspected and they found an extreme amount of rust on the underbody and rotors. Wish I could upload the pics on this website. Here is the vin 3GTU2PEC1GG119916 and stock# 16999730. Do not buy this vehicle or a car from Carmax until they go back to their old inspection process.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Valerie
August 20, 2019

"Stealing your belongings from car"

- Carmaxreviewer

They stole my Gps from my car and told me they haven’t found anything. Worst Not a very good customer treatment pretty rude and harsh but that’s nothing in comparison to a stealing

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brad
August 16, 2019

"Worst service department "

- Angry consumer

Our sales person mislead us about a tow package being on the car. On top of that we were told CarMax was ordering us 2 keys fobs. This was not the case!! We had to make an appointment and then they ordered ONE key fob. Very disappointed!! My whole experience was terrible. On top of that, we have had the new/used car for 2 weeks and the brakes are bad. So tell me why they wouldn’t have checked the brakes prior to selling!!?? I am sitting in the service department now and they are telling me it’s going to take an hour to diagnose bad breaks!!! What the heck!!?? So then after they diagnose, I then have to make another appointment to have brakes fixed!?! Meanwhile my family isn’t safe due to bad brakes!!! xxx

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Cody
August 14, 2019

"They do not inspect vehicles before selling them!"

- dennislv

If you can buy from somewhere else, DO IT! RUN AND DON'T LOOK BACK!!! They crashed one of our cars on the lot, then sold us another that had a RODENT NEST under the hood, LEAKING OIL, electrical problems, etc... I called to make an appointment to get it checked, and they told me it would take at least 10 days to get it in there!!! They truck is less than 2 weeks old (conveniently broke down after the 7 day period) and they expect me to wait that long for things that should have been dealt with before it was put up for sale. This leads me to believe THEY DID NOT INSPECT THE VEHICLE BEFORE RESELLING IT!!!! The vehicle also has this blackish powdery substance all over under the hood. Don't bother calling the 800 number, they're just a feel good hotline that takes a memo and sends it to the same people who are causing the problems. So they finally take the truck in to get repaired and they don't bother to call me and update me, nor provide me a loaner vehicle... RUN AWAY AND DO NOT BUY FROM HERE!!! After the sale you are just a piece of trash to them

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike, Mike, Robert
August 02, 2019

"I was ripped off- wish I could give ZERO stars!"

- RLO

Took my 2018 Dodge Charger to CarMax Phoenix-Gilbert for an appraisal. Located a 2018 Jaguar F-pace at a CarMax location in Florida. The car was previously used as a rental, had low miles and appeared to be in pristine condition, according to the photos and description. I agreed to pay a $915.22 transfer fee to have the vehicle shipped to Arizona. The salesman, advised me it may take up to 3 weeks to receive the vehicle, I was not obligated to purchase if I was not satisfied with the vehicle and the transfer fee was non-refundable. I verbally agreed to these terms solely on how the car was advertised on CarMax.com. Tuesday, 7/30/19, my boyfriend drove to CarMax Phoenix-Gilbert to inspect the vehicle while I was at work. He called me via FaceTime to tell me the exterior of the vehicle had significant scratching/scuffing and did not match the pictures of the vehicle I thought I was purchasing. He walked around the entire vehicle identifying scratches, bad touch-up paint and scuffing. He also took 8 photos for reference. I was completely misled- the vehicle in the CarMax.com photos did not match the actual car itself. The CarMax.com description did not indicate ANY cosmetic blemishes like the scratching on the hood, roof and sides of the vehicle, or the peeling paint along the rear bumper. On 7/31/19 I requested a refund in the amount of $915.22 for the vehicle transfer fee. I was contacted later that day by CarMax Phoenix-Gilbert representative. I explained the situation and requested to be reimbursed. Efran stated the VIN number and mileage matched that of the car in the CarMax.com listing. I explained while I understand the numbers may match, the photos do not. I would not have paid the $915.22 transfer fee had I known the true condition of the car. Still, he refused to refund me. I then asked for their dealer license number, which he stated he was 'not in the position to be giving that information out'. I asked to speak with someone above him who could provide this information, he replied stating there wasn't anyone who could do this. I Called CarMax customer relations immediately after ending the phone call. The rep I spoke with was pleasant, I explained the situation and she advised she would follow up with the CarMax Phoenix-Gilbert manager and call me the following morning between 8am-9am local time...she didn't call until 4:30pm. When I did finally speak with her, she repeated the same thing as before- they would not refund me. I asked to speak with someone above her, but she stated there was no one higher than her (obviously a lie). The 'Customer Service' department (if you can even call it that) was a joke, they were ZERO help. This was my first experience with CarMax and will certainly be my last. I will never recommend this company to anyone. CarMax, be advised- I have already filed a consumer complaint with the Arizona Attorney Generals office, and the Better Business Bureau. I gave you multiple opportunities to rectify the situation but you refused.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Edward Lawton, Efran Coronado
July 10, 2019

"BAD CAR BAD DEAL...NEVER AGAIN!!!"

- Pamela

Found a 2008 Toyota 4Runner in Colorado Springs online... and they shipped to New Mexico for me. Customer service was generally good however..:.THEY DID NOT MENTION THE ENGINE GASKET HAD A LEAK!!!!! $4,000 to FIX FROM MY PERSONAL MECHANIC—-would be double at a Dealership!!!!! NOWHERE IN THE PAPERWORK EITHER!!!! NEVER AGAIN CARMAX!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Several people who knew their job well and others who did not and the good ones had to correct the mistakes of the others
July 04, 2019

"Car has been in the service dept since day 1 "

- Gcoalts

Car has been in for repair since the day we bought it now that its out of warrenty by 30 days alot of major stuff is wrong and they refuse to cover it i would not send anyone to carmax

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Amad
May 11, 2019

"2nd appraisal inside a month cut in half"

- Jdsrmody9

Went in for an appraisal so I would know what my cars worth was while shopping for a new car. Carmax said $700 while the blue book is $3,000. Didn’t take the offer but it was good to know the minimum I would get. Went back 3 weeks later after buying a car from a dealership and not a carmax and my offer was $400. How does the value of my car go down over 45% in 3 weeks with 25 miles added to the car. Those must be some serious 25 miles in your eyes carmax.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Diana I think
April 26, 2019

"Don’t use their finance or repair center "

- Marshall

I purchased what I thought was a reliable vehicle, with a dealer warranty in place and a extended warranty. CarMax took two months to get my vehicle ready, even after getting approved financing. I drove the vehicle for two week and went back to get a oil change and rotation of tires at CarMax. In 2 days the brakes locked up and the vehicles was not able to drive. I called CarMax repair center( which worked on my vehicle) and it took a week to get me in for repairs. The repairs ended up being over $3000 dollars. The brake pads, rotors, and all brake components needed to be replaced. 2 months later the fan belt and fan broke. This cost almost $1000. 3 months later the car would not start at work. I had it towed to its original CarMax this time I had to go Christian Brothers, which end up being approximately $5000 dollars of damages. There were more recommendations, which my insurance would not cover. I then had replaced my own battery about a month later. Next, I went called CarMax and a “Rich” the repair manager called me about my experience. He stated it’s normal to put approximately $45000 of repairs in two years of maintenance on a vehicle. I’m not sure what he drives but it’s not my Nissan. Lastly, I went get a diagnostic for a check engine light. CarMax sent me to a dealer with updates from a Nissan Versa. I called CarMax twice just to ensure all I needed was this computer update for $148, which they confirmed. The dealer laughed and showed me their are no update for my vehicle. They completed a diagnostic, which totaled $31000 in repairs. After calling Consumer division at CarMax, I received a call from Mike, Repair Supervisor. He basically stated they don’t have the proper diagnostic, yet they continue to give out bad information. I asked why couldn’t I be told this may not be correct analysis and he just apologized. This was 4 hours out my time and 2 days later when I got my vehicle back. I fell CarMax gives bad information and can waist a lot of time. My wife and I both bought our cars from CarMax and will not take our vehicles back for any work.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rich (Repairs), Mikes (Repairs), Josue Gonzalez, Kishinev Moore, Veronica Solano, Sean Thomas, and
April 25, 2019

"Don’t transfer a car because the price will change 2 or 3 ti"

- LORPIT

I had a truck transferred to the Miami Lakes store from Melbourne Fl paid a transfer fee only for the price quoted to me be changed twice and never the same as the original price online. Got shifted around and around by corporate and the stores involved only to be called LOVE numerous times by a receptionist that would not transfer me to a manager. No one had any information except for a pic I had in an email sent to me with the original price on it but it was ignored. RUN FAST AND FAR FROM ANY CARMAX

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
William , Matt from corporate and finally Danny
1
...
1 - 10 of 130 results