Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

CarMax

Merriam, KS

1.7
198 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

6801 East Frontage Road

Merriam, KS

66204

Directions

Is this your dealership?

198 Reviews of CarMax

Sort by Write a review
April 03, 2021

"I purchased a 2015 Honda Civic, CarMax of Newport News,..."

- LStretch

I purchased a 2015 Honda Civic, CarMax of Newport News, VA had the check in hand and sold the car while I was in the hospital. Then, tried to charge me more for the same vehicle and a shipping fee. They did not apologize or try to rectify their own mistake. Buyer beware!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kamran, F. Hilario
March 04, 2021

"So I'm a single mom that lost a job during covid. I..."

- dewcraze

So I'm a single mom that lost a job during covid. I starting a new job and needed a car for my son at college. They didn't help me at all. I made an appointment to go over some financing options and cars I wanted to look at. I walked through the door and the receptionist/sales lady said I guess your stuck with me! She walked me over to her computer screen and rudely states that my options for financing is 4 cars that were junk. She said go to the parking lot scan the car you want and bring it in to me ?? Ridiculous she treated me like an idiot. Ended up going to Bobby Rahal Honda and they got me in a wonderful car with low miles! Never go there again!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Raina Brode
March 01, 2021

"Twenty (20) weeks ago yesterday I bought a 2019 Dodge..."

- Lbn

Twenty (20) weeks ago yesterday I bought a 2019 Dodge Caravan at CarMax in Kennesaw, GA. We still don't have a title for the car. Have gotten nowhere with the store or corporate. I don’t believe anybody at CarMax understands or takes seriously (or cares about) the predicament this places us in. If we were to experience a total loss in the new vehicle, we could not settle a claim and replace the car until we have the title which I have been advised could take another two months. My only two requests of CarMax were beyond reasonable, I asked that CarMax (a) assure me that the car they sold me had a clean title and (b) that in the unlikely event we experienced a total loss in the vehicle before they perfected the title, CarMax would assure us a loaner vehicle until they produced the title so I could settle a claim and replace the vehicle. CarMax has refused to do either, displaying that they would not agree to the very basic of basics when it came to doing the right thing. I understand the refusal to guarantee me that they sold me a car with a clean title, as it is now obvious given that they have had to go back to the original owner for supporting documentation that the title to the car was neither clean nor unencumbered. I’ve never said, thought or believed that CarMax intentionally sold me a car without a clean title; I’m confident that it was a clerical error and that they will eventually get it corrected. However, refusing to provide us basic assurance and protection that would be of zero cost to CarMax is startling, disappointing, and downright frightening. I will never buy a car from CarMax again and I would encourage anybody reading this to give serious consideration to looking for a more reputable dealership when they are ready to buy a car. It appears that when it comes to ethics and integratory as well as a willingness to just do what is right, CarMax isn’t ready for prime time.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Several
February 15, 2021

"I have a clean carfax paint well NO [ait work, right..."

- rd777

I have a clean carfax paint well NO [ait work, right color combination has comfort pkg etc. lots of options, low miles, didn't matter CAN I say LOW ball offer, shame, rep kept saying we give HONEST appraisals, don't get frustrated to just get it over, they want your car at LOW price to flip it and make 2k, there car prices are on teh high side, so low trade in higher buy oh yes you have profitmax. Yes very nice but be PREPARED LOW offer on trade in, again my car was what they want CLEAN,low miles, etc. Shame,,,,,they don't care it comes down to a buyer at times just worry about financing vs what deal are you getting

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
N?A
February 07, 2021

"I WAS going to purchase a vehicle at the CARMAX in..."

- kadams227

I WAS going to purchase a vehicle at the CARMAX in Midlothian, VA. it was a transfer from VA Beach. I tried repeatedly to contact their customer service via phone and online. Below is what I tried to post to their customer service online portal. after repeated attempts to submit, I gave up. RE: stock # 20063060, 2018 Ford Explorer I was supposed to test drive and purchase the above referenced vehicle. I didn't even bother to drive it. IT IN NO WAY (even the shade of blue was different) resembled the pictures put forth online. The rear cabin area had streaks of who-knows-what on the ceiling and sides (the substance could be chipped off with a fingernail), the exterior had numerous rubs and fine scratches on every body panel. Most of these imperfections can be corrected with a good detailing. One, on the driver side fender actually had an "X" written under it with a crayon. I assume that was a way to mark it for repair. Obviously, pre-inspection of a vehicle only involves wash and vacuum. I was preapproved by Bank of America for 50K. i could have been in the car and gone in less than an hour. Unfortunately, for you, I was gone in less than a half-hour, no sale. This vehicle was priced above average retail by about 200 bucks. I would expect way better than what was presented. My expectations were not unreasonable. I will never consider CARMAX again. The photos online do not give a true depiction of the vehicles. To me, that is akin to the "bait and switch" practice. I wish I had taken the time to check the VIN. For all I know, the vehicle presented ISN'T the one transferred form VA Beach that I requested. Guess we won't know....

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
don't remember
January 24, 2021

"I am trying to purchase a vehicle from a Carmax dealer in..."

- H.Crane

I am trying to purchase a vehicle from a Carmax dealer in another location. Carmax makes it sound easy to get cars shipped from on location to another. I am here to tell you they do transfer cars, but they kill you on the cost. I am trying to get a car shipped from CA to MI, and the Carmax cost is almost double 4 other national carriers. I called Carmax to see if they would use one of the carriers quoted or at least give me a comparable price, to which they said no. The clearly are making a large profit off of their carrier service. It took me several phone calls and emails to even get a response. This is the second time I have tried to purchase a car through Carmax, and neither time have they been responsive. Avoid Carmax, they find ways to take advantage of customers to inflate their profit.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Shanna
January 24, 2021

"Carmax lied and sold me the car has been in..."

- lhphuong3000

Carmax lied and sold me the car has been in accident. Waiting 3 weeks and waste of $660 transfer fee for the worst Toyota Sienna 2014 xle. This car has a number of issues: tail gate not working, front axle leak, font and rear pumper replace, squirrel and mouse net under engine cap, alignment off.. can’t believe it they said the car must been through 150 inspection points. They lied they did not inspect but pressure wash the engine but forgot under engine cap. Its a painful experience. Time and money loss Totally pissed off with the saleman acting like i dont want to buy a car. I was fk waiting 3 weeks and paid $660 for notthinf

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Carmax
January 23, 2021

"7788 Conway St, San Diego, CA 92111I went to CarMax..."

- Disapointed

7788 Conway St, San Diego, CA 92111 I went to CarMax today with a scheduled appointment to get my vehicle appraised.. I went into the building a few minutes before the appointment time to check in. They asked where my vehicle was parked and said that someone would be with me in 5 minutes. The 1st CarMax representative arrived and asked me a few basic questions; name, address, and whose name is the vehicle registered in, etc. He suggested that I park and stay with my vehicle at a designated area in their parking garage. to avoid getting wet from the rain. He told me that an appraiser would meet me in 15 minutes. The appraiser met me, asked me to start the vehicle, open hood, trunk, power down all 4 windows and step out of the car. He took select pics of the manufacturers build plate with all the identifying numbers, all 4 door entrances into the vehicle, trunk and hood. I asked him if he wanted to see the regular car and Hybrid battery's location was in the trunk. He said he didn't need that. I mentioned that I had new tires and a sensor feature on the vehicle and he didn't acknowledge it. He completed the assessment in 5 minutes or less. He told me to wait with my vehicle here and someone would bring out my offer in 15 minutes. 19 minutes later another young man brought me the offer. I was in the car with my seat belt on and the window down. He said I have your offer. You have damage on your front bumper. I was surprised and said what damage? He repeated, you have damage on the front bumper. I again asked what damage?. He said yes on your front bumper. I became a bit frustrated between the wait times and this employee not answering my question and somewhat dense. I got out of my vehicle and said can you please show me what damage you are speaking of? He went to the front of the bumper and showed me a lower part of the bumper with a 6" scrape which took off the paint and left it black. This I knew about. I said oh, ok that damage. I don't know why you could not say that after I asked you several times. He then announced the quote and handed me the quote. It was exceptionally low. I said 'wow that is a really low ball offer'. He said I am sorry sir. I was so exasperated, I repeated it now much louder so adjacent customers waiting for their appointments could better hear. 'That is a very low ball offer. As he hurried away I yelled 'My car is worth at least 3k more!' Bottom line: why does CarMax have to make the customer go through all this tedious, long process, 50 minutes with an appointment? CarMax wasted my time! I went to several reputable on line dealerships and received a quote in minutes with some basic information? On top of the all my offers they were $500-$2k better than CarMax! I knew that I would never buy a car at CarMax due to their high retail prices. Now I know that I would never waist my time and sell a car to CarMax due to their low ball uncompetitive offers and wasting my time! This entire process could have been done in 15 minutes or less!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dominick? Derrick?
December 22, 2020

"Ok so my wife chevy broke down and i have to replace the..."

- emmett.daniels

Ok so my wife chevy broke down and i have to replace the cylinder head was renting a car so she can get to work. Was stressing all week on what can I do. I called carmax and was stress free after talking to robert the agent we got aproved on a sunday and went to carmax finished the paper work o and did get MAXCARE which covers the car for 48 months or 150000 miles if car breaks down. I really could not believe we was able to get another car and be baqck to stress free. we do not have the best crdt and yet we have a great xmax thanks to CARMAX, the service was great

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
robert and sean
December 18, 2020

"I am truly not one to complain or write something as a..."

- bjiggy2

I am truly not one to complain or write something as a complaint but this was a truly frustrating experience and if I save another person heartache, then this post was worth the time/effort. My wife and I found a vehicle we really liked (Acura RDX AWD, Advance Package), reserved the vehicle (which was located in Raleigh, NC), and requested a transfer to the Charlotte, NC location (close to where I live). CarMax confirmed the vehicle would be transferred to Charlotte, NC at no charge, at which point we would receive a call to come look at the vehicle (within 7 days). I had not heard anything by day 7, so I call and they tell me the vehicle was never sent to Charlotte. It was reserved by somebody else (after me) and was sent to Kansas City. I cannot get an answer as to why the vehicle was never transferred to Charlotte and why in the world somebody else was able to reserve it (when I had it reserved and it was to be sent to me). The vehicle did not get to KC yet, but CarMax refuses to cancel that request to KC and send the car to me (as I was the FIRST person to reserve the vehicle). It seems the customer in KC is a more important customer than I am. I was using CarMax as it was supposed to be less frustrating than a traditional dealership, to say I am HIGHLY disappointed with the experience is an understatement. That the error was made is frustrating enough, but that they will not correct the error they made and have me suffer for their incompetence is even more infuriating. Maybe this is a one time issue or rare issue, but I would have liked them to correct the issue and disappoint the 2nd person to reserve the car and not penalize me for their mistake. That they are unwilling to fix the issue is horrible customer service. I would suggest going elsewhere.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Justin (Manager, Kansas City)
1
...
1 - 10 of 198 results