Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

CarMax

2.0

125 Lifetime Reviews

6801 East Frontage Road, Merriam, Kansas 66204 Directions
Sales: (913) 384-6697

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

125 Reviews of CarMax

Sort by Write a review
July 10, 2019

"BAD CAR BAD DEAL...NEVER AGAIN!!!"

- Pamela

Found a 2008 Toyota 4Runner in Colorado Springs online... and they shipped to New Mexico for me. Customer service was generally good however..:.THEY DID NOT MENTION THE ENGINE GASKET HAD A LEAK!!!!! $4,000 to FIX FROM MY PERSONAL MECHANIC—-would be double at a Dealership!!!!! NOWHERE IN THE PAPERWORK EITHER!!!! NEVER AGAIN CARMAX!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Several people who knew their job well and others who did not and the good ones had to correct the mistakes of the others
July 04, 2019

"Car has been in the service dept since day 1 "

- Gcoalts

Car has been in for repair since the day we bought it now that its out of warrenty by 30 days alot of major stuff is wrong and they refuse to cover it i would not send anyone to carmax

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Amad
May 11, 2019

"2nd appraisal inside a month cut in half"

- Jdsrmody9

Went in for an appraisal so I would know what my cars worth was while shopping for a new car. Carmax said $700 while the blue book is $3,000. Didn’t take the offer but it was good to know the minimum I would get. Went back 3 weeks later after buying a car from a dealership and not a carmax and my offer was $400. How does the value of my car go down over 45% in 3 weeks with 25 miles added to the car. Those must be some serious 25 miles in your eyes carmax.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Diana I think
April 26, 2019

"Don’t use their finance or repair center "

- Marshall

I purchased what I thought was a reliable vehicle, with a dealer warranty in place and a extended warranty. CarMax took two months to get my vehicle ready, even after getting approved financing. I drove the vehicle for two week and went back to get a oil change and rotation of tires at CarMax. In 2 days the brakes locked up and the vehicles was not able to drive. I called CarMax repair center( which worked on my vehicle) and it took a week to get me in for repairs. The repairs ended up being over $3000 dollars. The brake pads, rotors, and all brake components needed to be replaced. 2 months later the fan belt and fan broke. This cost almost $1000. 3 months later the car would not start at work. I had it towed to its original CarMax this time I had to go Christian Brothers, which end up being approximately $5000 dollars of damages. There were more recommendations, which my insurance would not cover. I then had replaced my own battery about a month later. Next, I went called CarMax and a “Rich” the repair manager called me about my experience. He stated it’s normal to put approximately $45000 of repairs in two years of maintenance on a vehicle. I’m not sure what he drives but it’s not my Nissan. Lastly, I went get a diagnostic for a check engine light. CarMax sent me to a dealer with updates from a Nissan Versa. I called CarMax twice just to ensure all I needed was this computer update for $148, which they confirmed. The dealer laughed and showed me their are no update for my vehicle. They completed a diagnostic, which totaled $31000 in repairs. After calling Consumer division at CarMax, I received a call from Mike, Repair Supervisor. He basically stated they don’t have the proper diagnostic, yet they continue to give out bad information. I asked why couldn’t I be told this may not be correct analysis and he just apologized. This was 4 hours out my time and 2 days later when I got my vehicle back. I fell CarMax gives bad information and can waist a lot of time. My wife and I both bought our cars from CarMax and will not take our vehicles back for any work.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rich (Repairs), Mikes (Repairs), Josue Gonzalez, Kishinev Moore, Veronica Solano, Sean Thomas, and
April 25, 2019

"Don’t transfer a car because the price will change 2 or 3 ti"

- LORPIT

I had a truck transferred to the Miami Lakes store from Melbourne Fl paid a transfer fee only for the price quoted to me be changed twice and never the same as the original price online. Got shifted around and around by corporate and the stores involved only to be called LOVE numerous times by a receptionist that would not transfer me to a manager. No one had any information except for a pic I had in an email sent to me with the original price on it but it was ignored. RUN FAST AND FAR FROM ANY CARMAX

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
William , Matt from corporate and finally Danny
April 16, 2019

"Salesman Named Shaq unprofessional manner"

- AUKANA

I gives a return call to one of CarMax Virginia Beach dealership named Shaq because I went to their website and found some vehicle I’m interested and it says they can transfer the vehicle here in Virginia Beach free with no obligation. He told me that those I’m requested are sold already , he want to go to their store so that I look their available vehicle they have. I told him I don’t see a vehicle I want in their so while Mwr are talking in the phone I was checking their website and found 2 vehicles I’m interested to test drive I ask and it says both are free to transfer but he told me that he can’t transfer two vehicle. I asked him why it doesn’t says in their website that you can’t transfer 2 vehicles and he started having attitude and hang up the phone. What a rude salesman.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Shaq of CarMax Virginia Beach
April 01, 2019

"Customer service is horrible SCAM"

- Run77Run!

I took in my BMW for a trade in. It was valued at $7000 and I owed $14k on it. Even though I bought the BMW from them and paid it on time the last year and a half the charges me 15% interest. Run away fast!!!! Could not get the car out of lot to test drive it because magnetic stickers did not work. Had to return to service 2 additional times to get a sticker that worked. Did salesman explain feastures and do a checkpoint???? Heck no. Was the car dirty with damage. YES. Was it sluggish and did I get excuses? YES!!! Was the car overpriced ? YES. The salesman was so embarrassed he said he had to go home and they gave me another salesman. Lol. I guess they can’t handle valid questions!!!! Beaver ruin location in Gwinnett Georgia.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Patrick
March 22, 2019

"Very unprofessiona"

- Deicy

Very unprofessional company, would not clean the vehicle before giving it to the customer, and after you done the deal their printers won’t work and you walk out of there without any paperwork and with the promised of them sending it to you via fedex, and a week later still not paper work and when you call they give you the running around. Very poor company

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gibs
March 09, 2019

"Tx 1 autos and finance"

- Darlareview😊

Wow. They got their act together. Clean, low mileage cars, in house financing, and superb customer service. Great experience, and I got an believable deal!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Family run. Didnt think to get names. All 3 of them were great!
March 04, 2019

"Great dealer ship good prices "

- Arina Frink

They were very patient and took a lot of time to make sure that the car you were looking for is the car that is just right for you! I would highly recommend them great customer service and a very pleasant place to look for a car

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Steve brauner
1
...
1 - 10 of 125 results