About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

CarMax

1.7

97 Lifetime Reviews

6801 East Frontage Road, Merriam, Kansas 66204 Directions
Sales: (913) 384-6697

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

97 Reviews of CarMax

Sort by Write a review
September 22, 2017

"Carmax Gainesville, FL"

- robert03

Bought a Jeep 2004 liberty about a year ago. First the battery died, that was resolved. Now after a year there is a vibration in the front end, the mechanic said that the car is not safe to drive. The ball joints and lower arms need to be replaced. I didn't sign up for Max car as the milage was high already and it would probably not be covered anyway. So my question is why should I buy from carmax and pay 3 time the price, as listed by private sellers, when the car is going to have major issues like this!! Now i know not to buy from carmax in the future.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
don't remember name
August 23, 2017

"Horrible customer service "

- Abigail M Carpio

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME HERE. I spent 3 months trying to buy ONE car here. First off I went in and ran my credit with my grandma as a co signer. My grandma is in Miami so we did everything over the phone. We got approved with no money down which is good for 30 days. I couldn't do the paperwork then because I had work. I go in next day and get this old guy to do the paperwork with me. Turns out there was a $200 deposit for the car. I said no that cant be because yesterday it was 0 down, the old man said "your just trying to scam us". I was in disbelief as to why he would say that. Then we get the original person who ran my credit to confirm it was truly 0 down. So they tell me and my grandma that they will send the paperwork to her house. We waited, 2 weeks later I get a call "if your grandma doesn't sign the paperwork, we will repo the car today I was confused and in shock because I had no idea what they were talking about. They told me wrong but said I was mistaken and heard them wrong. So whatever, I get my grandma to go in during 5 o clock traffic in Miami to sign paper and everything went fine. 1 week later i get a call and apparently the old man who signed us was negligent and he typed my social wrong. So now we had to go through the process ALL OVER AGAIN. My grandma was on a cruise and we couldn't get her to sign everything right away so they submmited my paperwork with the wrong social knowingly it would come back as a bad social so we could get more time to get everything Situated. So we finally get the updated paperwork signed with my updated social number and we FedEx it to carmax in Miami for my grandma to sign. I go home and next day something was wrong with the bumper. So I take it in and THEY TOOK THE CAR AWAY. They said "we can't sell you the car because of after market parts" even though it went through inspection and the paperwork said it was a clean car. They said they can't sell cars with after market parts because it's a liability which I understand but I had proof that I paid for it and it didn't come that way and Keep in mind I had the car in my possession for 3 months. They take the car to the back and say we can't have it and well have to keep looking. I was furious and talked with the general manager Bret Lang. After much argument trying to tell him I have Receipts of the after market part and that I indeed paid someone to put it in they smirked at me, crossed his arms and said he's the boss and there's nothing I(me) can do about it. Then proceeded to laugh with his co workers. He was so rude and ignorant. I called the police to see if there was anything I can do about it and once we realized there was nothing the cops can do, he(Bret Lang) smiled again and said " what are you going to do now sweetheart?" And laughed again with sarcasm in his voice. At that point he was so rude and made me so mad I began to cry. I've never in my life dealth with that type of customer service. So please DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME. I SPENT 3 MONTHS TRYING TO BUY THIS CAR WHEN I SHOULD HAVE JUST GOTTEN ANOTHER CAR FROM SOMEWHERE ELSE.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bret Lang
August 04, 2017

"Offered half of what NADA said my trade in was worth. "

- Chevy Rocks

This store should have only one star. But the sales person Janine Flournoy-zielinskin made it this a good experience despite the low ball offer on our trade in, a 2010 Chevrolet LTZ Traverse. They said the timing belt cover was leaking. Never ever had a drip od oil in our garage. Bought what we were looking for from another dealer who gave us a fair trade in value.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Janine Flournoy-zielinski
July 26, 2017

"The lie about your appraisal! Dishonest crooks!"

- Carguy1

I brought in my 2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited in with nice rims and tires. I was quoted $25,500 as is or $27,500 if I put on the original rims and tires. I told them I was going out of town and couldn't come in within the 7 days quote and was told not to worry about it. When I came back, I had already installed the original rims and tires in almost new condition. Aside from the fact I had to pay to get my tires swapped out and replace the tpms on the tires, I was still only quoted $27,000. They didn't care about their former appraisal quote and told me I could take it or leave it. I even detailed it and got a brand new oil change out of respect for the new-to-owner. Rubén the sails associate simply didn't care about his word and his only explanation was that the market changed everyday. I don't advise anyone to shop or sell to carmax. They're crooks and don't keep their word. There are plenty of nice associates but I would still avoid it unless you're in dire need of selling.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ruben
July 26, 2017

"Avoid carmax on Alpharetta highway in Roswell store 7298"

- Keatingkl

AVOID CARMAX ON ALPHARETTA HIGHWAY IN ROSWELL GEORGIA AT ALL COSTS!!!!! My Kia Sportage died a few weeks ago which forced us to buy a new and larger family car sooner than anticipated. We immediately jumped to carmax since they could bring a car in out of state for us as well as be rest assured the car was mechanically sound. We purchased outright via check a 2016 Ford Expedition el. Although the purchase process went very smoothly we hit a brick wall upon having the car inspected. We took the car to our local auto shop and had them give us a good once over so we could tell carmax what had to be done (if anything) for no cost via their 30 day auto service policy following a purchase. There was no major work to be done however the tire life was questionably close to the required pierce stage gone requiring carmax to put new tires on the car for no additional cost. My husband made the appointment and dropped the car off. The appointment was at 8am and we were told the car would be done by 1030 or so. Jon called from work, now the car would not be ready until 1230. No problem. He called again, car would not be ready until 230, this continued with no explanation until 430 when Jon called and said he was coming to get the car done or not. Upon arrival no customer service was given. No straight answers as to why a few things (alignment, tire balance, new windshield wiper) took all day long even with repeated calls. To our dismay the tires also measured just over the required sale tire life. Josh, the manager in the service department was called in and told Jon he would give us the tires at their cost price to make amends for being jerked around all day. Jon was to wait for a call the following day (Friday, a week after purchasing the car). Jon waited, no call. He called at 6pm while we were on our way to dinner. He was informed that josh was on his way out the door. Jon told whomeever picked the phone up that he was angry, had been forgotten once again, and if they wanted our continued service josh better pick the phone up and answer his questions. After rudely being put on hold josh answered. Jon reiterated that he had waited for a call all day, and now once again he was forced to chase carmax around for an answer. All we needed to know was the cost of the tires and when to expect them in. Josh told Jon he would leave a message for another manager in the service department who would coordinate with Jon Monday morning. Jon specifically asked if josh could confirm someone would call him given their already horrible reputation for not returning calls. Josh confirmed "not to worry". Monday comes and goes. Jon called once again on Tuesday demanding to know what is going on, demanding to talk to a higher manager. No customer service has been offered to us since leaving their store with the new car. The store manager Kenny green talks to Jon and apoalgizes and tells him that the tires will be taken care of. He will contact him Wednesday. We have had it. Today is Wednesday. Today Kenny green has told us the best he can do is give us a $500 credit toward the tires. At this point we cannot take them at their word for anything! We didn't expect free tires. We were happy to pay their cost as originally agreed to. No one could get us Jose numbers or order the tires. Well now we want free tires and to never work with them again! Even after Jon told Kenny green that we will no longer purchase cars from them ( Jon needs a new car come October and has purchase in full with cash two other cars in the past from the same location). Kenny green is willing to lose a lifetime customer over a few hundred dollars, a horrible customer service. What is he willing to do next? He is a terrible manager and should be removed. After all of this, Kenny green did nothing else but hang up mid sentence on my husband. What kind of store manager does that?! Avoid carmax on Alpharetta highway in Roswell ga at all costs. They only want your money and then drop you at the wayside when it comes to upholding their end of auto service for 30 days free.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Josh auto service manager, Kenny green store manager
July 17, 2017

"Pitiful service "

- Woodson84

Started the online search process for a vehicle and decided on a car that was at the Laurel Md location. Because I travel all of the time, I decided I wanted to go pick up the vice from Laurel which is about a 3 hour drive. The rep from lynchburg va encouraged me to let them transfer it for free and be responsible and that they would have it arrive prior to the date I needed. Cool, I accepted. I recurve an email the day after(Tuesday) that the vehicle had shipped and was en route(which is in line with the Saturday deadline I had and they promised to meet). Called Wednesday to check and was told it would still be there by Saturday and maybe earlier. Called Friday morning and was then told Sunday. They aren't open on Sunday's and mind you I needed it by Saturday in the first place. I stop by and the manager (JT) says it will arrive Sunday(again they are closed Sunday's) and apologized that I was misinformed and that they use a 3rd party transfer company. It's Monday now, I go to pick up the vehicle because obviously if you were promised Saturday but then told it would be delayed and not arrive until Sunday but they were closed, the average mind would think that it would be ready Monday. But..... this place doesn't have average minds. Walk in, look for the car and it's nowhere in sight. I ask the lady at the front desk who was the 1st forthright and honest person I dealt with in the process, who informs me that the car "catch this" has not even left Maryland and is still on the lot. It will not even be loaded until Tuesday and will get to the dealership no later than Friday. So now a drive that I could make in 3 hours will ultimately take 11-12 days for the car to be transferred and arrive to me. Lie, after lie, after lie. Then the manager JT comes out and says that he never told me it was on the way. Incorrect. He did tell me it was and would be there Sunday. Otherwise if he had communicated Friday that the vehicle had not left I would have gone and got it myself and would not have showed up Monday expecting pick-up. Just dishonest and downright poor customer service. No accountability until the end. After all of this, they offer to reimburse me money for the gas for having to drive to the dealership and the car not being there. What a stand up offer that just pulled me over the line. How could I ever say no? Pitiful. 10$ for 12 days of disappointment, broken promises, and sad service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
JT, Malika
July 03, 2017

"Bad tires"

- Jm

I have to replace the tires less than a year after buying the car, with only 30,000 miles. Customer service did not help us. They said their standard is 4/32. That is about when it's time to replace them! Not happy at all and will not be back. Have them tell you the tread of the tires before you get ripped off too!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Trina
June 12, 2017

"Don't buy anything from Carmax "

- Mande2

I purchased a 2014 Corolla from Carmax was assured the car was only in a minor rear collision it was checked over passed all inspections. I notice the running lights didn't work shortly after taking it home. I should've returned it immediately instead I was assured all was well. Only to find out after taking it to an authorized dealer the car was in a front end collision to the extent aftermarket lights were put on. They are fraudulent avoid them at all cost!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ethan
June 05, 2017

"Consumer Beware of Carmax, spread the word"

- Carolyn

Think twice about purchasing a car through Carmax. Below is my factual experience. The SRX Cadillac was transferred from Carmax New Jersey to Carmax Beaverton Oregon with, Quote and in writing before transfer, by Carmax: "No structural Damage" It arrived with $1000.00 of structural damage so Carmax waived the transfer fee to compensate for the body repairs that I would need to make because they don't offer any In house auto body repair service. After only 1600 miles of highway driving the check engine light came on. I phoned the Carmax service department immediately when this occurred, in real time. The Carmax service department didn't have any immediate openings to assist. Very worried.at this point, I then took it upon my self to take photos and a video of what followed: I went and had the car inspected/serviced.elsewhere. Something one should not have to task with only 1600 miles driving time (that's just 9 round trips to work and home). And trusting what Carmax had placed in writing before purchase. The inspection findings: Engine oil was over full, black and dirty as can be. The Air Filter was very dirty and the Engine mount was bent and the Skid plate was missing. As I look at the Carmax inspection sheet before purchasing the auto it stated in black and white that all above mentioned had either passed inspection and/or was serviced/replaced. I had to have the oil,, the oil filter and the air filter replaced. I have kept a sample of the very dirty oil and the very dirty air filter.( video and photos of all in real time) This is no way to sell a car to anyone. I will now have to monitor the auto and again change the oil after the next two 1000 miles of driving time.. Has any damage to the engine occurred? This will be a wait and see. The Check engine light went off after 5 miles of driving time on the new oil. With all of this said, how can Carmax put in writing that there was " No structural Damage" " "The oil was changed" before purchase and a "complete inspection of the car had occurred" before purchase. I have lost trust in Carmax after my factual experience. They are in the business to sell cars. But they are surely NOT in the business for Service or Customer Service. As anyone would know it is very important to change the oil every 3000-5000 miles as dirty oil can cause many problems/damage to a veichle. In closing, What a mistake this was.by buying a car from high volume Carmax dealership...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Carmax Manager, Bill, Service Department, Justin, Service Department Manager, Will.
June 03, 2017

"DO NOT PAY TRANFER FEES, IT'S A RIP OFF"

- 2016_Denali

Wanted to buy a 2016 Yukon Denali for 60k.Paid $799 transfer fee over the phone with a sales rep. I requested 2 walk arounds to ensure there were no scratches or flaws. Was informed of curb rash on front rim. No other issues were identified. I specifically asked about refunding the fee if there were problems not identified during the walk around. The sales rep assured me it would not be a problem if there were issues with the truck. The Yukon arrived and after a 125 point inspection I was told the truck was ready for viewing. Today I saw the truck. There were two cracks in the windshield missed during inspection that were a safety hazard, a chunk missing from one tire, scratches, issues with two other rims, raised interior carpeting with missing velco, and chipped paint on the front. I still test drove the truck with the sales rep because the vehicle was over the amount allowed for a "drive alone". Ok, I'm ready to spend 60k (already approved financing with 7k as a down payment) and already paid $799 for shipping, but I can't be trusted to drive 5 miles alone.... While driving, the vibrations were so terrible the entire vehicle was shaking. I decided not to buy the Yukon. Instead I was ready to sign papers for a 2016 Navigator for 50k including 1300 to replace interior leather seats. Before signing, I asked about the refund for the transfer fee and immediately received resistance. The "manager" with poor customer service skills began reeling off excuses and the "policy" for issuing refunds. It went downhill from there... Here's my problem, the transaction was made over the phone with NO disclosures about terms for refunds. However, when processing the finance app she spent 10 minutes explaining the extended warranty. After spending 4 hours at Carmax and thinking I would be driving home a nice pre-owned truck, I left without buying anything! I would never even consider buying a vehicle from that unscrupulous place. Buyers beware.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mercedes, Ryan, Terry Glass, Meade Trible, Beth Coston
1
...
1 - 10 of 97 results