About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Clay Cooley Volkswagen Of Richardson

2.5

1,259 Lifetime Reviews

300 North Central Expressway, Richardson, Texas 75080 Directions
Sales: (972) 249-0907

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

1,259 Reviews of Clay Cooley Volkswagen Of Richardson

Sort by Write a review
August 23, 2018

"A YEAR of fighting for our warranty refund!!!"

- Carly Knowles Tasker

I have been trying to get a warranty refunded for *A YEAR*. Clay Cooley has been hostile the whole time. We just filed a complaint with the State of Texas. He is our experience. DO NOT BUY FROM THEM. We filed a hostile dealership form with the warranty company, who has since refunded clay cooley and they have NOT PASSED THIS MONEY BACK TO US. I purchased a car with Clay Cooley Richardson on 8/5/17, I was upsold into also purchasing: - an AWS extended warranty [$3854], and, - an AWS maintenance agreement [$700]. When I was able to research the two agreements I realized I was still under manufacturers warranty so did not need an extended warranty and the maintenance agreement was far more expensive than paying for maintenance with a genuine mini dealership. I gave written notice to cancel both contracts (via email) on 8/15/17 @ 8:47am I followed up on a response to that cancellation email on 8/15/17 @ 9:47pm I followed up again by email on 8/18/17 I followed up again by email on 8/23/17 Through this period and the end of 2017 I routinely called Clay Cooley and was repeatedly assured that the cancellations had been sent and that service cancelations just take months to process. Despite asking I was never provided with any evidence they had processed the cancellation In early 2018, I visited the dealership in person and was greeted by a new finance manager who filled in the cancellation backdated to the initial notice date and faxed it to the service providers. Again I saw no refund at my end and repeatedly called Clay Cooley to be assured it takes time for cancellations to be processed. Finally, around May 2018 I researched and called the service providers [The Warranty Group] directly and discovered that both policies were still active and they had no record of ever receiving a cancellation notice. On 5/12/18 I sent the cancellation form from the dealership to their claims department, who forwarded me to the accounts department who assisted me with doing a customer initiated cancellation. I provided all required documentation for the customer initiated cancellation on 5/14/18 and received confirmation they had been canceled on 5/18/18 with the refund credited to the dealership as they were unable to directly refund to my finance. I called and contacted through their website Clay Cooley to inform them of the cancellation. I also gave notice to my finance in case they could assist the process. When I saw no refund forthcoming, I again repeated called Clay Cooley to follow up. I also followed up with the service providers and requested a receipt for the cancelation on 7/23/18 and was provided one on 7/30/18 I visited the dealership in person again on 8/10/18 and was assisted by a finance team member, however, they claimed not to have access to see why the refund had not been processed. Following up today they have left the company and their contact details disconnected. That pretty much sums up my experience with Clay Cooley. I would be surprised if even 50% of my calls have been answered, and then usually only by a receptionist that has forwarded me to a number that has rung out. I have left dozens of voicemails which have never been returned. Their only email contact information is through a form on their website which has always been responded to by calls from their sales team who quickly hangs up when you ask to be forwarded to finance/accounts. I have never recieved a call from finance/accounts either in response to contact from me or reaching out to me to help close out this matter by email or phone call. The few times I have visited in person, the person I met with has left the company within a few weeks.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Every employee we talk to leaves!
July 26, 2018

"Awful"

- totally disgusted

I brought my car in for service and had to "rent" their loaner car, I had the car for less than 24 hours and a crack was spotted on the windshield upon my return. They said it started under the passenger side wiper blade...therefore I am liable. I was willing to pay for half, because I believe it was there when I took possession, but myself nor their representative looked under the wiper blade! But I am having to pay the full $500 to replace the windshield!!! they will not even consent that it may have been there before it has been over 100 degrees in the shade! I kept the car in the garage at night, so I am so disappointed with this! I was planning on buying my next car from them, but I will not be going back to them for anything and I will NOT recommend anyone!!!!!!!!! The young lady I have been working with has been great, but management wont budge!! This is going to cause a severe hardship on my family, I have medical bills, school supplies and many other things to purchase on a teachers salary!!!!!! I will NEVER EVER recommend them!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
I didnt work with any of them...my service rep was patrick
March 25, 2018

"Don't shop them first or last; Just stay away!"

- njs023

Shop them first, shop them last, either way, they'll make you pay! I had possibly the worst sales experience of my life here. Their sales culture is predatory and horrible. Don't waste your time or money. I stopped in because I'm a returning VW driver who wanted to upgrade to an SUV, and had sort of settled on the Tiguan. The test drive was actually pretty good. The salesman did a bad job of reading me and kept going on with his own little pre-planned speeches without really listening to me, but was overall pleasant and knew his stuff. The car itself felt like a natural upgrade from my Jetta and drives very similarly with a lot more power. However, I made the mistake of saying that, because the salesman clearly thought he had the sale in the bag and tried to screw me over. Long story short, they asked me what I was looking to pay, evaluated my car for trade-in, took forever to crunch the numbers (because the salesman was taking a personal call) and came back at 266% of the price I told them. I understand how the game is played and they have to make money, but there is a BIG difference between $300 and $800, and they made little effort to work with me. Essentially they wanted to milk me for every cent without even trying to please the customer. After about 5 rounds of back and forth and they refused to come much closer, I walked out. However, they still had my keys from evaluating my car for trade-in, and REFUSED TO GIVE THEM TO ME. That's right, they HELD MY CAR HOSTAGE so the manager could come out and brow-beat me for another 15 minutes. I finally got them to give me my keys back and high-tailed it out of there. The best part is that they had a trainee shadowing the salesman. When he went off to make his personal call...I mean, crunch some numbers, the trainee told me that he didn't like their sales culture, that the managers were a bunch of jerks and vultures and that he had an interview next week and is likely leaving them. Way to instill confidence in the customer, genius. And then when my partner and I walked outside to look at the vehicle again and talk, he didn't even give us 15 seconds before following us out and hovering. We walked back inside, he followed again, and I had to angrily ask him to give us some space because he can't take a hint. If he weren't already leaving or if I thought they actually cared about improving their sales culture, I'd call tomorrow and tell them to fire him. Either way, don't waste your time and money on these con artists. They WILL try to scam you. Stay away!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tracy
January 02, 2018

"Car buying good follow up horrible."

- Dipesh R Pandey

I traded in my 2014 Tiguan fo a 2018 atlas. I got the vehicle for a fair price. I have no complain about the vehicle or my sales person Lincoln. I traded in my Tiguan on November 3rd 2017. We got the 10 pay off quote. it was all good and I left happily. What followed was horrible. I financed through VW credit and my previous was through VW credit as well. I kept getting calls from vW credit that I was late on my payments. I explained to them I had traded in the car. Told the dealer about the situation and was told it’ll be paid off soon. Eventually it was paid almost 45 days after I bought the car and now it reflects as 30 days late payment on my previous loan in my credit. Not sure what the delay was but I have visited dealer and explained my situation to the finance guy aand I was assured it would be handled and after a week it hasn’t and nor have I been contacted about the situation. Very disappointed it could have been a pleasent experience and it turned out horrible with impact on my credit. Not happy at all and won’t recommend or come back to this place.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lincoln
Jan 04, 2018 -

Clay Cooley Volkswagen Of Richardson responded

Please send me an email at jfernandez@comeseeclay.com so that I can look into this further with you. I want to make sure that you are completely taken care of. Thank you, Joe Fernandez.

November 10, 2017

"Absolute Delight"

- Nicole

Murphy was extremely helpful in getting me into a new VW. I came here looking to do an even trade, and he and Chris delivered. As a member of the military, i am pressed for time, and this dealership was extremely efficient in getting me into a new vehicle over the weekend. Murphy is an absolute delight and i recommend only him for your next purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Murphy and Chris
Nov 14, 2017 -

Clay Cooley Volkswagen Of Richardson responded

First off, thank you for your service to our country, Nicole! We really appreciate your kind words and we'll be sure to pass along the compliments you've shared with us here. Please let us know if there's anything else we can do for you. Thanks again!

November 10, 2017

"Outstanding Service"

- Jmaldo28

Murphy was an absolute delight working with, courteous, understanding of my needs, and VERY knowledgeable. Made buying a car which is typically a stressful thing to making it absolutely enjoyable. I HIGHLY recommend Chris & Murphy to do business with an absolute pleasure to work with. 6 stars.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Murphy and Chris
Nov 14, 2017 -

Clay Cooley Volkswagen Of Richardson responded

Thank you so much for your kind words and your recommendation! We know buying a car isn't always the easiest experience for customers but we aim to make the process go as smooth as possible when you come in to work with our team. If there's anything else you might need, please don't hesitate to stop back in and see us once again!

July 28, 2017

"Clay Cooley Has No Dealer Adds...Really"

- Asimson

I shopped around at a few dealers and am happy to say Clay Cooley legitimately had no dealer adds on their vehicles...They didnt tell me HAD to buy nitrogen in my tires...window tint and all the other stuff people try to make you pay for. I had a great experience and would do it again in a heartbeat

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mario Penate
Aug 01, 2017 -

Clay Cooley Volkswagen Of Richardson responded

Thank you! I'm happy to hear that your experience was so great that you'd be glad to return. My team and I never want anyone to make a purchase that they're not comfortable with - I'm grateful to know that appreciated that so thoroughly! I appreciate the feedback. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need additional assistance. -Nabeel Alghussain

July 11, 2017

"Not professional. Changing words"

- Won Young Kim

I wish I can give 0 star if I can. Eric, one of the agent, called me and all he gave me is wrong information. Price was wrong, finance option was wrong. I asked for drive out price on one of the inventories list in Car Gurus (Jetta 1.4 SE, automatic) and he gave me price. I asked for email with quote and didnt receive anything until I called them multiple times. Jeremy Harmon, Eric's manager, finally sent me the quote, which has the estimate with higher price than what he told me over the phone, with "manual" transmission. I called Eric again and he said it is just typo and he will send updated one. I got the email and now the price is even higher than what is on the previous quote!!! WTH!! I called Eric again and he said he will have his manager to call me (are you serious?) and his manager said there was system issue and price is listed lower than what it supposed to be (seriously,,). And he cannot give me 0 finance with that price even though they did state that in the quote. Finally, they said I have to pay 2,000 dollar more than they told me over the phone + $$ more if I decide to go with 0 finance. I bet it was and will be one of the worst experience I have ever had. I am definitely not going to recommend this dealership to anyone!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Eric, Jeremy Harmon
Jul 13, 2017 -

Clay Cooley Volkswagen Of Richardson responded

Alex, I am sorry to see that you were unhappy and that there were some miscommunications. I want to do what I can to clear this up and improve your overall experience. Please contact me, the general manager, at (469)998-4700 or by email at nabeel@comeseeclay.com. Thank you and I hope to hear from you soon, Nabeel Alghussain.

April 25, 2017

"Does not honor their word"

- beyert1

Purchased a 2016 VW Jetta from Autonation VW in Richardson. Shortly after my purchase the dealership was sold to Clay Cooley. When I purchased my Jetta I was sold 2 oil changes, supposedly at a discount, which are done every 10,000 miles. When the time for my first oil change approached I was informed Clay Cooley VW Richardson would honor the oil changes and they did on the first one. Fast forward and my next oil change is due but, Clay Cooley won't honor it because, well, they don't want to. That was the reason given to me. No notice from them via email, phone call, nothing. I spent my morning driving over to the dealership and expecting the service I had paid for but, it did not happen. I spent the next 2 hours on the phone trying to get an Autonation dealership to change the oil and they all said it should be done at a VW dealership due to the parts and tools needed. So, I scheduled an appointment with Rusty Wallis VW to have it done but I will being paying for it, again. I am not happy a dealership went back on their word to current and future clients and then treats them like idiots because they don't want to stay and pay for the service already paid for and promised. I have to admit, I now can see why their service bay was empty. Normally I go to a car dealerships service bay and it is busy with people getting oil changes and having service so, people are learning not to go to this dealership for your service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Alex Treber
March 14, 2017

"Good buying experience; Bad customer service"

- LKNguyen

Our buying experience was great. However, dealing with the finance department trying to cancel the maintenance package on my new 2017 Jetta is horrible. We bought my car on 12/2/2016, got talked into buying the maintenance package by the finance officer while singing paperwork. We changed our mind on paying for maintenance up front, came back to the dealer the next day 12/3/2016 to fill out the cancellation form (we had 30 days after purchase to cancel this maintenance deal). The finance officer assured us he submitted the form that same day (we have a copy of the dated form). It has been now more than 3 months and nothing has happened yet. The biggest headache is we cannot get any one from the dealer to call us back on the status of this issue. Both my husband and I had called numerous times and talked to many different people in the finance department at the dealer asking for an update on the cancellation and refund of our money. We were told each time that they would investigate and call us back. NO ONE EVER CALLED BACK. We are still working on trying to get our money back. We don't recommend this dealer because of the after sale customer treatment

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jon Le, James Wood, Wayne Neil
Mar 31, 2017 -

Clay Cooley Volkswagen Of Richardson responded

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We’re sorry to hear you’ve been frustrated with your recent experience. Please reach out to our general manager, Rene Galvan, so we can resolve this issue. He can be reached by phone at (214) 561-8100, or you can send him an email at rgalvan@comeseeclay.com. Thank you.

1
...
1 - 10 of 1,259 results