Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Don Joseph Toyota

Kent, OH

3.5
70 Reviews

1111 W. Main St.

Kent, OH

44240

Directions

70 Reviews of Don Joseph Toyota

Sort by
August 13, 2021

"We recently purchased our second DJ Toyota. The first one..."

- Beerdr

We recently purchased our second DJ Toyota. The first one was a 2016 and I flew up from Florida to get it. We drove that one back up from Florida and got a 2021. I couldn't be happier with the customer service. The whole process was great. Justin, Anthony, and the whole team were fantastic!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Antony Bonina
5.0
Other Employees : Justin Young
August 05, 2021

"Be sure to read all of the loan documents that they..."

- TWS

Be sure to read all of the loan documents that they purportedly provide. The credit person said that the APR was 2.79. Subsequently, the buyer/borrower got a letter from the ultimate lender stating that the dealer made an error. Apparently, the dealer paperwork was based on an interest rate in excess of 5%, and the interest rate was actually less, but still in excess of 4% . We had asked to see a proper disclosure when we were at the dealership, but never got to see it, and didn't press the issue. Our error!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
credit administrator
Aug 06, 2021 -

Don Joseph Toyota responded

Thank you for your feedback. Feedback, whether positive or negative, is essential to our continuous improvement and success. Before responding to your review I wanted to do some research so that I could efficiently address each of your concerns. I do not have records of any customer under your name. Could you please inform me of the name that the vehicles would have been titled under? Feel free to privately message me at ashleyw@djtoyota.com to keep your information private. I look forward to hearing from you.

Aug 06, 2021 -

TWS responded

I am very pleased to write that I received a prompt reply from the good folks at Don Joseph Toyota regarding the financing issue I described earlier. They explained that an honest and inadvertent error was made in relation to the financing of the vehicle, and they have made things right. At this time, I want those who read my earlier post to know that I am delighted with how this matter has been addressed, and I would not hesitate to do business with Don Joseph Toyota.

June 20, 2021

"The salesperson was rude and arrogant, and the dealership..."

- No Sale

The salesperson was rude and arrogant, and the dealership was not helpful in getting documents signed electronically, even though the lender had our signatures. I have administered an estate where the deceased, the heirs, and myself lived in different states and the attorney was able to handle everything via electronic signatures or FedEx. Every time we were told something, the salesman contradicted it, even though he was totally clueless. He also offered to bring the paperwork to me, then reneged. We ended up cancelling the sale and will never return to this dealership. I wish I could give no stars!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bill Handschumaker
April 26, 2021

"Have experienced a very unique but dangerous problem when..."

- papescfo4

Have experienced a very unique but dangerous problem when driving on the freeway. Have taken the car in for 4th time. I am continually told they are not finding any issues with the vehicle. There is definitely something wrong with this car. I am not a ditzy female who is clueless about vehicles. This is a very scary problem for me and how do I get this resolved????

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nicholas Williams
2.0
Apr 28, 2021 -

Don Joseph Toyota responded

Dianne as per are conversation on the phone at Don Joseph Toyota the customer always comes first. I take concerns like this very serious as it is a safety issue. We have tried to resolve your issue but without being able to duplicate it that makes things very difficult for us especially when the concern only happens once a year. In the past we have had you test drive with a Master Technician on the highway to try and duplicate and had no results. This past visit I supplied you a Rental car at no charge for 4 days and had my technician keep driving the vehicle to try and duplicate the issue he put 40 miles on the car with no issues or warning lights. We opened a case with Toyota and were advised to do a software update to the hybrid module for acceleration issues. I advised you to keep in contact as we will do everything, we can to solve your issue. ​Nicholas Williams Service Manager Don Joseph Toyota 1111 West Main Street Kent, Ohio 44234 Direct 330-346-2918

March 18, 2021

"We went through this dealership for 3 leases totaling 9..."

- SStoyota

We went through this dealership for 3 leases totaling 9 years. The last 6 years things have gotten worse and worse. Constant errors with billing (including collections calling me), plate issues, and a handful of false promises. I would not recommend Jay as a seller, he’s very arrogant and belittling. Rushed us through the process with leaving out details and hit us with false promises. Went to Metro Toyota this last round and felt much more appreciated and happy with the outcome.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jay Lyons
2.0
February 24, 2021

"Edited 3/2 - Original was regarding an experience at..."

- rav4driver

Edited 3/2 - Original was regarding an experience at service. See the update below. This was resolved and I am appreciative of the professional communications with Nick and Don Joseph

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
service manager
Feb 26, 2021 -

Don Joseph Toyota responded

I would really like to speak with you regarding this issue unfortunately I do not have enough information to reach out please contact me via email at nickw@djtoyota.com or by phone 330-346-2918 . This is not how Don Joseph Toyota conducts business and would like the opportunity to resolve this issue. Sincerely, Nicholas Williams Service Manager Don Joseph Toyota

Mar 03, 2021 -

rav4driver responded

I appreciate Don Joseph Toyota and Nick reached out on this issue. He took the time to clarify and we and talking through the perception from the public's eye and that of the automotive industry. Nick was completely professional and I feel satisfied that our perception discussion was appreciated. In disclosure, I did not receive any compensation for this added response update. I am impressed with Nick's follow up such that I am changing my rating from 1 to 5. I find it rare that a company is as diligent and responsive as Don Joseph has been and I am recognizing this diligence in my rating.

October 27, 2020

"After I posted this review and called someone there I..."

- rlwilliger

After I posted this review and called someone there I know, I received a handwritten letter from my sales person, apologizing and telling me that I am an important customer to him. Honestly, I never doubted that. It's not the sales team I faulted in this review, but the service team. And, to be as fair as I can be, not all the service people. I have had great service from this place in the past, and great service handling from many of the service writers. I just got p*ssed off by the treatment of a couple of people there. I suppose I won't judge the entire enterprise based on the actions of a couple, and I have some distance in the rear view mirror on this, so I have amended my rating of the service department to reflect my normal view of the place, and will treat the incident I describe below as an aberration. However, I am keeping the review in place as I believe it may help guide people in the future to make sure to ask the right questions in advance - and have those darned mailers in hand at the right time. Here's the original review, which is unchanged from how I originally wrote it: I used to love this place. I used to love the service department. No longer. Be aware that they charge a "shop charge" to cover their costs for what Nick told me amounts to charges for rags, chemicals, etc. They advertise that they will "top off" your cars levels as part of the service; what they don't tell you is that they do it, but they obviously charge for it. I have no problem paying for a service, but tell me the truth about it. I had a brake job done; I called in response to a mailing I got, talking of money off on the deal. I called, booked the job, mentioned the mailer. I forgot to give the mailer to the service writer. I called less than an hour after I left to try to address it; no return call. No return call on my next call either. Finally got return call from Nick, who told me that unless I presented it at the time they wrote the order, I was out of luck. OK, I suppose I get that. Forget about the fact that I called within an hour, and forget that I called in response to their mailer. I guess I'm just p.o.'d about how I was treated. I don't know if they did anything "wrong," but I can tell you I certainly did not feel valued as a customer. It takes a lot for me to write a review; I guess I reached my limit.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Cassie and Nick
August 01, 2020

"Vehicle Service"

- TDW

Third service visit for my Highlander. Continued excellent and professional service at a fair price. No upsell pressure either. I will keep coming back for service. Well done DJ Toyota

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Don Grand
April 13, 2020

"Words are Cheap, Actions Speak Louder"

- Mark Wills

Transmission went out of vehicle less than 300 miles out of warranty. Don Joseph would do nothing, not even give me a discount on the parts needed to repair the vehicle. While their stupid commercials claim you can talk to the manager on her cell phone (Jess) good luck doing that. This is just another greedy dealership after your hard-earned cash and they could care less about you after the sale. I will NEVER buy from Don Joseph again. I hope that they go out of business, and someone decides to put Chipotle there. Overpriced service, some dishonest salespeople, and a greedy family run dealership. Their commercials are awful, and so is their treatment of customers.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Owner
March 30, 2020

"Made online appointment for 7:45 AM service. Got to..."

- Bloofy

Made online appointment for 7:45 AM service. Got to dealer 7:40 - lights are off but could see employee inside on his computer. Finally saw letter on locked door “We open at 8 AM now.”. OK, I get it but maybe call me and advise me of this before I drive the better part of an hour to get there. Made a 7:30 AM online appointment with Sims Buick in Warren for my other car. Not 5 min. later they called to tell me they moved me to 8 AM as they had changed opening time too. This is how you do it! “Service” right?

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Dept
1
...
1 - 10 of 70 results