Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Fred Mueller Mazda

Schofield, WI

not yet
rated
6 Reviews

320 Grand Avenue

Schofield, WI

54476

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 6 reviews

October 01, 2021

"My experience with Justin Clairmore at Fred Mueller Mazda..."

- Cardude

My experience with Justin Clairmore at Fred Mueller Mazda was unfavorable. If you chose to work with this dealership be very careful about this dealer call fees, and how those names and prices of those fees get switched or changed to confuse or redirect your attention during the buying process. From the start of my interactions with this dealership, Justin went out of his way to tell me that your dealership would provide a smooth and easy transaction. What transpired was anything but smooth and easy. I asked for an out the door price and was given a price that included all fees. One of these fees Justin characterized as a “service fee”, which I clarified was the same as a “documentary fee” or “doc fee”. Come time to close the transaction, I was given a different pricing and suddenly the “service fee” now became a “documentary fee” on paper, and the out the door price no longer matched the initial pricing. This dealer pulled a classic bait and switch tactic. I reminded Justin about that the pricing he provided to me initially he told me to “Take it or leave it”. An email to highlight this problem the general manager, Joe Mueller went unanswered, which was rather unprofessional and reaffirmed my suspicion that the intent was clearly bait and switch. Avoid these jokers at all costs…

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Justin Clairmore
Oct 04, 2021 -

Fred Mueller Mazda responded

Dear Cardude- Please accept our apologies for any confusion you experienced during your interaction with our store. We appreciate this opportunity to respond publicly. In your review, you noted explicitly that we had clarified, early on, that "service fee" and what you referred to in your review as "documentary fee" (actually "documentation", or "doc" fee for short) were interchangeable terms, referring to the same charge of $269.00 we had initially disclosed. Noting, then, those labels used interchangeably during the course of our discussions should have come as no surprise, nor caused any confusion. The cost of this fee did not change throughout our conversations, and the only changes in pricing during our negotiation was a slight discount on the vehicle price we conceded to in effort to close the sale. At no point did we increase our asking price of the vehicle, nor add any charges that had not previously been discussed. Unfortunately, our offered discount fell far short of reaching the very low price (far below our invoice) you were offering to pay. We understand and apologize that this caused you frustration. In the end, we indicated that we would not be able to accommodate your pricing request, and wished you luck in pursuing your purchase elsewhere. As a locally-owned, franchise dealer in our 40th year of business, we maintain very high metrics of customer satisfaction, which is very important to us and our business model. We regret the fact that you are unhappy with your experience. However, after reviewing this case, we are confident that at no point were any "bait and switch" or other unprofessional tactics employed by our sales team. We stand behind our thousands of satisfied clients, our reputation, and our staff.

Oct 04, 2021 -

Cardude responded

If customer satisfaction is important to your business model, why did my email to General Manager Joe Mueller go unanswered? That’s most certainly an unprofessional business tactic. At no point did your store offer the vehicle “far below” invoice price. In fact, from the beginning Justin’s pricing was invoice PLUS a $500 markup… and the amount increased from there. Another unprofessional business tactic is misrepresenting the facts of this deal, which you have done in your response. Since you seem to not remember the specifics of my interactions with your store, I appreciate the opportunity to respond publicly and remind Justin of what he committed. The vehicle in question was an inbound 2021 CX-5 Carbon Edition with no port, dealer, or other added or installed options. I was provided with pricing as invoice cost of $30,400 + $500 dealer markup + a $269 service fee (or doc fee as you refer to). Justin told me that I’d be out the door for around $31,000. Tax, title and license costs were my responsibility and would be handled directly with the state as I would register this car outside of Wisconsin. When I asked Justin to see invoice he deflected my inquiry and told me “We’ll if it doesn’t sell before it arrives we can talk about it then.” Not exactly a pleasant and smooth interaction, and likely where your store hid the additional markup that came at purchase time. At the time that I attempted to purchase the vehicle, the out the door price included a document fee (or service fee) of $269, however the total out the door price increased up to $31,619, a significant increase from the initial pricing of $31,000! At no point in time did Justin or anyone else attempt to give a “slight discount on the vehicle price” … “in effort to close the sale”, which is also misrepresented in your response. I reminded Justin that the pricing he provided to me initially differed, and that I’d be happy to provide a deposit if he would honor his initial deal. At this point I was told that the deal is off the table and to take my business elsewhere. Call it what you want, but the end result is the same. Your store inflated the out the door price at the 11th hour. Justin gave an initial price of $31,000 and then increased it to $31,619, which is the very definition of a bait and switch tactics. Note to perspective customers of Fred Mueller Mazda that are still reading: If this dealership does not wish to provide the invoice for the vehicle, other dealers will. My experience with Fred Mueller Mazda was that the end pricing didn’t match what was originally quoted. Where they hid that increase (doc fee, service fee, invoice price, vehicle price, etc.) is irrelevant. Pay very close attention to the exact amounts throughout interactions with Fred Mueller, as in my case the costs became less favorable.

March 26, 2018

"Excellent service"

- Mary1930

Very friendly and courteous; patient and very thorough with explanations about the vehicle; fair price and fair trade-in value; definitely recommend this dealership; love the CX-3.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Justin Clairmore
November 14, 2017

"Body shop"

- Josh

Brian found out we were in an accident and went out of his way to line us a comprable loaner car! Excellent customer service by a top notch salesman! He always puts his customers needs first! Thanks again for another positive experience and making sure our family is safe and comfortable.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Tetzlaff and Steve Rainville
September 25, 2017

"Excellent, smooth, fast!"

- Josh

Very knowledgeable, quick and painless buying process, always there to answer any questions, explained in detail what every document was. Thanks for a smooth transaction and creating a positive buying experience!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Tetzlaff & Kevin Giese
May 09, 2015

"Purchased 2004 Toyota for daughter"

- Elizabeth

We were looking for a used Toyota Corolla for my daughter and saw one on line at Fred Mueller. We drove over to look at it. Brandon met us to open the car and answer questions. It turned out to be what we were looking for. There was no pressure and we were allowed to come back and take it to our mechanic for a pre-purchase check. We worked with Brandon and Klint to negotiate a price within my daughter's budget. There was never any pressure just a willingness to work with us. This is the second used car we have purchased at Fred Mueller, both were quality vehicles and we were very satisfied with our experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brandon and Klint
February 05, 2015

"Purchase of 2015 Mazda CX-5 Grand Touring"

- Nancy

I purchased a 2015 Mazda CX-5 Grand Touring vehicle on 1/30/15..It is crystal blue in color and working with the wonderful Sales person -Nancy Monnier, I was able to get all the extras added to it that I wanted at the dealership..I absolutely love it...and I woIIuldn't buy from any other Dealership or Salesperson... Fred Mueller Dealership and Salesperson Nancy Monnier are absolutely outstanding...professional, friendly, helpful..customer-friendly..this is my second vehicle from there and my family has also purchased from them..I also wouldn't go anywhere else for service or repair.. And they great in helping with the financing - so very stress-free!! Thank you Fred and Nancy & Kevin in financing

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nancy Monnier and Kevin
1
1 - 6 of 6 results