Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Gettel Nissan

4.4

343 Lifetime Reviews

3530 Bee Ridge Rd., Sarasota, Florida 34239 Directions
Call (941) 921-2655

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

343 Reviews of Gettel Nissan

Sort by Write a review
March 29, 2020

"Ryan Hood and Pete Marron made it happen for me"

- FAO

I would like to send a big shout out to Ryan, Pete, and Annie who made the deal possible for me. Had a great service, treated me and my wife with the utmost respect and provided all the information. Ryan went above and beyond to close the deal. I couldn't be happier with these guys and my new truck. They priced the truck right, gave me top dollars for trade in and stayed late to finish the paperwork. Couldn't ask for more. Highly recommend. .

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ryan Hood, Pete Marron, Annie Dosie
March 29, 2020

"Dealership lied to me about Buying out my lease"

- Paul Pridgeon

I went to Gettel Nissan in January after my lease was up. I had leased a 2016 Rogue in NH but moved to Sarasota in 2019. When my lease was up I didn't know what I was going to do. I work from home and only put about 20,000 miles on the car in 3 years. I was thinking about buying out the lease but when I went to Gettel the salesman, Phillip, starting going through my options. 1. purchase the old lease. 2. lease a new Rogue. 3. Purchase a new Rogue. I took the 2020 Rogue for a test drive and I liked it. So when Phillip and I sat down he was pushing for the sale, but I was reluctant because my monthly payment was going to go up from $259 to over $400 a month. I expressed my concerns and said I was nervous about extra overhead because I am self-employed so I do not get weekly or even monthly paychecks. So Phillip says, " By the way if you purchase a new Rogue, we will absorb all of the end-of-lease fees for you." I didn't know what they were yet, but I knew I had one more payment so I thought, well that sounds good and I do like the idea of buy over leasing. There wasn't a cost difference between buying and leasing that I could see, from the numbers Phillip showed me anyway. So I agreed to buy the car and I tell you I was out of there driving a 2020 Rogue an hour later. By the way, I love the 2020 Rogue. I am extremely happy with it and I was happy with Philip for getting me in and out so fast. However about 10 days later, everything changed. It started about 6-7 weeks of xxxx for me. I started getting letters from the Nissan Leasing company saying I owed them $1047 for end of lease fees. I at first went to the NMAC website and wrote, "there must be some kind of mistake because Gettel Nissan assured me that they were picking up the lease fees." They said it must not have gone through yet and I agreed. Then a week later I got another letter and an email, "you owe us $1047" I called them again and they said Gettel has not cut them a check.yet. I gave then Gettel's phone number and email. I said "you should talk to them" Then another week goes buy and more emails and a letter asking for the $1047. I call up again and they said "Look you owe us this money. We have not heard from Gettel" so then I called up my salesman, Phillip and got him on the phone. As soon as he heard me say "this is Paul" his voice dropped like I was an ex-girlfriend. I explained what had been happening. Phil said "hey that's not my department. I will talk to the sales manager and take care of it" I was happy. I was thinking this was all over. then the next week I get another bill. I called NMAC again and I said, "I talked to Gettel. I think you just have to wait it out. I think they are slow over there" Then time passed and I thought it was all over. Until this morning when I got a letter from a collection agency ( vital recovery services) for the $1047. I called them up and told the whole story to them The woman on the phone was extremely rude and insisted I had to pay the money. I told her if that's the case the Gettel committed fraud, right? She started getting angry with me and kept saying "this is your debt, nobody else's" I said but The dealership lied to me right? She said it wasn't problem and I had to pay. No, I am a Christian, and I try to be curious and watch my tongue. but I called her something that I feel bad about. It was misdirected anger, but I am self-employed. My clients are shutting down their businesses. I host lost thousands in the stock market, and l well lost it today. I snapped. I kept thinking, "what did I do other than I bought a $30,00 Nissan.? That's the thing this is my 3rd Nissan. A pathfinder and 2 Rogues. the last being purchase with a little money down. After I got off the phone with Vital Recovery, I called up NMAC again, waited 45 minutes on hold, gave up then called the Grettel sales manger. I forget his name, but I told the whole story to him. At first, he seemed concerned but said "Phillip isn't in he has been out sick" I said " I called Phillip a month ago and he said it wasn't his doing. it was the sales manager" Then he said " You know when salesman say that. It doesn't mean all the fees, only some of them. He asked me what the final bill was and I said $1047. he asked me to break it down for him because he seemed completely in the dark though I know he was looking at my file. After all, the receptionist had already pulled up my file before connecting me. He wanted an Itemized list of the cost. at first,the said "we only take off the wear and tear and final payment" I said "that's great because after 2 months I was finally getting somewhere. I got Gettel to admit they owed me something. But when I told him the wear and tear was over $400 he said . " call the leasing company and dispute that charge. We ill pick up the rest but not the wear and tear." He then said he would look into it and call me back in an hour. Well, he never called back, and that is why I am writing this review now, I bought a $30,00 car and have been made to feel like a cheat and a criminal for the last 2 months, and the reality is that Gettel made a promise to me just to land a sale, and most likely the salesman didn't have that authority and the sales manager said afterward" don't worry about it" It will go away. They suckers end up paying in the end or the Leasing Company will forget about it" Its disheartening in these dreadful times, when the world is pulling together, the government is sending out checks, suspending loan payments, removing the tax for IRA withdrawals, and extending the tax due date to help people like me, small business owners like me, that in all my phone calls today no one apologized. no one took responsibility. The last thing the Gettel sales manager said to me was " I don't like the way you spoke to me." I do believe that's why he never called back. I remember my father, may he rest in peace used to say to me "son actions speak louder than words, people will say all kinds of things and make all kinds of promises, but most of the time they never follow through"" You know my action/ I bout a $30,000 Rogue. What has Gettel done? Paul Pridgeon Nissan loyal customer for 20 years. Sarasota Florida

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Phillip, Sales Manger working 3/26/20
March 23, 2020

"Made car buying easy!"

- trinaw0524

It was a pleasure working with John spellman while purchasing my daughters jeep. He made the whole process easy. i loved the video he sent of the jeep we bought from there we knew the 1 1/2 drive was worth the visit once we saw the video of the jeep. Everyone there was so nice I would definitely recommend this place!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
John Spellman, Tyler, Nicholas Munno
March 20, 2020

"Great vehicle"

- Seth & Brandi

I recently bought a 2017 Nissan Rogue for over 20 grand from Gettle Nissan of Sarasota. I had a very good buying experience.... I purchased the car quickly being a car wreck replacement. I went on a two week vacation soon after purchasing the vehicle and didn't take car of the two problems with the vehicle till directly after the 30 days were up. The two problems were: 1. A clicking noise with a bearing that I was expected to pay the $50 deductable on. I had purchased a warranty that would cover this completely, but for the first 90 days they said I was expected to pay this under a different 90 day warranty. 2. I found two nails in one of the tires. I worked roofing for 10 years and have changed literally 100's of nails in tires. After removing and patching both nails I was still unable to get the tire to stop leaking. This leaking was noticed about two weeks into the purchase right after getting back from vacation. I didn't think anything of it and fixed it myself only to have it happen again and have me patch another nail to have it happen again. I live in the city and have never gotten a nail in any of my tires since living here. I finally got the free time to bring the vehicle in for servicing of these issues. My wife and child had to bring me to the dealership, so I was there with my family. After speaking with a couple individuals me and my wife stumbled upon Ryan Hood who we worked with during the purcahse and appreciated his company. This man was a excellent Sales Manager that treated us with respect. He ended up getting Gettle to cover the $50 deductible and cover half of the new tire. I was very pleased with this level of service coming from a dealership. I give a 4 star only because of some frustrations during the process. The end result was great!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ryan Hood
February 12, 2020

"I called today just before 6pm inquiring about a pre..."

- joseph

I called today just before 6pm inquiring about a pre owned Nissan Rouge , I provided the stock number and all the vehicle’s information. They put me on hold for a few minutes to verify the suv still was for sale. Answer was “yes, still here”. I drove 1.5 hours to the dealer. After arriving there, the front desk verified my information and the vehicle which i was looking for. After 10 mins of waiting, the contact person greeded me and referred me to a sales person. He then told me the vehicle that I came for was sold today. He even had the nerve to proceed to try selling me another car!!! This is the oldest and naughtiest trick in the book; also the main reason people don’t trust / hate car dealers.. I am never getting those three hours back!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jackie
Feb 12, 2020 -

Gettel Nissan responded

If a manager has not already reached out to you, they will shortly. We take any negative experience very seriously and want to make sure we are making all our customers happy, within our capabilities. We are sorry that the vehicle you were interested in sold when you were on your way to the dealership.

December 27, 2019

"Ashley and her team are amazing. They went above and..."

- robyn.m

Ashley and her team are amazing. They went above and beyond to get me in my Rogue. With a newborn, time is crucial and they rocked it out of the park.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ashley Palasz
December 22, 2019

"Buying experience is fast and efficient. Definitely would..."

- Shondaann2543

Buying experience is fast and efficient. Definitely would recommend my family and friends to come purchase a car from here. Great job guys, my next car I’ll be going back to Gettel Nissan.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris crews
Dec 22, 2019 -

Gettel Nissan responded

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and congratulations on your vehicle purchase.

December 13, 2019

"Service Dept is a Nightmare - Stay Away"

- MAC1948

When I look out my back window at night every single line of the defroster reflects any lights behind me. This just appeared suddenly after having the car almost 2 years. So when I look out I see bars of light on every single line from every single car or truck behind me. I see huge columns of lights. It's distracting and disorienting and if I'm on a highway can be blinding. Every time I have to drive at night I get a headache. I was told by the service department that it was a characteristic of the car (2017 Sentra) and so they would not replace the window. When I asked if that were true why did it just start after almost 2 years? Their service manager, Doug actually told me that it was impossible and that it had to have been there the entire time I had the car. In other words he insinuated I was lying. Which is absurd. Then he proceeded to accuse me of not knowing how to use my rear-view mirror. I have an entire year left on my lease and will have to drive a car around that is a hazard to drive at night. The dealership would not budge on this. They continue to insist that it's a characteristic of the car. I have never been treated with such disrespect and condescension. I have been fighting this for over 6 weeks ...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Doug Carroll Service Manager.
Dec 22, 2019 -

Gettel Nissan responded

We are sorry that we are not able to do anything about your vehicle. We have compared your vehicle to replica models and have submitted requests to have the work done. Unfortunately, Nissan North America has not given us permission to do any work on your vehicle with regard to the issue you are having. If you feel that we have not done our due diligence to try and assist, you may reach out to Nissan North America directily. Without their approval, we are not permitted to do the vehicle work.

October 29, 2019

"Corey was incredible. He was professional caring..."

- Michael

Corey was incredible. He was professional caring knowledgeable. He not only worked with me to get a vehicle for my son that not only exceeded our wants and needs.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Corey Cooper
Oct 30, 2019 -

Gettel Nissan responded

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy to hear that Corey was able to help make this an easy vehicle purchase for you and your son!

October 24, 2019

"They Made It Happen"

- Joseph Bard

I wasn't expecting to get much out of my trip to the dealership. Ahmed was able to find me a car that I not only got approved on, but within my budget. Great experience. Thanks.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ahmed Ahmed
Oct 30, 2019 -

Gettel Nissan responded

Thank you Joseph! We will be sure to let Ahmed know about your positive feedback. We look forward to building a positive and long lasting relationship with you!

1
...
1 - 10 of 343 results