Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Jim McKay Chevrolet

Fairfax, VA

not yet
rated
180 Reviews

3509 University Dr

Fairfax, VA

22030

Directions

180 Reviews of Jim McKay Chevrolet

Sort by
August 08, 2020

"Avoid This Dealership- Incompetence Abounds "

- car123

This is an honest, straightforward review of my experience at this dealership. I found a used vehicle on their website that I was interested in, and in all fairness, seemed like a good price. I was torn on if I should purchase the vehicle in Virginia because I was relocating to another state soon. I really preferred to get the vehicle here because I would need a vehicle to get me up to my new state and, again, it did seem like a fair price online. I figured before going in, I would call the dealership to discuss the challenges that move might bring about (registering, paying taxes, getting tags for new state, etc). I was assured that there would be no issues whatsoever, and they could register the vehicle for me easily to the new state and that they "do it all the time." When I got to the dealership, I reiterated that I would only be interested in the vehicle if they could in fact register it to my new state and that I wouldn't have to jump through a ton of hoops to do that. After all, you pay all the fees, so you expect the dealership to do their part to make it a convenient and easy process. That part aside, I test drive the vehicle and then meet the used car manager Shane. Mind you, this is supposed to be a reputable, big time car dealership, but Shane could have easily come from a shady used car dealer on the side of a random road. He is a fast-talking, not look you in the eye type salesman. He clearly got annoyed when I asked direct questions about certain fees or wanted to negotiate on price. How dare the customer ask for a better price or want answers as to what the many dealer fees are. I didn't come with some ridiculous price and am a very reasonable person, but the guy just had a bad attitude. Simply put, he is not professional and I can only imagine the way some people could be taken advantage of having to work with him. Then came my trip to finance. The finance manager, Sunny, was not any better to work with. I should have walked out when I realized the finance manager had a problem doing simple math. He also had a bad attitude and actually mentioned to me that he cut his lunch short to come help me and was not happy having to do so. Then, after all this time at the dealership, Sunny lets me know they won't be able to register the vehicle to my new state, which they had repeatedly promised they could do to this point. The finance department blamed the sales department, and then the sales department blamed the finance department for issues. Some employees were pointing the finger at the used sales management and team and called them out (to me) about how they are not good at their job. Simply put, I was lied to or mislead numerous times, by folks in every department I worked with, and I was rightfully angry. Again, I am reasonable and kept my cool, and I felt I was still getting a good price on the vehicle, which is the majority of my concern when purchasing a car (price). So, I went forward with the process I spent 6+ hours at this dealership which is absurd. Sunny joked that this was the longest car sale he's seen, but I didn't find it funny. I do feel like they wasted a lot of my time, and again, at each turn, incompetence was uncovered. I may have to put some of the blame on myself for not leaving sooner and subjecting myself to the circus at this place. There is more to this joke of a trip to the dealership, but just suffice it to say that I would never recommend anybody purchase a car from here. It really felt like this was the first vehicle they had ever sold. It felt like nobody really knew how the car sales process worked which led to time wasted and bad attitudes throughout. Do yourself a favor and shop elsewhere.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Shane, Sunny
February 18, 2020

"My truck has a blown speaker and is under warranty. I..."

- BELGEFAT

My truck has a blown speaker and is under warranty. I called to make an appointment but they told me to bring my truck by in the morning, which I did by 8:15 AM. I specifically requested a call before they did anything, waited all day for the call, no call. I called them20 mins before closing, Mike said a tech had looked into the speaker issue but wasn’t able to diagnose the problem. Meanwhile my 8-yr old keeps asking me what is wrong with my speaker. Mike told me they would check on it in the morning. Nope. I wasn’t letting them keep it for another day just to come up with something they could charge me for. I also overheard Mike “Up-selling” an expensive service package to an older guy. He didn’t seem like he wanted it but didn’t know how to decline. Horrible service, I will drive even further out of my way to not go back there.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Michael Freeland
1.0
Gabe Lugo
1.0
August 14, 2019

"Pathetic"

- 12#$asZXqw

I bought a used Honda Pilot from McKays Chevrolet. It had a dent but Ricardo said he would take care of it. He gave me his card with his signature saying he would pay for it. I live in PA. so I took it to my garage. I have made numerous attempts for them to pay my garage for fixing it but I just get the runaround. Go figure.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ricardo Mascall
August 01, 2019

"Dave in service department rude and unprofessional "

- Amyz

Dave in service returned my call after I left a voicemail to not perform a diagnostic test on my daughter’s car. (She dropped it off late in the evening the day before, and did sign the agreement to pay the 160 to have it done.) When he called, He addressed me by another name(first and last?!) No biggie, Then I asked him what the call was regarding He rudely told me that it was too late, that the test had already been run. I told him that we would pay them, no problem. He was aggressive and rude saying that no-one EVER drops a car off and changes their mind. I explained that we would pic up her car and would like a copy of the diagnostic results . I asked him if he could screen shot it and send it to me. He told me, “No, have your daughter do it. I have no way of doing that and I certainly won’t use my phone to do it!” He could have emailed it. He was ugly and acted like I was ruining his day. After reading the other reviews, I realize that his reviews couldn’t get any worse. Perhaps this might save someone else a headache... Do yourself a favor and find another dealership to deal with.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dave
May 21, 2019

"Liars"

- Jerry

The worst company to do business with I was approved drove 1 hour get there I’m not approved do not do any patronizing they can’t be trusted

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kenneth Richardson
1.0
webmaster webmaster
1.0
March 16, 2019

"Liars!"

- Kesha

So I called they told me to come in I qualified for the credit amnesty program, so I take a ride all the way from Washington DC on a Saturday afternoon. My mom was my Co signed as always then all of sudden they made her the owner....she got approved while we were there then 3 weeks passed all of a sudden she wasn’t approved! They called me on a Friday and asked me to bring the car back because the bank didn’t approve her. So hold on we signed paperwork giving us the car note I called Geico got insurance the whole nine yards! Only to be called like this! When I tell you if they thought I was gonna drive back they had us confused, if you want it then come and get it!!!! And yes the gas tank was empty! They are some liars and the truth is not in them anywhere! I went to IAD Auto and got approved with no co signer some money down I’m Super Happy! So no to Jim McKay Chevrolet 😡

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kenneth Richardson
1.0
Other Employees : Shireen
January 10, 2019

"Took my money but didn't fix my truck, then lied to my bank."

- HummerH3

I took my truck to McKay for service. I told them I didn't want to simply change out parts, but to fix the underlying problem. That's why I went to a dealership instead of a neighborhood mechanic. They replaced parts, charged me a ton of money and didn't fix my problem. I disputed the charge with my credit card company and they actually LIED and said that they told me my truck required additional work, which the invoice clearly shows is false. They are incompetent and dishonest.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike Ramey
April 13, 2018

"Don't buy from them "

- Tim

Got my truck from them and less than a day later both my 02sensors lights come on and they want fix it they told me i would half to fix it even though the lights came on a day after I got if I was you DON'T BUY FROM THEM

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Darius
February 22, 2018

"I feel betrayed"

- I feel violated

Nothing I was told by them was true from trade in to buying a new car. After purchasing the car found out I was overcharged thousands all around nothing I can recommend about them but their ability to give false information

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gabe Lugo
1.0
November 21, 2017

"Horrible"

- Fedup

I got my car in Sept and here it is November and I still DONT have my hard tags. The customer service is horrible Everytime I contact them no one can give me a answer. Ken the manager was helpful when I was in person, provided me his email info to send all docs. I sent the docs and then I never heard from him again Everytime I call they say he with a customer and the lady patty who does tags never seem to be in when I call.. I asked the receptionist Dina or Diana who was patty boss and she said "she don't have a boss it's just her" I simply stated everyone has a boss if they aren't the owner of the dealer.. the sad part is I will go to the DMV myself to register my car they would need to just reimburse me since they charged the fees and did not provide the tags.. I would not ever buy a car here again.. they act as if they doing me a favor by providing the service they CHARGED me for.. Not to mention when I first got to the dealer the sales person Andrew DID NOT ask me what I'm looking for in a car he just tried to put me in any car and a basic car at talk about what I can afford.. when I finally got frustrated and told him "I already have a check from my bank and I'm going to another dealership that's when they did everything in there power to keep me there. This was just horrible service ALL the way around..

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tony Soleimanlou
Dianna Ramirez
2.0
Kenneth Richardson
1.0
1
...
1 - 10 of 180 results