Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Joe Bowman Auto Plaza

Harrisonburg, VA

3.4
23 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

2455 E Market St

Harrisonburg, VA

22801

Directions

23 Reviews of Joe Bowman Auto Plaza

Sort by Write a review
February 09, 2021

"Great place to buy and get service. Been dealing with..."

- Phil

Great place to buy and get service. Been dealing with them 30 plus years. My sales person Brooke was great to work with. I recommend this place.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brooke Borror
January 01, 2021

"Fantastic place to buy a car tell my dream car to help..."

- rcfender1568

Fantastic place to buy a car tell my dream car to help with phenomenal service is great cannot say enough about this dealership fantastic place.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Meagan
December 29, 2020

"DO NOT PURCHASE FROM JOE BOWMAN! Horrible experience. I..."

- JC

DO NOT PURCHASE FROM JOE BOWMAN! Horrible experience. I was sold a complete lemon. As a single mother with limited income, I chose a Chevrolet that was a Certified pre-owned 2017 vehicle with low mileage at what I was informed was a reputable business. It broke down within less than a year with multiple problems having only put 4000 miles on it and is now costing me $1000+ to repair. When Bowman was informed of this, the condescending and unhelpful attitude of multiple people at the dealership regarding this issue sealed the deal for my worst customer service experience ever!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
N/A
December 26, 2020

"Bought a Chevy Traverse today from Jim Irvine. Amazing!!!..."

- jpopkins07

Bought a Chevy Traverse today from Jim Irvine. Amazing!!! We all want to run from car salesmen but he is the exception! Buy from Jim!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jim Irvine
November 23, 2020

"Very professional. I pretty much knew what I wanted when..."

- Kellycomfort Cooling and Heating

Very professional. I pretty much knew what I wanted when I got there. So it was no run a round or haggling. I was in and out, on my way home with my truck in no time at all.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jim is a cool guy, I like his style.
November 14, 2020

"Joe Bowman in Harrisonburg, VA is the most unprofessional..."

- Calen

Joe Bowman in Harrisonburg, VA is the most unprofessional place I have ever encountered. After a recent visit this past Wednesday 11/11/2020, I identified a car I wanted to purchase. I was in town visiting family, as I am from the area but live in Northern, VA. I spoke with a sales consultant, Charles, and told him I was highly interested so he took my information down. Shortly after the Sales Manager came out and I again told him my interest and that I would like to come back Saturday, as it was already late and I had a 2 hour drive back home. Immediately after leaving I sent them info on my current car, we discussed number, and we conversed back and forth and decided on a time for Saturday for me to drive back up and purchase the vehicle. Excited, I cancelled a hair appointed I booked months ago and won’t be able to reschedule until January and had family members cancel plans to be there to help with my purchase. I pre-quailed for several loans prior to speed the process up for Saturday along with detailing my car I was selling inside and out and gather up all the necessary paperwork. I spoke with three individuals over there to confirm my excitement and appointment for Saturday at 12 noon multiple times, it was very well known that I was making this trip by more than one person. I started my journey up there this morning, which again is a 2 hours drive, to get this deal done with. As I get closer, about 20 mins away, I get a email stating the car was sold. No call, no text, no direct contact, just an email saying another sales consultant had sold the car I had already set up an appointment to buy. Disappointed, as I already changed my entire day around along with individuals around me to purchase this vehicle, I emailed back with how unprofessional this is to know I am making a trip to buy this car and allow another individual to purchase it. I could see if I didn’t show up, kept changing the time, or showed no interest but I spoke with this sales consultant and the sales manager multiple times on my intend and told them I would be there at 12 noon to buy. They also never reached back out to apologize, explain the situation, or offer anything else after driving 2 hours to purchase this car. They just ignored me, plain and simple, and it shows they have no respect for their clientele. They obviously do no care about their customers, just a check. They don’t care about your time, building a rapport, or retention of customer base either to treat people the way they did. I was warned by family that this place was shady, and these individuals would do me dirty. I should have listened and used my time more wisely with a different dealership who wouldn’t have pulled a dirty “car salesman” move on me. That is all this place is, dirty car salesmen. I am appalled at the way they handled this situation. The sales consultant Charles and sales manager Tony knew I was making a 2 hours drive to purchase that vehicle and should have respected my time that I now wasted, driving 2 hours there and 2 back. I will never do business here ever, and neither will anyone in my family in the area or anyone I know from outside this area. This place is completely unprofessional and I would suggest checking out the nearby competitors before doing a deal here. Respectfully.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Charles and Tony
August 08, 2020

"Watch out if you are elderly and buy a car from Joe..."

- MearlColeman

Watch out if you are elderly and buy a car from Joe Bowman. I bought a car from them and one week later it started breaking down. It’s costed me more to get repairs then if I had bought a new one. They saw me coming, that’s for sure. My prayers are with people like them . I pray they will grow a conscience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jamie
March 17, 2020

"4 tries to make a service appointment"

- suggetts59

I wanted to take my Chevrolet into Joe Bowman for repair. I went website to fine out more information and it was after hours. There was a Chat person that did "talk" with me about making an appointment. I even provided my VIN number to this person. Once the online conversation was completed, I received a verification email from the company that said I would be contacted first thing after opening. At 1:00 I called and nobody knew anything about my appointment request. I then repeated my service request. That service person never called me back, so I called and talked to a 3rd person. He said they would call the next morning. Never heard from them. During these phone calls, I was transferred back and forth to various personnel. I guess they don't need the business that badly. Don't bother.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Trent
October 07, 2019

"Great sales experience. This is our 4th vehicle..."

- Jim

Great sales experience. This is our 4th vehicle purchase from Joe Bowman Auto Plaza. Great follow up from Megan. Julie makes paperwork easy. Makes car buying easy.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Megan and Julie.
June 07, 2019

"Bad experience with service at Joe Bowman"

- Pow

Since December 2018 my 2004 Cadillac Deville has been with Joe Bowman five times in the service department. It would stay weeks at a time and every time they would return my car to me it was never repaired properly. The head service manager even accused me of spraying water under the hood, and tried to tell me I would pay for parts replaced that were already put in. I just got my car back for the fifth time and it still wasn’t right, I did not return it to Joe Bowman this time, I took it to J and N car care where they replaced parts that Joe Bowman said they put in new. I spent $6600 to get my car fixed and it never was. Regrettably I will never return to Joe Bowman Chevrolet Cadillac dealership for service. Wendell PEACOCK

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jamie Jones, Kevin
1
1 - 10 of 23 results