Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Joe Bowman Auto Plaza

Harrisonburg, VA

3.1
25 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

2455 E Market St

Harrisonburg, VA

22801

Directions

25 Reviews of Joe Bowman Auto Plaza

Sort by Write a review
October 07, 2019

"Great sales experience. This is our 4th vehicle..."

- Jim

Great sales experience. This is our 4th vehicle purchase from Joe Bowman Auto Plaza. Great follow up from Megan. Julie makes paperwork easy. Makes car buying easy.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Megan and Julie.
June 07, 2019

"Bad experience with service at Joe Bowman"

- Pow

Since December 2018 my 2004 Cadillac Deville has been with Joe Bowman five times in the service department. It would stay weeks at a time and every time they would return my car to me it was never repaired properly. The head service manager even accused me of spraying water under the hood, and tried to tell me I would pay for parts replaced that were already put in. I just got my car back for the fifth time and it still wasn’t right, I did not return it to Joe Bowman this time, I took it to J and N car care where they replaced parts that Joe Bowman said they put in new. I spent $6600 to get my car fixed and it never was. Regrettably I will never return to Joe Bowman Chevrolet Cadillac dealership for service. Wendell PEACOCK

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jamie Jones, Kevin
May 21, 2019

"Buying a car at Joe Bowman’s"

- Delores

We purchased our fourth automobile from Bowman’s. It was the best, easiest experience in purchasing a car. Charlie, sales rep, and Tony, manager, were professional and pleasant in all matters. Bowman’s is always our first stop when shopping for a car (and always our last because we’re treated so well). Art says it’s so wonderful to deal with “honest folks”. We’ve already recommended Charlie to two families who are thinking of buying. The service department is also first rate. Jamie, too, has always treated us wonderfully. Art and Delores Granberg

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Charlie and Tony
January 25, 2019

"A wonderful sales experience!"

- Happy Customers

My wife and I were very pleased the first time we purchased an auto at Joe Bowman Auto, this time we presented the sales team with a bigger challenge on a used truck! They were professional and patient in helping us find our perfect "near new" truck. Would recommend this dealership to everyone!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Hunter, Tony, Julie
July 13, 2018

"Stay away if you want honesty and integrity in a dealership!"

- virginiateacher

I have NEVER had such a bad experience with a dealership. What I cannot accept is their deplorable customer service and hostile management. Chad, who is apparently the manager, argued with me on site in front of other customers in a hostile manner. I went in there to ask a few follow up questions after buying a vehicle. I never expected such rash behavior. Don't expect him to return your calls as he says he will. If you have any questions or seek further information expect to be berated/ridiculed/mislead. Avoid this dealership at all costs. I don't know how they are still in business. After all of their hidden fees are added their "great deals" end up being priced significantly higher than average. I will never buy another vehicle from them because of their awful customer service and lack of integrity.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chad Austin
March 12, 2018

"Bad Experience"

- Jason S.

I traveled almost an hour to visit this dealership on their word that it would be worth my time. I was very disappointed with my consultant and the manager I dealt with. Both did not give me the impression that they were trying to help me and I left feeling like they weren't interested in earning my business. I was looking at a used Chevrolet truck. They refused to budge on the asking price, which I acknowledged was a good price, this would not have been an issue, but prior to my visit I was told via text (I still have the text) that there was some room to lower the price. In my business I would never tell a customer that I could do something that I could not do, poor business practice. They came in low on my trade. I know, you are thinking everyone says that, but I am talking $300 too low not thousands. I was told by the manager that he would be attending a mangers meeting the next day and he would try to get more for my vehicle. He called me the next afternoon and told me they couldn't give me a dollar more for my trade (2016 Jeep 14k miles). I said thanks for trying, he hung up and that was it. They didn't try to sell me any other vehicle. They didn't offer to show me any other vehicles of which they have plenty of the same models I was looking at with slightly fewer options for less money. The consultant I dealt with spent much of my time talking about his personal life, marriage separation and his classic car, when he could have walked me through the inventory to see other vehicles that maybe would have interested me or fit my budget better since they wouldn't budge on the truck I came to see. When leaving the dealership I asked for a business card from the manager and the consultant. The consultant had a card on his desk that had personal information of another customer written on the back with a note to call them when a certain vehicle arrives. He marked through the information with a single line and told me to ignore it and gave me the card, which I still have. This is not a good practice to protect private information of a customer. I have considered reaching out to this person since I have their phone number a reporting this to them. Two days later the truck disappeared from their website and they haven't reached out to me to see if they could help me in any way. Since 2012 I have purchased 4 brand new vehicles ranging from $25k to $42.5K and worked with 3 other dealerships for those purchases and not one treated me this way or showed a careless behavior in regards to protecting customer information. I would not, based on my experience recommend this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John Figgs, Rick Engle
January 31, 2018

"10/10 Would Recommend!"

- NCGal87

I found the perfect Equinox online at CarGurus a couple of weeks ago, and called in to the dealership immediately. I was connected to Tiffany who let me know that it was still available, and answered all of my questions quickly, professionally, and courteously. I live in North Carolina, about a 4 hour drive away from Joe Bowman, and set up an appointment to look at the SUV for last Saturday. When I arrived on Saturday morning, not only was the Equinox pulled up and ready for me to look at, but it was spotless. They even turned the heated seats on for me! When I got there, I was greeted by Chad who connected me with Megan who both put me at ease and made the entire buying process painless. They all went above and beyond to get me into the SUV of my dreams, and I'll always buy my cars from Joe Bowman. Buy your cars here!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chad Austin, Tiffany, Rick Engle,
January 30, 2018

"Poor business and VERY unprofessional "

- Jenkinfl

I found a suburban and asked for it to be cleaned up before I decided to buy it. One of the salesman had it cleaned up. On my way to go back and look at the vehicle I received a phone call that someone already put a deposit on it. Poor communication between the staff. Unprofessional. This is poor business to sell a vehicle when you have an appointment setup and never asked us to put deposit on it!!!!!!!! Very Upsetting!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chad Austin
January 30, 2018

"Lies from sales to service"

- Eric

Asked about 2 different cars and was told they were both being cleaned and i would have to come back. After some convincing that I really wanted to see them we rode around the lot to find both of them on the lot, not being cleaned. Got a decent price on my Cadillac, but was told by the sales man he would take care of an issue during the sale and then had an issue after the sale that he said he would look into and get back to me. Never took care of either and now won't even answer me...update in case any potential customers are reading. Talked to sales manager and set up appointment with the service department. They cleaned the ac system but said they had to order parts and would call me when they came in. Now the smell in the ac is back. Never heard from anyone again. Also sales manager acted like i would be reimbursed for touch paint i bought since i never got the paint i was promised. Absolutely unacceptable

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chad austin
February 23, 2017

"Awesome Car buying experience "

- Streaks05

Thank you Mike for taking great care of my family and I and helping us find a safe car for the family. You made the car buying process easy and found us a great deal for our budget! Thanks Mike Guerrero! I will definitely refer friends and family to come see you! Thanks also to the managers of Joe Bowman for helping us get some great rebates!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike Guerrero
11 - 20 of 25 results