Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
COVID-19
Response
  • Home Delivery
  • Service Pickup & Delivery
  • No Contact Transactions
  • Virtual Appointments
  • Vehicle Sanitization

John L Smith Used Cars

West Chester, PA

4.9
620 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership
We are open, sales, service, rental and insurance are now fully operating. Please stop by for a free gift. John R Barone, President As the Oldest & Largest used car, truck, and suv dealer in West Chester, Pa, our sales staff would be pleased to show you our inventory of vehicles priced from $6,000 to $20,000. Every vehicle is state-inspected, certified, and guaranteed. At John L. Smith, Inc., we take great pride in the vehicles we sell and the quality of customer service given before and after purchasing your automobile. John L. Smith, Inc. has been in business for more than 34 years. In addition to our Sales department, we are proud of our outstanding Service and Detail departments. We have added a Rental Car Company as well as a Farmers Insurance Agency on the premises for the benefit of you, the customer. For us customer satisfaction is not just a catch phrase, but our way of life. Please browse our website or visit us today! I want your visit to be both enjoyable and informative. Sincerely, John Barone President 610-436-4909 JBarone@Smithusedcars.com

550 Hannum Avenue

West Chester, PA

19380

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 620 reviews

October 27, 2020

"Fast response.Very good customer service! I drove a hour..."

- Triana0103

Fast response.Very good customer service! I drove a hour and it was definitely worth it . I would really recommend this dealer to my friends and family .👍🏼

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
October 21, 2020

"Amazing service and great prices will do business over..."

- scott.coleman

Amazing service and great prices will do business over and over again. I will recommend them to anyone who is in the market for a car!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
October 18, 2020

"I had a great experience with them. John S. Was the best...."

- blu9246

I had a great experience with them. John S. Was the best. Given my circumstances he was able to get me in what I wanted with the price that I wanted also. I would definitely recommend them to anyone that is looking to purchase a vehicle. Thank you so much. I could not be more grateful than what I am. I am so glad that I went there to see them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
October 13, 2020

"John very helpful and professional very friendly totally..."

- chill49

John very helpful and professional very friendly totally recommend this place! No hassle very helpful would definitely do business again. Thank you so much very happy!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Oct 14, 2020 -

John L Smith Used Cars responded

Chill49 We appreciate the opportunity to have earned your business, thank you for posting your review. Enjoy your new vehicle. Remember your free oil changes and lifetime Pa state inspections. Enjoy your day ! John R Barone Please call me 610.436.4909 option 1 for sales. JBarone@Smithusedcars.com

October 06, 2020

"John was very helpful in getting me into a car. He was..."

- Jtroop

John was very helpful in getting me into a car. He was tremendous is figuring out my options. Can't thank him enough for all of his help! Love my new car!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Oct 06, 2020 -

John L Smith Used Cars responded

JTroop It was a pleasure meeting you we look forward to servicing your vehicle for many years. Thank you for taking time to send in your review, we appreciate having earned your business. John R Barone Please call with any questions 610.436.4909 option 1 for sales JBarone@Smithusedcars.com

September 29, 2020

"I had to move urgently back home to my family in..."

- ibu400mg

I had to move urgently back home to my family in Philadelphia To take care of two members in my family. This was an unexpected transition as my sister was diagnosed with both breast and brain cancer and my father’s vision deteriorated to where he could no longer live by himself. I flew back urgently and so I did not have a mode of transportation. I must’ve went to every car dealership in Philadelphia, Delco, and surrounding dealerships in the suburbs, and all the way out to West Chester. I Have to say that despite John L. Smith auto dealership being an hour away from where I am living now my experience was such that I would and will return to these guys even when I go back to the Rockies for my next set of wheels. The folks at John L Smith are amazing they allowed me to purchase a car within my budget and they were extremely patient with me and my new bank and who kept blocking the payment of my new car. They were understanding and funny and most of all they were candid and informative when it came to their vehicles in their inventory and straight up with answering my questions with regards to there stock. I went to every one of those newfangled car places that sell sell you a car and deliver it to your house thinking that they were the better deal least expensive but their customer care was horrendous and as it turned out their cars weren’t that good either. Don’t be fooled by the commercials or the Internet hype stick to the things that will give you safety and security in a vehicle. John L Smith auto dealership great cars amazing service and most importantly just simple fashion good honest upstanding people we just want you and me to be happy and safe with our new cars!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Sep 29, 2020 -

John L Smith Used Cars responded

ibu400mg Thank you for your lengthy review we appreciate having you as a customer, enjoy your Lexus Hybrid. We look forward to servicing your vehicle while you are on the east coast. Thank you again for taking time out of your busy day. Hope your sis and father are ok. All the best !Welcome to our family ! John R Barone Please call with any questions 610.436.4909 option 1 for sales JBarone@Smithusedcars.com

September 20, 2020

"Where do I start? John made this process seamless. He is..."

- Jen

Where do I start? John made this process seamless. He is so patient and knowledgeable. You won’t feel rushed or pressured to purchase. Thanks so much!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sep 21, 2020 -

John L Smith Used Cars responded

Jen It was a please meeting you, thank you for taking time to post your review. We appreciate having you as a customer. Enjoy your new BMW ! John R Barone Please call me 610.436.4909 option 1 for sales. JBarone@Smithusedcars.com

September 18, 2020

"Exceptional customer service from the minute I sent an..."

- Maxashby96

Exceptional customer service from the minute I sent an inquiry about another car. The first car didn’t work out for me but John L Smith didn’t give up. They went above and beyond the call of duty to help me find everything in my criteria within a week’s time. This 2011 Subaru Outback hit all the right tones, and I left John L Smith feeling confident and secure in my purchase. Many people have recommended John L Smith to me prior to searching. While being a beginner in the car buying experience, I wholeheartedly agree and support this recommendation. John L Smith is effective, efficient, and experienced in everything cars. It was a pleasure doing business

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Sep 21, 2020 -

John L Smith Used Cars responded

Max Thank you stopping at our dealership, we understand that you have many choices as to where to purchase a vehicle. Thank you for the trust that you have placed in our dealership. We look forward to servicing your vehicle for many years ! John R Barone Please call me 610.436.4909 option 1 for sales. JBarone@Smithusedcars.com

September 17, 2020

"BOOM! I'm telling you folks get to John L Smith Inc in..."

- Joanne C.

BOOM! I'm telling you folks get to John L Smith Inc in West Chester, PA and pick out your wheels... service department ROCKS.. Steve and crew worked it! Veeerrryyyy Haaapppppyyyy! 😁

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : The fellow with the eagles mask on ??
Sep 17, 2020 -

John L Smith Used Cars responded

Joanne Thank you for sending in your review, we appreciate having you as a customer !! Boom Right Back You John R Barone Please call me 610.436.4909 option 1 for sales. JBarone@Smithusedcars.com

September 16, 2020

"Very nice people and great place i highly recommend this..."

- darrenlmorris21

Very nice people and great place i highly recommend this place they work with you and are understanding come down and drive in style folks

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sep 16, 2020 -

John L Smith Used Cars responded

Darrenlmorris21, Thank you for your review we appreciate having you as a customer, thank you for the opportunity. Should you need anything please reach out. John R Barone Please call me 610.436.4909 option 1 for sales. JBarone@Smithusedcars.com

1
...
1 - 10 of 620 results