Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Ken Grody Ford Carlsbad

2.0

46 Lifetime Reviews

5555 Paseo Del Norte, Carlsbad, California 92008 Directions
Sales: (760) 438-9171

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

46 Reviews of Ken Grody Ford Carlsbad

Sort by Write a review
July 29, 2019

"The WORST "

- KGW 73

This is the worst Dealership I have ever been to, Sale Consultant (Emanuel Mejia) has no Integrity. I was ready to buy a New Fusion Hybrid today after talking and texting with Emanuel for 2 days. The sale price was $20,997, a very good price. After my trade in allowance Emanuel told me my payments would be $350. Okay Great, I told Emanuel I would come down and take a final look with intention of buying. Well when I got there the payment went from $350 to $485 @ 6.99%. Wow what a rip off. He told me it was Fords standard rate but if I wanted to take less of a discount on the car I could could get 0% financing. The payment was $430 still over the $350 quoted to me. So bottom line is you can’t trust this dealership and sales consultants. I read some pretty bad reviews on this dealership and thought “They can’t be that Bad”. Man was I wrong. Stay away from this dealership I’m sure there must be other Ford dealerships with integrity.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Emanuel Mejia
January 12, 2019

"Greedy,untrustworthy, liars!"

- justinmalone

im grateful i know my way around a car cause if i didnt i couldnt been charged over 800 dollars for what cost me 12

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
joseph,britton
July 15, 2018

"Bait and Switch"

- FlbrkMike

My wife and I went to Ken Grody Ford in Carlsbad yesterday with a written offer to exchange my current leased Fusion Energi for a newer model at similar terms. After choosing a new car we were told by the lease manager that we could not qualify for the offer because of too many miles on my current car, even though they are less than stated on the written offer. Instead of re-telling the story here, I'll copy and paste the email that I just sent to the dealer after receiving another promotional email this morning. ...... I'm not sure if your promotional email was in response to the email I sent you yesterday, or just part of a targeted messaging campaign. I'm pretty sure you haven't read my email, so I'll summarize here. My wife and I drove to Grody Ford in Carlsbad yesterday with a written email offer from Grody Ford to exchange my current leased Fusion Energi for a new 2018 model. All of the information in the written offer was accurate, including the remaining time on my lease, and the odometer mileage is actually somewhat less than stated on the offer (see the first attachment). So I assumed that this offer was sent by Grody in good faith. We spoke to a salesperson, who was very helpful, and chose a new vehicle that fit our needs and should qualify under the offer. When the salesperson presented this to your lease manager we were told that we could not qualify under the stated terms because I have too many miles on my current vehicle, even though my mileage is less than stated on the written offer. We were then presented with an offer to purchase the new vehicle at what I considered to be highly inflated and unacceptable terms (approximately $3,700 down and $570/month on a 72 month loan). Needless to say, we declined this offer and went home having wasted over four hours of our time on this effort. To make matters even worse, I found on your website yesterday afternoon that you were advertising the very same vehicle that we test drove (see the attached window sticker), and were prepared to take home, on much better terms than even the "upgrade" offer. Why were we not even offered this deal on the very car that we test drove? In short, I believe that your written offer and the terms in the website are both blatant examples of "bait and switch," that your staff does not negotiate in good faith, and that you should not send out these email offers unless you are prepared to honor them. I'm not really inclined at this point to come back down there to discuss your "sales event." But thanks anyway.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
lease manager
July 06, 2018

"Thanks for going out of your way."

- sedl

I have bought Ford from 3 dealers in North County. I love my black F150 from Ken Grody. I was thrilled with the sales process. Nice to be treated respectfully and professionally. Then, when it was time for an oil change, they surprised me again. I had the simplest request, a missing door lock knob. Silly little part, but it makes a difference. Dennis went out of his way to help me out. I'll buy from Ken Grody again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sergie Ventura, Dennis Zeigler
June 12, 2018

"Service Department Not Helpful"

- DamonDarling

I received a safety recall notice from Ford with the offer they will pay for a rental until parts become available (I am unable to have any passengers in my front seat until the air bag inflator is replaced). The Service Department representative said they would only pay for a rental the day of service. He was making this up as the letter clearly said "Until parts are available to repair your vehicle, Ford is offering to pay for the use of a rental vehicle as alternative transportation". I grew tired of arguing with the rep (Steven) and called a different dealership who gave me the authorization right away. What is wrong with the service department at Ken Grody Ford in Carlsbad?

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Steven Lanarez (spelling?)
March 18, 2018

"Great Service Department"

- MustangMan83

I am sort of shocked about all of the bad reviews. However, I did use to work for a reputation management company, so I know that competitors do write fake negative reviews to slander other businesses. With that being said, everything has been great with Ken Grody. Chad always takes great care of us when the Mustang needs service. Honestly, I've had much much worse experience with both Perry Ford and North County Ford. I am a customer for life :)

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chad Larson
December 04, 2017

"Take me off your email list and stop bothering me."

- Martin

Take me off your email list. I bought a Chevy and do not want to be bothered with your emails after I told you to remove me from your list. Again I bought a Chevy and am not going to buy a Ford from you ever!!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
no one
November 02, 2017

"Old School Dealership that just wanted to waste your time"

- aparshall

This dealership is only about 5 min away from my house and i wanted to test drive an F150 Raptor. I arrived and was greeted by a gentleman named Mike who grabbed keys for an F150 Raptor and we went on a quick test drive. I let him know i probably wouldnt be purchasing until end of year and got his info. After looking over some finances etc i determined i could potentially make the purchase now rather than later. I called the dealership and asked if they were a costco dealership and they were. I then asked if the Raptor is excluded from costco and I was told that typically yes unless they have a lot of them. They happen to have 33 in stock, which is the most in the entire country (according to Mike). I asked Mike if they could give me a costco deal on a raptor since they had so many and he told me i needed to come in and meet the owner. The times that the owner was there were tight, and i agreed to a time that was inconvenient for me and my family but convenient for the owner. My appointment was for 5pm today and we got there at about 4:50pm with both of our kids. Mike greeted me and then proceeded to try to juggle me and another customer. After about half an hour he brought out a credit application and ran away again. I started filling it out and when he came back i asked why am i filling out a credit application? He said to see what kind of payment he could get me. Keep in mind this is on a truck that they have marked $15,000 over MSRP! and have 33 in stock. At this point i became pretty frustrated and reiterated our earlier conversation that i was supposed to meet the owner to see if he would let me have a costco deal on a raptor (a costco deal on a raptor is typically MSRP or even below). He tells me the owner left at 4:45 and that "no one" can give me that deal...awesome... I left and told him he wasted my family's time. He ended up chasing us out front like it's the 1990's old school car buying style and trying to get me to come back in even though he admitted he still couldnt even sell me the truck at MSRP. I honestly do have another dealership that is a 2 hour drive that will sell me one at MSRP but i have to order it and wait 2 months. I will wait the 2 months and drive the 2 hours to save $15,000. I've purchased a lot of vehicles in my life and this short experience was easily the worst and least professional. Mind you i also worked at 2 car dealerships in college, so I've seen a lot.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike Tahbaz
October 14, 2017

"bad experience for first time buyer"

- scamm$1500

I look at TV program TV specially when the manager Carlos Moreno he makes you fill like part of family< so I told my son (first time buyer) to try Ken Grody Carlsbad, so he went " yeah " they sold him a car that would broke down thanked god he bought the extended warranty the dealer told him the transmission was shot the oil was black ( they showed it to him ) and they need it to replace the transmission" once again thank god for the extended warranty" so after this and $1500 they took as a down payment I proceeded to get him a new car at the Nissan dealer and (end of problems) people be careful especially if you are first time buyers going to this dealer you may end up with out a car a big problem AND $1500 SHORT!!! " '"

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Carlos Moreno
September 06, 2017

"Rips off military. Want a good deal, go elsewhere"

- Calimins

Its no wonder why this dealership is rated a 1.7 stars. This place should be shutdown for ripping off our members of the military. My friend came to me last night after buying his 17 Ford Focus ST1 (BASE MODEL). He traded his 14 Focus ST and accumulated between down payment and overage after payoff of his car with 5800.00 down. 28k + after fees/taxes/reg etc. They led him to believe he got a great deal on this when they didn't even take a single penny off the sticker on this car! These things sell constantly for between 18-22k. My friend called them back and spoke to the finance manager that wrote up his paperwork. The guy was condescending going over the payment breakdown and not addressing the fact that he charged way over what the invoice on this car should be. The car has bad fog lenses which have condensation inside them, there's imperfections in the paint and deep scratches in the intake. Considering my friend is military, these guys should have taken care of him. Instead, they completely ripped him off on the price of the car. They got him a great interest rate, but it was definitely countered by the extra 8k dollar mark up. I highly suggest that you look elsewhere if you want to buy a car. ESPECIALLY military. To these people, it doesn't matter that you serve. Before his 5800.00 down payment, they had him at 34k to be financed. For a base model ST that is highway robbery!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Thieves
1
...
1 - 10 of 46 results