Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Lindsay Volkswagen of Dulles

4.7

1,320 Lifetime Reviews

22455 Lindsay Cars Court, Sterling, Virginia 20166 Directions
Call (888) 615-9770

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

1,320 Reviews of Lindsay Volkswagen of Dulles

Sort by Write a review
June 19, 2009

"I recently took my gf's Beetle to replace a burned out..."

- nycluxury

I recently took my gf's Beetle to replace a burned out headlight bulb (retails for $9.00) & check steering vibration (probably from worn unrotated tires). They claimed I needed a complete headlight unit for $500 versus $45 to just replace a bulb. Service tech claimed the "seal" failed & so moisture would get in and just burn out the new bulb & cause more damage. Nonsense!! There was NOTHING wrong with the seal. The new bulb is in, I've driven in very heavy rain and NO PROBLEMS!! Worn tire caused shim, so they wanted to sell me all new tires at $125 each. I said to just rotate ALL the tires since I can still get 2k more miles then change them in the fall. Service tech only rotated 2 tires and didn't even add air!! Finally, they claimed that brake fluid was dirty and needed to be flushed for an additional $90. More nonsense. Here's the deal: Since car dealers are HURTING BIG TIME due to lack of sales, they are trying to compensate by providing unsuspecting bogus repairs. Find yourself a good local mechanic and forget these guys. BEWARE THIS DEALERSHIP, WE WILL NEVER GO BACK!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Anna (service advisor) and Gary?? (service tech)
April 23, 2008

"While there service is great, you have to be very careful..."

- topex

While there service is great, you have to be very careful with what they quote you. They quoted me a great price for tires, what they neglected to inform me is that they were putting on a tire that was 2 models below what I had on there. So lesson for you, question every single detail lest you be screwed. The person I delt with was Ali.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
ali
March 08, 2007

"Best Dealership Ever"

- GTI07

Best Dealership Ever

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
January 27, 2007

"After my last review, I have been contacted by the..."

- savinda

After my last review, I have been contacted by the general manager to resolve the issues. All problems with the car have been fixed. In order to compensate for my inconvenience, the next two maintenance services will be covered by Lindsay one of which is a major service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Butch Otey
December 23, 2006

"I purchased an '03 Passat Wagon sold as Certified..."

- savinda

I purchased an '03 Passat Wagon sold as Certified Pre-Owned from Lindsay VW in Sterling VA. The car has been very enjoyable to drive and operate. However, upon receiving the car, defects have been discovered that are listed on the 112 point inspection for CPO and should have been repaired prior to sale. These include a missing key, bad speaker, inoperative warning chime, seat heater not working, bad windshield washers, bent trim piece, and a bad CV boot. Also, upon driving the car home from the dealer the check engine light came on. I live in Maryland and this state requires a vehicle inspection of used cars prior to issue license tags. This certified car failed due to the bad CV boot. Since the drive back to this dealer is about one hour, I have to use the local dealer for service. Bob Darby the service manager was contacted. He stated that they do not guarantee passing Maryland inspection even though the bad CV boot is clearly on the list of things to check. He did not seem to understand that all these items should have been caught in their certified inspection. Some of these items were repaired by Lindsay after leaving the car off for four days. Others were uncovered later and required two visits to a local dealer for repair. The total of 8 defective items that have been found equate to a 7% defect rate. I have no assurance that the remaining 104 items have been inspected. Nor does this insure that defects not obvious to me are yet to be exposed. I have requested that the car be re-inspected by the dealer and have been refused. I also spoke with Nichole at VW customer support and she said "we cannot make the dealer re-inspect". I spoke with Butch Otey, the manager of the dealership, on a Friday and explained my lack of confidence of the CPO inspection. He was very friendly and sympathetic. He said he would check the history of the car and speak with the Service Manager and get back to me. He also suggested there may be some compensation for all my trouble. I never heard back from him. I called and left him messages on two occasions and he has yet to return my calls.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bob Darby
August 25, 2006

"Purchased our Touareg from Stohlman VW and they are very..."

- Gstrein

Purchased our Touareg from Stohlman VW and they are very busy and crowded most of the time with limited parking. Lindsay VW opened a few months after our purchase but I decided to take it to them for a shot at Service. I spoke to Ali in Service and he told me to bring it in and they's service it and do some warranty repairs at the same time. I was greeted as if I had purchased the car from them and had a loaner car sitting waiting for me. Ali continues to service the car and I always have updates and reports on parts that need to be ordered. When I pick the vehicle up it is clean and parked safely inside. Ali is the best Service Advisor I have dealt with after owning multiple Mercedes, Range Rovers & Audi's over the years I have dealt with every local dealer in the Metro area (VA & MD). Jerry Holloway will soon have my business for a new Touareg we are getting in Sept. Jerry has been a pleasure to deal with and even e-mails updates on our custom order. One thing that is very different about Lindsay is that they are enthusiastic about the product and many of the Sales and Service folks frequent forums such as VWVortex.com and contribute as well as helping others. No other dealer has ever spent so much time and effort building their business. Highly recommend the dealership and please ask for Ali in Service when you visit. Tell him you've read some nice things about him on-line and he'll likely smile and take good care of you. Keep up the great work Lindsay!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ali in Service, Jerry Holloway in Sales
June 28, 2006

"Pretty bad post-sale experience. From the minute I wrote..."

- Arnaud Fischer

Pretty bad post-sale experience. From the minute I wrote the check to purchase a golf at Lindsay Volkswagen my experience has been pretty bad. First I was told they were going to replace the remote (key). It's been 2 1/2 months, I am still waiting to hear a resolution. Lights have come up the dashboard, taken the car back to have them checked, been told the car is working just fine, they have no idea why it happened. The right front window went off track under the rain of the past days and I am told to bring the car at 9:00am, haven't heard back from them past 3:00pm and I am supposed to get the car back before end of day to go pick up my son at daycare. Pretty unreliable, forget loaners, they simply n't waht-ever problem the car they sell you has ... after you write the check. Of course! Won't buy a car there again. Customer support and service is fine as long as you don't need to interact with them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service department
May 09, 2006

"Tom and I worked together for over a year in anticipation..."

- 03AccordV6

Tom and I worked together for over a year in anticipation of the new MkV GTI. He let me drive a MkV Jetta right after they came out...and then a MkV GLI...and eventually a MkV GTI. He stuck with me...as I did with him...and kept me updated every step of the way. I eventually custom ordered a GTI from the factory and expected to wait for 12 weeks. About 9 weeks into the "big wait" I asked if we could make things happen sooner...and Tom came through! He had the right color and options coming in within days. Everything was perfect except for the lack of 18" wheels...which he pulled off another car. Afterwards, we had my exact configuration and made the deal 3 weeks earlier than expected. The car is great!! They will try and sell you on teflon paint coating and other added-value features...but that's pretty standard. But...they don't stick on "appearance packages" (ie mudflaps, pinstripes) and tell you they can't remove them. Plus, they don't pull the "second sticker" trick with an "adjusted market value". Just a nice, new, clean, straightforward operation with pleasant people. I made the switch from a Honda to a VW...so...if consumer reports is right, I definitely need to be comfortable with my dealer! Wish me luck!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tom Horton
February 12, 2006

"My VW developed a problem after I took it in for a..."

- sizzla

My VW developed a problem after I took it in for a routine servicing. The problem was a direct result of an adjustment Ali had recommended done when I took it in for servicing. When I took the car back with the resulting problem, Ali said that was a problem with the model & was covered by warranty. Needless to say despite being assured the part would be available in 2 weeks when I first reported the problem, I had to go back to the dealership after I didn't hear from them in 3 weeks & nobody returned my calls. Ali finally calls me after 4 weeks and says I will have to wait another 3 weeks for the part!!! All this time, I'm asking for a loaner car because my car is defective & constant use is causing further deterioration, but David says VW isn't ready to pay for a loaner car!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ali & David (Service Schedulers)
December 26, 2005

"My son purchased a 2002 Certified Jetta November 19th..."

- EdwardZ

My son purchased a 2002 Certified Jetta November 19th with a factory warranty. The salesperson said that if we had any problems they would be taken care of. After a week the breaks had to be replaced. Three weeks later he noticed a tire had cracks in it and called the dealership about it. The receptionist said the manager with was out but would call back. He never did. My son called again and left another message, still no call back. On Christmas Eve my son had a blow out on a major highway and could have been in a serious accident. When we finally reached the manager we were treated very unprofessionally, as if it were my son's fault. He said the cracks were due to going over potholes. My son had driven the car approximately 1,000 miles, on major highways. THe manager then said he would find some used tires from another Jetta, but he couldn't find any. He then said he would put on a new tire and would split the cost, which I never agreed to. He charged $200 to replace the tire, which we feel is inflated. I then asked him for the name of the Volkswagen Regional Manager and he said " I don't his name or number, you can find it on the Internet" and he walked away. The major problem is the unprofessional way we were treated after the car was purchased. It was a very unpleasant experience. I could not recommend this dealership to anyone buying a car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
...
132
1,311 - 1,320 of 1,320 results