Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

McGrath Arlington Kia

Palatine, IL

3.1
243 Reviews

1400 E Dundee Rd

Palatine, IL

60067

Directions

243 Reviews of McGrath Arlington Kia

Sort by
October 14, 2021

"I had a great experience here, not sure why others say..."

- David Jones Jr.

I had a great experience here, not sure why others say differently. Danny was salesman and I don’t want to buy from anybody but him now, lol. He was straightforward about everything. They informed me on there dealership fees, which I understand, they are a business not a charity. I felt valued and was super happy about my purchase. I think if you go there with the mindset of taking thousands of dollars off an already very low priced car, you’re setting yourself up for a bad experience. I was happy to pay a little more money to buy from a dealer and get so many amenities included, literally never have to worry about car washes, loaners, and free fluid top offs for as long as I own the car, takes a lot of unknown costs down the road. Would 10/10 recommend for anybody looking for their next car.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Danny Grant
September 02, 2021

"I went to this dealership to look at a truck that was..."

- Tomahawkfloors

I went to this dealership to look at a truck that was advertised at 19,990.00 as an "internet special" price. It was a Ford F150 pickup with a little under 110,000 miles. Upon arrival I test drove another truck that was on the lot because the Ford was still on the truck. It was a gmc that was very similar but a bit newer. It had a great deal of cosmetic blimishishing and the check engine light was on along with many warnings flashing across the odometer warning of a need for service. The truck was okay but no where near the value they were asking. The Ford finally became available as it had finally rolled off the back of the semi trailer. I test drove it and it seamed a great deal nicer of a truck than the other even though it was dirty and also had check engine lights on. I decided to go in and talk to the sales rep who infact seemed like a cgood individual. After a bit of normal banter he went off to get a price. Laughing at my self at the moment he returned with a price that was 7000 dollars higher than the internet sales pice. It included a paint protection package on a already rusting vehicle and a rubber matt package with th McGrath name on it even though there were weather tech floor mats already in the truck. I could go on about the BS. One of the fees was an " Illinois Documentation fee" which is not legally required at all but rather just an add on most dealerships do. This is not an ILLINOIS Documentation fee at all but rather a dealer fee. It is not required. It is the dealer adding profits. You are not required on a state level or federal level to pay this. Bottom line is the dealer used car sales manager is a modern day con artist. He post prices on the internet to get you to drive there. Once you are there he jacks the price up with fees that are not required in order to get you to settle for a lower price that is far above the price you drove there for. This dealership preys on people that are unsuspecting. Don't buy a car here. I used to sale cares for several dealership a decade or so ago. They are crooks. I bought a car 2 hrs later from another dealership that was below their advertisement price. It was the same model year with about 30000 less miles. Don't waste your time at McGrath. They are old fashioned carpet baggers. They are just here to swendal you.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Zachary
Sep 03, 2021 -

McGrath Arlington Kia responded

This is total unfair and untrue what is being said here. We offered to sell you our car at the internet price plus taxes title licence. You threatened to put up a bad review if we did not discount our car by $3000.00. I am sorry you felt bullying was a way to get the price you wanted.

August 30, 2021

"I thought we were going to complete a transaction on a..."

- truggero

I thought we were going to complete a transaction on a 2017 Ford Fusion. We did agree on a price I thought, but I requested a maintenance report and confirmation that there was an owners manual with the vehicle. Then there was the $1,000.00 "transaction fee" that I didn't care for either. I never heard anything back from them. Tom Ruggero

Read More
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gresh Henderson
August 22, 2021

"Worst experience I’ve ever had at a dealer. Zero..."

- SteveC1613

Worst experience I’ve ever had at a dealer. Zero transparency, hidden fees, and overall dishonest. Try to only show you monthly payments and hide hidden costs so you end up 5K+ MSRP. They also act like they are coming back with better offers when in the long run you’d end up paying even more. Never been so happy to have walked away and not bought from someone. Please whatever you do do not give them your business. After I left the sales manager called me and was extremely rude as well. The sales person I was working with displayed no personal skills and was extremely pushy and only cared about trying to take advantage of me at every turn.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gresh Henderson
August 07, 2021

"Please, don't make my mistakes! Read before purchasing..."

- London

Please, don't make my mistakes! Read before purchasing from McGrath Arlington Kia: 1) They do not accept third party financing. If you come in pre-approved for an outside loan, they will not accept it. You have to finance through them. You can later refinance if you wish. 2) There is a required McGrath Protection Package that costs $2495. This basically entitles you to a year of oil changes and lifetime free car washes. (There are other things listed, of course, that you probably wouldn't use, like 10% off accessories). I was told this package was non-negotiable. 3) If you are entitled to "customer cash" or a rebate, make sure you actually get it. I negotiated a price and then was told that my negotiated price already had the rebate included. 4) When you are negotiating with your salesman, he will present you with a document that lists your base price, fees, and taxes. It will also tell you what your monthly payment will be for various loan durations. TAKE A PICTURE of this document and DO NOT sign it without asking if there are additional fees that are not listed there. (There are!) 5) When you meet with the finance guy, he will show you a document that lists your monthly payment and the amount you are financing. He will emphasize these things and not point out that the “Total Sale Price” is significantly higher than what you agreed to with the salesman. Get out your calculator and add all the fees up. Ask to see a paper copy of every page of the finance document. 6) When I bought my new car, I did not ask about additional fees, didn’t notice the price difference (over $1700!), and also didn’t notice that the finance guy sent me away with only the first page of six of my finance documents. Page 2 is where the hidden fees are located, including an $850 fee for Paintless Dent Repair. Never was this fee discussed with me. 7) To make up for this blatant dishonesty, the dealership has given me 3 years of oil changes and tire rotations. This still doesn’t even come close to the original $2495 I paid for one year of this service.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Vince Balachia
3.0
August 06, 2021

"I have never tried so hard to give a dealer my money in..."

- jnav0316

I have never tried so hard to give a dealer my money in all my 52 years on this earth. I came in preapproved and loved the car I looked at and they tried to oversell me on options for a used car that I wanted to buy. I had the check ready to go! The salesman was nice, the new car manager was also. The so-called “Business Manager”?? Shouldn’t even be working there. He was dishonest and condescending and because of the way he spoke to me, I just walked out telling them they’d lost a customer. He actually laughed - and now the car is still for sale! Too bad for them. I would NOT recommend this dealership!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Connor, Business Manager, New Car Manager
Aug 08, 2021 -

jnav0316 responded

I have never tried so hard to give a dealer my money in all my 52 years on this earth. I came in preapproved and loved the car I looked at and they tried to oversell me on options for a used car that I wanted to buy. I had the check ready to go! The salesman was nice, the new car manager was also. The so-called “Business Manager”?? Shouldn’t even be working there. He was dishonest and condescending and because of the way he spoke to me, I just walked out telling them they’d lost a customer. He actually laughed - and now the car is still for sale! Too bad for them. I would NOT recommend this dealership!

August 05, 2021

"I was ready to buy a vehicle, but when confirming the..."

- familyGuy

I was ready to buy a vehicle, but when confirming the advertised price, they add a bogus 'market adjustment'. Pure bait and switch highway robbery, taking advantage of people who can't do math and think about the future.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gigi / Georgeann
June 30, 2021

"I bought my first new Kia from Conor. He knew all the..."

- Elcrn

I bought my first new Kia from Conor. He knew all the questions I had about the Lx Soul. He and the new car manager were great to work with!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Conor Hendzel
June 26, 2021

"Cliff was a great sales rep to work with. He was..."

- brittany

Cliff was a great sales rep to work with. He was knowledgeable and did not play any games. I would recommend him to anyone looking for a Kia. This is my fourth Kia from McGrath and it is always a pleasure.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Cliff Krause
June 17, 2021

"Fantastic experience with Garrett in sales and Sam in..."

- AnnaL

Fantastic experience with Garrett in sales and Sam in financing. I was a pretty tough sell with very specific financial needs, and they went above and beyond. Super friendly guys. Highly recommend and will definitely be back!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Garrett, Sam
1
...
1 - 10 of 243 results