Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

McGrath Honda of St Charles

St Charles, IL

4.6
618 Reviews

1411 E Main St

St Charles, IL

60174

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 618 reviews

October 15, 2021

"Stay clear of this place at all costs. I have purchased..."

- Edjg2469

Stay clear of this place at all costs. I have purchased at least 5 cars from this dealership in the past and now it looks like they have taken up stealing from their customers as " store policy" or at least that's what the GM Tom explained to me when I asked him. Looks like they feel like they are the only ones that were hurt by the pandemic, and they're trying to make it up as soon as possible. My daughter went in to buy out her lease and was completely scammed by their sales people, to the point where I had to go in with her to get the " mistakes" fixed. Listen folks there are a ton of other Honda dealers out there, I completely agree that Honda is a great product, like I said I probably owned seven of them over the years, but you need to avoid this one at all costs. You know the stereo typical sleazy car dealers...that's EXACTLY what they have become. When someone goes out of their way to tell you several times that there's nothing nefarious going on... Then you know there's something shady going on. One guy came into the office and tried to do the right thing, and was being completely honest... When he left his coworker said he was talking gibberish and that he was a moron and we should ignore him. Who calls somebody they work with moron behind their back, just for being truthful....that tells you what kind of people run this place now. BUY YOU CAR ANYWHERE BUT HERE. I told the general manager time as I would hate leaving that myself, my wife, my family, and anyone else I could possibly tell would never buy a car from them again... His response was " you really felt you needed to tell me that"... that is one disconnected GM. GO ELSEWHERE

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
DAVID GURTLER
1.0
October 06, 2021

"Shane was great to work with from the preliminary emails..."

- Leenie

Shane was great to work with from the preliminary emails to the sale. He was extremely knowledgeable on all features of the car and was enthusiastic about imparting that knowledge. He consistently explained which part of the process we were in when closing the deal and asked if there were any questions. He is a great asset to the sales team. I will recommend him to friends and family.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Shane DeLao
October 05, 2021

"Out of state buyers beware! Worst experience I've ever..."

- bmwisill

Out of state buyers beware! Worst experience I've ever had purchasing a vehicle. I purchased a used vehicle from them and when I arrived they told me about some hidden fees that were not listed on their online advertisement - so expect to add 1k or 2k to the advertised price. They treated me as an out of state buyer awful. The nightmare really started after I purchased the vehicle. I waited over 2 months to get my tags because their title clerk made several mistakes. They didn't collect even close to the right amount of taxes at the time of sale, so I ended up having to payout of pocket for the large difference when it should have all been included in the loan. Oh and their sales managers including Nate never called me back after about a dozen of calls over the period of waiting for my tags. Ever.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
ALDO MENDOZA
1.0
Nate Petersen
1.0
Oct 06, 2021 -

McGrath Honda of St Charles responded

We are disappointed to hear about your experience. As we always want to provide the best service possible. The good news is that obviously the deal and the vehicle you purchased were still better than you could get anywhere else. Now regarding your extra taxes that were due. We use a third-party service to figure out your states taxes which we clearly let you know that we are not responsible for but provide the service to assist our customers as much as possible. Nate did address you issues and did speak with you but unfortunately had to tell you that you are responsible for the taxes that were due. Taxes are the customers responsibility. Not much we can do about that. We wish you much enjoyment with you new vehicle.

Oct 06, 2021 -

bmwisill responded

I've purchased over 10 vehicles in my life and I tell you that was the worst experience ever. No I wish that I had purchased elsewhere as I would have ended up paying the same amount after all of the hidden fees. How is it okay that I had to wait over 2 months for my plates when my local DMV processed everything within a week. That was the dealerships fault. No one ever called me back to address my concerns including Nate who I requested call me back several times. And no, I was clearly told by my local DMV that the error was made by the dealership and I should be reimbursed. I was told by the finance department when I purchased the vehicle that all of my taxes would be covered and all I would have to do is pick up my tags, which was not the case at all. If you guys actually cared about my experience I would have been called by now.

September 10, 2021

"We went car shopping last night to look for a new..."

- RAFAEL

We went car shopping last night to look for a new vehicle. Upon arrival after an hour drive we were greeted multiple salesman at the parking lot, who made us feel comfortable and I already feel the POSITIVE ENERGY of the place. Nowadays, it commonly seen that car salesmen just don’t do enough good job and their only objective is to get money out of your wallet. But, salesman like Brett Miller delivers an incredible service and gives a very pleasant experience. I must say that this was my best car shopping experience ever. Brett was very informative good listener and he was answering very question of ours patiently. Also Fernando who is the finance person made a smooth final process with all the documentations. We will be coming to your showroom for the years ahead. KUDOS for Brett Miller!!! Regards, Victor & Roland

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brett Miller
Sep 22, 2021 -

McGrath Honda of St Charles responded

Rafael, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Mcgrath Honda Of St. Charles! Thanks again for taking the time to leave us this information about your recent visit. Take care!

September 04, 2021

"Welcoming and friendly staff. Thanks for taking the time..."

- Clovis.bole

Welcoming and friendly staff. Thanks for taking the time to give me a test ride on the car i was aiming for without notice. Thanks.

Read More
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Carlos Fuentes
5.0
Sep 22, 2021 -

McGrath Honda of St Charles responded

Clovis.bole, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Mcgrath Honda Of St. Charles!

September 03, 2021

"Shane has been outstanding. His is a complete asset to..."

- vteti1463

Shane has been outstanding. His is a complete asset to any car dealer that would have him. He has been a true professional and has made our purchase easy!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Shane
Sep 22, 2021 -

McGrath Honda of St Charles responded

Vteti1463, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Mcgrath Honda Of St. Charles!

August 13, 2021

"Derek was recommended to me. He went above and beyond to..."

- willorganize

Derek was recommended to me. He went above and beyond to listen to our needs and deliver excellent customer service.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
DAREK SMORCZEWSKI
5.0
Aug 13, 2021 -

willorganize responded

Derek was recommended to me. He went above and beyond to..." Derek was recommended to me. He went above and beyond to listen to our needs and deliver excellent customer service.

Aug 17, 2021 -

McGrath Honda of St Charles responded

Willorganize, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at Mcgrath Honda Of St. Charles.

August 12, 2021

"Great dealership. Worked with Shane Delao, Great nice..."

- Amerikos2014

Great dealership. Worked with Shane Delao, Great nice guy! Would recommend him for friend or family!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Shane Delao
Aug 17, 2021 -

McGrath Honda of St Charles responded

Hi Amerikos2014, thank you so much for your positive comments about Mcgrath Honda Of St. Charles!

August 08, 2021

"Leased a Civic Hatchback for my son's first car about a..."

- Robin

Leased a Civic Hatchback for my son's first car about a month ago. The overall experience was negative, which is a shame because the car is very nice. Beware that the dealership adds hidden costs that they don't explain resulting in a price that is actually much higher than the sticker price. To obscure this, they try to have you focus on the monthly payment amount, which they can manipulate. Upon arriving home with the car, my husband reviewed the full lease agreement and noticed the inflated "agreed upon car value" and said this was a very bad deal. We went back to the dealership within an hour of signing the lease and they would not let us out of it. They ultimately reduced the price down to the sticker price (still not a good deal) and never did adequately explain the other additional costs. Beware of their tactics!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nate Petersen
1.0
August 06, 2021

"A great overall experience and second car purchased from..."

- Lamberti

A great overall experience and second car purchased from the McGrath Honda

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Shane Delao
Aug 11, 2021 -

McGrath Honda of St Charles responded

Hi Lamberti, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! We hope to see you soon!

1
...
1 - 10 of 618 results