Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

McGrath Lexus of Chicago

3.5

762 Lifetime Reviews

1250 West Division Street, Chicago, Illinois 60642 Directions
Call (773) 770-4522

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

762 Reviews of McGrath Lexus of Chicago

Sort by Write a review
November 07, 2019

"Very Disappointing"

- J

Normally I do not write reviews but I am so disappointed I thought this one was note worthy. I have been a customer at McGrath of Chicago for around 20yrs and on my 4th Lexus. I have always praised the dealsership and the cars, to the point of being told by friends and family I should do a commercial for them. However I just purchased a preowned RX 350 and was told and assured that it had been meticulously inspected. Now after having the car for about 3 mos. I happened to notice my floor mat was out of place and when reaching down to fix it I discover that the new carpet mats I had purchased are soaking wet so wet that I had to discard them. The driver and passenger side of the car are completely soaked. No doubt whatever was leaking had been leaking for awhile or since shortly after I purchased the car and went unoticed by me due to what reason would I have to check the floor of my car. So I went in and spoke to the GM he told me to bring it over to service and see what the proiblem was which I did. As it turns out or at least as far as I know at this point I was told that the sunroof drains were completely clogged with mud, leaves and debris. So they cleared the lines, and then told me a ton of water came out. However when I inquired about my concerns for drying the car floors they then explain that I have two choices I can give it a chance to dry out on its own or they will pull all of the carpet and clean and dry the car but that it would cost me around $1000.00. As this is being told to me all I could think of was how insulting this was. That I was supposed to beleive in 3 months and highly likely much less then that when this started happening I just didnt catch it right away they are trying to tell me that the sunroof drains got filled with mud and debris in the short time I had the vehicle.Thats not even reasonable, I parked in the same spot that I had parked my previous RX 330 for 8 yrs nothing like this occured. This is simply not possible especially in the amount of time I have had the car. Nor did this ever happen with the 3 previous Lexus vehicles. So after asking one of the service reps what he would you do he said he would try to let it dry itself. Well needless to say I did I tried everything but after a almost 2 weeks there was still water coming up through the carpet which was needless to say concerning. So after being told the cost and thinking about this I called back and asked to speak with the GM again. Instead the sales rep that sold me the car called and said she was going to take care of it. Then I got a call back from another manager or rep and she told me to talk to the service manager so I went back only to be told that they were not going to do anything for me the best he could do is discount 1 hr of the labor that it would still cost me $850.00 subtotal and even if I went back to the manager that was all they would offer. I then called the rep who originally said she was going to take care of this thinking this cannot be right certainly they would at the very least negotiate something more reasonable all things considered and guess what she didnt return my call. So I bit the bullet at a little under $1000.00 because I have of course made quite an investment in purchasing the car. In the past this would never have happened they would have taken care of this without question and accepted that this was something that had gone unoticed or identified previous to selling me the vehicle and honored that. Not to mention consideration and respect for a very very long time customer. It has become undeniably clear that they no longer provide the impecable service and sales that I had grown to know over the course of the many years I have been a loyal and long term customer. I will not purchase another vehicle from this dealership. They clearly have completely lost sight of best practice, ethics and integrity when doing business. So incredilby disappointing.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dianne Brogan
Matt Fenton
October 19, 2019

"Easiest car being experience EVER!!!"

- Elsie

I have bought many cars from different dealers. This has been the most pleasant and stress free car buying experience by far. Bill, my sales person delivered the car to my door. The paperwork was completed at my kitchen table. Would definitely recommend the dealer and Bill at the Chicago dealership. Couldn't ask for a more convenient way to buy a car. No long wait for the finance manager to seal the deal, no pressure from sales person to buy the car. AWESOME!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bill Tacker
5.0
August 18, 2019

"Bad car and even worse service."

- Customer

I bought a new Lexus 450 H from McGrath 3 months back. The car started giving me engine and battery trouble last weekend. The car didn't turn on and showed 'check engine, call your dealer'. I contacted salesman Noble Jones and technologist Nick Novelli. Was instructed to call roadside assistance, who came and jump started the car. Weird, how can the battery die on a brand new Lexus? I was told by the salesman and technologist to take it to service center, which I did next day. Took 3 hrs, had to sit there as there was no loaner. Was told I might have left something on, honestly neither me or the service center found anything which could drain the battery. Today I was again stranded on roadside as car didn't turn on. Again called roadside assistance, to be told the battery is faulty and needs replacement. He even gave me a battery check report. Can't get it how can a new car have a faulty battery and if it was faulty, its strange that it was not detected by service center 1 week back? Both the dealer and service center staff are pleasant by not at all professional or helpful.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nick Novelli
2.0
May 27, 2019

"Horrible service "

- Nothappy

I will never ever take my vehicle there again, they never have no parts in stock they have to order everything and then they never call you back to inform you they have the the so call part they ordered.i told my car there for rear bulbs to be replaced and they had to keep the the car because they forgot my car was there they are horrible..... how do you forget a customer car is at your place of business...... not only that they lie about what service what was done to your vehicle.........

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dwayne Allen
April 01, 2019

"Vehicle purchase "

- Mj23

Sales guys were great manager not so much rude and made me feel uncomfortable. Was promised a touch up paint never received it would definitely not return for purchase or recommend it!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gary Sowell
5.0
Bill Tacker
5.0
Frank Cowan
4.0
Sharon Gale
1.0
March 14, 2019

"Completed Process amicably"

- Mike D

Completed process amicably. Worked out a deal for another pre owned vehicle. My experience seemed to be out of the ordinary as far as problems go.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sharon Gale
4.0
February 11, 2019

"AMAZING EXPERIENCE!"

- JessBM

I recently made a purchase at McGrath Lexus and the entire experience could not have been better. I worked with Anthony and Bill as salespeople, Matt the used car manager, and has the pleasure of meeting the General Manager Sharon. From the moment I walked in the door to the time I left the lot with my car I never felt pressured or like I was getting anything less than genuine information coming from people who cared. Not only did I get a fantastic better than expected deal, I was in and out very quickly which was very refreshing. I have purchased vehicles in the past and have worked in the auto industry, I can tell you McGrath Lexus is paving the way for a new age dealership experience. I would HIGHLY reccomend considering them in your next purchase. Thanks McGrath Lexus I LOVE MY NEW CAR!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Fenton
5.0
Anthony Swanke
5.0
Bill Tacker
5.0
Doug Bell
5.0
Sharon Gale
5.0
February 09, 2019

"Bad sales person "

- Seable

I wasn’t expect to walk out a luxury branch car dealer being so mad. Lance, who didn’t give me his business card so I may not spell his name right, showed me 2 certified car. I have to back out a deal. When I walk out, he said: there are many junk car dealer you can buy from there. You will never find a car in Lexus. I asked him to provide car spec sheet and carfax he promised but I didn’t receive one before leaving. There was no test drive, yet he is eager to pull my credit to close a deal. For a luxury brand like Lexus, even the customer decide to not buy at the time, I would still expect the sales person to be professional than get the customer really mad when walk out. He should not qualified to work for Lexus. It’s a damage to the deal and Lexus brand.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lance
February 03, 2019

"Korona did a great job selling me my car! "

- Tanygirl

Korona was super helpful. Very simple and to the point of everything. Didn’t beat around the bush and was honest. If every car leasing/buying experience was as good as the one I just had , I wouldn’t mind doing it every year. Thanks !!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Linda Adomaitis
5.0
Other Employees : Korona
January 13, 2019

"Purchasing a new vehicle"

- Marangely

This dealership gets an A+. The people I worked with were outstanding. Excellence ALL the way. Their professionalism shows how much they care for the customer. They broke ALL barriers to help me get my truck. I love love love this dealership. Alexandra Povesma, you are a beautiful person inside and out. Nick Novelli, thank you. I bought this truck on a Saturday night. The next morning I got stuck with a technical issue, I called Nick (Sunday morning) and he helped me out over the phone to resolve the issue. He answered my call and didn't hesitate to help me out. NOW thats what I call CUSTOMER SERVICE. My hats off to you guys for such a wonderful experience. I have to name a special person in this review. Sales manager "SHARON GALE". This woman is ABSOLUTELY a wonderful, caring, intelligent, determined person who made it possible so I can buy the truck. Her character is unique. She makes you feel like family. This woman is an asset to the dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Robert Zuniga
5.0
Doug Bell
5.0
Sharon Gale
5.0
Other Employees : Alexandra Povesma and Nick Novelli also get 5 stars
1
...
1 - 10 of 762 results