Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Ray Skillman South Side Auto Center

Indianapolis, IN

4.5
1,045 Reviews
Ray Skillman Auto Center in Indianapolis, IN is proud to be an automotive leader in our area. Since opening our doors, we have kept a firm commitment to our customers. We offer a wide selection variety of vehicles, and hope to make the car buying process as quick and hassle free as possible. If you would like financing options and you are in the market to purchase a new Kia, Mitsubishi, Buick, GMC or used car or truck, we will provide assistance to help you find financing options that fits your needs! Ray Skillman Auto Center has a experienced and reliable Service and Parts Department, open extra hours to help fit our customers' hectic schedules; and, as always, Ray Skillman Auto Center offers competitive pricing for your automotive maintenance needs. Customer satisfaction is our highest priority, and our staff is committed to achieving this goal in every aspect of our business.

8424 US Highway 31 South

Indianapolis, IN

46227

Directions

By Type

Showing 1,045 reviews

July 27, 2021

"The General Manager is committed to customer service. He..."

- 1mrtcochran

The General Manager is committed to customer service. He responded to my inquiry from this site, when I was just trying to figure out who the GM was. I had a same day response to my email concerning customer satisfaction with purchase and service. He called me that same day when my concerns about service department missteps had become apparent, and from that moment forward I had no further issues with the service department. Thank you Andrew Pittman for taking the time heat the voice of the customer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
May 24, 2021

"I purchased a NEW 2011 GMC Sierra 2500HD diesel from this..."

- EDBITNER

I purchased a NEW 2011 GMC Sierra 2500HD diesel from this dealer in 2011. It had problems from day one - for starters I noticed oil on my garage floor the morning after I picked up the truck. MANY problems with this truck over the course of 10 years. I should have claimed the Lemon Law but I kept being promised that they would get it fixed. I swear that up until this last repair they had a guy that just graduated the 8th grade working on it. This new guy, Jake, fixed the problem this time and I had faith in his abilities but to be truthful I no longer had faith in the truck with only 60,000 miles on it. I even tried to trade it off to them (remember this is where I also purchased it from) as soon as it came out of their repair shop and they insulted me with a $13,000 trade-in value so after this last $2,000 worth of repairs I drove it off the lot and straight to a Toyota dealership that offered me - at first - $30,000 trade-in value and we went from there. This use to be my go to place for auto's. But something has changed in the last decade and I'll most likely never purchase another vehicle from there again. Nor will my family, friends, cousins, neighbors...

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bryan Brown a .5
May 07, 2021

"Colt and the guys went out of the way to take care of us..."

- bschoppy1984

Colt and the guys went out of the way to take care of us as we are stuck out of town with our camper. They got us in a 2020 GMC 3500HD Denali and we love it. He took care of everything and was great to work with. Highly Recommend

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Kendrick Mckee
May 08, 2021 -

Ray Skillman South Side Auto Center responded

Hello, we're happy to hear you had such a positive experience with our team! If you have any further questions, please give us a call. We're always happy to help!

May 12, 2020

"I dealt with Kohlin, Chase, Drew and Colt. I really..."

- Amcomstock

I dealt with Kohlin, Chase, Drew and Colt. I really wanted a Kia Stinger but didn’t want to go above a certain amount/month. I didn’t think it was going to be possible, but these guys went above and beyond and got my payments where I wanted them to be. I’m in love with my car, and can’t say enough good things about these guys.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
March 03, 2020

"We bought a Z06 Corvette Saturday. We haven’t Taken..."

- mcdonaldspond

We bought a Z06 Corvette Saturday. We haven’t Taken possession of it yet because they had to do some repairs they told us they would leave it in the garage so it wouldn’t be out in the weather, we expressed to them that we do not want it driven in the rain snow with salt on the roads they promised it would stay in the garage and they would have a guy come there and fix it. Monday we called to check on it and they drove it in the pouring down rain with salt on the roads to get it fixed on top of putting more mile on it and Cory keeps defending his guys at the dealership he doesn’t care what his customers think. I Tried to talk to Ray Skillman I thought he would want to know what was going on Cory told me that he doesn’t want to know and he handles stuff for Ray Skillman. you don’t do business like that you need to be upfront and honest with your customers. We would have never authorized it.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
December 13, 2019

"Kia Soul"

- Heather Y

Wanted a soul but in a manual. They got it all worked out for getting me one from another Kia location. They even had it delivered here. And I love it!

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
December 05, 2019

"Great team"

- smatveev

These guys are amazing and helped me pick out exactly what I've always wanted. Dreams do come true after all. No matter the credit and no matter your life situation, these guys can find the right solution not only for you, but for your budget as well. That is rare anymore , because as they say "everything comes at a cost". Not here. Quality and great customer service is free of charge, all you need to do is trust in their expertise and they will provide.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Dec 06, 2019 -

Ray Skillman South Side Auto Center responded

Our entire team works hard to work with your budget and get you the best deal. We're always here with the same great service whenever you need service or another vehicle! If you ever need anything else from us, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have an awesome day!

November 29, 2019

"I had a great experience with a Ray Skillman dealership..."

- Heather

I had a great experience with a Ray Skillman dealership hey again!! I appreciated being greeted by Mark the second I was on the lot. Not only that, it felt like a sincere greet....not a salesman pouncing on me trying to make a sale. When I went on my test drive I asked a couple questions and Mark was very knowledgeable which was super convenient and I learned everything I needed to know. After I left the lot I realized I forgot to ask for a copy of the papers showing the number so I texted him and he got it to me right away. Definitely recommend coming here, and ask for Mark!

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dec 03, 2019 -

Ray Skillman South Side Auto Center responded

Hello, we're happy to hear you had such a wonderful experience with Mark! Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything additional we can do for you. Take care.

October 09, 2019

"Do Not Buy A Car Here"

- Michael Z. Williamson

I've bought four previous cars from Skillman and the experiences were excellent. They seem to have changed recently. We told them our price limit, and they tried to push us into stuff 20% more expensive. Then, the car they did sell us had worn brakes, but it is used. However, previously that would have been fixed before showing. Then, our mechanic found a bad front axle. The sales rep's response was, "Well, that's not too bad." Both together were a $900 fix, AFTER buying the car. Then, I noticed it pulling to one side. Turns out the rear axles were bad, too. Another $800. Part of the purchase was to have the towing package installed, which for some reason they couldn't schedule for a month. Then they scheduled it, but ordered the wrong kit, so they had to keep the car for two more days, but they didn't tell me this before closing time, so I didn't have the car for a business weekend. Then, they installed the hitch, but not the wiring harness which is part of the TOWING PACKAGE, and we had to take it back yet again. I received emails from both rep and sales manager telling me to contact them with any issues. My emails were ignored. It wasn't until I went in in person that I got the hitch taken care of, and the rest blown off. I sent a paper letter to the sales manager. Two weeks later, no response. I will not be back. They've turned into textbook used car salesmen, jacking up the price and providing inferior support.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Greigh
Nov 05, 2019 -

Ray Skillman South Side Auto Center responded

Michael, since the vehicle you were interested in had only been on our lot for a few days and hadn't been through our Service Department yet, it is my understanding that you took it to your mechanic before purchasing it to have it inspected. We had you sign an 'As Is' form stating that you understood that the vehicle had not been inspected by us and, with the age of the vehicle and the high mileage, would likely need repairs. We regret that you weren't satisfied with your experience. I have put a free oil change certificate along with a $25 gas card in the mail to you in hopes that you will give us another chance in the future.

Nov 05, 2019 -

Michael Z. Williamson responded

Your "understanding" is wrong. We specifically asked for MECHANICALLY SOUND. My mechanic looked at the brakes, only, which we knew were well-worn. The axle literally almost fell off the first weekend we had it. You didn't even do the most cursory of a safety inspection, and jacked the price up. Now it turns out the transmission is shot, too. We're $5000 in repairs in a $15,000 car. The $25 gas card, good for about 9 gallons, is insulting. I threw it out. As far as your "complimentary" oil change, if you were too negligent to safety check the vehicle before selling it, and couldn't install a trailer hitch properly, why would I let you attempt an oil change? Besides, as I see from other reviews, it takes you about 5 hours to do an oil change. It's pretty bad that you let someone sucker you into trading in their complete piece of crap. It's worse that you screwed us over to pass the hassle onto us. Do keep replying, though. This is great information about your shoddy operation.

August 29, 2019

"Long Wait Paid Off!"

- sparkywax33

I ordered a 2020 Kia Telluride Sx Prestige at the beginning of April and received it on August 29. Such a long wait due to factory issues with supply and demand but it was worth my wait! This vehicle is beautiful and amazing! Mac Bridges was so wonderful to keep me updated along the way and I think he and Josh were as excited as I was when it finally arrived! I appreciate them being patient with my impatience and thankful they were so positive about me ordering in the first place as I had been discouraged from ordering what I wanted from another dealer! Thanks Mac for being so kind every time I texted you! Thanks Josh for letting me know when there was an exciting update along the way! Thanks Doug for being so great with the finances!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Josh—sales manager??
Aug 31, 2019 -

Ray Skillman South Side Auto Center responded

Thanks for highlighting some of our staff who helped make this such a great experience! We are so glad the wait was worth it! Our team strives to deliver an excellent experience, and are glad you found this to be the case during your visit. If you have further needs or questions, please reach out!

1
...
1 - 10 of 1,045 results