Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back

Ray Skillman South Side Auto Center

4.8

1,040 Lifetime Reviews

8424 US Highway 31 South, Indianapolis, Indiana 46227
Contact Dealership

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 1,040 reviews

December 13, 2019

"Kia Soul"

- Heather Y

Wanted a soul but in a manual. They got it all worked out for getting me one from another Kia location. They even had it delivered here. And I love it!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
December 05, 2019

"Great team"

- smatveev

These guys are amazing and helped me pick out exactly what I've always wanted. Dreams do come true after all. No matter the credit and no matter your life situation, these guys can find the right solution not only for you, but for your budget as well. That is rare anymore , because as they say "everything comes at a cost". Not here. Quality and great customer service is free of charge, all you need to do is trust in their expertise and they will provide.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Dec 06, 2019 -

Ray Skillman South Side Auto Center responded

Our entire team works hard to work with your budget and get you the best deal. We're always here with the same great service whenever you need service or another vehicle! If you ever need anything else from us, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have an awesome day!

November 29, 2019

"I had a great experience with a Ray Skillman dealership..."

- Heather

I had a great experience with a Ray Skillman dealership hey again!! I appreciated being greeted by Mark the second I was on the lot. Not only that, it felt like a sincere greet....not a salesman pouncing on me trying to make a sale. When I went on my test drive I asked a couple questions and Mark was very knowledgeable which was super convenient and I learned everything I needed to know. After I left the lot I realized I forgot to ask for a copy of the papers showing the number so I texted him and he got it to me right away. Definitely recommend coming here, and ask for Mark!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dec 03, 2019 -

Ray Skillman South Side Auto Center responded

Hello, we're happy to hear you had such a wonderful experience with Mark! Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything additional we can do for you. Take care.

October 09, 2019

"Do Not Buy A Car Here"

- Michael Z. Williamson

I've bought four previous cars from Skillman and the experiences were excellent. They seem to have changed recently. We told them our price limit, and they tried to push us into stuff 20% more expensive. Then, the car they did sell us had worn brakes, but it is used. However, previously that would have been fixed before showing. Then, our mechanic found a bad front axle. The sales rep's response was, "Well, that's not too bad." Both together were a $900 fix, AFTER buying the car. Then, I noticed it pulling to one side. Turns out the rear axles were bad, too. Another $800. Part of the purchase was to have the towing package installed, which for some reason they couldn't schedule for a month. Then they scheduled it, but ordered the wrong kit, so they had to keep the car for two more days, but they didn't tell me this before closing time, so I didn't have the car for a business weekend. Then, they installed the hitch, but not the wiring harness which is part of the TOWING PACKAGE, and we had to take it back yet again. I received emails from both rep and sales manager telling me to contact them with any issues. My emails were ignored. It wasn't until I went in in person that I got the hitch taken care of, and the rest blown off. I sent a paper letter to the sales manager. Two weeks later, no response. I will not be back. They've turned into textbook used car salesmen, jacking up the price and providing inferior support.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Greigh
Nov 05, 2019 -

Ray Skillman South Side Auto Center responded

Michael, since the vehicle you were interested in had only been on our lot for a few days and hadn't been through our Service Department yet, it is my understanding that you took it to your mechanic before purchasing it to have it inspected. We had you sign an 'As Is' form stating that you understood that the vehicle had not been inspected by us and, with the age of the vehicle and the high mileage, would likely need repairs. We regret that you weren't satisfied with your experience. I have put a free oil change certificate along with a $25 gas card in the mail to you in hopes that you will give us another chance in the future.

Nov 05, 2019 -

Michael Z. Williamson responded

Your "understanding" is wrong. We specifically asked for MECHANICALLY SOUND. My mechanic looked at the brakes, only, which we knew were well-worn. The axle literally almost fell off the first weekend we had it. You didn't even do the most cursory of a safety inspection, and jacked the price up. Now it turns out the transmission is shot, too. We're $5000 in repairs in a $15,000 car. The $25 gas card, good for about 9 gallons, is insulting. I threw it out. As far as your "complimentary" oil change, if you were too negligent to safety check the vehicle before selling it, and couldn't install a trailer hitch properly, why would I let you attempt an oil change? Besides, as I see from other reviews, it takes you about 5 hours to do an oil change. It's pretty bad that you let someone sucker you into trading in their complete piece of crap. It's worse that you screwed us over to pass the hassle onto us. Do keep replying, though. This is great information about your shoddy operation.

August 29, 2019

"Long Wait Paid Off!"

- sparkywax33

I ordered a 2020 Kia Telluride Sx Prestige at the beginning of April and received it on August 29. Such a long wait due to factory issues with supply and demand but it was worth my wait! This vehicle is beautiful and amazing! Mac Bridges was so wonderful to keep me updated along the way and I think he and Josh were as excited as I was when it finally arrived! I appreciate them being patient with my impatience and thankful they were so positive about me ordering in the first place as I had been discouraged from ordering what I wanted from another dealer! Thanks Mac for being so kind every time I texted you! Thanks Josh for letting me know when there was an exciting update along the way! Thanks Doug for being so great with the finances!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Josh—sales manager??
Aug 31, 2019 -

Ray Skillman South Side Auto Center responded

Thanks for highlighting some of our staff who helped make this such a great experience! We are so glad the wait was worth it! Our team strives to deliver an excellent experience, and are glad you found this to be the case during your visit. If you have further needs or questions, please reach out!

August 24, 2019

"Mac Bridges 2020"

- tydlewis

Mac stayed in communicastion throughout the whole process and the day I arrived on site was able to become approved and drive away with the vehicle of my liking. The process was simplistic and insightful and I would encourage all interested car buyers to call Mac Bridges.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Aug 31, 2019 -

Ray Skillman South Side Auto Center responded

Hi, thank you for your comments. Congratulations on your new vehicle! Have a great day.

August 12, 2019

"I have not seen the "above and beyond" trait"

- JSavoy

We purchased a used car from Ray Skillman South Side Auto Center. The process was reasonably easy but the follow through on the back end was horrible. Many things promised took way too long. No calls or emails regarding these simple promises. Left with the car dirty with some type of gunk on the back seat leather after they "detailed" it. Rear paint damage and emblem replacement took a long time too with zero communication. Windshield had to be replaced and the company they used, did not install it correctly. So it started cracking from the top edge. They came back out to see, and you can only imagine that they were not ready to admit they messed up. So, now I still have a foot long crack in a windshield that Ray Skillman could have had our back, the customer, and had them replace it again. Considering we purchased the extra Driver Care package, its windshield repair not windshield replacement. I called over a week ago and had to call Doug Magnusen again just to find out the answer. Once again, bad communication. Ian was great to work with but it was odd dealing with two different salesman. Clay was the initial salesman but then it seemed like we were handed off after we agreed on a price. It looked like Ian had to get the crummy end of the job and deal with all of the promises made and repairs. All in all, no one was rude or unprofessional but I do not recommend this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
August 05, 2019

"2020 Kia Soul GT"

- sailboat1629

What was a simple service appointment turned into Brian Carr helping me get rid of my current car (2017 Kia Forte) that I was absolutely not happy with. After a few hours and working with us and never once getting an attitude I’m so excited to take this car home!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
July 19, 2019

"Go see Mac Bridges "

- naveegirl21

I went to the dealership and told Mark Bobay and Mac Bridges that I needed a car. Guess what?!! THEY made sure that I left that day with car. Also not mention, I showed them the car I wanted and Duane Reed got me that car. The process was simple safe and may i say, FAST!! Excellent customer service and a one of a kind experience. To anyone out there who is tired of struggling with your vehicle, go see these guys.. they will help you out.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jul 22, 2019 -

Ray Skillman South Side Auto Center responded

Hello, thank you for taking the time to comment on our staff's excellent customer service! We're glad we could assist with your purchase, and we hope you continue to choose us for all your vehicle needs. Thanks again!

July 02, 2019

"Help me get in to a car "

- Emmamommy

Joseph dolwer really work with me get in to car. Recommend people go to him if yu need help to find a car. Love my car he pick out for me.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jul 04, 2019 -

Ray Skillman South Side Auto Center responded

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything additional we can do for you.

1
...
1 - 10 of 1,040 results