Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Schmelz Countryside Volkswagen

Maplewood, MN

3.7
75 Reviews

1180 East Highway 36

Maplewood, MN

55109

Directions

75 Reviews of Schmelz Countryside Volkswagen

Sort by
October 06, 2021

"Purchased new vehicle in June 2021 and had significant..."

- EDHS

Purchased new vehicle in June 2021 and had significant problems from the start ... which, largely, was no fault of the dealer. Dealership, however, compounded the problem by being largely unresponsive to requests to discuss buy back, trade value or compensation, in fact sales area never returned calls or texts for several weeks. Dealership chose to use VW manufacturer as cover rather than to provide reasonable trade or buy back offer on a vehicle that is 3 months old. We will never consider sending business there way and caution anyone else.

Read More
Customer Service
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales team
Oct 07, 2021 -

Schmelz Countryside Volkswagen responded

Hello, I appreciate you taking the time to leave your review and would like the opportunity to discuss any feedback you have. Please reach out to me at your convenience. Best regards, Aaron Velick Schmelz Countryside Volkswagen (651) 484-8441

Oct 07, 2021 -

EDHS responded

Your offer seems very disingenuous based on my experience with you and your dealership.

June 06, 2020

"Schmelz Countryside Volkswagen Did It Again!"

- alyssasan04

Purchased Certified Pre-Owned 2019 Tiguan I should start by saying that my whole family owns Volkswagens (We could do a commercial at this point!). We have been using this dealership for years and we have had nothing but positive experiences. I initially started searching online because I wanted to upgrade my 2016 VW Golf to a larger, more family friendly SUV. I found three certified pre-owned Tiguans at this dealership that fit my budget and made an appointment. At the dealership, I was able to see all three vehicles that I was interested in and was able to narrow it down very quickly. Throughout the whole process, Trever Johnson was amazing! He was very personable, helpful, and knowledgable. He even went above and beyond by offering to pay for a car wash out of his own pocket as their car wash service was closed for the evening. I highly recommend this dealership and Trever Johnson for your next Volkswagen purchase!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Trever Johnson
Jun 07, 2020 -

Schmelz Countryside Volkswagen responded

Thank you for the amazing review, Alyssa! We will be sure to thank Trever and the rest of the team for providing you with exceptional service. We look forward to working with you again!

May 05, 2020

"UNBELIEVABLE! STOLE MONEY AND RUINED MY CREDIT"

- shantishamali2

I have worked so many years to build my credit with no late payments and then I leased a car with Schmeltz. It took 3 full months to get the financing. I wrote a check for the deposit and the first payment in January then when I was finally able to pick up my car March 3rd, when it could be first released, I paid a second car payment (though I am not sure why since I had already paid the first month) but they asked me for that and sadly I paid it. They gave me NO PAPERWORK ON THE CAR. It was my first lease so I did not understand what to expect. I gave them my new address to give to the financing company (when I finally tracked down the financing company and called them they did not have my new address, over a month later!) Still nothing came from them and I had no account information. I texted the sales person I worked with over 10 times asking where to pay and how so I could set up repeat payments and they were not able to get me that information. I have worked so hard to never have a late payment and my credit was good so when I checked my credit as routine monitoring and it said I was past due on this account I was very upset. Since then I have called or texted Schmeltz over 17 times with no resolution. I have spoken to Tom and Mo in financing several times with verbal agreements to send over information about the payments to the financing department. Today, after many contacts to both with no changes or clarity submitted by Schmeltz, I have no choice but to make it clear that this organization seems to have stolen my money at the cost of my hard earned good credit standing. I had been promised resolution by last week and they did not even call me back. I appreciate that the Sales person I worked with, Austin, attempted to help me with this and understand the financing is not his department but have been appalled at the behavior of the rest of the dealership!

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mo, Tom, Austin
May 06, 2020 -

Schmelz Countryside Volkswagen responded

Hello, I would appreciate further feedback about what happened. Please contact me when you have a moment to share more details as customer feedback is important to us. I hope to hear from you. Best, Tom Anderson Schmelz Countryside Volkswagen (651) 484-8441

May 02, 2020

"Purchased Certifed Pre-owned 2014 Passat "

- Karla Peterson

Recently purchased a 2014 Passat from dealership, Sales Consultant Trevor Johnson helped me through the whole process, stayed with me from start to finish. He was very personable, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. He called and arranged a pick up time and before we arrived he had positioned my seat adjustment in memory from test drive, had programed my home address into Navigation System and once we arrived he set up the Blue Tooth for my phone. He went over all the features, answered all our questions and even called a couple days later to see how we liked the car. He stated again that if we had a questions or concerns to please give him a call. Best car buying experience in 50 years, he went above and beyond expectations. I recommend the dealership and if looking for some great help be sure to ask for Trevor Johnson, you will not be disappointed!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Trevor Johnson, Sales Consultant
May 03, 2020 -

Schmelz Countryside Volkswagen responded

Karla, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your experience working with Trevor. We really appreciate the recommendation. Congratulations on your Volkswagen Passat! We hope you like it.

October 25, 2019

"Schmelz Volks Dealer Review"

- Suzanne

I rate them 5 stars. Ralph, Ryan and Branden were my contact points with Ralph being the primary contact as sales representative. I leased my second Tiguan after having a high degree of satisfaction with my first Tiguan. I returned to this dealer for the second time after being satisfied with their service for the first vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ralph, Ryan, Branden
Oct 26, 2019 -

Schmelz Countryside Volkswagen responded

Thank you for your repeat business, Suzanne. We appreciate you letting us know that our team has taken great care of you. Congratulations on your new Tiguan. We hope to see you again soon. Have an amazing day.

September 28, 2019

"Solid experience"

- SL

I started my experience online. Christine was timely in her response and set my expectations from the beginning. The entire team there was warm, friendly, informative and helpful. They made the experience easy to navigate and low-stress. Thanks, Schmelz.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Christine, Tom, Ramon
Sep 28, 2019 -

Schmelz Countryside Volkswagen responded

That is always the goal. Christine will appreciate knowing that you are happy with your experience. Congratulations on your recent purchase. Let us know if there is anything else that we can assist you with.

September 24, 2019

"Fast and easy!"

- Harry Jones

I have been buying VW's since 1970 from Schmelz countryside. We decided on a used Passat, that had been DEALER CAR. Loaded,low miles and a good price. AS usual very good service!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ralph Ludden, SHevawn Berg, Jon Raye, and Jason in Finance?
Sep 24, 2019 -

Schmelz Countryside Volkswagen responded

Thank you for the great review, Harry! We are amazed to see that we have earned your loyal business for over 40 years! Congratulations on your purchase; we look forward to your next visit!

August 03, 2019

"Purchase of VW Golf Rabbit Edition 2019"

- Arab26**

I had a great experience purchasing my rare 2019 VW Golf Rabbit Edition at Schmeltz. I had to get the one I wanted transferred and Ralph Ludden was great to work with!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Marcus Haus
5.0
Aug 04, 2019 -

Schmelz Countryside Volkswagen responded

Congratulations on your purchase of the VW Golf Rabbit Edition! We are glad to see Ralph could assist you. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope to work with you again!

July 24, 2019

"First new car"

- Gmb

I was nervous about getting a new car but everybody here was helpful. Ralph ludden is a great salesman. Would definitely go through them again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ralph Ludden
Jul 24, 2019 -

Schmelz Countryside Volkswagen responded

Thank you for the great review! We are glad Ralph was able to put you at ease. Congratulations on your purchase; we look forward to seeing you again.

June 01, 2019

"Outstanding Customer a Service"

- Stoney

I can always count on excellent customer service when I visit Schmelz. Shevawn Berg in Service and Ralph Ludden are top notch. It is always a wonderful experience and they make me feel like a valued customer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ralph Ludden, Shevawn Berg
Jun 01, 2019 -

Schmelz Countryside Volkswagen responded

Thank you for the great review! We will be sure to thank Ralph and Shevawn for providing you with excellent service. Let us know if there is anything else we can help you with. We definitely look forward to your next visit!

1
...
1 - 10 of 75 results