Search
Back
Write a review

Stohlman Automotive

4.6

1,320 Lifetime Reviews

8433 Leesburg Pike, Vienna, Virginia 22182 Directions
Sales: (571) 599-2233

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

1,320 Reviews of Stohlman Automotive

Sort by Write a review
March 24, 2019

"Throw the Whole xxxx Dealership Away!!"

- Artis Whitfield

Throw the entire dealership away. First of all, they are liars and they are crooks. What started out as my first Volkswagen turned into the sales manager, Mike Kim talking about how I was pissing him off, how I am not necessarily right in this instance and hanging up on me. For starters, I wanted to mitigate the amount of car companies that were pulling my credit. I told Abe, my sales rep, that I only wanted to have my credit application submitted to Volkswagen since I wasn’t completely sold on Volkswagen and I wanted to lean more towards the Corolla, I would have just went back to Toyota if worse comes to worse. I did test drive and loved the Jetta SLE premium but I told Abe I wanted to go with another Jetta SLE that they had at another VW dealer. I wanted to see if he can get that car from them. It was then where Abe and his equally slimy sales manager convinced me into trying to do a lease just to lower my payments. The lease they proposed wasn’t really that bad and it was something to consider but I wanted to get a little bit down in the monthly payments. Instead of the Jetta, they ran numbers on the Tiguan I told him to let me sleep on it and I’ll get back to him the next day. Abe told me to do a credit app, even though I got pre-approved from VW and they sent my info already to Stolhman. I told them I will fill out a credit application but please hold off on submitting it and do not send it to anybody but Volkswagen Fast forward to the next morning, I told them I considered the Tiguan but I wanted to go with the Jetta... I was going to go and finalize everything but just then I kept getting multiple inquiries on my credit report... I mean MULTIPLE inquires. I texted Abe to ask him what is going on and he never gave me a conclusive answer just that “we are ready for you”. The next morning I called him to tell him I need to know why I my application was sent to so many banks. Abe said that they had to shop around to get the best finance rates.. but I told him I wanted to lease and he knew that and he said something along the lines of something about my credit score and some other things and told me they couldn’t get me to anywhere less than an insane amount again, not even giving me any answer why he did the exact opposite of what I told him. The phone disconnected and I called and spoke to Mike the sales manager who’s customer service skills, attitude and temper left much to be desired He cut me off multiple times while I was talking saying things like “I’ll let you vent and then I’ll finish” and being very condescending saying things like “Communication is letting both people talk.” He really wasn’t saying anything.. he seemed very cavalier in his empathy to my issue and then to make it worse basically found some way to blame me for this saying “the customer isn’t always right”.. well speaking that I specifically wanted to peruse leasing and without asking me, you pursued financing options without my consent and against my request, no I am completely right and they were in the wrong. Somehow my criticism of his dealerships professionalism and handling of it sent him over the edge to the point that he started screaming at me telling me I’m pissing him off and that He doesn’t want or need my business before hanging up on me.. Before this, I thought an experience I had at a Jeep Dodge Ram dealership counted as the worse experience I ever had. This far outweighs that experience... Primarily because of Stolhman’s “get the sale at all cost” attitude has impacted me adversely for the next two years.. Mr Kim’s behavior is unacceptable and at this point, anything shy of Mr Kim losing his job is also unacceptable... he clearly doesn’t know how to handle situations. As far as Abe and how he handled this issue, on Monday, I will be filling out a formal complaint with the Virginia Motor Vehicle board as this is just something that can’t be tolerated...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Abe, Mike Kim
February 16, 2019

"Worst Service Visit Ever."

- ShortsJKU

This review is for the service department, specificity the service advisor, Jack Smith. I brought my 2018 GTI in this morning to have the drivers seat looked at because the seat bottom was creaking loudly when making turns at low speeds or when shifting in the seat. I am from Maryland and this dealership is by no means close to me, but I made the trip first thing this morning out to Tyson’s because they were the highest rated VW dealership in the DMV and I am very particular about who services my car. I made the appointment with Marcus but was told when I arrived at 7am that he was not in today and they instead put me with Jack Smith. Right off the bat he didn’t introduce himself and blatantly asked, “why are you here?”. I told him my concerns and that I made an appointment. He put me on a test drive with the shop foreman who confirmed the noise I was hearing. I was fully prepared to wait a few hours while they looked at the seat, though upon arriving back at the dealer, Jack came out, sat in my drivers seat and turned to me and said, “it’s a GTI, they make noises. That’s the kind of car you bought.” I’ve had the car 7 months and only have 3,000 miles on it. I refuse to believe that that was normal and I was shocked that a service advisor basically told me that it was a normal occurrence and that they could do little to nothing about it. I told him that I couldn’t believe his response, how dismissive he was about my concern and took my keys and left. I decided that, since I took the day off from work to get this issue addressed, to drive back to Maryland to VW of Laurel where I leased the car from originally and get a second opinion. Within 30 mins of my being there they had road tested the car, confirmed the noise, and had 3 technicians looking at the seat to get an idea as to what it was. Turns out the frame of the seat bottom was the cause and they ordered a replacement and will be covering it at no cost. I will never forget how dismissive and basically rude Jack was to me and will never be going back, for service or otherwise, to Stohlman VW.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jack Smith
November 30, 2018

"not this one"

- djackd

If you want subaru this is the place you must avoid, called me for asking extra fee after a month of purchase. handling customer is not very professional

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jim Heiman
1.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
November 14, 2018

"6% interest on financing "

- maoduowawa

Is there a reason that people can’t buy volkswagen with cash money but have to finance? At 6% interest , hopefully they didn’t lie to me about paying off early without penalty, I really don’t want to pay over 3000 dollars for finance charges. They emailed me a survey but no follow up, oh well ....we will find out in a couples weeks after BB and T bank contact me .

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nickol Tomov
September 04, 2018

"Best New Car Purchase Experience Ever, Thanks To Bernadette!"

- DLN

I went through my Credit Union's TrueCar site to find a new Subaru. Stohlman assigned me to Bernadette through luck of the draw. And what great luck this was! Bernadette was so easy to work with. She provided just the right amount of follow-up, encouragement, and support while I test drove several vehicles and weighed my options. She helped me find the right car for my requirements. It's been a little over a month since I completed my sale, and I'm very pleased with my new car. Thanks to Stohlman and to Bernadette for an awesome car buying experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bernadette Keirsey
May 23, 2018

"Best Subaru buying experience around!"

- newstiguy

Just purchased a 2018 Subaru WRX STI from Stohlmans. First started working with Alex Yakovlev my sales consultant almost a year ago and couldn't think of going anywhere else! Very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful (this is the first manual car I've ever owned but have wanted one for a long time). Definitely gave the tips to make driving and ownership that much more enticing. It was an absolute pleasure working with Alex and buying from Stohlman! Couldn't be happier with the choice of car, dealer or sales consultant!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alex Yakovlev
May 05, 2018

"Ryan and Bernadette are a 10 "

- Doug

Bought my 4th new car from Ryan and Bernadette. Service and support is tremendous. These are very knowledgeable and engaging professionals Thanks Again! Doug Mann

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ryan Jones
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Other Employees : Bernadette
April 29, 2018

"The Perfect Experience"

- Ohnoes

I went in to look for pre-owned, certified Subarus with a very strict set of prices guidelines and needs (though my needs are pretty simple). Jesse Gordon gave me a full walk through of all pre-owned cars, including the backlot where he took down inventory numbers to ensure we could get full details. Chatting with Jesse was easy and zero pressure. He’s a good salesman certainly in the sense he quickly got what I was looking for, and never tried to faux upsell or any nonsense like that. No “premium undercoating” or “deluxe floor mats” ever hit the table once he knew I was looking for a basic model with high reliability and didn’t care for anything fancy. Comparing prices, we found a 2018 Subaru Impreza to be a great match and more than comparable to like used cars on lots. We got an initial quote, I placed down my cost needs and trade-in, and Jesse quickly got managerial response and an evaluation of my trade-in. When the final deal didn’t quite beat my needs (because I was being incredibly exacting and frankly if my current car had any known issues besides age I would have signed in a second). Before I left, Jesse asked if I could stay a moment to discuss further discounting with the manager, where we discussed viable options that were frankly very good. The only reason I didn’t buy was because I may be moving in August, my awful Taurus runs, the same time my registration is up, and the price and APR was slightly (literally max 200 over the life of the loan) out of my range. I have never had a better experience in a dealership, and I would recommend Jesse over and over. I even made sure to write a note to leave this review, and when the manager offered his card for my future needs, I specified, “I appreciate it, but if I’m able to continue working with this gentlemen in August I want him to be my salesman.” We shook hands with no pressure, and he even asked for feedback on what he could do next time, not just to sell the car but to give the best experience. I didn’t have much to say since he’d already done it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jesse Gordon
April 11, 2018

"Trust but verify"

- Scalped

I would not work with Boris in the future although he is basically a good person. Boris is a bottom dollar fellow who is more concerned with the dollar than with client satisfaction. In the end I found his approach to negotiation to be slippery. If I didn't keep track of every little detail, the next thing I knew, it would be gone. During negotiations I asked if a hitch could be installed on the car. Boris said yes and even kindly offered that it might be less pricey to use U-haul. This idea appealed to me. But, Boris knew I was going to lease the vehicle and I later learned that if I used U-haul I would void my warranty. Boris said nothing. In fact, when I called to complain he had his manager deal with me directly. Another point involved the installation of the Fosgate sound system. When I sent the spec sheet from BuildMySubaru to Boris, I had checked off that I wanted the Fosgage. When Boris replied to my email containing the spec sheet, he stated, he found the car I identified and he gave me a serial number. I assumed he read the BuildMySubaru spec sheet, as that was my offer. After purchase of my vehicle I realized the car did not have the Fosgate installed. In fact, rather than ensuring that I was getting what I asked for, he just grabbed a vehicle of the lot that had Crosstrek Premium 2.0. Turned out the premium version is pretty stripped down so you have to make sure you are getting what you ask for if you are dealing with Boris. I don't know if he is just a used car salesman at heart or that he is just not detail oriented. Either way, I should have carefully watched him because although he seems very direct and honest, too many points seem to get mysteriously lost during negotiation for my comfort. Also, Boris does not clearly describe what you will receive for the price you are negotiating. This would be given trait for a used-car salesperson but because Boris seemed so honest and thoughtful, I trusted him much to my regret. For example, Boris told me there was a nav version and non-nav version of the Crosstrek. He did not mention that the non-nav version would be unable to receive Sirius radio. I am not a techy so I didn't realize that I would be depriving myself of a world of benefits by electing not to get the nav system. My prior vehicle having been a Lexus, I would not have knowingly purchased the vehicle without nav if I'd known that more than nav would be gone. Boris told me that the car had Apple play and described it as providing the capability to transfer all your iphone apps to the car. It was not until I purchased the car that I learned the Apple Play was almost worthless because you have to connect your phone to the car and even then, it does not recognize 98% of your apps because it does not have that function - as yet. Even after I purchased the car and directly asked him via email, whether my car could access Sirius radio, Boris never replied. On another point, Boris represented Sholman as being a great dealership that even provided loaners. Well, it turns out that loaners are only available for certain services that are apparently available on a case by case basis. So basically, you get a loaner if the service person is in a good mood. But, they then say they have a shuttle service; you don't like it but it's better than nothing. Then you get hit again - the shuttle only serves you if you live within 5 miles of the dealership. That is plain worthless. So the real service Stolman offers is the metro; REALLY?!!!! Tell me that in advance and I won't buy because it's too far for me to travel every time I need work done. I really regret purchasing my vehicle from Stolman and I am furious with myself for trusting Boris. Maybe it was miscommunication but I feel like he was trying only to make a sale and not trying to sell me something that I really wanted. Thank goodness that Boris has a good manager who was able to fix some of the problems. My take, don't purchase from Stolman if you live more than five miles from the dealership. If you work with Boris, be sure to document what you want and keep a list of everything that is agreed to or that is used to convince you to buy. I guess that's the way used-car dealers and dealers of non-luxury models work but sometimes I'd like to believe there are still some people that I can trust. Boris may be very trustworthy to the estimation of others, I don't know. I just know that I feel very jilted. Disappointed consumer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Boris Alvarado
1.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Apr 13, 2018 -

Stohlman Automotive responded

We apologize for your experience and will take your feedback into consideration in the future. We certainly understand your frustration and will assist you the best we can when you come in for service next. Please reach out to us if you would like to discuss things further.

April 10, 2018

"A great experience"

- John Harney

Thank you Boris for great experience with buying my first Subaru Forrester. I so appreciate your time and effort exceeding my expectations getting me exactly what I asked for. I highly recommend you and Stohlman Subaru to anybody in the market.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Boris Alvarado
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Anson Lee Sam
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
1
...
1 - 10 of 1,320 results