About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Stohlman Automotive

4.8

1,314 Lifetime Reviews

8433 Leesburg Pike, Vienna, Virginia 22182 Directions
Sales: (571) 599-2233

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

1,314 Reviews of Stohlman Automotive

Sort by Write a review
May 05, 2018

"Ryan and Bernadette are a 10 "

- Doug

Bought my 4th new car from Ryan and Bernadette. Service and support is tremendous. These are very knowledgeable and engaging professionals Thanks Again! Doug Mann

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ryan Jones
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Other Employees : Bernadette
April 29, 2018

"The Perfect Experience"

- Ohnoes

I went in to look for pre-owned, certified Subarus with a very strict set of prices guidelines and needs (though my needs are pretty simple). Jesse Gordon gave me a full walk through of all pre-owned cars, including the backlot where he took down inventory numbers to ensure we could get full details. Chatting with Jesse was easy and zero pressure. He’s a good salesman certainly in the sense he quickly got what I was looking for, and never tried to faux upsell or any nonsense like that. No “premium undercoating” or “deluxe floor mats” ever hit the table once he knew I was looking for a basic model with high reliability and didn’t care for anything fancy. Comparing prices, we found a 2018 Subaru Impreza to be a great match and more than comparable to like used cars on lots. We got an initial quote, I placed down my cost needs and trade-in, and Jesse quickly got managerial response and an evaluation of my trade-in. When the final deal didn’t quite beat my needs (because I was being incredibly exacting and frankly if my current car had any known issues besides age I would have signed in a second). Before I left, Jesse asked if I could stay a moment to discuss further discounting with the manager, where we discussed viable options that were frankly very good. The only reason I didn’t buy was because I may be moving in August, my awful Taurus runs, the same time my registration is up, and the price and APR was slightly (literally max 200 over the life of the loan) out of my range. I have never had a better experience in a dealership, and I would recommend Jesse over and over. I even made sure to write a note to leave this review, and when the manager offered his card for my future needs, I specified, “I appreciate it, but if I’m able to continue working with this gentlemen in August I want him to be my salesman.” We shook hands with no pressure, and he even asked for feedback on what he could do next time, not just to sell the car but to give the best experience. I didn’t have much to say since he’d already done it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jesse Gordon
April 11, 2018

"Trust but verify"

- Scalped

I would not work with Boris in the future although he is basically a good person. Boris is a bottom dollar fellow who is more concerned with the dollar than with client satisfaction. In the end I found his approach to negotiation to be slippery. If I didn't keep track of every little detail, the next thing I knew, it would be gone. During negotiations I asked if a hitch could be installed on the car. Boris said yes and even kindly offered that it might be less pricey to use U-haul. This idea appealed to me. But, Boris knew I was going to lease the vehicle and I later learned that if I used U-haul I would void my warranty. Boris said nothing. In fact, when I called to complain he had his manager deal with me directly. Another point involved the installation of the Fosgate sound system. When I sent the spec sheet from BuildMySubaru to Boris, I had checked off that I wanted the Fosgage. When Boris replied to my email containing the spec sheet, he stated, he found the car I identified and he gave me a serial number. I assumed he read the BuildMySubaru spec sheet, as that was my offer. After purchase of my vehicle I realized the car did not have the Fosgate installed. In fact, rather than ensuring that I was getting what I asked for, he just grabbed a vehicle of the lot that had Crosstrek Premium 2.0. Turned out the premium version is pretty stripped down so you have to make sure you are getting what you ask for if you are dealing with Boris. I don't know if he is just a used car salesman at heart or that he is just not detail oriented. Either way, I should have carefully watched him because although he seems very direct and honest, too many points seem to get mysteriously lost during negotiation for my comfort. Also, Boris does not clearly describe what you will receive for the price you are negotiating. This would be given trait for a used-car salesperson but because Boris seemed so honest and thoughtful, I trusted him much to my regret. For example, Boris told me there was a nav version and non-nav version of the Crosstrek. He did not mention that the non-nav version would be unable to receive Sirius radio. I am not a techy so I didn't realize that I would be depriving myself of a world of benefits by electing not to get the nav system. My prior vehicle having been a Lexus, I would not have knowingly purchased the vehicle without nav if I'd known that more than nav would be gone. Boris told me that the car had Apple play and described it as providing the capability to transfer all your iphone apps to the car. It was not until I purchased the car that I learned the Apple Play was almost worthless because you have to connect your phone to the car and even then, it does not recognize 98% of your apps because it does not have that function - as yet. Even after I purchased the car and directly asked him via email, whether my car could access Sirius radio, Boris never replied. On another point, Boris represented Sholman as being a great dealership that even provided loaners. Well, it turns out that loaners are only available for certain services that are apparently available on a case by case basis. So basically, you get a loaner if the service person is in a good mood. But, they then say they have a shuttle service; you don't like it but it's better than nothing. Then you get hit again - the shuttle only serves you if you live within 5 miles of the dealership. That is plain worthless. So the real service Stolman offers is the metro; REALLY?!!!! Tell me that in advance and I won't buy because it's too far for me to travel every time I need work done. I really regret purchasing my vehicle from Stolman and I am furious with myself for trusting Boris. Maybe it was miscommunication but I feel like he was trying only to make a sale and not trying to sell me something that I really wanted. Thank goodness that Boris has a good manager who was able to fix some of the problems. My take, don't purchase from Stolman if you live more than five miles from the dealership. If you work with Boris, be sure to document what you want and keep a list of everything that is agreed to or that is used to convince you to buy. I guess that's the way used-car dealers and dealers of non-luxury models work but sometimes I'd like to believe there are still some people that I can trust. Boris may be very trustworthy to the estimation of others, I don't know. I just know that I feel very jilted. Disappointed consumer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Boris Alvarado
1.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Apr 13, 2018 -

Stohlman Automotive responded

We apologize for your experience and will take your feedback into consideration in the future. We certainly understand your frustration and will assist you the best we can when you come in for service next. Please reach out to us if you would like to discuss things further.

April 10, 2018

"A great experience"

- John Harney

Thank you Boris for great experience with buying my first Subaru Forrester. I so appreciate your time and effort exceeding my expectations getting me exactly what I asked for. I highly recommend you and Stohlman Subaru to anybody in the market.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Boris Alvarado
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Anson Lee Sam
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
April 05, 2018

"Excellent service by sales and service "

- whitecar

excellent service by our salesman,, Jim Heiman. He goes out of his way to ensure the whole process of buying a Subaru is effortless and very pleasant! Plus he is a delightful person!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jim Heiman
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
March 09, 2018

"Thanks, Alex Yakovlev!"

- Ally Montemurro

When looking to lease a new vehicle, I visited all the major dealerships in the area and Alex Yakovlev was by far the most knowledgeable, kind, and professional salesman I encountered. We test drove the car and he was able to answer all my questions and point out features not listed in the brochure. He was very patient in answering my questions and friendly as well! In addition to Alex providing excellent service, the Subaru Crosstrek (and Impreza) are simply amazing cars!! The EyeSight features are the best safety features available across brands in our price range and I wish it was required for everyone to have such a safe car. I'm terrified of driving and this car really makes me feel more safe and comfortable. Thanks to Alex for making this huge decision easy (and fun!) for me. It's a huge help to have someone so friendly and knowledgeable walk you through the process of choosing a new vehicle!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Al Shibly
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Other Employees : Alex Yakovlev
March 06, 2018

"I never thought I would enjoy buying a car! "

- mckpatty

I can't say enough good things about Stohlman Subaru and Bernadette. I was dreading getting a new car. I hate sales. I hate the pressure. But this was a totally different experience than I had ever had. Based on the positive reviews I went to Stohlman (even though there is a closer Subaru dealer to me) and I'm so glad I did! Enjoyable experience without ANY pressure to buy.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bernadette Keirsey
February 26, 2018

"A pleasant experience"

- Janie555

Alex was very knowledgeable about Subaru in general and this particular car. In particular. He also took us on a drive on suburban roads as well as city driving. He was very patient Janie Stoll

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alex Yakolev
February 26, 2018

"The sales lie to you and try to increase the price."

- hayk

Dealer was accommodating test drives, but when time comes to negotiating they screwed up. Price for Jetta SE which suppose to be around $15.5K and with taxes around $17K suddenly bumped up with "transportation" $2400 and paperwork fee $700. This is ridiculous, I do not like when they think you are fool. I would never consider buying car from Stohlman VW. Bad practice, not honest and waste of time dealing with them

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Will not disclose
Feb 26, 2018 -

Stohlman Automotive responded

We are so sorry for any misunderstanding. We would love the opportunity to discuss your experience further. Please contact Kenny at 703-770-6182 at your earliest convenience.

February 24, 2018

"The best experience in 50 years of frequent car purchases"

- Barbara S., Centreville, VA

The best car buying experience in our 50 years history! In and out in 2 hours with the exact vehicle we wanted for the price we offered with excellent service from Ryan Jones, the sales manager, Jim Heiman, our 'personal assistant' with the test drive and getting familiar with the car, and a smooth transaction facilitated by the business manager Anson Lee Sam. We'll never go anywhere else and will send friends and family to Ryan, no question! Ryan Jones' prompt, professional and extremely courteous email manners distinguished him right away from 6 other Subaru Dealerships I was in contact with. After a weeks worth of research, I offered him a price I deemed fair, and he didn't hesitate to accept it. I couldn't wait to meet him! I wasn't disappointed! Young, yet experienced, and full of energy, we were welcomed like family members. After our time with Jim Heiman getting to know the car we wanted to purchase, Ryan made sure without a flinch that the agreed upon price ended up on our check without a bunch of miscellaneous other charges and fees. Bravo! Hats off to you, Ryan! Just before we were to leave and were saying our good byes, Jim pointed out a small superficial blemish on the back of the car. Ryan didn't hesitate one moment, jumped in the car, took it to the detailing department and was back seconds later, with the spot perfectly buffed to perfection. In parting conversation we learned about Ryan's family, and why it is so important for him to make sure as customers we know about all the safety features, since we at times have car seats for our grandchildren in the rear, and also that the Subaru Forester is the best vehicle for seasoned adults. All in all there was so much joy and laughter, little anecdotes swapped, ... in the end I felt I needed to hug my Car sales man! Now how many times does that happen?? Ryan gave us the warmest welcome to the Stohlman Subaru family, assured us that this is the way the owner wants his customers to feel, and reminded us that this was the beginning of a journey and personal relationship with Subaru of Tysons. We will be invited back for a personal Q&A after two weeks of driving our new car, as well as to monthly tech clinics that are free of charge with refreshments and food at no charge. I'm greatly looking forward to remain friends with all the people we encountered during our first experience at Stohlman Subaru of Tysons! Jim Heiman, who was assigned to us to take us out to drive a couple of vehicles, is the kindest, most patient, relaxed and most polite companion you could wish for when purchasing a vehicle. He's very knowledgeable and took all the time it took to familiarize us with all the new tech and computer features that come with the car, that we more mature folks are not intuitively drawn to. He didn't hesitate to go over a couple of questions twice, was most polite and courteous even if he had explained something before, friendly and accommodating in a caring way. He makes you feel comfortable around him right away. No aggressive sales techniques, more like a buddy who's going to do his best to make you aware of what a good choice you've made by selecting this vehicle. Several time he reminded us that he'll be there for us any time, even after we drive off the lot, and invited us back to a personal session in about two weeks time, at no charge, to answer any and all questions we most likely will have after driving the car for a couple of weeks. Thank you, Jim! And lastly I want to mention how pleasant it was to complete the financial transaction with Business manager Anson Lee Sam. Another very courteous, polite and calm personality, Anson instilled that same calm in us as he patiently explained the different extended warranty options, some of them twice. Even our declining them for now did not affect his smooth and professional manner. Friendly and confident, he made this part a pleasant experience as well. We cannot thank you enough, Ryan, Jim and Anson!!! We made great friends and will come to see you again!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jim Heiman
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Ryan Jones
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Anson Lee Sam
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
1
...
1 - 10 of 1,314 results