Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Subaru of Portland

Portland, OR

1.3
11 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

107 SE Grand Ave

Portland, OR

97214

Directions

11 Reviews of Subaru of Portland

Sort by Write a review
April 01, 2020

"Sells unsafe cars to make a profit."

- John C.

This is going to be a long winded review but keep in mind all of the following happened BEFORE I EVEN MADE MY FIRST PAYMENT on the car. I decided to buy a car from Subaru of Portland because my mom bought a new Impreza from them and had a good experience with the way she was treated. I traded in a 2010 Camry in for a 2017 Forester because my family is growing and I needed the extra space. They showed me the Forester that had a “certified” sticker on the windshield. I asked the sales person if it was for sure certified and she said yes, I then asked the closing sales person who was unsure. The sales manager said no and the finance manager was unsure and checked and said no it was not. Why is it advertised as “certified” then? That should have been a red flag but I purchased the vehicle anyways. The next day after driving around to run errands I noticed that there was a very noticeable vibration at highway speed, there's two chips in the windshield and I wasn’t given a second key as promised. I told my salesperson about the issue and he told me to bring it in to service. I told the service advisor about the issues and told him it either felt like a control arm or tie rod, they said they would check it out and call me most likely the next day. I got a call the next day saying that they rebalanced the tires and did an alignment but could barely feel a vibration and it was ready for pick up. I asked if they checked the control arms and tie rods and they assured me that NOTHING was wrong with them. I drove the Forester for another couple days and started to notice a terrible popping noise. I told the dealer who offered to have service look at it again. They had it for a week and told me that the CV axles in the front were failed. Why didn’t they notice that when they did their inspection before they put it on the lot? It’s not a part that fails overnight. After picking up the car for the second time I noticed that the vibration I originally brought it in for was STILL PRESENT. I drove it back to the dealer after work one day and talked to the sales manager about my frustrations. He offered to put me into another vehicle but I would have to “trade in” the Forester which would put me MORE in debt. Not gonna happen. They took the car and told me they would get it to service first thing in the morning. When I said I needed a car to drive they gave me a used camry that had no gas in it and smelled like smoke. I received a call from service the next day saying they will call me when they figure out the issue. This was on a Tuesday, I didn’t hear from them all week until I called them on Saturday to check on the status. After a couple hours they called me back and said the car was ready. No details, just “it’s ready.” When I picked it up I asked for more details and they again said that could not duplicate the issue. I asked why I wasn’t called sooner and they didn’t have an answer for me. ON MY WAY HOME FROM PICKING UP THE CAR I FELT THE CAR VIBRATE. I took the car to my shop that I work at and see if I can find the issue. As soon as I put it on the lift I shook down the passenger side wheel where I felt the vibration and found the control arm bushing blown out completely, multiple technicians noticed it as well. I also noticed that they tried to counterbalance the tires on the opposite side of the car to try and hide the original issue. I called them back and told them I was able to find the problem within seconds of putting the car into the air. After the FOURTH time in service for a week they FINALLY came through with what they promised and fixed the car properly or so I thought. One of the repairs they did was finally fix the windshield that I had brought up weeks before and they lost the clips to one of the trim pieces. They told me to get a hold of the company they use for windshields who requested a picture of the piece and then ignored me after which is still not fixed. The overall moral of the story is that this dealership gives Subaru a bad name just to try and make a profit.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Abraham
April 25, 2019

"Ripped off with a smile"

- CarMakeYouCrazy

My first new-car experience was terrible thanks to Wentworth. The sales environment was high-pressure and ruthless. I got completely fleeced on my trade-in and they crammed a bunch of extra fees into the contract last-minute that inflated the purchase price. Unfortunately for me I was in a hurry to leave the dealership as I had spent six hours there, despite having informed the salesperson up-front that I was on a time constraint, and didn't review the contract closely enough prior to signing. I didn't realize this until a few months later when I was trying to figure out why my monthly payments weren't lower and the math just wasn't adding up, so I pulld out the contract and reviewed it. Now I just resent the car, I hate looking at it because it reminds me of the sleezy people that sold it to me. I recognize that it was my fault in the end for not being thoroughly reviewing the contract. Every. Single. Line. Of. Every. Single. Page. I guess I wasn't expecting to get completely hosed. Sadly this is why people don't trust each other anymore. PLEASE BE VERY WARRY IF YOU SHOP HERE.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Two years ago now, I don't remember their names offhand.
March 24, 2018

"Bad customer service and does not keep promises "

- Team Igl

Wentworth Chevrolet approved and sold us a car in December 2017. The bank approved the loan after talking with us and references. On January 19, 2018 they called and said the bank had lost our contract and we needed to sign a new one. So we did with our first payment being Feb. 19th after the bank once again spoke with us and references. DMV sent us our registration showing it was registeted to us. On Feb. 7th. Wentworth calls and says they need the car back cause we were no longer approved. We informed Wentworth of Justin's surgery and that we would try and return it on Saturday but no guarantees. They asked to be kept informed. On Monday Feb. 12th Wentworth asked if we could have the car to them within 48 hours. At 3pm we told them they would have the car Wednesday before 3pm. At 6pm Wentworth towed the car from the parking garage at OHSU saying they were "repo-ing" the vehicle. .... How can it be repoed if we never missed a payment? but more importantly they knew Justin's medical issues and chose to disrespect the honor of customer service for a car. After talking with an attorney this is common with a dealership that does not carry their own loans. Dick Hannah approved and sold us our new car on Tuesday Feb. 14th at 7:15pm. They made this happen in two days and people came in on there days off to make it happen. They even picked us up at the Hospital when Justin was discharged and took us to the car in Vancouver. Thank You Dick Hannah for showing true customer service with true honor.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris Borquist
1.0
Other Employees : Mr. Fox
January 17, 2018

"Will do anything to move a car"

- lyndee talmage`

I shopped around and found a 2009 Chevy Traverse (50,000) miles and traded in my near perfect Subaru Tribeca. (They actually charged me to replace my headlamp before the trade.) The process took 4 hours with a lot of “upper management” back and forth. I am a single girl so that process was totally awkward. They highly pushed the full service warrantee for $7k which I declined. When I asked for the CarFax they said they would email it. They did and it was a corrupted file. 4 mos later I find receipts that the car was in a wreck. At 55,000 I had to replace the transmission. Now at 80,000 the mechanic says my entire front end needs to be replaced because the car had been wrecked. What a nightmare. Completely not truthful.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Daryoosh Razzaghy, Ann Wentworth
December 16, 2017

"Lies and breaks promise/verbal contract. "

- AndyP

I am in the market to purchase a Artic Blue Chevy Bolt EV. I had called ahead of time to different dealerships to see who had the Artic blue color I wanted. I found a competitor dealership that had a black one for the price I was willing to pay. When I called Wentworth Chevrolet Portland, I spoke with a sales representative named Belle Green who informed me they do have the Artic Blue color I wanted. Before I went to Wentworth dealership, I sent her a competitor's website that I was willing to pay. When I arrived at Wentworth, I met Belle Green and we went on a test drive together. After the drive, we sat down at her desk to discuss the numbers. At this point, Belle told me that the other color Chevy Bolt from the competitor's website had a less option (NO DC Quick Charge) and theirs would be an additional $750 for their Artic Blue Bolt with the DC Quick charge option. The dealership agreed to match the competitor's price and adding the additional $750 option. At this time it was 15 minutes after their closing time and we weren't sure if we wanted to pay an additional $750. So we decided to continue the sale another day. When I went home that night, I compared the two cars and looked at the competitor's inventory website and discovered that they were identical cars with the same DC Quick charge option except for the car's color difference. By the way, the color of black and artic blue has the same MSRP. I was not sure if Belle had made an honest mistake, misread and misinformed us or this was a sales tactic/ploy. After receiving a call from Belle Green later, they agreed to match the competitors price side-by-side once more. She made a PROMISE/VERBAL CONTRACT to match the price listed at the competitor's listing. After the agreement, I informed Belle that she was incorrect about the competitor's car options not having the DC Quick charge. However, when she was aware that I discovered that the cars are identical except for the color, she retracted her PROMISE matching the competitor's car side-by-side and told us to purchase from the competitor's dealership. Based on this deceiving experience, I would never purchase a car from Wentworth Chevrolet Portland, Oregon especially from Belle Greene and would never recommend others to purchase from this dealership. First, she tried to mislead me about the car options or she might have misread it, but in the end they did not honor their promise to match the competitor's price.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Belle Green
May 18, 2015

"Chris Briggs rocks it"

- Oopsman5

Went in on a friday night an hour before they closed found what we wanted picked it up sat morning. Great experience! Chris Briggs was our man he guided us to the right car based on the parameters we gave him. No pressure easy going very helpful great experience! I've never had such and easy time at a car dealer and thats a fact. Go see Chris tellem Joe Lloyd sent ya he will take care of ya.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Briggs
May 06, 2015

"Cleo was awesome!!"

- Kim

Bought a new Chevy from Cleo, was in & out in 90 minutes. Would definitely recommend Wentworth Chevy & make sure to see Cleo! And I'm in customer service, props to Cleo & Finance Manager.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Cleo
March 17, 2015

"Wentworth Chevrolet Subaru"

- DLP

Recently I purchased a used 2011 Rav 4 limited from Wentworth Chevrolet Subaru and from start to finish the process was smooth and easy. Cleo Smith got the ball rolling responding to all my emails answering all my questions. Once at the dealership I worked with Spencer Drew to seal the deal. Spencer was very personable, professional and upfront; there was no haggling or pressure to buy. Since I had done my own research into what a used Rav4 should cost. I knew the deal we made was fair and accurate. Spencer even went above and beyond helping with the replacement cost on a back up key. Overall I would say my customer experience was excellent and would recommend Wentworth Chevrolet Subaru to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Spencer Drew Cleo Smith
January 10, 2015

"Dealership will bend over backwards to please their customer"

- Salsaredpearl

I drove 400 miles to buy my 2006 Toyota 4Runner limited. I traded in my car in the process. The Toyota is eight years old with 65,000 miles, and I did not opt to buy an extended warranty guy. Drove the car home and The next day the engine light, traction control and vehicle stability control lights went on. Also, the center differential lock would not engage. I texted Mitch Tandeske,the salesman, and he instantly texted me and told me not to worry, we will take care of you. I took my Toyota to the Toyota dealership for a diagnosis and the total repair estimate was $4700.I contacted Bob went worth Chevrolet and spoke to Mitch again and he gave me a few options. They still had my trade-in car, so if I wanted they would be more than happy to drive 400 miles, drop it off, pick up the 4Runner, write me a check for the difference and call it good. Or, they would drive a loaner car 400 miles, pick up the 4Runner and take it back to Portland, fix it, and return it to me.I opted for the latter, so now I have a brand-new 2015 Subaru Forrester Limited in my driveway. Yes, this is my loaner car. Talk about unbelievably good customer service. I am a real customer, have no affiliations with this dealership. They now have a customer for life!! Thank you Wentworth Chevrolet!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mitchell Tandeske
April 19, 2007

"Oregon dealer with no idea how to sell cars to Washington..."

- msdeason

Oregon dealer with no idea how to sell cars to Washington residents. They totally fubar'd the sales tax, and when pressed with their own contract language, refused to refund all unexpended fees. In the sales process, they asked me what my sales tax rate was. When I responded I had no idea, they picked one and I suggested that might be a bit high. They picked another and I said sounds better. They based the sale upon that. Two weeks later, they called to inform me WA DOL rejected the registration for $117 and change. When I responded it might be their problem, Rowdy said he would look into it and get back to me. When I called back to offer they refund the sales tax and fees, they had already cut a check for an arbitrary amount not including all the fees and mailed it to me without my permission. The terms and conditions on the contract we both signed clearly state: 8. The price for the motor vehicle specified on the face of this Order includes reimbursement for Federal Excise taxes, but does not include sales taxes, use taxes, or occupational taxes based on sales volume, (Federal, State, or Local) unless expressly so stated. Purchaser assumes and agrees to pay, unless prohibited by law, any such sales, use, or occupational taxes imposed on or applicable to the transaction covered by this Order, regardless of which party may have primary tax liability therefor. ... and on the "face of the order" is a line item stating "WA STATE SALES TAX" and a fixed amount, thereby releasing the customer of Washington state sales tax liability. The fact they failed in their first registration attempt gave them no reason to expect additional funding from me. Further, they derailed my attempt at reconciliation by cutting a check for the amount of their choosing before I could state terms. In a conversation with their title manager, it was explained to me the sales tax was a "best estimate" and they usually aim high to ensure sufficient funding and refund the difference after registration. Unfortunately, that was not explained to me at the time the contract was signed, and conflicts with the written T&C on the signed document.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rowdy Campbell
1
1 - 10 of 11 results