About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Tonkin Subaru

4.1

9 Lifetime Reviews

2222 West 6th Street, The Dalles, Oregon 97058 Directions
Sales: (541) 296-2166

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

9 Reviews of Tonkin Subaru

Sort by Write a review
November 17, 2017

"Great service and great deals"

- Leona52

Chris was a very kind and professional salesman. He was very honest and made things extremely easy and smooth. This was the most pleasant auto buying experience I had ever had. Tonkin gave me an amazing deal on my Malibu and was transparent about the price and every fee. I highly recommend Tonkin In The Dalles and I especially recommend Chris as a salesman

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Christopher Saunders
October 09, 2017

"Subaru!"

- DrewP

Recently purchased a 2013 Crosstrek. Appears to be a solid vehicle. I had been driving a 2013 Honda Accord sedan Sport the last 3 years, which I loved, however, I was constantly missing a hatchback/cargo space, and got my butt kicked last winter out here in the Gorge, so, made my move and sidestepped into a Subaru. Always have had Hondas and Toyotas, so we will see... Ill admit I'm a skeptic, but am hoping for the best. So far I dig it. Very utilitarian, which really suits me. Nice fit and finishes all around, appears to be well designed and built. The sales staff were great at Tonkin. Kinda prowled the lot for a while and got to know all of the guys. Ended up doing the deal with Chris, who is great. Nice young guy, reasonable, bright, good listener. My experience, so far, with Tonkin has been a good one. We will see if/when issues arise how good they truly are.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris
August 24, 2017

"Easiest purchase I've ever had"

- Swarner

I made the deal online. The price was substantially lower than the competition. When we got there everyone was very friendly. Jayme was very helpful and answered all my questions. Financing went very quickly (compared to normal). Nice work everyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jayme Reineccius
April 26, 2017

"Easy, simple and fast - David "

- PDX - Cube

Found the car I wanted on Tonkin.com, filled out the virtual trade-in and application. Received a call from Jaymie right away, made the trip from Portland to the Dalles right after work and they had the vehicle waiting and the paperwork ready to go. In and out in about 40 minutes. Love my Nissan Cube!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jayme Reineccius
April 15, 2017

"poor customer service"

- Snowflake01

I called and emailed Jayme about a 2013 Chevy I was told he could hook it until the weekend since I was over 3 hours away. On Thursday I noticed they raised the rate over $700.00 and was told not to worry they would honor the lower rate since I was in contact with them. On Friday I received an email that the weer showing the car and it might not be available, they asked me if I would put up a deposit and I said yes. Jayme said he would call me back in 5 minutes for the deposit and 3 hours later he sent me an email that it was sold. He didn't even call me. I called and talked to a manager name Ariel and he told me it was picked up and sold any there is nothing wrong with what was done. I looked on the website for Tonkin and saw the car was only transferred to a portland location for the higher price. My 16 year old daughter wanted that car, luckily there was a dealership in Salem that was honest about had a car she liked. I will never buy a vehicle from Tonkin.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jayme
December 29, 2016

"Purchase of new 2017 Outback"

- Scott & Linda

Jayme, and the finance person were great to work with!!! Purchase went very smooth. We initially contacted Jayme through email, then by phone. So when the time came to purchase our vehicle, we didn't have to spend much time to complete the process.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jayme Reineccius
August 01, 2016

"Wonderful Dealership"

- Sandy123

We brought 5 vehicles from Tonkin Subaru. Our Salesperson is Gary LaVine. He was fantastic. He sold us vehicles that I didn't even know I needed at the time. From entering the dealership to exiting. They were wonderful. Gary to Ray to Shasta even the service department. I would and have recommended Tonkin Subaru to my family and friends. I

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gary LaVine
April 24, 2015

"Now Tonkin Subaru"

- shelby291

Unfortunately, it has been one this after another with our new Forester. My family boight two within three days, and the same issues were had with both We opted to have the windows tinted, and after waiting 4 hours longer than the time they told us the appointment would take, BOTH of the cars had issues. One had bubbles, tears in the corners, and the tinting didnt even go edge to edge. The other had chunks of dirt, material, sand and debris under it all over one of the windows. Not only did they both have to be redone (with one still having minor bubbles and mistakes) they also didn't want to give us the certificate of application! We had to go back and forth many times to get it (even though it is LAW to provide it). Now come to find out they don't actually install the bumper license plate mounts, but just screw it right into your front bumper instead. When one person called about it he was told SOL, but my husband called and a different person told him to bring it back in and they would do whatever they could to get it taken care of. So which is it? They will do something to make it right, or we are just xxxx out of luck with xxxxx in our bumper where they aren't supposed to be. I called another Subaru dealership in Portland, and they said that is absolutely not how they do it there. I am wishing I would have gone to Portland instead of staying local. I would not recommend anyone to have any aftermarket/none stock installations done there, nor would I ever take my business there again. As far as Jorge, HE was great to work with and a great, friendly salesman. He is the only person I've even bought a car from.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jorge
January 12, 2012

"We had a wonderful experience at Bob Stone Subaru in The..."

- sharonpitz

We had a wonderful experience at Bob Stone Subaru in The Dalles – none of the usual high pressure tactics! Our salesperson was very friendly, knowledgeable, and patient. He took his time to understand our wants and needs to be sure we got the right car. The finance department was a pleasure to deal with as well. The recently promoted manager guided us through the financial contract and extended warranty options with expert care and professionalism. The entire sales staff is very willing to help you but will not pressure you into making a decision before you are ready. The staff is professional at every level and goes above and beyond any expectations!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
harold
1
1 - 9 of 9 results