Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Toyota of Lincoln Park

Chicago, IL

3.3
110 Reviews

1561 N Fremont St

Chicago, IL

60642

Directions

110 Reviews of Toyota of Lincoln Park

Sort by
July 13, 2021

"My advice: I feel like you shouldn't go in this place..."

- vagabondchicago

My advice: I feel like you shouldn't go in this place without getting an exact quote and fees before you even go in. Misc car buying tip: never get extended warranties. Of any type. There are laws that require them to give you a warranty, just don't mess with the car much. But the extended stuff, they never get used. If you do need it, then you're probably an idiot. But then you'll probably never figure out how to use it. And the dealership will put up a fight every time. Never worth it. That's just extra commission there. I'm not exactly sure what the deal is with this place. They were recommended to me. The owner's are supposed to be awesome people. But I got the runaround for almost 4 hours while they were checking for inventory at other dealers for a specific type of car. They kept telling me they had the car, and they just needed to get their "connections" to "hook it up." My salesman, who was actually pretty nice, and was noticeably new to what I (retrospectively) call a schemey theme, kept repeating that the car I wanted was selling for more than $10,000 to $12,000 above MSRP, plus taxes and fees (which apparently includes gargantuan CoViD fees). I responded by telling him that wasn't my experience at other dealerships, who were *trying* (and not succeeding) to get me to go for about $2,000 above MSRP. $10-12k was... annoying to hear. They ended up not being able to find the car I wanted, but they told me, "it's just taking a long time to get ahold of them; we'll get back to you later." It' has been four days of waiting now, and I haven't heard a word from them. Except for these vexing "quality assurance" survey calls. From everything I've gathered, a car that would inventory for $46,684, MSRP $50,475, they intended to charge me about $65,000-$70,000. Maybe even more given these several thousand dollar B.S. covid fees. Either way, it's most likely at least a ~$20,000-$25,000 markup above inventory price or ~40% above what it cost them. That's like the markup you see on prescription drugs, except dealers don't have to pay for the R&D. Their service is only selling it to you. But playing devil's advocate, I should add that the car and trim I want is moderately hard to find, but the car that I put a deposit down for (at a different dealership) is sitting at another dealership (for three weeks now) unable to sell. So the demand can't be that high. Anyway, I found the car I want, and I'm getting it for exactly MSRP, plus a doc fee and taxes. I think the better dealer's angle is that they'll make more money fixing my car over the years, but they're not forcing me to do anything. I believe that the management at the dealership in question would never imagine giving a fair deal. I think these people are sharks. Look around at other dealerships! I've left a nice review for another one. Be extremely cautious about going to this dealership. Maybe this is the experience you get with just the model I wanted, but think that this is how they standardly conduct their business. They are the lowest-rated Toyota Dealership in the Chicago Area, and I think it may be for a less than nice reason. I feel a sort of bad for writing this review because people I know who bought cars here 5-10 years ago, who had great experiences and didn't get ripped off. But I think a lot has changed in that time, given my experiencce and many other reviews. From what I can figure out on the internet, the owners are supposed to be super nice and not greedy - they're sitting pretty no matter what you spend. It's just this management team that's greedy.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
multiple employees
Jul 16, 2021 -

Toyota of Lincoln Park responded

Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns. We want to assure you of our open and honest business practices. Please reach out to us at themanagementteam@leaderauto.com in order to discuss this further. We would appreciate another opportunity. Thank you. The Management Team (themanagementteam@leaderauto.com)

July 03, 2021

"Made appointment on line for car. Called dales. Car..."

- Bill.muckler

Made appointment on line for car. Called dales. Car listed at 23000. Sales said there would be an additional charge of 600 and some odd dollars for licensing and title. Also that my tax would be determined by the county I live in. I arrived at the dealership after 2 hour drive. Spent and hour with sales person and then set down with finance to purchase the car. I had 15000 to put down on a 23000 car. After some 30 minutes finance came back with out the door price of 35000 dollars.This happened Sat July 2, 2021. These are very dishonest people. Take your business to another dealer. Huge red flag.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Melinda Lee and Finance Nanaget
Jul 06, 2021 -

Toyota of Lincoln Park responded

We do our best to give outstanding service to our guests, and your recent experience with us saddens us. We have taken note of everything you wrote in this review so that our team can learn from it, and we are hoping that you would give us the chance to rectify the situation. Please reach out to us at themanagementteam@leaderauto.com so we can address your concerns appropriately. We look forward to hearing from you, Bill. The Management Team, themanagementteam@leaderauto.com

July 03, 2021

"So I drive an hour today to see this high mileage Lexus..."

- njlacom

So I drive an hour today to see this high mileage Lexus LS 460 for $24,997. Every website it’s listed on clearly states the price plus tax, title, doc, plate fee. The usual right? Wrong…when it came down to talk numbers they added on another $3600+ for a “chemical” they use in airplanes for “covid” along with a “dealer prep fee”. Dealer prep fee is a joke people it’s not a buyers responsibility to absorb this cost..I jumped out of my chair like I saw a ghost and walked. Front desk guy then tells me it’s listed on the website..wrong it clearly is not, and it’s not on Autotrader either. I have been to multiple dealerships today and told them what these people are trying to do and they all thought it was wrong and shady like myself. They will act like they are trying to protect the public from covid with this scheme, it’s an insult to those who are vaccinated and also are well aware of how long the virus lives on certain surfaces and environments. It’s disgusting they are doing this. !!!!!!!!!!BEWARE OF THIS DEALER!!!!!!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sam
Jul 06, 2021 -

Toyota of Lincoln Park responded

We always aim for client satisfaction and are saddened by what happened. Though we cannot change what happened, we hope you will give us a chance to make things right. Please contact us at themanagementteam@leaderauto.com at your earliest convenience. We look forward to hearing from you and earning back your trust. The Management Team, themanagementteam@leaderauto.com

June 18, 2021

"Thank you Pam!I could freely say that this was my best..."

- Jimmy.carkaxhiu

Thank you Pam! I could freely say that this was my best experience while dealing with the car dealer, great and outstanding customer service. Jimmy C

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Pam
Jun 30, 2021 -

Toyota of Lincoln Park responded

Hello Jimmy, thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and five-star rating. We are glad to hear about your experience with us at Toyota of Lincoln Park. Have a great day! The Management Team, themanagementteam@leaderauto.com

June 12, 2021

"I am very impressed with this dealership. I was treated..."

- friar paul

I am very impressed with this dealership. I was treated with courtesy and professionalism. The whole process was very seamless, especially since we purchased our vehicle for our non-profit organization. Kosta was very helpful and not pushy. I would definitely recommend them.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
kosta, Henry Martinez
Jun 30, 2021 -

Toyota of Lincoln Park responded

Thank you for your five-star review, Friar. The Toyota of Lincoln Park team is delighted we could serve you well and would be excited to have you back! The Management Team, themanagementteam@leaderauto.com

April 29, 2021

"I bought my first car in 15 yrs at Leader Toyota. My..."

- Cindy

I bought my first car in 15 yrs at Leader Toyota. My expectations in this purchase were very high. I had some issues with my new car and with the help of Wayne Winkleman, Service Manager, he exceeded all my expectations.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Wayne W.
April 23, 2021

"What a change, I highly recommend this dealership with..."

- Fred

What a change, I highly recommend this dealership with the addition of Wayne Winkleman. Bringing professionalism with a friendly atmosphere to the Toyota Brand. This dealership get my 5 stars

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Wayne Winkleman
October 18, 2020

"I OWE THIS DEALERSHIP AN APOLOGY for a negative review I..."

- Ms. Judy

I OWE THIS DEALERSHIP AN APOLOGY for a negative review I gave them in mid-August. I believed they sold me a Toyota Camry in 2018 (formerly Grossinger Toyota) that had the odometer rolled back because the State of tagged my VIN number as such when I registered the vehicle in GA which caused Carfax to red flag the car as a salvage title vehicle. After 6 weeks of research (due to three relevant state administrative offices being closed), I finally got to bottom of to the bottom of the issued. This dealer was NOT cupable for the mistake. Rather, the dealers representative, Amanda Benyamin, was professional and polite when she helped me to correct the situation. I would HIGHLY recommend using this dealer for your purchasing or servicing needs!

Read More
Customer Service
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Amanda Benyamin
September 17, 2020

"Great customer service by Pamela. No pressure to by all..."

- Trinity

Great customer service by Pamela. No pressure to by all those crazy up sell nonsense features. They went strait to the out the door price. Got to test drive the car for a nice while with no pressure. The manager did run my credit which I didnt want however my credit union was swamped and it took them a while to get things right. It wasn't the dealerships fault.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Pamela
August 26, 2020

"Leased a truck from the they where to payoff my trade in,..."

- legday1973

Leased a truck from the they where to payoff my trade in, they where over a month late, 2.5 months I cant plate it

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Alan GM won't return call, Hilda, sales mgr all are horrible
1
...
1 - 10 of 110 results