Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

University Ford Durham

Durham, NC

3.3
24 Reviews

5001 Durham Chapel Hill Boulevard

Durham, NC

27707

Directions

24 Reviews of University Ford Durham

Sort by
September 16, 2021

"We recently purchased a 2011 Ford Edge, and five days..."

- imvickieb

We recently purchased a 2011 Ford Edge, and five days after bringing it home, it is in the shop for about $1000 worth of repairs. Dumb luck had the door ajar sensor fail and stay on even though the door is fully closed. I had to get that fixed due to the battery draining that can accompany the problem. (It's a known potential problem with ford edge vehicles). I had noticed that the brake pedal was a bit squishy and "off," but I didn't know if I was just hyper-aware due to a recent car accident I had with my previous Edge. The mechanic felt the braking issue too when he moved the car into the garage to investigate the door sensor and determined that the master brake cylinder was not working as it was supposed to. You had to push the brake pedal almost to the floor to get the car to stop entirely. Due to the age of the vehicle, it came with no warranty and was an "as is" vehicle. I contacted the dealer about the issue, but they wanted me to bring the car to them to investigate it. I understand that, but it was a 40-minute drive on a major highway with brakes that weren't working as they should. No, thank you. The dealership should have discovered this problem before letting it off the lot, as this could have become a dangerous safety issue. If you are looking for a new car or a more current used car, University Ford Durham is probably okay, but I would suggest that you look elsewhere if you are looking for an older used vehicle. Used Car Buyer Beware!

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Omar
September 06, 2021

"I scheduled a used car test drive on the Labor day..."

- Marc

I scheduled a used car test drive on the Labor day weekend and was welcomed by Omar, He was very professional, kind and we were able to take our time to completely review the vehicle. I was not planning to buy a vehicle on that day but we were able to settle on a deal that was reasonable for both parties. From my experience, I would highly recommend University Ford in Durham NC.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Omar
May 29, 2021

"Mr. Ron Johnson worked with me with purchasing a 2019..."

- familtytime

Mr. Ron Johnson worked with me with purchasing a 2019 explorer. He was very professional, Answered all my questions. Made the sale smoothly. 5 st

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ron Johnson
5.0
Mario Mejia
5.0
May 12, 2021

"Mr. Ron Johnson was excellent in assisting me with the..."

- Robert

Mr. Ron Johnson was excellent in assisting me with the purchase of my F-150 XLT. He went the full distance in making sure my family and I had a rental vehicle while the truck was in transit. Ron even allowed me to use his own personal vehicle one day I had a personal appointment, as all rental vehicles were out on loan. Once the rentals came back in he was right there getting me back into another vehicle while my truck was in transit. Ron shows the exemplary customer service that all your support staff should emulate. Thanks again Ron from the Robinson family. Ron was also excellent in all aspects of the review as I see one five star was not completed but should be 5 stars.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ron Johnson
5.0
May 06, 2021

"What can I say... I came to the dealership with low..."

- JMayl

What can I say... I came to the dealership with low expectations on getting a new car but Ron Johnson had other plans!!!! Ron worked and tweaked and worked some magic until they came back with the paperwork and I am now the proud owner of a new car! Thank you Ron for everything!!!! Thank you University Ford of Durham!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ron Johnson
5.0
April 09, 2021

"I just purchased my first Caravan with Ron Johnson he was..."

- sskinner738

I just purchased my first Caravan with Ron Johnson he was very very helpful though the whole process and even gave me a call after I bought it to make sure I was 100% satisfied. In the future when it's time for another one I will. e coming back here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ron Johnson
5.0
Mario Mejia
5.0
March 12, 2021

"We had an excellent experience. Cash was extremely..."

- Kerry Q

We had an excellent experience. Cash was extremely helpful. He was so knowledgeable about the vehicles that we asked to see. He helped us choose vehicles in our correct price point. There were no high pressure sales. The gentleman in finance was kind and knowledgeable. The buying process was expedient. This was our first purchase at University Ford and our first Ford. This is my 8th new car purchase. This was the best experience by far. I would highly recommend this dealership!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Cash
January 29, 2021

"If I could I would give 0 stars but unfortunately can..."

- engin.uyan

If I could I would give 0 stars but unfortunately can not. From the check in to the check out it was a terrible experience. As if they were doing me a favor by trying to find out what was wrong with my car which was included in the extended warranty they sold. The recall that they needed to take care of I do not even know if they did. It is still marked as recall in car max file. The rust issue that I had in front of the hood, supposedly they were waiting for an approval of the claim and yes it has been three months I have not heard anything from them yet. The warranty has to cover that rust problem but still waiting for the approval I guess. Terrible, terrible experience. Selling and dealing a car is one thing but standing behind what you sell is what we need. Already contacted Ford about this experience and still waiting to hear from them as well. There are many other Ford Dealers out there people trust me.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
do not know the name
January 23, 2021

"I reached out to Adam after reading favorable reviews on..."

- TruckGuy3531

I reached out to Adam after reading favorable reviews on here. All of my correspondence was through email, which was nice to keep everything tracked and organized. Adam was always very cordial in his responses. His responses were anywhere from 45min to 4days after my requests. Twice I had to ping him to keep the discussion going. I requested several times for a quote to get the vehicle inspected for CPO as well as requested to ensure the truck had all of the factory recall service was taken care of before the sale. Neither seemed like difficult requests. I asked for these in my 2nd email. 11 days later I finally got an assurance that the service work would be done. 13 days after initially reaching out, i sent my final email. 14 days after initially reaching out, i received a notice from CarGurus that the truck was no longer listed. I still haven't gotten a quote for the CPO nor have i been informed that the vehicle was sold. So unfortunate.... To Adam's defense, i think he may have gotten sick in the middle of all this. I pinged him at one point and he passed my info to another salesman (who was unhelpful and unresponsive). I really liked the vehicle they had and was hopeful to make a deal.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Adam Pitts
2.0
October 28, 2020

"I don't even know where to begin!! Since a week after..."

- NeverAgain

I don't even know where to begin!! Since a week after trading in my truck, I've got nothing but the run around from these people especially Zeke Hinton I've called so many times, left messages or have just been told he's not in the office or he's with another client!! I've never in my life had to jump through hoops and goals to get my trade in paid off NEED I MENTION THEY ALREADY SOLD IT AT AUCTION yet want pay of my loan that I had on the trade in, which by the way I was switching my tags over from my other truck to the new truck BUT GUESS WHAT IT ISN'T CLEARED IN THE SYSTEM AS IT'S PAID OFF SO THEREFORE I HAVE INSURANCE ON THE NEW TRUCK BUT TAGS OHHH THEY BELONG TO MY OTHER VEHICHLE OH WAIT IT GETS BETTER ZEKE TOLD US THERE WANT BE ANY ISSUE WILL SWITCH THEM OUT NO PROBLEM AND WE WOULDN'T NEED A DEALERS TAG OR A 30 DAY TEMP SO I GUESS IT'S OK TO RIDE AROUND ILLEGAL THESE DAYS. SO NOW I HAVE 2 TRUCK PAYMENTS COMING DUE SCRATCH THAT 3 TWO OF WHICH ARE ON MY TRADE IN TRUCK AND 1 ON THE NEW VEHICLE THAT I PURCHASED WITH THESE GUYS. The only good thing that came out of this deal in a ratings kind of way is was our sales guy Adam now he differently needs a raise he is xxxx good at his job and he always answers or returns my phone calls even if it's only to tell me Zeke is "BUSY"

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Adam Pitts
5.0
Zeke Hinton
1.0
1
1 - 10 of 24 results