Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Start your review of James Howald.
James Howald
James Howald at Germain Honda of Dublin
4.8

James Howald

Business Manager

Germain Honda of Dublin

6715 Sawmill Rd
Dublin, OH 43017

Contact Me

Hello, I’m James Howald, Business Manager for Germain Honda of Dublin. My career in the automotive industry began in 2005 with me transitioning into the financing aspect in 2007 and joining the Germain team in 2017. I bring with me a prior Honda background as well as the core values of honor, courage, and commitment from my service in the USMC. I’m dedicated to providing each guest a quality experience as well as treating them like my own family. Born and raised in Mansfield, OH my favorite thing is the people. I graduated from Madison HS. Life, in general, guided me to the Columbus area. My wife Lindsey and I have a daughter Peyton and in my free time, I enjoy fishing, camping and of course sports. I’m an avid NFL and NBA fan. My favorite vacation escape is Charleston, SC it’s full of our countries history. No one knows but I’m an artist, I enjoy oil painting. My favorite Honda is the Ridgeline, truck bed and drives like a car.I look forward to helping you with your next purchase.

Call
Email

130 Reviews of James Howald

November 14, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Kelly was so personable and made us feel at ease with our..."

- Hcherry

Kelly was so personable and made us feel at ease with our purchase. He truly listen to our needs and what we wanted in a vehicle and we couldn’t be more happier! This by far was the BEST car buying experience I have had in my entire life! I will definitely recommend Kelly to all my family and friends! From Kelly in sales and James H. in finance they made for a dynamic team for my family! Thanks again for everything!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Kayla Wicker, Kelly Hettinga

Nov 15, 2019

Germain Honda of Dublin responded

Here at Germain Honda of Dublin, our guests are our top priority. We work hard to ensure your complete happiness by providing an informed and personable car buying experience. We wish you and your family many safe and pleasurable driving miles in your new car. Best Regards, Craig Ferguson General Manager

October 21, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Honest friendly service"

- D. Shick

This is our second car purchased through Germain. We returned to the dealership when needing a second vehicle- based solely on the experience we had with our salesman, Matt Schindler. He made sure we were comfortable in the car we were looking at and helped us through the process. Would highly recommend this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Matt Shindler

Oct 22, 2019

Germain Honda of Dublin responded

Thank you for your return business and for sharing your trust and confidence in Matt. Your kind recommendation of Matt is truly appreciated. Best Regards, Craig Ferguson General Manager

October 14, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Purchase of used Honda Pilot"

- TJR

After visiting several dealerships, we were happy to see the vehicles were clean and there was sufficient used inventory for us to compare years, models, and mileages. Our salesperson, Nishi Patel, was knowledgeable without being pushy. We are very happy with both our vehicle and experience!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Nishi Patel

Oct 15, 2019

Germain Honda of Dublin responded

Congratulations on your new car. We thank you for allowing Nishi the opportunity to assist you with your recent automotive needs. Best Regards, Craig Ferguson General Manager

October 08, 2019

Dealership Rating

"Horrible Customer Service "

- Dnoble

Please save yourself the time, frustration, and the hassle and do NOT purchase a vehicle from here. I am BEYOND frustrated could not be more dissatisfied with the lousy customer service I received from Germain, I would NOT recommend them to anyone. I purchased a used vehicle from them exactly 1 month ago (9/10/19). I was incorrectly charged for the sales tax on the vehicle I purchased. The purchase agreement I signed had the correct sales tax amount, (7%) yet when I signed the papers with the finance associate, it was higher than 7%. I noticed the next day (9/11/19) and called my salesmen to bring this to his attention. After calling and leaving several voicemails for my salesman, he finally called me back and confirmed that the sales tax should be 7%, which is what the purchase agreement stated, and told me Germain would be sending me a check in the mail to make up for the difference. Here it is 1 month later and I still have NOT received the check for difference they owe me, from a mistake they made! I have called endless times and even started asking to speak to a manager in finance, since none of the finance associates I spoke with could help me. I literally called Germain every single day last week and left a voicemail every time I called. Only 1 person called me back out of all the times I left a voicemail. This business manager once again passed me along to someone else. I still do NOT have the check for the money they owe me and I am done wasting my time calling trying to get it. This is absolutely ridiculous and unacceptable. I will NEVER give them my business again, this is by far the WORST customer experience I have ever received.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Jerry Atkinson, Matthew Fike

Oct 09, 2019

Germain Honda of Dublin responded

We sincerely apologize for the delay and inconvenience. Your refund check was mailed on 10/8, Best Regards, Craig Ferguson General Manager

September 09, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Salesman Woody Woodrow great, Business mgr James Howald not "

- MBDRVR

I found a vehicle for my teen son (almost 20) online, contacted dealership and got in touch with Woody Woodrow. He was very knowledgeable, professional and had great customer service skills. The test drive was arranged and went smooth, we agreed to purchase the car on the spot. I had already received a preapproval letter from my credit union for more than the car was worth prior to going in. After agreeing to the terms, we were told to wait for business manager James Howald to finish the transaction paperwork. After waiting for about 30 minutes for the business manager, he came over and motioned for us to follow him. At no point did James Howald congratulate, or mention the point we were buying a new car, or spending any money in the dealership. He never addressed my 19 year old son at all and this was HIS car. We sat down and felt very rushed with just handing me paperwork and pointing to where to sign. Then he mentioned coming back tomorrow to pick up the car. I was confused and said.,We intended to take the car today. He said "you dont have financing, you cant just take the car" I said I have a preapproval letter which I handed him, and was told you just fax the invoice to them and they will get you the funds. He said " we never fax, we email, this must be a small bank" , and "I dont know any bank that is still open right now." He corrected me several times and at one point I was so mad I almost told him to keep the car. If my son wasn't happy about the car I would have walked out. He told me my sales guy can figure all of that out. I said, "hes with another client now", and asked if I had to wait again for him to become available? He said yes. I asked "wouldn't you do a 24 hour test drive in this case?" He said no. I left the room and told Woody how James behaved and obviously wants to go home and we are bothering him by having him do his job. James Howald is in need of some customer service training. Ex: " Hey how are you folks doing today? Who's car is this you're buying? Wow! Congratulations Man, thats a nice car."

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Woody Woodrow

Oct 08, 2019

MBDRVR responded

Thanks for the update and explanation of what a bank preapproval was, which I knew. I was told you've had complaints about the Finance guy before. Anyway, In my life, I have purchased 4 new Toyotas, a new Chevrolet, a Honda, a SAAB, and 2 new Mercedes Benz from other dealerships, and several have let me take the cars overnight for various reasons, to make sure the car fit in the garage, etc. . . Sorry for being too risky to allow to take the car home after all paperwork, identification and insurance proof was done, and the only thing needed was your place to fax the bank. Customer service is lacking here and I wont be back.

Sep 11, 2019

Germain Honda of Dublin responded

We’re sorry for your experience. This is not the typical interaction that our customers have with Mr. Howald. That said, he was not incorrect in that we cannot allow a car to leave the lot until it is paid for and we have a company policy against overnight test drives. Unfortunately, a pre-approval is not payment for a vehicle. Instead, this is the bank informing the customer of their buying power and the dealership of their intention to finance a loan with the customer. However, once the actual loan documents specific to the car selected and with the finalized purchased numbers are signed at the customer’s lending institution, that lender will furnish the customer with either an actual check or a security agreement. This would satisfy payment for the vehicle, at which time we would be able to release the car. Hopefully, this clarifies any confusion. Thanks for your business, and congrats to your son! Best Regards, Craig Ferguson General Manager

September 05, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Purchase of used Odyssey "

- Julie Michael

Isiah was patient, friendly and knowledgeable. Did not make me feel bad for sticking to a budget. Appreciated his understanding and respect. James was knowledgeable as well and made the paperwork/ financial process a breeze. Reputable staff - will definitely recommend!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Isaiah Bello

Sep 06, 2019

Germain Honda of Dublin responded

Thank you for choosing Germain Honda of Dublin for your automotive needs. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to building a long and lasting relationship. Best Regards, Craig Ferguson General Manager

September 05, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Kelly was very personable"

- nateneumeyer

I felt that Kelly was very personable and did not add any pressure. He made my car buying experience simple and easy. He made sure that I was comfortable and did not rush me through the process.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Kelly Hettinga

Sep 06, 2019

Germain Honda of Dublin responded

Simple and easy, exactly as car buying should be. Enjoy the road in your new ride. Best Regards, Craig Ferguson General Manager

September 04, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"TERRIBLE DEARLERSHIP "

- shanell

I purchased a honda accord on 6/19/19 and i was given a 45 temp tag and was told that my financing was done by capital one and 45 days later i contact the dealership to see whats going on cause capital one said they have no loan for me and that is when i was told that capital one fax machine was supposedly down and they never received the paper work so they made me come back up to the dealership do sign more paperwork and was given a 30 day tag and now here i am with a another expired 30 day that expired on 8/31/19 and i came back to the dealership only to find out that jackson speakman dont know whats going on and there is supposedly no manager around that can help me so now i'm leaving the dealership with expired tags and all they can tell me is they should be receiving the memorandum in 7-10 days and capital one is saying that they don't have loan. I will never go there again this was my first car and it has been a nightmare

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Jackson Speakman

Sep 09, 2019

shanell responded

ok But I still dont have tags for my car and capital one is saying they have no paperwork for the loan so I have a car with no memorandum and you have taken my lexus and I have no car to drive and all you can tell me is your trying to fund the loan this is not right so I see now that I need to take the next step thank you

Sep 09, 2019

Germain Honda of Dublin responded

Thank you for your business and feedback. We did our best to handle the delays in funding and the challenges presented by the lending institution. We obviously have every incentive to make sure a loan funds in a timely manner, as this is how we’re paid. Delays in funding mean our inventory is being driven without having been paid for. Best Regards, Craig Ferguson General Manager

August 14, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"1st car purchase for my son"

- Bigbear

Kelly was great to work with as he helped my son navigate through his 1st car purchase and especially since we arrived at closing time!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Kelly Hettinga

Aug 16, 2019

Germain Honda of Dublin responded

Our goal is your complete satisfaction. Thank you for sharing Kelly and our team's commitment to providing our guest with a quality experience. Best Regards, Craig Ferguson General Manager

August 11, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Easy and simple car shopping process. "

- JesseG

Kelly made the car shopping process simple. He was very friendly and personable. He let me lead the way with what cars I wanted to look at and drive and went out of his way to fulfill a few requests I had on the car I ended up purchasing. Very happy with my overall experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Kelly Hettinga

Aug 12, 2019

Germain Honda of Dublin responded

Thank you for letting us know that Kelly took excellent care of you. We know you are going to enjoy the ownership of your new vehicle. Best Regards, Craig Ferguson General Manager

1
...
1 - 10 of 130 results

Dealership Inventory (601 Vehicles)

New 2019 Honda Ridgeline car, priced at $37,995

2019 Honda Ridgeline

$37,995

New 2019 Honda Insight car, priced at $23,725

2019 Honda Insight

$23,725

New 2019 Honda Insight car, priced at $24,955

2019 Honda Insight

$24,955

New 2019 Honda Insight car, priced at $24,955

2019 Honda Insight

$24,955

New 2019 Honda Ridgeline car, priced at $37,765

2019 Honda Ridgeline

$37,765

New 2019 Honda Accord car, priced at $24,640

2019 Honda Accord

$24,640

New 2019 Honda Accord car, priced at $31,630

2019 Honda Accord

$31,630

New 2019 Honda Civic car, priced at $21,170

2019 Honda Civic

$21,170