About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Learn more

A-1 Toyota

50 Amity Road, New Haven, Connecticut 06515
Sales: (800) 668-4023
Service: (203) 387-6691
Parts: (203) 389-1521

Makes: Toyota | Scion | Service Center

Showroom Hours: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Excellent
97% Recommend
4.8

290 Lifetime Reviews

A-1 Toyota

Hours: Closed

50 Amity Road,
New Haven, Connecticut 06515
A-1 Toyota Info
Hours
Amenities
About A-1 Toyota

In the early 60’s, the owners of a local garage received a postcard announcing the production of a new four-wheel drive vehicle. At the time, the automotive industry was producing only one other vehicle in this category, so the owners thought this might be a good opportunity to introduce a new four-wheel drive vehicle that they would be able to sell as well as service. The postcard was answered and the response was the founding of the first Toyota dealership in New England and the beginning of what has become a very successful endeavor for Dominic Galardi, Anthony Buglione and A-1 Toyota. The history of A-1 Service began before this. In January of 1951, Dom joined his father-in-law, Tony Buglione in a partnership that included a gas station and used cars. The station was located on the corner of Olive Street and St. John in New Haven. In the late 1950’s, a new highway system was breaking through the neighborhood, people started moving to the suburbs, and with the limited space they had already outgrown, A-1 looked for a new location. The new site they chose was in East Haven. The partnership grew to include Dominic’s brother, Andrew. Their new location, occupying a city block on Main Street and the sign reading A-1 Auto Service, Inc., became a landmark for many. In 1963, A-1 completed the building of the first Toyota showroom on the East Coast. In 1966, just three years after opening their dealership, A-1 became the second largest Toyota dealership in the country. Toyota’s line-up featured only two vehicles at the time, the four-wheel drive Land Cruiser and one of the first economy cars, the Tiara. Over the years, A-1 Toyota continued to grow and in 1980 moved to their current location on Amity Road in New Haven adding the Dodge franchise that dueled with Toyota until 1990. A-1 Toyota’s line-up looks far different than it did in 1963, but the basis for a successful business has continued. The business is still owned by the same family, and Domin

About This Dealer | Hours of Operation | Amenities

About A-1 Toyota

In the early 60’s, the owners of a local garage received a postcard announcing the production of a new four-wheel drive vehicle. At the time, the automotive industry was producing only one other vehicle in this category, so the owners thought this might be a good opportunity to introduce a new four-wheel drive vehicle that they would be able to sell as well as service. The postcard was answered and the response was the founding of the first Toyota dealership in New England and the beginning of what has become a very successful endeavor for Dominic Galardi, Anthony Buglione and A-1 Toyota. The history of A-1 Service began before this. In January of 1951, Dom joined his father-in-law, Tony Buglione in a partnership that included a gas station and used cars. The station was located on the corner of Olive Street and St. John in New Haven. In the late 1950’s, a new highway system was breaking through the neighborhood, people started moving to the suburbs, and with the limited space they had already outgrown, A-1 looked for a new location. The new site they chose was in East Haven. The partnership grew to include Dominic’s brother, Andrew. Their new location, occupying a city block on Main Street and the sign reading A-1 Auto Service, Inc., became a landmark for many. In 1963, A-1 completed the building of the first Toyota showroom on the East Coast. In 1966, just three years after opening their dealership, A-1 became the second largest Toyota dealership in the country. Toyota’s line-up featured only two vehicles at the time, the four-wheel drive Land Cruiser and one of the first economy cars, the Tiara. Over the years, A-1 Toyota continued to grow and in 1980 moved to their current location on Amity Road in New Haven adding the Dodge franchise that dueled with Toyota until 1990. A-1 Toyota’s line-up looks far different than it did in 1963, but the basis for a successful business has continued. The business is still owned by the same family, and Domin

Sales/Showroom

Monday 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Tuesday 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Wednesday 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Thursday 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Friday 9:00 AM - 7:30 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Service

Monday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Parts

Monday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Sunday Closed

  • Customer Lounge Area
  • Drive-In Service
  • Free Coffee
  • Free WiFi
  • Television
  • Full Service Cafe
291 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
Karamo Kourouma
10/01/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Great Experience"

From start to finish, Patrick was superb in handling my purchase. If you need a new car, this is the place to go. Best Dealer in town

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Roll tide
10/01/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Danielle was fantastic get vehicle from her at A-1"

Danielle has excellent customer service. She did a awesome job helping me find the right car. She is very smart and can't help you find any car that fits your need

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
KristenM
9/30/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Great experience!"

I recently ended a lease from Honda to purchase a Rav4. A1 made this transition very easy. Danielle Taylor and Angel Ramos were very helpful and personable. Danielle even came in on her day off when I picked up my car. The dealership is honest and they are not pushy salesmen/women.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Parrotheadpete
9/29/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"First New Car"

Patrick Campbell took a great deal of time to explain the A-1 buying process and answered all of my questions and concerns. He worked diligently to ensure that I had the best buying experience, and followed through completely on everything. I had an excellent buying experience as a result of Patrick's attentiveness and hard work. I would extend Patrick and the A-1 team my highest recommendation.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Amandamarie0831
9/29/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Great experience."

First time buyer. No hassle, quick, easy, & painless. Great staff, super friendly especially Kevin and Hatian. All said and done process with the deal I wanted in 2 hours:)

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Sciguyct
9/28/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Quick service, great people, and an even better price!"

Our sales person, Quincy Smith, listened to our wants and needs for a new vehicle and was able to get us more than we wanted at the exact price we were looking to pay. The entire experience was pressure free and they gave us plenty of options to fit our needs. We will be shopping here for our next car!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Marilyn110
9/27/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Easiest experience ever buying a new car!"

My experience was easy from start to finish. I went to A-1 knowing exactly what I wanted and what I hoped to pay. They worked with me to get the options I wanted, the color and all the extra features. The process was really very simple from start to finish. The salesman explained all the features of A-1 and was very congenial and pleasant to work with. I am extremely satisfied with my experience here

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Nievesnieves2000
9/26/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Made me feel as part of the family "

This dealership is by far the best experience I've had shopping for cars with the best results, they went the extra mile to get us a great affordable deal , AWESOME!!!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Carlos Orozco

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
ratedeal14
9/20/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Exceeded my expectations!"

I gave an excellent rating for A-1"s Toyota's sales Representative Kevin Wright because he exceeded my expectations! I am completely happy with my Toyota Corolla! I will recommend any family, friend or co-worker to A-1 Toyota!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Maureen
9/17/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Efficient, professional, accommodating & friendly!"

A-1 Toyota is a great place to purchase a car! The staff is friendly, efficient, professional and accommodating! Over the years, I purchased 3 cars from A-1 and would never consider going any where else! Thank you, A-1, for your great service.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
1
...
1 - 10 of 291 results
Recently Reviewed Employees
Reviews of Kevin Wright
Kevin Wright

Sales Consultant

18 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Mitchell Burban
Mitchell Burban

Sales Consultant

14 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Carlos Orozco
Carlos Orozco

Business Manager

69 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Hatim Yousef
Hatim Yousef

Sales Manager

15 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Angel Ramos
Angel Ramos

Business Manager

56 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Quincy Smith
Quincy Smith

Sales Consultant

90 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Paul Wright
Paul Wright

Business Manager

40 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Patrick Campbell
Patrick Campbell

Sales Consultant

9 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Luigi D'Aria
Luigi D'Aria

Sales Consultant

8 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of David Bryce
David Bryce

Sales Consultant

17 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
View All Inventory
2015 Toyota Corolla

Price$19,615

Mileage 0

Exterior ColorBlack

Interior ColorAsh Fabric Seat Trim

2015 Toyota Rav4

Price$26,190

Mileage 0

Exterior ColorSilver

Interior ColorBlk Fabric W/ Off-Rd Pck

2015 Toyota Prius

Price$25,645

Mileage 0

Exterior ColorWhite

Interior ColorMisty Gry Fabric

2015 Toyota Corolla

Price$19,615

Mileage 0

Exterior ColorN/A

Interior ColorAmber Fabric Seat Trim

2015 Toyota Corolla

Price$19,615

Mileage 0

Exterior ColorN/A

Interior ColorIvory Fabric Seat Trim

2015 Toyota Rav4

Price$26,190

Mileage 0

Exterior ColorBrown

Interior ColorBlk Fabric W/ Off-Rd Pck

2015 Toyota Corolla

Price$19,615

Mileage 0

Exterior ColorN/A

Interior ColorAsh Fabric Seat Trim

2015 Toyota Corolla

Price$19,615

Mileage 0

Exterior ColorGray

Interior ColorAsh Fabric Seat Trim

The report has been submitted to DealerRater support. To view the status of the report at any time, save this link.