About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Learn more

A-1 Toyota

50 Amity Road, New Haven, Connecticut 06515
Sales: (800) 668-4023
Service: (203) 387-6691
Parts: (203) 389-1521

Makes: Toyota | Scion | Service Center

Showroom Hours: 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM Closed

Excellent
97% Recommend
4.8

159 Lifetime Reviews

A-1 Toyota

Hours: Closed

50 Amity Road,
New Haven, Connecticut 06515
A-1 Toyota Info
Hours
Amenities
About A-1 Toyota

In the early 60’s, the owners of a local garage received a postcard announcing the production of a new four-wheel drive vehicle. At the time, the automotive industry was producing only one other vehicle in this category, so the owners thought this might be a good opportunity to introduce a new four-wheel drive vehicle that they would be able to sell as well as service. The postcard was answered and the response was the founding of the first Toyota dealership in New England and the beginning of what has become a very successful endeavor for Dominic Galardi, Anthony Buglione and A-1 Toyota. The history of A-1 Service began before this. In January of 1951, Dom joined his father-in-law, Tony Buglione in a partnership that included a gas station and used cars. The station was located on the corner of Olive Street and St. John in New Haven. In the late 1950’s, a new highway system was breaking through the neighborhood, people started moving to the suburbs, and with the limited space they had already outgrown, A-1 looked for a new location. The new site they chose was in East Haven. The partnership grew to include Dominic’s brother, Andrew. Their new location, occupying a city block on Main Street and the sign reading A-1 Auto Service, Inc., became a landmark for many. In 1963, A-1 completed the building of the first Toyota showroom on the East Coast. In 1966, just three years after opening their dealership, A-1 became the second largest Toyota dealership in the country. Toyota’s line-up featured only two vehicles at the time, the four-wheel drive Land Cruiser and one of the first economy cars, the Tiara. Over the years, A-1 Toyota continued to grow and in 1980 moved to their current location on Amity Road in New Haven adding the Dodge franchise that dueled with Toyota until 1990. A-1 Toyota’s line-up looks far different than it did in 1963, but the basis for a successful business has continued. The business is still owned by the same family, and Domin

About This Dealer | Hours of Operation | Amenities

About A-1 Toyota

In the early 60’s, the owners of a local garage received a postcard announcing the production of a new four-wheel drive vehicle. At the time, the automotive industry was producing only one other vehicle in this category, so the owners thought this might be a good opportunity to introduce a new four-wheel drive vehicle that they would be able to sell as well as service. The postcard was answered and the response was the founding of the first Toyota dealership in New England and the beginning of what has become a very successful endeavor for Dominic Galardi, Anthony Buglione and A-1 Toyota. The history of A-1 Service began before this. In January of 1951, Dom joined his father-in-law, Tony Buglione in a partnership that included a gas station and used cars. The station was located on the corner of Olive Street and St. John in New Haven. In the late 1950’s, a new highway system was breaking through the neighborhood, people started moving to the suburbs, and with the limited space they had already outgrown, A-1 looked for a new location. The new site they chose was in East Haven. The partnership grew to include Dominic’s brother, Andrew. Their new location, occupying a city block on Main Street and the sign reading A-1 Auto Service, Inc., became a landmark for many. In 1963, A-1 completed the building of the first Toyota showroom on the East Coast. In 1966, just three years after opening their dealership, A-1 became the second largest Toyota dealership in the country. Toyota’s line-up featured only two vehicles at the time, the four-wheel drive Land Cruiser and one of the first economy cars, the Tiara. Over the years, A-1 Toyota continued to grow and in 1980 moved to their current location on Amity Road in New Haven adding the Dodge franchise that dueled with Toyota until 1990. A-1 Toyota’s line-up looks far different than it did in 1963, but the basis for a successful business has continued. The business is still owned by the same family, and Domin

Sales/Showroom

Monday 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Tuesday 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Wednesday 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Thursday 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Friday 9:00 AM - 7:30 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Service

Monday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Parts

Monday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Sunday Closed

  • Customer Lounge Area
  • Drive-In Service
  • Free Coffee
  • Free WiFi
  • Television
  • Full Service Cafe
159 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
debbie
5/03/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Quincy is simply the best."

Quincy had the perfect blend of prompting us and allowing us to take our time to figure out which car we wanted, and when. He held our hands throughout, and guided us with clear expertise to the new blue Prius we adore, with just the trimmings we like. I hope only to buy cars with him in the future, and would say that to any car shopper on the planet.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
diana
4/27/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"friendly, professional, Quincy is great"

I have purchased and now leased several vehicles from Quincy. I have referred other customers and will return because of my positive experiences. I would recommend this dealership over others that are located closer to my home because of the customer service and family-like atmosphere.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
JoJo
4/20/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"17 years of beyond excellent service!"

Once again my experience with A-1 Toyota and Quincy Smith was exceptional! I have lease my last 6 vehicles from A-1 and have been dealing with Quincy Smith on 4 of them. He always goes above and beyond for me to make sure that I get the vehicle that is right for me and always answers all of my questions/concerns...he truly makes the whole experience awesome! Paul Wright did my final paperwork and he was a true professional with a smile! I also would like to mention that even after I have leased my vehicles and I am in A-1 for service, Quincy always takes the time to say hello and make me feel like a valued customer! I really can't imagine going any where else the next time around and I highly recommend this fine dealership and of course a great salesman like Quincy!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Ami123179
4/19/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Always a pleasant and easy leasing process!"

I recently leased my 5th Toyota, and I work with my salesperson, Quincy, every time. Quincy is personable, dependable, and always treats me as I would expect him to treat a family member. I feel like I'm in good hands and he works to make the car leasing process fit my family's needs and be as easy as possible. I would highly recommend visiting Quincy at A-1 Toyota when YOU are in the market for a new car.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Helen Riviere
4/13/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Excellent service! My salesman, Quincy Smith was terrific!"

I have been leasing Toyota cars for many years now. This was my first experience with Quincy Smith at A-1 Toyota. His knowledge, patience, and attention to all my needs was first rate. No question was left unanswered. He made me understand the choices and process from start to finish. I feel like I can call him with any issue that may arise with this new vehicle. I have been highly recommending him to family and friends!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Zouzou60
4/13/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Nothing but excellence in Quincy Smith! He is the BEST!"

I have bought several cars over many years from Quincy and every single time, I have been extremely satisfied not only with the car I bought but also with the whole process. He is still available to me whenever I need him to answer whatever question I ask him, no matter how simple or complex, I can always count on him. I trust Quincy and having bought cars for my children as well as myself over al these years, I could not ask for better! Thank you Quincy!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
wandacpic
4/13/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"4-time Rav 4 leasee! Great service!"

I have been working with A1 Toyota and Quincy Smith for many years now, and would not consider going anywhere else to lease or buy any vehicle. They have always exceeded my expectations!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
jca1386
4/05/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Great people and attention to detail!"

The thought of buying a new car is usually a stressful situation and something that we all avoid at all costs. I for one was pleasantly surprised and happy with my experience at the dealership. There was not one ounce of sales pressure as well an understanding of my needs from the word go. The employees and staff at A-1 are top notch and deserve that recognition! From the test drive to the pickup of the vehicle everything went smoothly and I look forward to buying my future vehicles from the fine folks at A-1.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Mara
3/21/2016
Reason For Visit
Service

"Always Satisfied.......Ms. Moodie"

I've received nothing but the best service from A1 Toyota. Mark Mastracchio is awesome. Efficient, polite, courteous and reliable. He's a great asset to this company. This is my 3rd Toyota dealership and by far THE ABSOLUTE BEST! Thank you Mark Mastracchio!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
LAP
3/21/2016
Reason For Visit
Service

"Best Service In Town"

I won't go to any other Toyota dealership or mechanic for service. Toyota keeps doing what they always do and that is being professional, knowledgeable and friendly. I never feel as if the "wool is being pulled over my eyes" when it comes to having things done to my car. I like and appreciate how they explain what and why things are being done. I would highly recommend A-1 Toyota!!!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
1
...
1 - 10 of 159 results
Recently Reviewed Employees
Reviews of Quincy Smith
Quincy Smith

Sales Consultant

67 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Carlos Orozco
Carlos Orozco

Business Manager

29 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Paul Wright
Paul Wright

Business Manager

26 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Angel Ramos
Angel Ramos

Business Manager

26 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Ken Perrone
Ken Perrone

Service Writer

9 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of David Bryce
David Bryce

Sales Consultant

4 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Mike Querfeld
Mike Querfeld

Service and Parts Director

9 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Shamus  Rahman
Shamus Rahman

Accessories

9 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of John Durrani
John Durrani

General Sales Manager

8 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Gary Dos Reis
Gary Dos Reis

Sales Manager

7 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory