About Us
Copyright 2015 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Learn more

A-1 Toyota

50 Amity Road, New Haven, Connecticut 06515
Sales: (800) 668-4023
Service: (203) 387-6691
Parts: (203) 389-1521

Makes: Scion|Toyota|Service Center

Showroom Hours: 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM Closed

Excellent
93% Recommend
4.7

94 Lifetime Reviews

A-1 Toyota

Hours: Closed

50 Amity Road,
New Haven, Connecticut 06515
A-1 Toyota Info
Hours
Amenities
About A-1 Toyota

In the early 60’s, the owners of a local garage received a postcard announcing the production of a new four-wheel drive vehicle. At the time, the automotive industry was producing only one other vehicle in this category, so the owners thought this might be a good opportunity to introduce a new four-wheel drive vehicle that they would be able to sell as well as service. The postcard was answered and the response was the founding of the first Toyota dealership in New England and the beginning of what has become a very successful endeavor for Dominic Galardi, Anthony Buglione and A-1 Toyota. The history of A-1 Service began before this. In January of 1951, Dom joined his father-in-law, Tony Buglione in a partnership that included a gas station and used cars. The station was located on the corner of Olive Street and St. John in New Haven. In the late 1950’s, a new highway system was breaking through the neighborhood, people started moving to the suburbs, and with the limited space they had already outgrown, A-1 looked for a new location. The new site they chose was in East Haven. The partnership grew to include Dominic’s brother, Andrew. Their new location, occupying a city block on Main Street and the sign reading A-1 Auto Service, Inc., became a landmark for many. In 1963, A-1 completed the building of the first Toyota showroom on the East Coast. In 1966, just three years after opening their dealership, A-1 became the second largest Toyota dealership in the country. Toyota’s line-up featured only two vehicles at the time, the four-wheel drive Land Cruiser and one of the first economy cars, the Tiara. Over the years, A-1 Toyota continued to grow and in 1980 moved to their current location on Amity Road in New Haven adding the Dodge franchise that dueled with Toyota until 1990. A-1 Toyota’s line-up looks far different than it did in 1963, but the basis for a successful business has continued. The business is still owned by the same family, and Domin

About This Dealer | Hours of Operation | Amenities

About A-1 Toyota

In the early 60’s, the owners of a local garage received a postcard announcing the production of a new four-wheel drive vehicle. At the time, the automotive industry was producing only one other vehicle in this category, so the owners thought this might be a good opportunity to introduce a new four-wheel drive vehicle that they would be able to sell as well as service. The postcard was answered and the response was the founding of the first Toyota dealership in New England and the beginning of what has become a very successful endeavor for Dominic Galardi, Anthony Buglione and A-1 Toyota. The history of A-1 Service began before this. In January of 1951, Dom joined his father-in-law, Tony Buglione in a partnership that included a gas station and used cars. The station was located on the corner of Olive Street and St. John in New Haven. In the late 1950’s, a new highway system was breaking through the neighborhood, people started moving to the suburbs, and with the limited space they had already outgrown, A-1 looked for a new location. The new site they chose was in East Haven. The partnership grew to include Dominic’s brother, Andrew. Their new location, occupying a city block on Main Street and the sign reading A-1 Auto Service, Inc., became a landmark for many. In 1963, A-1 completed the building of the first Toyota showroom on the East Coast. In 1966, just three years after opening their dealership, A-1 became the second largest Toyota dealership in the country. Toyota’s line-up featured only two vehicles at the time, the four-wheel drive Land Cruiser and one of the first economy cars, the Tiara. Over the years, A-1 Toyota continued to grow and in 1980 moved to their current location on Amity Road in New Haven adding the Dodge franchise that dueled with Toyota until 1990. A-1 Toyota’s line-up looks far different than it did in 1963, but the basis for a successful business has continued. The business is still owned by the same family, and Domin

Sales/Showroom

Monday 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Tuesday 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Wednesday 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Thursday 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Friday 9:00 AM - 7:30 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Service

Monday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Parts

Monday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday 7:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Sunday Closed

  • Customer Lounge Area
  • Drive-In Service
  • Free Coffee
  • Free WiFi
  • Television
  • Full Service Cafe
94 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
xxxxxxx
4/23/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Awesome !!!!"

Quincy is The Best!!! This is my second car from him. He is very thorough and extremely helpful !!! I would definitely recommend him to anyone. He is also a joy to work with and to be around !

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Katie18
4/23/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Fabulous service making it an exceptional experience"

As a return customer I was once again extremely impressed with the professionalism, friendliness and knowledge possessed by Quincy Smith and all the A-1 Toyota employees we delt with. Quincy is by far the best Auto Sales person I have ever delt with. He is extremely knowledgable but brings an easy manor to his technique making it a comfortable and enjoyable experience to buy a car. That is very rare in this industry and I very much hope it is appreciated by the dealership. I would highly recommend A-1 Toyota and would insist anyone I sent ask for Quincy.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
EGE
4/23/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Quincy was great!"

For the second time - Quincy did a great job for us.... He made the experience of purchasing a new car both pleasant and enjoyable. Thank you.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Alice
4/23/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Great Experience!!"

This is my second purchase from Quincy. With any luck, we will make it a hat trick! Quincy has the unique quality of listening. We talked about my lifestyle and driving habits and he matched the vehicle perfectly. He knows the product upside down and backwards...answers the questions before they are asked. His presentation is first class and keeps the customer interest and needs as the problem at hand. I thank Quincy for who he is and what he knows and would recommend him above and beyond anyone.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Mga619
4/22/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Excellent service department"

I Went in today 4-22-15 for my 5000 mile check up and I was first created by Tony Horan. Tony was great very professional kept me informed of the process during my time waiting . Over the last week or so I noticed a rattle coming from my door panel when the window was down I brought this to the attention of the service team ....kevin Wheeler Jr. , Mike Quefeld and Dan Wheeler went above and beyond !!! to take apart the whole door panel to to determine the root cause and fix the problem.... In my past experience with other dealerships they would normally have me come back and make another appointment but Not A-1...... Right after finishing the 5000 mile check up they proceeded to fix the window problem. I am extremely happy with the service that I have been receiving. Thank you!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
xojennaxo462
4/18/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"great experience"

Quincy Smith was awesome, he made us feel like family. He is a down to earth person and tells you how it is, no beating around the bush just to get you to buy a car. He took his time and went over every single detail and had an answer to every question we asked. I would recommend Quincy to anyone that wants to buy a car from A-1 Toyota. Carlos Orozco also helped us with the finance part. He was also very knowledgeable and had an answer to every question we had. Carlos and Quincy make a great team and both make you feel like family. Both also were great with children, we had my 6 year old nephew with me and they included him in the conversations and interacted with him so he wasn't board. Both are amazing, friendly, and really do care.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Mga619
4/16/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Sales"

Mohammed was very willing able to answer all my questions I have not purchased a new vehicle in years and was great and highly recommend seeing him again for my next truck Paul Did a great job with the completion of the finance paperwork keeping me informed of all the things I was signing I am very meticulous and take great pride in how my vehicles look I must say that my truck looked gorgeous they did an exceptional job of cleaning the outside and inside of my 2015 tundra. A very pleasant experience

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Joe M
4/15/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Friendly Customer Experiences "

Carol is by far the best customer liaison A1 Toyota could hope to have. She makes us all feel like family every time we stop by. Needless to say I have bought or leased 4 cars because of my satisfied relationship and have told numerous people how fantastic everyone is at A1 Toyota.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
NJfam
4/10/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Best experience by far... Pinch me"

This was such an easy, if not enjoyable buying experience. We drove all the way from NJ for a specific model of used car. We would absolutely drive that far again to work with Quincy and Paul for any future purchases. At a certain point we looked at each other and found that we were actually enjoying the process. I suppose that's exactly how we ended up with 2, A-1 Toyotas! They are so respectful, friendly and efficient. I couldn't imagine ever writing such a positive review for a dealership, but it's that simple. Even in their follow-up, we have been well taken care of and feel valued. It's refreshing to find someone doing it so differently, and doing it so well. Thank you!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
ashbre
4/09/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Above and beyond!!"

Service director mike Q went above and beyond once again. My battery had died while I was out of town. He sent someone to my home, jumped the car, took it to the shop installed a new battery and checked out all systems before returning it to my home. It was up and running before I got home. Don't know of many who provide such great customer care in this state. That's true customer service!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
1
...
1 - 10 of 94 results
Recently Reviewed Employees
Reviews of Quincy Smith
Quincy Smith

Sales Consultant

36 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Carlos Orozco
Carlos Orozco

Business Manager

14 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Angel Ramos
Angel Ramos

Business Manager

14 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Paul Wright
Paul Wright

Business Manager

13 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Mike Querfeld
Mike Querfeld

Service and Parts Director

4 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Shamus  Rahman
Shamus Rahman

Accessories

3 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Mohammed Durrani
Mohammed Durrani

Sales Consultant

4 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Fariz Dadic
Fariz Dadic

Sales Consultant

3 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Carol Mazzarelli
Carol Mazzarelli

Cashier

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of John Durrani
John Durrani

Sales Manager

5 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory