About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Basney Honda

1.3

9 Lifetime Reviews

3820 Grape Road, Mishawaka, Indiana 46545 Directions
Sales: (574) 256-5550

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

9 Reviews of Basney Honda

Sort by Write a review
December 21, 2016

"Not the service expected of Honda"

- dlegoh

Before the Thanksgiving break, I brought in my 2007 Honda Pilot with an issue on the passenger side seat buckle. It would not latch on properly and often would just pop out while cruising down the highway. Obviously a safety issue. The service guy sat in on the passenger seat to verify and confirm that it does not latch on and it does easily pop out. He stated since my Pilot also has a airbag recall, we'll set an appointment after Thanksgiving and have both of the issues (airbag and seat buckle) fixed. Came back November 28. After 1.5 hour wait, I was told the airbag has been replaced but they would need to order a seatbelt buckle, which I would need to come back for another appointment. What? Why wasn't it ordered when I first came? Ok, nevermind. Came back on December 9. Waited a little over 1.5 hour. I was called and told the Pilot is done. I went out and checked and did not see any change on the passenger seatbelt buckle. It still would not latch properly. I also noticed the driver seatbelt buckle was brand new. Yes....they changed the wrong one. I informed them and another appointment was set. Came back December 16. Waited more than 2 hours this time. I was called and told the Pilot is done. I kid you not, they did it again. They replaced the driver's side again and never bothered to check that the problem was the passenger side. They ended up giving me a loaner vehicle while they kept my Pilot to fix. Finally got to pick up my Pilot on December 20th with the passenger side belt buckle fixed. I gave 2 stars cause in my opinion, the problem I had was eventually fixed even if it took exactly a month later (someone told me this service deserved a 1 or zero star). I would gladly give 4 or 5 if they at least did something to make up for my lost time.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Department
September 26, 2016

"Be Wary of Basney Honda"

- tponisci

I went there to get a quote on a Honda Odyssey. The sales person wrote a quote for me on his business card that was a very good offer, like $2,000 below any other offer. The next day I emailed back because we wanted to move forward with the offer. I was then told that that was a mistake, and there was no way they could honor that offer. Their new offer was $1,500 more than most other offers we had received. I was told, "sorry, believe me we don't do business like that." Funny, since that is exactly what they did.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
?
June 01, 2016

"worst service, rude people"

- VC

Worst customer service on earth, rude behavior, unskilled technicians and over prices. I serviced my car on 07/24/2105 with over $500 total payment and they did not even provide me a courtesy car. When I requested them to pick me up after the service was done, I was told that a waiting time is 3 hrs. How rude? About their skills: I serviced my car while I was relocating to San Diego hoping that there won't by any problem driving from South Bend to San Diego. Unfortunately, I heard a metal rattling noise underneath the car which I never heard ever since I had the car. I had to fix that problem at Lincoln, Nebraska; that's very annoying. I can't just believe how can they boast that their technicians are skilled.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Amy Rocnz
February 03, 2016

"The worsest place for service!!!"

- Nate(RN)

On 11/2015 I took my Honda Accord for an oil consumption test because there was a recalled on some Honda accord models. I decided to use this location, however when I had my car inspect the first time , Little did I know!the guy checking my car had no idea what he was doing because he was a trainee and of course he took the job besause as I recalled two employees there, blonde lady was too busy texting on cell taking care of her personal issues, and the other guy/heavyset with glasses that was working there was occupied enjoying starbucks ,and all I got was unprofessional service people, So then the Manager John W. came in to the story apologizing and had me go through the whole process again which aggravated me! Again ask my employer for another day off work to take my car in for a second inspection and this time I made sure I got the service manage John to check it himself, finally the outcome was that my car failed the oil consumption test and part of the recall was to replace pistons, so once again I had reschedule another day off from work to take one car in and when I did I found out the parts they ordered were not the right parts !!! aggravated again. Manager John had me reschedule to bring my car back in when the right parts were in , feeling “frustrated”. So once again another day off work. When I received my car back after piston service, not even on 3 day from having my Honda back , motor starts vibrating and Loud noise and my car never sounded or vibrated before, So I called John Service manger and he suggest on bringing my car back in to have it checked because something might of went wrong, anyways took car in left there for about 2 weeks and no one had any clue what was wrong with my car , funny thing is they went out of there way to loan me a loaner car but was threatened by John the service manager " if I didn't bring their car back he was gonna report the car stolen" and I still have the massage he left threatening me , which I thought was unprofessional of him , I'm a Nurse and work in the health field and I can't leave my job to take him the car when they want it back at that very moment. I called Jay Basney and made him aware of the situation and all I got was unsuccessful feed back. I scheduled to meet with him 3 times and he avoided me all three times , and I have a feeling its because of my Hispanic nationality I was treated this way. On my third try to contact Jay Basney and no response again His brother Chip Basney decides to jump in to try to resolve the problem he said " Honda's all sound the same and if I have a problem take it to another Honda shop. I was so disappointed, and I'm stuck with my Honda that has more issues now then before. I will never deal with this facility again employees there are all unprofessional, careless of people's property and I will be contacting the higher up. Word of mouth from myself and from my Doctor co-worker ,think before purchasing or servicing your vehicles there!!!!!! Think twice Seriously, its a horrific place.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John Wasniak, Jay Basney, Chip Basney
August 07, 2014

"Attempted to purchase a vehicle"

- MP46561

My wife and I were looking into purchasing a remaining 2013 new vehicle. The dealer advertised it at a good price (for a nearly 2 year old new vehicle). It wasn't in the color we wanted, but we thought we would take a test drive and see if it met our needs. Our salesman allowed us to take the car for a test drive and afterwards asked us for our feedback on the car. After telling him it wasn't our first choice in color, but the color was alright, another nearby salesman spoke up and told us we could take the vehicle home overnight for an extended test drive. We were surprised we could do this, but we thought if we could take it for an extended test drive, it might make us overlook the color. Our salesman went to discuss it with his sales manager and came back to tell us we could take it for an extended overnight test drive as long as we would commit to a firm price for the vehicle. The manager's rationale was that if we liked the car, we would purchase it at the price we agreed to before taking it home. I was told the manager didn't want us to come back the next day and put a lower offer on the car. This didn't seem to make sense to me since we didn't even know if we liked the car enough to make an offer on it. However, to take the car home for an overnight test drive, I therefore threw out an amount for 442 dollars below the advertised price (making it known that it was not an official offer for the vehicle and should not be considered binding) and the salesman came back to tell me it was not an acceptable amount for the car according to the sales manager. In fact, the manager wouldn't budge on the price stating it they would be taking a loss at any price reduction. We then declined to take it home for the overnight test drive and also decided the next day to not come back for another test drive. It would seem to me that if the dealership was truly interested in customer service, it would not resort to such tactics. I normally have my cars serviced here but I haven't purchased a new vehicle from this dealership since the late 1980's. All of my purchases have been from nearby Honda dealers and that trend continues.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Russ, New Car Sales Manager
August 30, 2013

"I have been to basney honda 3 times to try and get..."

- basney

I have been to basney honda 3 times to try and get someone to help me look at one of the 2009 honda pilots. Twice i stayed outside and looked over the vehicle and was on the like for 20-35 minutes. Yesterday I walked into the showroom and stood around for 5 minutes and nobody came up and talked to me then i went outside and walked right past a salesperson who was too busy talking on his cell phone to acknowledge me. They must feel they are so good they don't have to earn a sale

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
joe blow
April 25, 2013

"I was referred to Chip from a friend because I was..."

- mprein

I was referred to Chip from a friend because I was looking for a used Honda CR-V. He did not have any in my price range to sell me, but took the time to help me look up the information from some other cars that I was looking at. He knew he might not be able to make a sale, but instead helped me out. I will go back to him when I am in the market for another car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chip Basney
April 22, 2013

"My husband and I are in the process of rebuilding our..."

- Karin44

My husband and I are in the process of rebuilding our credit after a lengthy layoff and home foreclosure three years ago. I am in need of a new car and really wanted a Honda Civic. To avoid wasting a sales person's time, I thought I would call first. I gave the sales person all of my information and he promised to call me back that evening. It's now been almost a week and three phone calls and messages from me later and I still haven't heard back from him. If it was/is a credit issue, I would have appreciated a phone call back to let me know and I would have looked into other options such as a cosigner or obtaining a loan on my own from a credit union or my bank. Are car sales really that great that Basney Honda can afford to lose a potential customer? I'm insulted and ticked off. I will continue shopping for a car, but it won't be from Basney Honda now or in the future.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tony
November 29, 2012

"We thought we had a great deal on a new Odyssey until we..."

- mike.siefer

We thought we had a great deal on a new Odyssey until we went back to pick it up. When we sat down to sign the papers the deal changed from what was originally agreed upon. Now suddenly packages that we originally included in the deal had been removed from the car they were going to sell us. When we balked at the change the sales manager just argued with us even though it was there in black and white on their own paperwork. After abandoning the deal I stepped into the owner's office and expressed my total dismay at how we were treated and simple received a "Sorry we weren't able to help you" response. Sorry Basney Honda, you didn't loose a deal, you lost a customer for good!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Andy Hornyak, Chris McGowan, Jay Basney
1
1 - 9 of 9 results