About Us
Copyright 2015 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

CarMax

6801 East Frontage Road, Merriam, Kansas 66204
Sales: (913) 384-6697

Makes: Used Car Dealer
11% Recommend
1.8

50 Lifetime Reviews

CarMax
6801 East Frontage Road,
Merriam, Kansas 66204
CarMax Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

Show Me Auto Mall

211 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Oakes Auto

91 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
50 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
Tara_kane
3/06/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"They only want high interest rate customers."

We did not accept their financing due to how high it was. Went directly through our bank with an acceptable rate. Called and let them know we had the financing available and were waiting for a van to be transferred. They never called us back. I called over a week later and they claim to have left me a voicemail that the van did not pass inspection and that they've never had that exact problem before and that I did not call them back so they assumed we found something else and they looked for another in that price point but were unable to find one. This cannot be true. Van was listed for 12. And that's what we would have paid. If we went through their financing we would have paid 17 over the 5-6 years. They want someone to pay that for the same vehicle we would have bought for 12. I will never drive to their dealership again.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Zack and Elizabeth.

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
madiscurt
2/17/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Ripoff Artists"

I do not want to rant, but I do want to inform car shopping customers about this dealership because of how important of a purchase an automobile is. I went to Carmax in Lexington, KY to inquire about a beautiful 2011 Ford Taurus SHO. The salesman I dealt with was bad-mouthing a previous customer and other car lots to me, so I knew it was going to be an awful experience from the start; and what car lot does not offer you something to drink?! The car appeared to be in excellent shape; although I'm not 100% sure it was. Anyways, after conducting some research, I saw that the car was overpriced by about $1,000. What was worse was the trade-in offer they gave me for my 2011 Mercedes ML350 4MATIC with low miles; about $4,000 less than every other dealer. Their prices are "no haggle", which they act as if that is a good thing - it is NOT. After hearing the trade-in offer, I stood up, thanked the salesman, and told him that it was a beautiful car but I could find a better deal elsewhere. He said, "We win some and we lose some, no big deal," or something smug like that. A few days later, I found a beautiful 2013 Taurus SHO in a color I liked better at a MUCH better price and the dealership gave me a trade-in valued at $4,500 over what Carmax offered me. This car lot is known as Car Sales Express in Cincinnati, OH (I believe they are affiliated with King's Ford). The staff was wonderful (I did business with the manager Kody). I need to write a positive review for them under their dealership name. PLEASE do not let Carmax rip you off and treat you like a number! This car lot should not be in business.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

John

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
ignitionmodule
2/05/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Over priced."

I bought my first vehicle from Carmax in 2001 and I thought it was a very good experience. I have tried several times since and found it to be lacking in almost every aspect. The show room is run down and the sales team seems disinterested in the "one salesman per customer" concept. A manager even gave away half of my salesman's potential commission without explaining that that was what he was doing. In the end I did not buy their vehicle as it was missing features described in the description that were not spotted until after the transfer. In the end they did refund my transfer fee, which was the only positive incident through the experience. The same day I found the vehicle I was looking for with many more options, the same mileage, and priced about $4000 less than the equivalent Carmax vehicle. I will not likely shop there again.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Faheem

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Terrylee74_va
2/03/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Carmax "

I buy the card in 3weeek at bradywine... I can't text to drive .. Went I walk out the store they give me the key looking the car in 5mn ... Then I shaw key holder broker ... I try to talk to them to fix I come back the store they say will fix on feb3 ...2015 ..... I been waitting all day no body call me to get car fix ... Wat kind business it's that ? ..... I don't know how Carmax to do business with people like this ?

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Levi's...

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
jaydub84
10/15/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Do NOT sell your car to carmax"

Selling your car to them is painless. Actually getting paid for it, still waiting. I sold my 2013 Juke Nismo to the carmax in Wichita,Kansas. Was printed a bank draft which i took to my bank, wells fargo. Since it was a Wachovia draft should have been available the next day. HAH! I went to use my debit card and found out my account was being closed because my bank draft was fradulent. After getting no where with Carmax local and my bank i ended up calling their headquarters and was then one again transferred to the local carmax. Turns out there was a technical issue and the bank draft had no routing number on it. After failed attempts at printing me another one, I ended up with a handwritten draft. At this point, i have a closed account, had to open a new account which has my draft stuck on an 11 day hold. So they have my car for more than a week and I will wonder if this draft will clear.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Tari

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
10
Christineyourface
9/24/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"poor choice"

They talked the car up... failed to acknowledge that the accelarator wasn't working.... we recognized it, he said it was normal in "New cars"... Guess what.... my last car was newer than what they we're trying to sell.... there was not a pause I acceleration in my last car!!!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

a dummy

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
6
Krymson
7/11/2014
Reason For Visit
Service

"No Customer Service in the Service department."

2007 Ford Fusion My wife and I bought a car from CarMax in Kansas City and the purchase was easy and pleasant enough. That it until we got it home. The very first time we drove it after bringing it home a problem developed. We took it to them the next day for repair. It turns out that the temp sensor had gone bad and caused a cylinder to fail. They agreed to repair it and extend the five day return agreement for us. That was all fine and dandy. They replaced ONE of the four ignition coils. We consulted with a real mechanic and were informed that if only one of the ignition coils were replaced that the remaining ones would fail within a couple of months. We took the car back to them and explained what our mechanic said and requested that the car be repaired properly. Of course they refused. Not only did they refuse but they were extremely rude and not at all nice like they were when they were selling us the car. The service manager was rude and thoroughly unprofessional. When it became clear that they would not be doing the right thing I asked Matt if he would be the one that processed our return he said no. I told him that I had nothing further to say to him and turned my back on him. Thankfully we brought two cars. When my wife arrived with the lemon car he came outside an proceeded to THREATEN me with calling the police if I did not leave HIS place of business. As I was removing our child seat from the car his little worm of an assistant was calling the police on me. How is someone supposed to return a car if they are being bullied to leave? I had to leave my pregnant wife behind to handle the return because instead of treating me with respect they decided to act like spoiled children and refuse to do what real men would do. Do NOT expect any less from these charlatans because once you sign the contract the niceties end and you are just another fool that fell for it. Refuse to properly repair a car that is under warranty and call the police on a customer when they ask for their money back. I expect car dealerships to be degenerates but CarMax in Kansas City has reached a new low.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Service Manager Matt.

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
18
Timur333
6/14/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Bought a crap car "

I bought a car from the lakeside and it was a death trap my wife was going to have a accident when the gear box would shift gears at the traffic lights which I had my new born baby with the mum at that time so beware the cars a crap and is problem after problem do not buy from CARMAX and they refuse to change the car and will only repair but what would happen if the problem comes after the varianty runs out than u will be screwed so I'm in a process of during the carmax and lakeside trust me and don't purchase a car from there people

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Jack

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
10
PissedBMW
6/08/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"CarMax sold me a BAD car!! "

and I decided to purchase a vehicle from your Laurel, Maryland store on May 1, 2014- I have had the opportunity to drive this vehicle a total of 3 times.. It has been in the BMW repair shop and CarMax.. When asked to extend the warranty on this vehicle your Customer Relations Department declined the offer... We have made our first monthly car payment and the car is currently in the shop with a new engine problem... I find it disheartening that CarMax has failed to accommodate it’s customers.. We are wondering who is willing to take accountability for the issues that we have continued to endure with this 2011 BMW- 535I... CarMax and it’s Customer Relations Agent in Richmond, Virginia came across rude and identifying his company as being accommodating and non-apologetic... We will take this ongoing issue to the Media and all persons who’s willing to listen – including Capitol One who chose to Finance this vehicle.. It saddens me that CarMax has identified their business as one of Quality—we have failed to see this dealing with your Richmond, Virginia office If a car is on your website to sell, it should’ve been thoroughly inspected before sold and commission collected.. I expect CarMax to do something about my family and I being inconvenienced because of the lack of care from your Organization.. My conversation with your employee from the Richmond, Va office should learn the meaning of, ‘The customer is always RIGHT’… and ‘CUSTOMER Service’.. It has been a horrific experience and purchasing a vehicle should be a joyous moment, but this has been everything except joyful and CarMax should be ashamed!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

BEN

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
12
Ihatecarmax
6/05/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Bad cars"

I bought a truck and it has had constant problems from day one. Now I'm stuck with and they won't help at all

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Don't care

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
11
1
...
1 - 10 of 50 results

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory