About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

CarMax

1.9

90 Lifetime Reviews

6801 East Frontage Road, Merriam, Kansas 66204 Directions
Sales: (913) 384-6697

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

90 Reviews of CarMax

Sort by Write a review
June 12, 2017

"Don't buy anything from Carmax "

- Mande2

I purchased a 2014 Corolla from Carmax was assured the car was only in a minor rear collision it was checked over passed all inspections. I notice the running lights didn't work shortly after taking it home. I should've returned it immediately instead I was assured all was well. Only to find out after taking it to an authorized dealer the car was in a front end collision to the extent aftermarket lights were put on. They are fraudulent avoid them at all cost!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ethan
June 05, 2017

"Consumer Beware of Carmax, spread the word"

- Carolyn

Think twice about purchasing a car through Carmax. Below is my factual experience. The SRX Cadillac was transferred from Carmax New Jersey to Carmax Beaverton Oregon with, Quote and in writing before transfer, by Carmax: "No structural Damage" It arrived with $1000.00 of structural damage so Carmax waived the transfer fee to compensate for the body repairs that I would need to make because they don't offer any In house auto body repair service. After only 1600 miles of highway driving the check engine light came on. I phoned the Carmax service department immediately when this occurred, in real time. The Carmax service department didn't have any immediate openings to assist. Very worried.at this point, I then took it upon my self to take photos and a video of what followed: I went and had the car inspected/serviced.elsewhere. Something one should not have to task with only 1600 miles driving time (that's just 9 round trips to work and home). And trusting what Carmax had placed in writing before purchase. The inspection findings: Engine oil was over full, black and dirty as can be. The Air Filter was very dirty and the Engine mount was bent and the Skid plate was missing. As I look at the Carmax inspection sheet before purchasing the auto it stated in black and white that all above mentioned had either passed inspection and/or was serviced/replaced. I had to have the oil,, the oil filter and the air filter replaced. I have kept a sample of the very dirty oil and the very dirty air filter.( video and photos of all in real time) This is no way to sell a car to anyone. I will now have to monitor the auto and again change the oil after the next two 1000 miles of driving time.. Has any damage to the engine occurred? This will be a wait and see. The Check engine light went off after 5 miles of driving time on the new oil. With all of this said, how can Carmax put in writing that there was " No structural Damage" " "The oil was changed" before purchase and a "complete inspection of the car had occurred" before purchase. I have lost trust in Carmax after my factual experience. They are in the business to sell cars. But they are surely NOT in the business for Service or Customer Service. As anyone would know it is very important to change the oil every 3000-5000 miles as dirty oil can cause many problems/damage to a veichle. In closing, What a mistake this was.by buying a car from high volume Carmax dealership...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Carmax Manager, Bill, Service Department, Justin, Service Department Manager, Will.
June 03, 2017

"DO NOT PAY TRANFER FEES, IT'S A RIP OFF"

- 2016_Denali

Wanted to buy a 2016 Yukon Denali for 60k.Paid $799 transfer fee over the phone with a sales rep. I requested 2 walk arounds to ensure there were no scratches or flaws. Was informed of curb rash on front rim. No other issues were identified. I specifically asked about refunding the fee if there were problems not identified during the walk around. The sales rep assured me it would not be a problem if there were issues with the truck. The Yukon arrived and after a 125 point inspection I was told the truck was ready for viewing. Today I saw the truck. There were two cracks in the windshield missed during inspection that were a safety hazard, a chunk missing from one tire, scratches, issues with two other rims, raised interior carpeting with missing velco, and chipped paint on the front. I still test drove the truck with the sales rep because the vehicle was over the amount allowed for a "drive alone". Ok, I'm ready to spend 60k (already approved financing with 7k as a down payment) and already paid $799 for shipping, but I can't be trusted to drive 5 miles alone.... While driving, the vibrations were so terrible the entire vehicle was shaking. I decided not to buy the Yukon. Instead I was ready to sign papers for a 2016 Navigator for 50k including 1300 to replace interior leather seats. Before signing, I asked about the refund for the transfer fee and immediately received resistance. The "manager" with poor customer service skills began reeling off excuses and the "policy" for issuing refunds. It went downhill from there... Here's my problem, the transaction was made over the phone with NO disclosures about terms for refunds. However, when processing the finance app she spent 10 minutes explaining the extended warranty. After spending 4 hours at Carmax and thinking I would be driving home a nice pre-owned truck, I left without buying anything! I would never even consider buying a vehicle from that unscrupulous place. Buyers beware.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mercedes, Ryan, Terry Glass, Meade Trible, Beth Coston
April 23, 2017

"Car max misrepresents itself with "trade ins" "

- Disappointed customer

Car max does not really take your car as a trade in... They buy cars and then if you want to buy then you pay taxes on the full amount, but they only offer you wholesale trade in value. You pay taxes on the full price of the vehicle that you are buying. There is no tax benefit to dealing with car max. You are better off going to any other kind of dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Cathy
April 06, 2017

"Customer"

- psnosworthy

I purchased a 2011 Hyundai Sonata from this location on March 7th. After one week, I noticed a few issues with the vehicle so I took it to the closest Carmax to my job due to the convenience of the location. After having my car in their service center for almost a week, there was still an issue that was not resolved. I took my car back this past Tuesday to get the unresolved issue fixed. They have claimed to fix the issue but I am not satisfied. To have just purchased a car and it is experiencing issues within the first couple of weeks is absolutely ridiculous. Carmax says that they stand behind their cars but obviously they did not do a proper inspection of this vehicle before putting it on their lot for sale. I spoke with the Operations Manager at the Stockbridge location and our first conversation was okay but our second conversation was not. I explained to him that I was not comfortable and that I wanted a different car and he was kind of rude to me in his tone. He basically said that that is not possible and I felt like he did not care at all about me as a customer. The fact is that he just doesn't want to because it looks bad on Carmax but facts are facts. If I purchase a car from you, you need to make sure that there is nothing wrong with the car. I am highly upset and will be calling corporate to let them know.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brian O'Neil
March 24, 2017

"Beware of Carmax "

- Sram

Twice I went to this Carmax dealership in Norcross, GA for car appraisals . Both times they were cars in very very good condition, with me being the only owner. Before even looking at the car they already know what value they are going to assign to it which is the lowest trade-in value on the Internet. Then they'll make up some bogus story that the car was in an accident and had a paint job. Both times they told me the accident happen when the car was being transit to the dealership. Bunch of crooks, stay away.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Appraisers name unknown
March 16, 2017

"Butler Auto Sales, Sidney,N.Y."

- rubyred,1358

My Wife and I just purchased a new/used Taurus. NO Pressure from the sales team.Excellent sales rep. Dave Miller gave us a good price for our used vehicle. Anyone and everyone looking to upgrade their ride should give this dealership a look.Plenty of high quality vehicles in stock.If you don't see the one you desire, ask,they will find it.Dave Miller is an awesome sales Rep. To Dave, Todd and Mike Butler, Thank You! Sincerely, Mike and Tina

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dave,Todd,Mike
February 22, 2017

"Do not buy from carmax!!"

- Nina Haile

After I bought the car, I was in the process of buying a house. To reduce the loan amount on my name I went back to return the car and ended up having to pay over $3,000 to sell my car. They treat you terribly. The manager on duty at Norcross Ga, Mr.Muhammed does not even want to listen to my concerns. Once they get you to buy the car, they no longer care about your experience. I bought car care for my car and had to take it to get repaired twice within the 2 months I had it. The sales people, however, are very respectful and nice, but that doesn't do much when you're trying to buy a car. Go to another dealer! There are hundreds of fair car dealers out there.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mohamed ( manager on duty)
February 02, 2017

"Double taxes"

- Jtx4

I was interested in buying 2 cars from the Inglewood, California CarMax location. I live in a different state that does not have a CarMax location so I would have to have the vehicles transported to my home state. I've been looking for these vehicles for a while so when 2 were found that suited my needs, I was ready to fly to lax and set everything up. This is where the problem starts, I was told that I would have to pay California state tax for the vehicles even though they were not going to be driven/registered in California. Then, when I get to my home state, pay that taxes when I registered it. After being told this, I cancelled my plans and bought 2 vehicles from the local Lexus dealers. I found 2 other vehicles at a local Lexus dealer. I was told there that I would not have to pay California state tax as long as the vehicles weren't driven or registered in California saving me 9% in state taxes! CarMax should reconsider their sales policy on this or lose possible potential customers. Either way CarMax tax rules on double taxing me helped me buy 2 Lexus vehicles at a local Lexus dealer as well as saving me 9% in Caligornia taxes! Thanks CarMax!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Traci
January 25, 2017

"They Don't Care."

- Jm30116

I put in a transfer request at CarMax. When you put in a request, an associate is supposed to reach out to you within an hour, or when they open the next day if you sent the request after business hours. I put my in at 7pm. I heard nothing from them, so eventually I called the next day to see what's going on. Turns out, because no one reached out to me, I GOT SKIPPED and the car goes to the next person. I was not contacted because the salesman that was automatically assigned to me was a part time employee and didnt work until 6 the next day. Which means that if your salesman is off the next day or doesn't come in until later, and someone else puts in a request AFTER you did, but before your salesman comes in, you don't get the car. Why is their no back up person for this situation? Why is management not CC on emails like this that are time sensitive? So essentially, because CARMAX didn't do THEIR job and plan for situations like this, I don't get the car. So I asked why they won't honor first come first serve and refund the person their transfer money and honor the fact that they messed up and I put in the request first. They responded and said "we can't just tell them they can't have the car because we made a mistake and you were supposed to get the car first. That's not fair to them". .......Seems a little ridiculous since that's exactly what they are saying to me...that I can't have the car just because they made a mistake. So long story short, CarMax gets their sale, the person who put in the request after me gets the car, and I get screwed over because CarMax doesn't know how to run a fair business. They are all extremely polite and professional, but honestly that doesn't mean a thing when the outcome is still wrong. I will never shop here again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Vicki, Namen, Brandywine Sales Manager
1
...
1 - 10 of 90 results