About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

CarMax

2.1

87 Lifetime Reviews

6801 East Frontage Road, Merriam, Kansas 66204 Directions
Sales: (913) 384-6697

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

87 Reviews of CarMax

Sort by Write a review
April 23, 2017

"Car max misrepresents itself with "trade ins" "

- Disappointed customer

Car max does not really take your car as a trade in... They buy cars and then if you want to buy then you pay taxes on the full amount, but they only offer you wholesale trade in value. You pay taxes on the full price of the vehicle that you are buying. There is no tax benefit to dealing with car max. You are better off going to any other kind of dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Cathy
April 06, 2017

"Customer"

- psnosworthy

I purchased a 2011 Hyundai Sonata from this location on March 7th. After one week, I noticed a few issues with the vehicle so I took it to the closest Carmax to my job due to the convenience of the location. After having my car in their service center for almost a week, there was still an issue that was not resolved. I took my car back this past Tuesday to get the unresolved issue fixed. They have claimed to fix the issue but I am not satisfied. To have just purchased a car and it is experiencing issues within the first couple of weeks is absolutely ridiculous. Carmax says that they stand behind their cars but obviously they did not do a proper inspection of this vehicle before putting it on their lot for sale. I spoke with the Operations Manager at the Stockbridge location and our first conversation was okay but our second conversation was not. I explained to him that I was not comfortable and that I wanted a different car and he was kind of rude to me in his tone. He basically said that that is not possible and I felt like he did not care at all about me as a customer. The fact is that he just doesn't want to because it looks bad on Carmax but facts are facts. If I purchase a car from you, you need to make sure that there is nothing wrong with the car. I am highly upset and will be calling corporate to let them know.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brian O'Neil
March 24, 2017

"Beware of Carmax "

- Sram

Twice I went to this Carmax dealership in Norcross, GA for car appraisals . Both times they were cars in very very good condition, with me being the only owner. Before even looking at the car they already know what value they are going to assign to it which is the lowest trade-in value on the Internet. Then they'll make up some bogus story that the car was in an accident and had a paint job. Both times they told me the accident happen when the car was being transit to the dealership. Bunch of crooks, stay away.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Appraisers name unknown
March 16, 2017

"Butler Auto Sales, Sidney,N.Y."

- rubyred,1358

My Wife and I just purchased a new/used Taurus. NO Pressure from the sales team.Excellent sales rep. Dave Miller gave us a good price for our used vehicle. Anyone and everyone looking to upgrade their ride should give this dealership a look.Plenty of high quality vehicles in stock.If you don't see the one you desire, ask,they will find it.Dave Miller is an awesome sales Rep. To Dave, Todd and Mike Butler, Thank You! Sincerely, Mike and Tina

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dave,Todd,Mike
February 22, 2017

"Do not buy from carmax!!"

- Nina Haile

After I bought the car, I was in the process of buying a house. To reduce the loan amount on my name I went back to return the car and ended up having to pay over $3,000 to sell my car. They treat you terribly. The manager on duty at Norcross Ga, Mr.Muhammed does not even want to listen to my concerns. Once they get you to buy the car, they no longer care about your experience. I bought car care for my car and had to take it to get repaired twice within the 2 months I had it. The sales people, however, are very respectful and nice, but that doesn't do much when you're trying to buy a car. Go to another dealer! There are hundreds of fair car dealers out there.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mohamed ( manager on duty)
February 02, 2017

"Double taxes"

- Jtx4

I was interested in buying 2 cars from the Inglewood, California CarMax location. I live in a different state that does not have a CarMax location so I would have to have the vehicles transported to my home state. I've been looking for these vehicles for a while so when 2 were found that suited my needs, I was ready to fly to lax and set everything up. This is where the problem starts, I was told that I would have to pay California state tax for the vehicles even though they were not going to be driven/registered in California. Then, when I get to my home state, pay that taxes when I registered it. After being told this, I cancelled my plans and bought 2 vehicles from the local Lexus dealers. I found 2 other vehicles at a local Lexus dealer. I was told there that I would not have to pay California state tax as long as the vehicles weren't driven or registered in California saving me 9% in state taxes! CarMax should reconsider their sales policy on this or lose possible potential customers. Either way CarMax tax rules on double taxing me helped me buy 2 Lexus vehicles at a local Lexus dealer as well as saving me 9% in Caligornia taxes! Thanks CarMax!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Traci
January 25, 2017

"They Don't Care."

- Jm30116

I put in a transfer request at CarMax. When you put in a request, an associate is supposed to reach out to you within an hour, or when they open the next day if you sent the request after business hours. I put my in at 7pm. I heard nothing from them, so eventually I called the next day to see what's going on. Turns out, because no one reached out to me, I GOT SKIPPED and the car goes to the next person. I was not contacted because the salesman that was automatically assigned to me was a part time employee and didnt work until 6 the next day. Which means that if your salesman is off the next day or doesn't come in until later, and someone else puts in a request AFTER you did, but before your salesman comes in, you don't get the car. Why is their no back up person for this situation? Why is management not CC on emails like this that are time sensitive? So essentially, because CARMAX didn't do THEIR job and plan for situations like this, I don't get the car. So I asked why they won't honor first come first serve and refund the person their transfer money and honor the fact that they messed up and I put in the request first. They responded and said "we can't just tell them they can't have the car because we made a mistake and you were supposed to get the car first. That's not fair to them". .......Seems a little ridiculous since that's exactly what they are saying to me...that I can't have the car just because they made a mistake. So long story short, CarMax gets their sale, the person who put in the request after me gets the car, and I get screwed over because CarMax doesn't know how to run a fair business. They are all extremely polite and professional, but honestly that doesn't mean a thing when the outcome is still wrong. I will never shop here again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Vicki, Namen, Brandywine Sales Manager
January 24, 2017

"Do your research"

- Annie Potts

We used to buy our vehicles here when they first started over the years they have gotten worse. Their cars are way overpriced even higher than market value, also they give you lower than what Kelly blue book says what your trade is worth. most commercial dealerships now has customer service surveys from their manufacturers it isn't like it was 5years ago and you get way better deal on your trade and the vehicle your buying. I went in recently to see what my trade is worth, they where 3k below Kelley blue book trade in value, and I went to a new car dealership and gave me exactly what Kelley is on my trade and got a new car and came almost the same price as the used one I was trying to buy at car max. Check out your new car dealerships just stay away from used car dealerships.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike
January 17, 2017

"Great car buying experience "

- Kdloner

Was working with Kris from the mechanicsburg carmax location to have a 2012 Jeep Patriot latitude transferred in from New Jersey. The transfer itself was the longest part of the whole process. I've already waited over four hours to get a car just to be turned down. Here at carmax. I was in and out within 1.5 hours. The process was so easy compared to a traditional dealership. I would definitely recommend to anyone searching for a car to stop in here first. They have quite the selection of cars, suvs, and trucks!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kris Kessler
November 12, 2016

"Agonizing and overall distasteful experience. "

- Michelle

Agonizing and overall distasteful experience. Over 4 weeks waiting for the car I found for them to sell to me due to delayed ordering and transport and follow through on their part. After my initiating multiple phone calls to them to expedite this process the car the car finally arrived 4 weeks later. Why were they unable to phone the me as the customer to give updates or order this accurately? We may never know. The car finally arrived to then find it had a knocking in the engine. Instead of offering a certified mechanic to look at the vehicle I was told that all small engines do this. To further add to the frustration other engines were started to prove me wrong. When no other engines would create this knocking the car was finally retired for a 2nd investigation. Do you think I ever heard back as to their findings? Nope. Peace out- Car that I found, waited and spent countless hours trying to buy. RIP. The main questions: Are they unable to make outgoing calls to their customers when there are so many delays with the process? Why is the extended warranty not offered as an alternative option? Why are measures not taken to address purchasing concerns such as a second investigation? Why does ones vehicle knowledge get added into question by uncertified sales consultants? Why will managers not answer phone calls when requests are specifically made? Why does going the extra mile seem like the hardest thing in customer service when it is just the simplest task as a manager? Thanks for the memories CarMax, noted!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Levi, Brian, Chase, Sandy
1
...
1 - 10 of 87 results