About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

CarMax

1.9

78 Lifetime Reviews

6801 East Frontage Road, Merriam, Kansas 66204 Directions
Sales: (913) 384-6697

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with ourCertified Dealership Program.

78 Reviews of CarMax

Sort by Write a review
November 12, 2016

"Agonizing and overall distasteful experience. "

- Michelle

Agonizing and overall distasteful experience. Over 4 weeks waiting for the car I found for them to sell to me due to delayed ordering and transport and follow through on their part. After my initiating multiple phone calls to them to expedite this process the car the car finally arrived 4 weeks later. Why were they unable to phone the me as the customer to give updates or order this accurately? We may never know. The car finally arrived to then find it had a knocking in the engine. Instead of offering a certified mechanic to look at the vehicle I was told that all small engines do this. To further add to the frustration other engines were started to prove me wrong. When no other engines would create this knocking the car was finally retired for a 2nd investigation. Do you think I ever heard back as to their findings? Nope. Peace out- Car that I found, waited and spent countless hours trying to buy. RIP. The main questions: Are they unable to make outgoing calls to their customers when there are so many delays with the process? Why is the extended warranty not offered as an alternative option? Why are measures not taken to address purchasing concerns such as a second investigation? Why does ones vehicle knowledge get added into question by uncertified sales consultants? Why will managers not answer phone calls when requests are specifically made? Why does going the extra mile seem like the hardest thing in customer service when it is just the simplest task as a manager? Thanks for the memories CarMax, noted!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Levi, Brian, Chase, Sandy
November 11, 2016

"NEVER NEVER BUY A CAR FROM THEM. "

- Gefet Diniz

I will never buy a car from them again. Let's just start with there policy. They say they don't sale cars with problems or with accidents, yet they do. I bought a BMW X5 from them three years ago and the dealer told me that there was no need for carfacts when I asked. Through these years I have spent over $15,000 in repairs. The first month it had water leakage in the back, It has left me in the highway twice, and more. So now that I am trying to get a new car. The dealer that I went to told me that they would ONLY give $11,000 for the car because it was involved in a CAR ACCIDENT. Which was not me so I went to Carmax to tell them this and they came up with a whole bunch of excuses. And Carmax only excepts cash payoffs for the car. Because I still owed $23,000 on the car and because of the accident it was worth less. NEVER BUY A CAR FROM THEM!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
I
November 09, 2016

"BUYER BEWARE!!!...THEY WILL SAY ANYTHING TO SELL YOU A CAR!!"

- mauguste2@gmail.com

This dealership prides itself on its full auto safety check before selling you a car. However, the salespeople will say anything to make that commission! I recently purchased a car for my daughter that was guaranteed by the paperwork to have passed all kinds of safety checks. They told us there was a recall on the brakes which they have to disclose, but not to worry, it passed there safety check. There wasn't any problems with the brake pads or shoes, and car companies have recalls all the time. All we needed to do is get it checked out at our convenience. I was a little worried but salesman promised there was nothing to worry about. Well, the car was purchased on Aug 12, 2016 and earliest appointment we could get was Aug 27th. Here brakes failed on Aug 26, 2016 and the car was completely totaled when she suddenly couldn't stop it coming down a hill. They denied any fault and said the brakes where on us to fix. I spoke with my insurance company and they told me with a car "OPEN INCOMPLETE RECALL" the dealer is suppose to fix it before selling it to you. Since then I've been fighting to get my deposit back and complete payoff off my credit report, since I didn't have gap insurance. Hope this is helpful to anyone buying from them. Think first!!! If they tell you about any recalls, don't take their word or safety checks that it is safe.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Neon
October 21, 2016

"Your mileage may I guess, but my experience was great."

- regassert6

Read many reviews and based on my experience @ Carmax in White Marsh,. MD, I don't see how anyone could have a bad experience. I found a car I wanted, did my pricing research, requested to have it transferred to WM, got my approval from bank, showed up, drove, signed off, left with car. Most painless dealer experience ever. Tips- SOME vehicles are priced too high. Others are below market. Do your homework. - The no haggle pricing is often derided, but too many others are still using bait and switch pricing. If you value your time, the no haggle combined with your homework is worth it. Again, your mileage may vary, but my experience was great.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Junior Carmona
October 17, 2016

"Smooth Operators"

- A Dad

In late August, my daughter and I went to Carmax to sell a car. They gave us an estimate, according to policy, that was good for seven days. Because of problems with the title, we were unable to sell the car at that time. We parked the car, while we resolved the title issues. My daughter took the car back just last week (mid-October). She was alone--and that seems to be significant: being alone and being a young woman. The car was a month older with the twenty odd miles it took to drive between her house and Carmax. The estimate came back $500 less than when I--a middle aged white male--was in the room. When confronted with the discrepancy, they pointed to issues with the car (that were accounted for in the first estimate) and market fluctuations. Both rationale might have been more persuasive, if a salesman had not commented on finding such a pretty young woman waiting for him if the explanation of markets shifted from the release of new models to the time of season if the salesman had returned the original estimate instead of holding on to it for her own protection if it had not taken three, then two, men stopping my daughter in a room and repeatedly asking "Are you comfortable with this?" (Newsflash, the answer to that question seems self-evident.) In short, Carmax offers a valuable service, a service that my daughter needed. However, to all appearances, it is a service that carries a $500 surcharge for young, college-age women.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rather not give names. Just be wary of 'the dudes'
August 20, 2016

"Wosrt ever"

- Philip Reynolds

I have bought two cars from caax both are lemon money pits. There warranty are xxxx thier car techs dont know anything. Dont buy carmax

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jone,Ted
August 13, 2016

"Took horrible to a new level"

- Jeffcustomer

The car was on fire! Just two days after buying, a little sqeak-flap-flap was heard from under the hood. I decided to take advantage of their 30 day, all inclusive warranty, and drove it back to the Carmax I bought it from. I barely made it! The problem worsened. While at top speed on the freeway the small noise grew to a loud sqeal-bang. The car was jerking, I almost crashed, top speed dropped to 30 mph, All while enduring the nauseating smell of burnt rubber. The car died, literally died, and I coasted into the Carmax parking lot. In front of the service garage I got out, livid, and started to walk inside to find a manager. That's when the flames engulfed the engine compartment and the car met its final end. I'm thinking, "Wow, I better get my money back or at least a new car. What if I parked that thing in my garage? What if I couldn't get my kids out in time? I bought that car for a reliable means of getting my kids to school." I spoke with a manager about how to make this horrific matter right.. The best they could do is 300 dollars off an extended warranty plan on a new car. What the xxxx? Nobody wants that! That's a stupid offer. I asked for a discounted price on a Ford Fusion and they said no way. They never lower prices for integrity reasons. "Integrity!", I exclaimed! "Integrity is righting the wrong you've done by selling me a crap car!" After wasting my time and nearly taking my life, they refused to be compensating. At least I got my 2500 dollar down payment back.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
TJ
July 21, 2016

"Faulty manufacturer warranty."

- PYE

CarMax sold me a vehicle that was supposedly under manufacturer warranty. When warranty was supposed to be done the dealership found that vehicle was in a prior collision. Warranty was void.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brian and Nicole_Vaughn@carmax.com
June 30, 2016

"My Fist Car Buying Experience Ruined"

- Kasielr17

They were very nice a smiley at least. I was double charged my down payment and left with an overdrawn account for two weeks. Every time I call them to ask about paying my overdraft fees I get sent around and placed on holds until finally I reach a voicemail and I never get a call back. I'm very unhappy, I've been so nice a calm and I guess they are reading that as weak and passive. I will be reporting them to the BBB. The skid plate under the front of my car is now coming loose after just 2.5 weeks of driving the car, I can't get ahold of them for repairs either. I just would not recommend to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Adam, Mary, Katerina
June 09, 2016

"Bad dealership "

- Spoogee

Bought a 2010 Chevy Malibu with the max care which cost me an extra $72 a month but was told over and over that it was worth it. Had the car a year and it started jerking and sputtering so I took it to Carmax and they told me they couldn't fix it and I would have to take it to a Chevy dealership. The warranty company wanted receipts for oil changes two weeks before I bought the car until the time my car tore up. The service guy at the Chevy dealership said that it was an underlying problem when I bought the car and Carmax had covered it up. Needless to say I didn't have $4000 to fix the car. Guy at Chevy told me that it wasn't the first time he's seen Carmax refuse to fix a car!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Keesha
1
...
1 - 10 of 78 results