About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

CarMax

2.1

82 Lifetime Reviews

6801 East Frontage Road, Merriam, Kansas 66204 Directions
Sales: (913) 384-6697

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

82 Reviews of CarMax

Sort by Write a review
February 02, 2017

"Double taxes"

- Jtx4

I was interested in buying 2 cars from the Inglewood, California CarMax location. I live in a different state that does not have a CarMax location so I would have to have the vehicles transported to my home state. I've been looking for these vehicles for a while so when 2 were found that suited my needs, I was ready to fly to lax and set everything up. This is where the problem starts, I was told that I would have to pay California state tax for the vehicles even though they were not going to be driven/registered in California. Then, when I get to my home state, pay that taxes when I registered it. After being told this, I cancelled my plans and bought 2 vehicles from the local Lexus dealers. I found 2 other vehicles at a local Lexus dealer. I was told there that I would not have to pay California state tax as long as the vehicles weren't driven or registered in California saving me 9% in state taxes! CarMax should reconsider their sales policy on this or lose possible potential customers. Either way CarMax tax rules on double taxing me helped me buy 2 Lexus vehicles at a local Lexus dealer as well as saving me 9% in Caligornia taxes! Thanks CarMax!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Traci
January 25, 2017

"They Don't Care."

- Jm30116

I put in a transfer request at CarMax. When you put in a request, an associate is supposed to reach out to you within an hour, or when they open the next day if you sent the request after business hours. I put my in at 7pm. I heard nothing from them, so eventually I called the next day to see what's going on. Turns out, because no one reached out to me, I GOT SKIPPED and the car goes to the next person. I was not contacted because the salesman that was automatically assigned to me was a part time employee and didnt work until 6 the next day. Which means that if your salesman is off the next day or doesn't come in until later, and someone else puts in a request AFTER you did, but before your salesman comes in, you don't get the car. Why is their no back up person for this situation? Why is management not CC on emails like this that are time sensitive? So essentially, because CARMAX didn't do THEIR job and plan for situations like this, I don't get the car. So I asked why they won't honor first come first serve and refund the person their transfer money and honor the fact that they messed up and I put in the request first. They responded and said "we can't just tell them they can't have the car because we made a mistake and you were supposed to get the car first. That's not fair to them". .......Seems a little ridiculous since that's exactly what they are saying to me...that I can't have the car just because they made a mistake. So long story short, CarMax gets their sale, the person who put in the request after me gets the car, and I get screwed over because CarMax doesn't know how to run a fair business. They are all extremely polite and professional, but honestly that doesn't mean a thing when the outcome is still wrong. I will never shop here again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Vicki, Namen, Brandywine Sales Manager
January 24, 2017

"Do your research"

- Annie Potts

We used to buy our vehicles here when they first started over the years they have gotten worse. Their cars are way overpriced even higher than market value, also they give you lower than what Kelly blue book says what your trade is worth. most commercial dealerships now has customer service surveys from their manufacturers it isn't like it was 5years ago and you get way better deal on your trade and the vehicle your buying. I went in recently to see what my trade is worth, they where 3k below Kelley blue book trade in value, and I went to a new car dealership and gave me exactly what Kelley is on my trade and got a new car and came almost the same price as the used one I was trying to buy at car max. Check out your new car dealerships just stay away from used car dealerships.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike
January 17, 2017

"Great car buying experience "

- Kdloner

Was working with Kris from the mechanicsburg carmax location to have a 2012 Jeep Patriot latitude transferred in from New Jersey. The transfer itself was the longest part of the whole process. I've already waited over four hours to get a car just to be turned down. Here at carmax. I was in and out within 1.5 hours. The process was so easy compared to a traditional dealership. I would definitely recommend to anyone searching for a car to stop in here first. They have quite the selection of cars, suvs, and trucks!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kris Kessler
November 12, 2016

"Agonizing and overall distasteful experience. "

- Michelle

Agonizing and overall distasteful experience. Over 4 weeks waiting for the car I found for them to sell to me due to delayed ordering and transport and follow through on their part. After my initiating multiple phone calls to them to expedite this process the car the car finally arrived 4 weeks later. Why were they unable to phone the me as the customer to give updates or order this accurately? We may never know. The car finally arrived to then find it had a knocking in the engine. Instead of offering a certified mechanic to look at the vehicle I was told that all small engines do this. To further add to the frustration other engines were started to prove me wrong. When no other engines would create this knocking the car was finally retired for a 2nd investigation. Do you think I ever heard back as to their findings? Nope. Peace out- Car that I found, waited and spent countless hours trying to buy. RIP. The main questions: Are they unable to make outgoing calls to their customers when there are so many delays with the process? Why is the extended warranty not offered as an alternative option? Why are measures not taken to address purchasing concerns such as a second investigation? Why does ones vehicle knowledge get added into question by uncertified sales consultants? Why will managers not answer phone calls when requests are specifically made? Why does going the extra mile seem like the hardest thing in customer service when it is just the simplest task as a manager? Thanks for the memories CarMax, noted!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Levi, Brian, Chase, Sandy
November 11, 2016

"NEVER NEVER BUY A CAR FROM THEM. "

- Gefet Diniz

I will never buy a car from them again. Let's just start with there policy. They say they don't sale cars with problems or with accidents, yet they do. I bought a BMW X5 from them three years ago and the dealer told me that there was no need for carfacts when I asked. Through these years I have spent over $15,000 in repairs. The first month it had water leakage in the back, It has left me in the highway twice, and more. So now that I am trying to get a new car. The dealer that I went to told me that they would ONLY give $11,000 for the car because it was involved in a CAR ACCIDENT. Which was not me so I went to Carmax to tell them this and they came up with a whole bunch of excuses. And Carmax only excepts cash payoffs for the car. Because I still owed $23,000 on the car and because of the accident it was worth less. NEVER BUY A CAR FROM THEM!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
I
November 09, 2016

"BUYER BEWARE!!!...THEY WILL SAY ANYTHING TO SELL YOU A CAR!!"

- mauguste2@gmail.com

This dealership prides itself on its full auto safety check before selling you a car. However, the salespeople will say anything to make that commission! I recently purchased a car for my daughter that was guaranteed by the paperwork to have passed all kinds of safety checks. They told us there was a recall on the brakes which they have to disclose, but not to worry, it passed there safety check. There wasn't any problems with the brake pads or shoes, and car companies have recalls all the time. All we needed to do is get it checked out at our convenience. I was a little worried but salesman promised there was nothing to worry about. Well, the car was purchased on Aug 12, 2016 and earliest appointment we could get was Aug 27th. Here brakes failed on Aug 26, 2016 and the car was completely totaled when she suddenly couldn't stop it coming down a hill. They denied any fault and said the brakes where on us to fix. I spoke with my insurance company and they told me with a car "OPEN INCOMPLETE RECALL" the dealer is suppose to fix it before selling it to you. Since then I've been fighting to get my deposit back and complete payoff off my credit report, since I didn't have gap insurance. Hope this is helpful to anyone buying from them. Think first!!! If they tell you about any recalls, don't take their word or safety checks that it is safe.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Neon
October 21, 2016

"Your mileage may I guess, but my experience was great."

- regassert6

Read many reviews and based on my experience @ Carmax in White Marsh,. MD, I don't see how anyone could have a bad experience. I found a car I wanted, did my pricing research, requested to have it transferred to WM, got my approval from bank, showed up, drove, signed off, left with car. Most painless dealer experience ever. Tips- SOME vehicles are priced too high. Others are below market. Do your homework. - The no haggle pricing is often derided, but too many others are still using bait and switch pricing. If you value your time, the no haggle combined with your homework is worth it. Again, your mileage may vary, but my experience was great.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Junior Carmona
October 17, 2016

"Smooth Operators"

- A Dad

In late August, my daughter and I went to Carmax to sell a car. They gave us an estimate, according to policy, that was good for seven days. Because of problems with the title, we were unable to sell the car at that time. We parked the car, while we resolved the title issues. My daughter took the car back just last week (mid-October). She was alone--and that seems to be significant: being alone and being a young woman. The car was a month older with the twenty odd miles it took to drive between her house and Carmax. The estimate came back $500 less than when I--a middle aged white male--was in the room. When confronted with the discrepancy, they pointed to issues with the car (that were accounted for in the first estimate) and market fluctuations. Both rationale might have been more persuasive, if a salesman had not commented on finding such a pretty young woman waiting for him if the explanation of markets shifted from the release of new models to the time of season if the salesman had returned the original estimate instead of holding on to it for her own protection if it had not taken three, then two, men stopping my daughter in a room and repeatedly asking "Are you comfortable with this?" (Newsflash, the answer to that question seems self-evident.) In short, Carmax offers a valuable service, a service that my daughter needed. However, to all appearances, it is a service that carries a $500 surcharge for young, college-age women.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rather not give names. Just be wary of 'the dudes'
August 20, 2016

"Wosrt ever"

- Philip Reynolds

I have bought two cars from caax both are lemon money pits. There warranty are xxxx thier car techs dont know anything. Dont buy carmax

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jone,Ted
1
...
1 - 10 of 82 results