About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

CarMax

6801 East Frontage Road, Merriam, Kansas 66204
Sales: (913) 384-6697

Makes: Used Car Dealer
22% Recommend
2.2

64 Lifetime Reviews

CarMax
6801 East Frontage Road,
Merriam, Kansas 66204
CarMax Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
64 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
Bouldin1
12/28/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Lied to about my faulty purchase"

Bought a 2012 Infiniti m35 hybrid...total heating system went out in a week..Service person told me I cud choose another vehicle bc repair was 3k...Managers then renigged on the offer to give me another choice. Hybrids have a massive electrical system that can be costly to fix. CARMAX does not keep their word or have any business morals.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Lisa, Lashanda,Matt

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
8
ctuggle8691
12/09/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"they sold me a lemon."

I purchased my very first car with carmax on 12/05/2015. I saved up my money and purchased a 2006 Hyundai Tucson from the Lithia Springs location in GA. I was happy with the test drive & carfax as well as the vehicle. I couldn't believe I finally had a vehicle to get to and from work as well as to and from my son's school. 3 days later my excitement turned into terror as I was driving the truck on the highway and it started to slow down no matter how hard I pressed the gas. I put on my hazard lights and started to try to get off the highway but an elderly woman almost crashed into me despite this. The car continued to slow down and stop while I was pressing the gas pedal during my entire ride home. I was traumatized and angry. I immediately contacted carmax and was told to have the car towed in at which point I was presented with papers to sign giving them back the car. every other car on the lot was out of my price range and I was ineligible for a loaner car because I had given the car back and loaners are only for people who currently have a car with carmax. When I asked why no one explained this to me before, the saleswoman Connie told me she didn't know. The sales manager, Richard told me he would not help me get a loaner and that my only option was to spend more money on a whole new car which I had absolutely no money for. I found a car $1,000 more than the Tucson at the Southlake location and decided to go there to try and get it. After financing the car I was told my note would go up as well as my down payment. I had been telling them ALL DAY that I absolutely can not afford for anything to go up and they refused to offer any type of discount for all my troubles or to compensate me. I was frustrated and disappointed. Even after speaking with corporate I was told that carmax does not under any circumstance offer discounts of any kind. I asked for my money back and was told that they should've given it to me at the Lithia Springs location. They of course did not so not only was I out of a car I was out of my money. I can not get my money back until I get an off day from work to go all the way back to Lithia Springs for a refund. Through my correspondences with corporate I concluded that the sales people at carmax do not execute their jobs the way that they are supposed to and their focus is not on customer service. I was sold a car that shouldn't have been sold at all as it was unsafe to drive. I will get my money back and go to a real dealership next time.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Richard, Steve, Connie, Jason

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
7
My 3 Sons
11/18/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"No carmax for me"

I emailed carmax about a 2015 kia optima. After speaking with a salesman he tells me after asking for information that he needed 5000dn and 2 other cars that were in my name. Need I say they were 2009 flex and a 2015 Volkswagen passat. The 2015 passat is almost 2x worth more than the car I wanted. These people are insane. I will look elsewhere. Never again.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Jesse

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
5
Al
11/18/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Trade in value"

These guys low ball trade in values. They appraised my truck at less than half what edmunds and kbb listed on their low ( poor quality ) range, even though truck is in better than avg condition. I was not impressed. Decided to sell my truck private and it sold in 5 days for 120% of Carmax appraisal.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Shaun

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
6
mustang
10/21/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"what a joke"

I went to sell my car and they offered me $5000 under trade in value. The reason I went was I heard the pay more. Plus it took 45 mins to be completely insulted by these clowns . I feel my 1 star rating is to high. Stay way!!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
7
Shinobi57
9/30/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Bought a piece of crap"

On March of 2014, I Bought a 2011 Ford Mustang gt from the carmax in St Louis. One month later I started to have problems with my clutch and contacted carmax about the problem and they said that it's a wear and tear item so they won't fix it. So went on carmax Facebook page and said since they don't want to fix my car, I'm going to put in the news letter about not to buy a vehicle from them. Carmax then agreed to have my car looked at. I told them if it is the clutch are you going to fix it cause if not I'm going to have my mechanic to fix it. They agreed to pay and have it looked at and found that it was the clutch and only agreed to pay half and plus I had to pay for my air bag sensor which it also had went out a month of having the car and two of my coils went out and have to pay for them out of pocket to keep my check engine light off. I had no way to work and when I asked could they give me a car to get back and fourth to work. I was told to catch the bus. I hate that I went to carmax for a car. I spent more money to keep my car running than the down payment.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
6
Timmy9
9/08/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Terrable"

We bought a suv from them about a month ago. The salesman was okay but we got moved a couple of times to different sales people. Then they messed up the refund we were going to get from our trade in and it took a week to get a check that we should have gotten the same day. So we decided to get a second car. And thought we would try Carmax again. We found the exact car we wanted got approved. But just had to show prof of income.?? Didn't have to the first time. Anyway we come back and then they wanted a letter from our employer stating the same. ?? Worst experience of our lives. Needless to say we walked out without a car. Went to the jeep dealership down the road got approved and have a better vehicle than what carmax had. I Will never go to carmax again. And advise others to think twice before going to them.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Cody

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
7
Dizzle_ash
8/16/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Best experience "

I want to give a shot out to my sales representative Raul Dominguez from the Bakersfield Carmax. He was so patient and helpful for our first time car purchase. He helped us with every little question we had as we were scared to commit ourselfs. Our overall experience with Raul at Carmax was amazing. Would definitely come back.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Raul Dominguez

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
davsouth
7/07/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Good experience buying 2011 Nissan Leaf"

CarMax had the best selection of used Nissan Leaf electric vehicles. You can select from all over the state of Florida and have them brought (as I did) to Gainesville. The car was in almost perfect mechanical condition (except alignment which was easily corrected) and I am very happy with it. The saleslady (Jess D) was great and very helpful. She was never pushy and let me take my time to get just the vehicle I wanted. There were no "hidden" charges and the financing process was excellent even though I had negative equity in the vehicle I traded in. For electric vehicles CarMax is the best (in my opinion) for buying as you have access to all their dealerships in Florida. For other types of vehicles their prices are generally a little higher than other dealers, but when they say the price is the price, they are truthful and don't try to add in other fees or services. I am very happy with my buying experience, and if I was to do it again, I would again go to CarMax for a Nissan Leaf. And hopefully would be able to deal with Jess D again.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Jess Dickinson

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
3
brentsweany
7/02/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Expect to be lied to"

Great Sales experience, awful business experience. Expect to be lied to in the business office. If you meet with Tyler Sparks request someone else. CarMax will sell you a car that fails an inspection, offer you a refund on the fixes and then refuse to pay, saying they "don't do that."

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Tyler Sparks

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
9
1
...
1 - 10 of 64 results

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory