About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

CarMax

6801 East Frontage Road, Merriam, Kansas 66204
Sales: (913) 384-6697

Makes: Used Car Dealer
14% Recommend
1.9

73 Lifetime Reviews

CarMax
6801 East Frontage Road,
Merriam, Kansas 66204
CarMax Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

73 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
Philip Reynolds
8/20/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Wosrt ever"

I have bought two cars from caax both are lemon money pits. There warranty are xxxx thier car techs dont know anything. Dont buy carmax

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Jone,Ted

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Jeffcustomer
8/13/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Took horrible to a new level"

The car was on fire! Just two days after buying, a little sqeak-flap-flap was heard from under the hood. I decided to take advantage of their 30 day, all inclusive warranty, and drove it back to the Carmax I bought it from. I barely made it! The problem worsened. While at top speed on the freeway the small noise grew to a loud sqeal-bang. The car was jerking, I almost crashed, top speed dropped to 30 mph, All while enduring the nauseating smell of burnt rubber. The car died, literally died, and I coasted into the Carmax parking lot. In front of the service garage I got out, livid, and started to walk inside to find a manager. That's when the flames engulfed the engine compartment and the car met its final end. I'm thinking, "Wow, I better get my money back or at least a new car. What if I parked that thing in my garage? What if I couldn't get my kids out in time? I bought that car for a reliable means of getting my kids to school." I spoke with a manager about how to make this horrific matter right.. The best they could do is 300 dollars off an extended warranty plan on a new car. What the xxxx? Nobody wants that! That's a stupid offer. I asked for a discounted price on a Ford Fusion and they said no way. They never lower prices for integrity reasons. "Integrity!", I exclaimed! "Integrity is righting the wrong you've done by selling me a crap car!" After wasting my time and nearly taking my life, they refused to be compensating. At least I got my 2500 dollar down payment back.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

TJ

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
3
PYE
7/21/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Faulty manufacturer warranty."

CarMax sold me a vehicle that was supposedly under manufacturer warranty. When warranty was supposed to be done the dealership found that vehicle was in a prior collision. Warranty was void.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Brian and Nicole_Vaughn@carmax.com

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Kasielr17
6/30/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"My Fist Car Buying Experience Ruined"

They were very nice a smiley at least. I was double charged my down payment and left with an overdrawn account for two weeks. Every time I call them to ask about paying my overdraft fees I get sent around and placed on holds until finally I reach a voicemail and I never get a call back. I'm very unhappy, I've been so nice a calm and I guess they are reading that as weak and passive. I will be reporting them to the BBB. The skid plate under the front of my car is now coming loose after just 2.5 weeks of driving the car, I can't get ahold of them for repairs either. I just would not recommend to anyone.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Adam, Mary, Katerina

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
5
Spoogee
6/09/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Bad dealership "

Bought a 2010 Chevy Malibu with the max care which cost me an extra $72 a month but was told over and over that it was worth it. Had the car a year and it started jerking and sputtering so I took it to Carmax and they told me they couldn't fix it and I would have to take it to a Chevy dealership. The warranty company wanted receipts for oil changes two weeks before I bought the car until the time my car tore up. The service guy at the Chevy dealership said that it was an underlying problem when I bought the car and Carmax had covered it up. Needless to say I didn't have $4000 to fix the car. Guy at Chevy told me that it wasn't the first time he's seen Carmax refuse to fix a car!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Keesha

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
6
Gtwrg605
4/16/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Carmax Sold me a vehicle with a salvage title"

Carmax sold me a car with a Salvage Branded title. Beware future Carmax Customers. They didn't even know it was branded. I found out years after I bought it, now I can't sell it. Carmax is bouncing me around, hoping the situation will go away. Can't trust the Carmax brand unless they're willing to stand behind their product.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Willie

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
7
carguy3456
3/29/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Don't waste your time at CarMax"

Both my wife and myself took our cars to carmax for appraisals, the associates where very professional although not sharp in appearance, After spending far to mush time while they supposedly evaluated our cars my wife's Toyota Highlander Hybrid Limited they found was worth $6,000.00 what a joke she sold it for $ 11,000.00 two weeks later. the purchaser asked us to take it to Toyota for a check up. when we picked it up the sales man told us I wish I had known you where selling this car it is excellent I could have sold it for you in two days, My Honda Element was worth $1,200.00 LoL I sold it the next week for $3,000.00 It's amazing they actually stay in business. do not waste your time. Maybe they are ok if you are upside down with a car loan ? but I very much doubt it

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

available sales person its a company thing how they price i am sure

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
6
DvineDziner
3/23/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Poor Management and Customer Care"

The car I own is a pretty good car mechanically but physical appearance is a mess!!!!! I'm almost 100% sure this car was wrecked and instead of them repairing it the professional way they cut corners and TOTALLY messed the paint job up!!! I took it back "hoping" to get some cooperation from them and all I received was its a used car..... ITS A 2015, how used can it be????!!!!! WILL NEVER PURCHASE FROM THEM AGAIN NOR WILL I RECOMMEND ANYONE TO THEM!!! Very UNsatisfied customer!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Mack Finney

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
4
No Way
3/02/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"No Way"

I went to Carmax with the intent to purchase my son's first car. We met with a salesman and took a test drive in the car we intended to purchase. The car seemed to be exactly what we were looking for. When I told the salesman that we were very interested but wanted to have the car looked at by our family mechanic the deal began to unravel. He stated that it was against company policy to allow an independent examination of a Carmax vehicle. He suggested that we buy the car and then have it looked at by my mechanic. Carmax lost a 21,000 dollar sale that night. We will not return. Ever.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Tony

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
9
Bouldin1
12/28/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Lied to about my faulty purchase"

Bought a 2012 Infiniti m35 hybrid...total heating system went out in a week..Service person told me I cud choose another vehicle bc repair was 3k...Managers then renigged on the offer to give me another choice. Hybrids have a massive electrical system that can be costly to fix. CARMAX does not keep their word or have any business morals.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Lisa, Lashanda,Matt

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
16
1
...
1 - 10 of 73 results

Need a new car?

The report has been submitted to DealerRater support. To view the status of the report at any time, save this link.