About Us
Copyright 2015 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Learn more

Competition BMW of Smithtown

599 Middle Country Rd, Smithtown, New York 11780
Sales: (631) 265-2208
Service: (631) 979-8822
Parts: (631) 724-3322

Makes: BMW|Service Center

Showroom Hours: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM Open Now

Good
60% Recommend
3.6

36 Lifetime Reviews

Competition BMW of Smithtown
36 Lifetime Reviews

Hours: Open Now

Competition BMW of Smithtown Info
Hours
Amenities
About Competition BMW of Smithtown

Thank you for considering us for your automotive needs. We sell the exciting new BMW models, as well as a comprehensive array of used cars, trucks, crossovers and SUVs. Our courteous, experienced and professional staff is waiting to assist you. Browse the Competition BMW of Smithtown new and used car inventory online, submit any applicable forms, then come in for a test drive and talk with us about our fantastic car loan and lease options. You can also request more information about any of our new or used vehicles, auto parts, or auto repair and service, by using our contact form or by calling the number above. The Competition BMW of Smithtown Car Finder form is a convenient way to have us search for the vehicle you want. Submit it right now, and we will contact you when we find the vehicle you have described! Our new and used car dealership is located at 599 Middle Country Road. We have served customers across Long Island, Suffolk County and all over the greater St James area.

About This Dealer | Hours of Operation | Amenities

About Competition BMW of Smithtown

Thank you for considering us for your automotive needs. We sell the exciting new BMW models, as well as a comprehensive array of used cars, trucks, crossovers and SUVs. Our courteous, experienced and professional staff is waiting to assist you. Browse the Competition BMW of Smithtown new and used car inventory online, submit any applicable forms, then come in for a test drive and talk with us about our fantastic car loan and lease options. You can also request more information about any of our new or used vehicles, auto parts, or auto repair and service, by using our contact form or by calling the number above. The Competition BMW of Smithtown Car Finder form is a convenient way to have us search for the vehicle you want. Submit it right now, and we will contact you when we find the vehicle you have described! Our new and used car dealership is located at 599 Middle Country Road. We have served customers across Long Island, Suffolk County and all over the greater St James area.

Sales/Showroom

Monday 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Tuesday 9:30 AM - 8:00 PM

Wednesday 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Thursday 9:30 AM - 8:00 PM

Friday 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Sunday 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Service

Monday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Parts

Monday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Sunday Closed

  • Free WiFi
  • Cable TV
  • Customer Lounge Area
  • Free Coffee
  • Free Drinks
  • Free Loaner Cars
  • Authorized Parts Store
36 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
nicole
1/20/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"My experience at competition BMW was wonderful"

In my experience at competition BMW my client rep Jason Phelps was great he was professional and great at his job. I had a extremely pleasant experience with Jason. I would 100% recommend him to everyone!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Jose Luis Ramos
11/08/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"This is Riview is for **Jason Phelps**"

I bought an $80k m4 and this guy was a royal xxxxxx! The dealership is great, but if you get this guy, (that's if they don't fire him, as I suggested) word of advice for you: ask for another salesperson! I got Theresa Pierro to finish my deal and she was SO polite and VERY professional.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Theresa Pierro

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
peanutbudda
10/25/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Worst Experience Buying a Car...Ever."

I bought a BMW from this dealer and its was certified and pre-owned. It had a clean Carfax that I was presented with. After 6 months or so I checked the Carfax again to find that the car had been in a collision from the rear from the previous owner! This was not disclosed to me. I went to the dealer and the people below were involved. So was NA and Germany. They ran a magnet around the car and told me the Carfax must be wrong. They told me that they would take the car back on a trade, buy it outright or pay the difference because of the dirty Carfax. They told me to give them 2 weeks. That was months ago with zero contact, no calls back, no e-mails returned and being completely ignored as a customer. I was told that people were unavailable, in the hospital (I hope not) and on vacation. No one else could help me. NA did nothing but support the dealer and Germany punted the issue back to NA. Fast forward, I now has a CPO BMW that is worth much less due to the undisclosed Carfax issue. I would never have bought this BMW if it had been known and disclosed to me that it was in any type of accident (minor or worse). Competition BMW at all levels refuses to communicate, rectify the issue or do what is right for the customer (me). It is sad and unfortunate that this is what the brand has come down to with this dealer. As a result they have lost a customer for life and I would never buy another BMW again because of this experience. I am sure that they could care less. My service experience was just as poor with this dealer. FFF rated experience. Horrible.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
4
happy_chrissy
10/15/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"My 2015 X3 experience"

In my experience at Competition, my client rep, Jason Phelps was a friendly, and very professional. First off, I have to say, I am not the normal person to write reviews but I have to say I had a extremely pleasant experience with Jason. I placed my order for the 2015 X3 over a month ago(had to wait for it to be built) and I had changed the options multiple times since I was indecisive. Every time I would email or call him, he would respond quickly and had a great attitude! He even replied after hours, now that is exceptional service! They gave me a great price from the beginning and never pressured me at all! I had other dealerships who were willing to match the price however, I decided to give the best dealership the my business since they gave me a price with no hassle or haggling. I would definitely recommend Jason and Competition.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
skindoc1
9/07/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"practically shop is closed an hour before closing hour"

Just left this dealership. Was going to buy an X-5 there, but, waited for an hour and no sales came to help. General manager couldn't even get anyone to help. We left for another dealership without any regret, just wasted an hour of time.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

no encounter except the manager

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
5
wcl4
9/05/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"BMW M3"

William DeRosa – the car apparently is yours if you want it – see review below. I was the person who was going to buy the car! I had put a deposit on this vehicle almost a month ago, and now Chris (Pre-Owned manager) has decided to pull the deal one day before I was scheduled to pick it up because he didn't think it was going to be a "good fit". When I first came to see the car, it wasn’t even ready to be test driven, so I put a deposit on the car and placed a contingency of test driving the vehicle before purchase. Also there was a light on the dash indicating a TPMS issue (so Jonathan the new car sales manager stated) that could not be fixed, and I had to acknowledge this in writing. I asked for a receipt showing what the out-the-door price of the car was, and I was handed an invoice indicating the price along with other dealer fees. I was going on vacation the following week, and the salesperson was going the week after, so the earliest pickup could be was Labor Day weekend. I was ready to pick up after I returned from vacation, but the salesperson insisted on being present. I wrote the salesperson after she returned from her vacation and was informed the car could not be prepared in time for Labor Day Weekend, so it would have to be the weekend after. In the time I was waiting, I had done some research on the TPMS issue and found that this was an easy fix. So I called the dealership to have them take a look – it turned out it was a brake sensor light issue due to an aftermarket brake kit installed on the car (even thought it's written as a TPMS issue on my invoice). Again, I called on forum friends and other BMW EXPERTS if this was a fixable issue, and of course the answer was yes. So I called back to demand this be taken care of – and the response – was I going to pay for that. My thought was why would I pay for something that would be an easy fix for the dealer who was getting the car ready for sale? If this light was on and it's an easy fix, why didn't they just do it to begin with? Before picking up the car, I wanted a copy of the maintenance history that had been done on premise, a checklist showing what had been inspected on the car prior to purchase, and a paint micrometer handy to show if any work had been done, and a test drive. I don’t think those were unreasonable requests. Jonathan agreed. I went and got the check two days prior to pick up. The final straw came down to what I perceived to be hidden fees. I live in CT and was looking to buy the car in NY. The title transfer fee would be an additional $500 – something never mentioned in my original conversation nor was it noted on my invoice. This was in addition to the dealer fee and the optional dealer fee for processing titling paperwork. I asked if I could do this myself since I was paying cash and had to go to CT DMV for a different reason. A title transfer in CT is $25. Add some other DMV fees and it would amount to $75 give or take. I was told by Chris the car was not driveable off the lot without having this in place. I called NY DMV and and guess what they said – this is NOT A STATE LAW. I called CT DMV and guess what they said – Go to DMV for title transfer. I again went to the forums and and asked others who had bought their cars in NY who live in CT. Other people who purchased vehicles in NY were only charged CT fees – other responses I received before closing the thread were less kind. So is it my loss? Sure, as I’m sure the car will sell. I wouldn't be surprised if they got a better offer from Mr. DeRosa and were just looking for an excuse to back out. But there are plenty of fish in the ocean. Competition BMW – KNOW YOUR PRODUCT. YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO BE BMW EXPERTS. I’m the one figuring out how to fix your product – sorry if doing your homework for you offended you. And secondly – BE MORE TRANSPARENT with your customers – who is not going to complain about an additional $500 fee the day before pick up? Of course there’s going to be a lack of trust if what you say isn’t fixable actually is, and if last minute fees are sprung onto your customers.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Antonella Martinis

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
3
William derosa
9/04/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Used M3 "

After much initial confusion on whether this particular M3 was actually for sale , Jonathon Bottomley and Russell Caccace handled a difficult situation with dignity and elegance. Although I did not end up purchasing actual vehicle as it was actually sold to another party I appreciated the effort by this dealership to smooth over some misinformation. Although I purchased 2 3 series from Manhattan BMW few years back I highly doubt they would have taken the time nor made the effort this dealership did .

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
William Kayen
12/16/2013
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Spoke with Jason last week to get a trade in value on my..."

Spoke with Jason last week to get a trade in value on my trade. He knew the history of my car and gave me a trade in over the phone to match other dealers. I travelled 45 minutes to the dealer today only to be told they can give me $2500 less for the trade than what he quoted over the phone. I don't appreciate wasting my time by a dealer that thinks they can be so misleading and insincere.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
5
BMWhater
12/04/2013
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"I confidently purchased a certified pre owned 2009 X5 in..."

I confidently purchased a certified pre owned 2009 X5 in October of 2012. The truck had many problems which caused it to be serviced 8 times in the year that I had owned it. Six months into the purchase I realized that I could not rely on the vehicle so I asked the dealer to take the truck back and give me something I could rely on. The dealer offered me 25% less than what I paid to trade the truck in. Losing $10,000 in six months was appalling to me so I was then referred to Corporate. I was disappointed to find out that Corporate Customer Care was also horrendous. I ended up chasing my tail for weeks. Even at the Executive Corporate level, they couldn't explain why I was receiving terrible service and apologized that it occurred. Had this not been the case, I would still be a customer. The only one who is sorry now is me - that I put my faith in what i believed to be a reputable company - and wasted a lot of time and money. ALWAYS check Consumer Reports etc... before you purchase a used vehicle. Especially from BMW.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
nbaram
10/03/2013
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"What a great dealership. The service is impeccable. And..."

What a great dealership. The service is impeccable. And their pricing is great. Just purchased a car from them. Highly recommended! This is the 5th BMW I got from this dealership and I will not go anywhere else.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
1
...
1 - 10 of 36 results
Recently Reviewed Employees
Reviews of Jason Phelps
Jason Phelps

New Car Client Advisor

7 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Russell Cacace
Russell Cacace

Pre-Owned Client Advisor

3 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Bob Bellucci
Bob Bellucci

New Car Client Advisor

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Jonathan  Bottomley
Jonathan Bottomley

New Car Client Advisor

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Doug Monette
Doug Monette

Pre-Owned Client Advisor

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Rudy Alanis
Rudy Alanis

Assistant Service Manager

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of David Rosenstein
David Rosenstein

Sales Manager

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Marc Humanitzki
Marc Humanitzki

New Car Client Advisor

1 Lifetime Review

Read Reviews
Reviews of Dave Metz
Dave Metz

New Car Client Advisor

1 Lifetime Review

Read Reviews
Reviews of Wyane Locanthi
Wyane Locanthi

Parts Manager

1 Lifetime Review

Read Reviews

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory