About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Learn more

Honolulu Ford

1052 Houghtailing Street, Honolulu, Hawaii 96817
Sales: (808) 532-1700
Service: (888) 409-1195
Parts: (808) 532-1700

Makes: Ford | Lincoln | Service Center | Mercury

Showroom Hours: 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM Open Now

Excellent
91% Recommend
4.6

408 Lifetime Reviews

Honolulu Ford

Hours: Open Now

1052 Houghtailing Street,
Honolulu, Hawaii 96817
Honolulu Ford Info
Hours
Amenities
About Honolulu Ford

Celebrating 61 years of service, Honolulu Ford is the Hawaii's first and largest Ford dealership. The dealer, Mark Benson, is encouraging all the employees to become more active in the community. Through developing relationships, we are primarily doing business with friends! Update: Beginning February 2014, Honolulu Ford will be open six days and 24/7 on the Internet. Closed on Sundays- You are a valued part of Honolulu Ford’s Ohana, and the reason that we report to work. It is through this relationship that we would like to share with you our desire to improve our community. In Hawaii, the family is under attack from many different fronts. Whether it is work, traffic, school or social, many are spread too thin. After much soul searching, we have decided to put our families before profits and close our dealership on Sunday. We trust that this statement to the community will serve on many different fronts: On Sunday, you can tour our $19,000,000 inventory without talking to a salesperson. Kick the tires, review the colors and check prices all at your leisure. (We will have a number of vehicles marked down for our Silent Sunday sale, where the price will be honored on Monday!) We are bold in our desire to improve the quality of life for our ninety families that depend on Honolulu Ford for their living. Please take a minute and respond with your thoughts on our new direction. Mahalo, Mark Benson

About This Dealer | Hours of Operation | Amenities

About Honolulu Ford Learn More

Celebrating 61 years of service, Honolulu Ford is the Hawaii's first and largest Ford dealership. The dealer, Mark Benson, is encouraging all the employees to become more active in the community. Through developing relationships, we are primarily doing business with friends! Update: Beginning February 2014, Honolulu Ford will be open six days and 24/7 on the Internet. Closed on Sundays- You are a valued part of Honolulu Ford’s Ohana, and the reason that we report to work. It is through this relationship that we would like to share with you our desire to improve our community. In Hawaii, the family is under attack from many different fronts. Whether it is work, traffic, school or social, many are spread too thin. After much soul searching, we have decided to put our families before profits and close our dealership on Sunday. We trust that this statement to the community will serve on many different fronts: On Sunday, you can tour our $19,000,000 inventory without talking to a salesperson. Kick the tires, review the colors and check prices all at your leisure. (We will have a number of vehicles marked down for our Silent Sunday sale, where the price will be honored on Monday!) We are bold in our desire to improve the quality of life for our ninety families that depend on Honolulu Ford for their living. Please take a minute and respond with your thoughts on our new direction. Mahalo, Mark Benson

Sales/Showroom

Monday 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Friday 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Saturday 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Service

Monday 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Tuesday 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Wednesday 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Thursday 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Friday 7:30 AM - 5:30 AM

Saturday 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Parts

Monday 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Tuesday 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Wednesday 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Thursday 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Friday 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Saturday Closed

Sunday Closed

  • Cable TV
  • Drive-In Service
  • Free Coffee
  • Free WiFi
  • Customer Lounge Area
408 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
Ashley Foust
4/22/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Sales"

I went to this dealership thinking I would be able to get out of my GM product that I am not partial to. Upon looking at the vehicles and determining that there is an extremely high vehicle mark up even for Hawaii made me not want to proceed with the transaction. The sales representative made contact with us and we proceeded to look at the Ford Explorer that we wanted. We filled out the credit app and they appraised our GM. I went into the dealership understanding that I was going to have negative equity, but when the dealership came back with an extremely low unacceptable offer on our vehicle I walked out. I would have been fine with tacking on 7-10k negative equity just to get out of my GM and keeping the same payments. But they threw me an offer that would put me 20k under what is owed on my current vehicle. And then expect me to finance a 65k+ vehicle. I figured this Ford dealership would have done better, it seemed as though they didn't put an effort into selling a vehicle and getting s new customer. So I wasted my time coming to this dealership, which is upsetting as I haven't heard anything negative about them. I guess the take away from this would be the vehicles are way overpriced even for Hawaii standards and they are supposed to be in the customer service business not the "bare minimum" to get by business. Afterwards I decided to go to Tony Honda and they were extremely friendly and eager to help get my family in a vehicle that we would be comfortable in. The only reason I did not purchase a vehicle from Tony Honda is because they didn't have the vehicle In stock that I was interested in, so the hunt for a competent dealership with a vehicle In stock continues.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Daniel (Sales Manager)

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
The Lees
4/17/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Aloha & Excellent Service Experienced from Ryan Medeiros!"

We have already completed two different surveys from Ford on the mainland as well as Honolulu Ford. However, we were compelled to also put this in writing to express our extremely positive experience when buying our Ford Edge at Honolulu Ford. The main reason we had a great car buying experience was a result of the excellent customer service we experienced first-hand from Ryan Medeiros. We have never met him before, however, with that said, his local family style of engaging with us, made us feel so comfortable and at ease in a normally uncomfortable situation for most consumers. He was extremely patient, respectful, timely, and professional. His people skills and true spirit of Aloha are extraordinary and rare today in our fast-paced and often "me-first" society. We never felt rushed and never pressured, instead we were allowed to respectfully come to our own best decision with help from Ryan to answer any questions we may have had along the way. By the way, it took us three visits before we actually made our ultimate decision and would call Ryan at different stages to ask more questions. Through it all, he was very patient and always got back to us promptly. My wife, Dianne even gave Ryan a "high-five" the first time we met, as we were so impressed by his 5-Star quality service on our first encounter with him. (She's never done that before mind you) Ultimately, Ryan helped to create a painless, fun, memorable, and extraordinary car-buying experience for us that we will share with others for years to come! His follow-up after we came home with our new Edge, was impressive as well. We received a well-written and heartwarming email about being available to help ensure we are completely satisfied and if we needed any assistance at all to please let him know. This was timely and written in such a way, that we responded by contacting Ryan immediately regarding a particulate page in the financial documents that we had a question on and needed clarification. Ryan quickly turned this into yet another very positive experience by coordinating a conference call with Brian in the Credit department, who reviewed the page in question. We must say that this situation could have turned into a negative experience, however, Brian was very respectful, gracious, and open to feedback, and turned this situation into another very positive one for us. Kudos to Brian as well! In closing, we had the best car buying experience we have ever encountered! Please convey our deep appreciation to Ryan for his excellent service and example of a true professional sales executive in this field. Mahalo! The Lees

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Ryan Mederios

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Angelica
2/05/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Bought a New Ford Fusion"

Honolulu Ford is the best dealership on island hands down! This is our second new car purchase from Honolulu Ford. A few months ago we bought a brand new Explorer and had such a great experience, so we decided to come back and buy our brand new Fusion here too. Andrew was our sales guy both times and Wayne was our finance guy both times too! I'm so thankful we got to work with both of them twice. They both get 5 stars from me on customer service. They both went above and beyond on both sales. I'm so happy we switched to Ford because we are so happy with both of our Ford vehicles. Chevy's are a thing of the past for us!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
MieLehua
1/24/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Mahalo Nui Honolulu Ford Ohana! "

Amazing experience! Chip Lowman gave exceptional service. I always say…a great team player reflect a great leader. I witnessed Mr. Benson (Honolulu Ford President) come out of his office and sincerely meet his customers with candy. Wow! Now that's exceptional! His personable, honest, and team player attitude was evident in the Honolulu Ford Ohana. You made me feel like family! Mahalo:))

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Ysalty
1/03/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Excellent service and price"

Ben Cabalo was excellent as always. He is the reason why I keep going back to Honolulu Ford time and time again. I will be back soon when my other lease is up

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Honolulu Ford responded to this review

January 04, 2016

Thanks! You are right, Ben Cabalo is a standard here at Honolulu Ford. Thank you and thanks, Ben!

Shiriko
12/22/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Threaten"

I went to look at a vehicle on Wednesday November 11th, 2015 evening because I received a letter in the mail from a finance lender that they would be able to refinance another car at a lower rate than the one we had. The people was nice at first. The salesperson that helped us gave me the chance to look around. I did not want someone to show me what they wanted me to look at. I can do that all myself. I eventually found what I wanted. Filled up all the application. Did not stay long enough, do to early morning flight to Molokai. Thursday November 12th, 2015 my mother passed away and my family and I are taking her home. We came back to Oahu on Saturday November 14th, 2015 and rested from 2 memorials. Both my Mom and her sister I was named after. So I was dealing with a lot of grief. The 2 beautiful people in my life is now gone. I rested on Sunday November 15th, 2015 and I decided that life goes on. I work all the time.With 3 children, therapist twice a week. My part time job that is a full time job plus. dealing with tenants, check in, check outs, fights, arguments, everything that comes with management. Working with a partner with our moped business and a dysfunctional family of mine. Time for change. That I will do what I told my Mom I would do and keep my word before I past. I would get a truck for work. I went back to the dealership on tuesday November 17th, 2015 and see if we qualified. My ex-husband did not, he pulled me down. So they tried me by myself and I qualified. But they needed check stubs which I could not give because I do not get pay stub I get just a check. So I had to go to my bank and pay $5 per page for bank statements. We took it back and then they said that needed copies of my deposits of checks. I went and got it from my bank on Wednesday November 18th, 2015 and gave the salesperson the papers. I asked him if he needed the bank statement and he said no. He went to the office in the back and came out with the keys, handed it to me and said you are good to go. I left with my truck and very happy. 1 down and many more to go Mom. About a week later I received all call, but the voice was drowning in and out. So being so busy because my boss is leaving for her family vacation. I went down on Friday December 04th, 2015 and talked with them. They needed my bank statement. I told them I have it at home. I asked them why did you not take it the last time I asked. They wanted me to bring it back the next day. I told them I would try. The gentlemen told me that he would send Keith the salesperson that has been helping me to come and get it. I said ok. With people checking in, roach season. Weather doing its thing like it normally does. training, checking to make sure units are up to par, dealing with tenants that is " I need this, or I need that" ahhhhhh. My boss leaves and things get wacko. On Friday December 11th, 2015 I get a call from my ex-husband saying that 1 of my reference just got a threatening message from Ford saying that, "IF YOU DO NOT MAKE A PAYMENT THEY WILL COME AND REPO MY CAR". I could not understand I made a $2000.00 deposit in cash. I have not heard from Bank of Hawaii yet. Called Keith and told him how is that. Something about the statement. I told him I do not appreciate anyone threatening my reference or myself. he said he got off work and headed home. Can you get a hold of the guy who left the message to call me. I should yelp, google, yahoo, Facebook and go to the Better Business Bureau about Ford." NO ONE CALLED ME BACK". NO ONE ANSWERED THE PHONE. So I had to leave my work and close up. I went down to the Ford dealership where I got the Ford F150 Truck. I talked with a gentlemen who was rude and demanding. I do not want to argue. "DO YOU OR DO YOU NOT HAVE THE KEYS TO THE TRUCK AND THE TRUCK HERE!!! I do, I also came with a statement. "I TOLD HIM I DO NOT LIKE BEING THREATENED". People can talk to me very easily. Do not have to threaten people. He said that they have been calling me everyday. I said, "THATS A LIE". I DO NOT xxxxxxxx. I TELL THE TRUTH NO ONE CALLED ME UNTIL TODAY AND LEFT ALL THIS THREATENING MESSAGES WITH MY REFERENCE, MY PHONE AND MY WORK. THAT FRAUD CHARGES WOULD BE FILED AGAINST ME. I COULD PULL IT UP ON VERIZON TO SEE HOW MANY TIMES YOU CALLED ME. I WAS SO UPSET. HE SAID YOU HAVE OUR 20 THOUSAND DOLLAR TRUCK OUT ON THE ROAD. I TOLD HIM THAT ITS IN THE GARAGE. ITS NOT HIDING. COULD HAVE COME THERE INSTEAD OF THREATENING PEOPLE AND INCLUDING MYSELF. HE SAID THAT HE WOULD BE A THORN TO THEM IF THE LIED. I KNOW THEY LIED…LIED…LIED…MY SISTER WAS VERY UPSET AND TELLING HIM ABOUT HOW THEY WENT ABOUT THINGS AND THAT WAS WRONG. HE SAID THAT TOMORROW SATURDAY DECEMBER 12TH, 2015 THAT THEY MAY COME TO WHERE I LIVE AND REPO THE TRUCK. I LEFT WENT BACK HOME CLEANED OUT THE TRUCK AND LEFT IT THERE. SATURDAY, SUNDAY, MONDAY, TUESDAY, WEDNESDAY, THURSDAY, FRIDAY…..NO SHOW….. I STILL HAVE THE TRUCK…..SATURDAY, SUNDAY, MONDAY AND NOW ITS TUESDAY I STILL HAVE THE TRUCK. I AM WONDERING IF YOU WILL HAVE ME ARRESTED, WHO KNOWS WHAT YOU PEOPLE FROM FORD DO YOUR BUSINESS. I HOPE THAT KNOW ONE EVER GOES THROUGH WHAT I WENT THROUGH WITH A COMPANY LIKE FORD DEALERSHIP!!!!!!!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Keith Loncke

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Honolulu Ford responded to this review

January 04, 2016

Honolulu Ford said on 01/04/2016 03:25 PM "Honolulu Ford makes every effort for smooth effortless financing experience but in some cases such as yours. require more extensive supporting documentation for income verification. Until we supply the required documentation to the lender, the loan is not valid. In our efforts to reach via phone number you provided on the credit application, the individual answering the phone repeatedly stated; " wrong number". So as permitted by law, we called the references listed on your credit application in order to reach you. While we do not assume fraudulent activity, it is important to understand that when a customer gives us the wrong phone number on a credit application or is unwilling to provide supporting income and proof of residence, we must resort to other measures to either complete the transaction or return the vehicle to Honolulu Ford. No other industry allows a customer to leave a store front with a product worth over twenty thousand dollars with just a few signatures and a deposit. We extended our trust to you to help us finalize your loan or you had the option to go to your own bank and take a loan and pay for the truck. We apologize for any embarrassment caused by our attempts to reach you but feel you had a responsibility to follow through with your promises as well. We are not motivated to have an unhappy customer and want to sell cars. Please feel free to call me and discuss further. My door is always open. "

MustangGT
12/19/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Horrific Service"

Brought my 2015 Mustang GT in to have the passenger window replaced due to scratches on the glass during delivery. After the installation of the window and upon picking up my vehicle I walked to the trunk to place my bag in and discovered a 6 - 8 inch gouge in my bumper. I was told they were very sorry to bring it back on Monday and they would have it repaired. On the drive home I noticed the passenger door panel rattling. When I got home I opened the passenger door and discovered the door panel tabs that affix the panel to the door were damaged. I also found a glue tube cap on my new floor mats. I immediately called the service department to report my findings. They said that they would order a new panel and call me when it arrives. Seven days later I was informed the new door panel was in and to make an appointment for the installation. The day of installation they had my vehicle for 8 hours, then they called me to inform me they had ordered the wrong panel. Again, they tried applogizing about the all mistakes they had made during this entire ordeal. Once again they said they were ordering the door panel on an express delivery. 7 days later I was contacted and informed the panel was in and that my service advisor was no longer employed by Honolulu Ford and that my case would be assigned to a new advisor. Day of installation, I meet my new service advisor. I explain my situation entirely and inform her that I have lost all trust and faith in their ability to fix my door panel properly with out damaging my vehicle any further. 3 hours later, I was informed that my vehicle was done. Upon inspection of their work, I discovered damage to the new door panel that was just installed. I talked to Sam the Service Manager, and again he apologized for the damage and all the inconvience this has caused me. I was again told that I will be contacted when the new door panel arrives.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Honolulu Ford responded to this review

January 04, 2016

We are sorry for the on-going trouble. We are embarrassed.

romeo,
11/26/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Happy Thanksgiving! Thanks to Paul of Parts Dept for help."

Mahalo nui loa to Paul of the Parts Dept. for getting me the part for my 2008 Explorer. He was so cheerful on the phone telling me the was not in stock in their shop, but made effort to find one in the island. He chherfully called me an hour later that he had the part in his hand. I went to pay for it. I was not able to thank him in person because he was in meeting. The personnel at the Parts Dept did not appear friendly, not smiling. At first I was told to wait for Paul until he comes from his meeting. I had to explain that I had just talked to Paul who told me he had the part ih his hand. I asked for a discount in the name of Ben Cabalo who is always helpful. I was told with a very strong language "Ben Cabalo discount is a Ben Cabalo..." This is the 2nd time I have to buy this part. I think the Service People were not properly placing the part.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Honolulu Ford responded to this review

January 04, 2016

Thank you for the kind words regarding Paul. It really makes our day when an employee is recognized by a customer. I am uncertain as to what discount you are referring and will consult with Ben.

Col J
11/23/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Painless!"

Over the years I have purchased many cars. And more often than not, I have not enjoyed those ‘experiences’. Too much back and forth chatter and arm twisting for add-ons I did not want or need. That said, my most recent experience with Honolulu Ford, and specifically Mr. Robert (Rob) Brantley, was in a word, painless. I spoke with Rob for 20 minutes, he showed me what I wanted to see, and I left the dealership for a dinner engagement. As promised, later that same night Rob sent me the numbers - full disclosure; nothing hidden. We completed the paperwork the next day and I drove the car home. Easiest car buying experience I have ever had. Because of this experience, Honolulu Ford will be at the top of my next new car buy list.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Honolulu Ford responded to this review

January 04, 2016

Thank you very much! You have no idea how delightful it is to receive a good review from a great customer. Thanks again!

Eduardo
10/29/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Best of the Best"

I'd like to take this opportunity to thank Mr. Ben Cabalo. It was Ben's knowledge and confidence in Honolulu Ford's products and services that had me fall for this F150. Being a previous Chevy owner I had many questions and comparisons and Ben answered them all. Ultimately if not for Ben's outstanding customer service, I believe I would be driving a Silverado instead. Thank you Ben...I couldn't have made a better choice (F150) without you! Did I mention "I love this truck!" Thanks again Ben...You're the Best of the Best!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
1
...
1 - 10 of 408 results
Recently Reviewed Employees
Reviews of Ben Cabalo
Ben Cabalo

Fleet Sales

80 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Mark Benson
Mark Benson

President

74 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Art Tsukamoto
Art Tsukamoto

Fleet Sales

48 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Jason Stewart
Jason Stewart

Finance Manager

38 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Danny Asao
Danny Asao

General Sales Manager

21 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Chip Lowman
Chip Lowman

Sales Professional

19 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Wayne Fukamoto
Wayne Fukamoto

Finance Manager

19 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Donna Davis
Donna Davis

Internet Sales Manager

15 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Rob Brantley
Rob Brantley

Sales Executive

13 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Brian Hashimoto
Brian Hashimoto

Finance Manager

8 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory