About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Smithtown Volkswagen

4.0

29 Lifetime Reviews

530 E. Jericho Turnpike, Saint James, New York 11780 Directions
Sales: (866) 308-5672

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

29 Reviews of Smithtown Volkswagen

Sort by Write a review
February 09, 2017

"worst dealership"

- bsinha

my wife's lease on her Volkswagen was about to end. we went to get another vw from smith town vw. after test drive sit down with sales person to finalize the lease numbers.when i inquire about the details like what is the msrp, residual. rate. cap cost.rather than answering these question he was going inside to talk to someone.after so many back and forth. some one came out from inside, immediately he start attacking on me stating are you an engineer ? work for Grumman ? start insulting and when i responded he become very loud and start screaming .I was taking some note on paper we decided to leave he scream again that is not your paper you can't take with you. we felt very humiliated ,possibility due my Indian ascent he thought he can fool me ,when found he cannot trick me he got angry. will suggest you go somewhere else where people are more civil.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
sal/jerry
January 14, 2017

"Worst Place "

- sofia311

The Worst dealership i have ever been to. The Customer service is horrible. Paul Marcelo which is the service manager is RUDEEEE. Never will i ever get my car serviced through this location.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
PAUL MERCALO
December 28, 2016

"GREAT SALES SERVICE"

- JAMES WOLFE

JUST WANTED TO THANK SMITHTOWN VW FOR THE WONDERFUL SALES EXPERIANCE WITH THE LEASE OF MY NEW 2017 TIGUAN . THE SALES STAFF AND NEW MANAGEMENT TEAM TREATED ME WITH RESPECT AND THE NO PRESSURE APPROACH SOLD ME RIGHT AWAY. SAL THE SALESMAN THAT SOLD ME THE CAR WILL BE MY FRIEND FOR LIFE. THANKS YOU SMITHTOWN VW.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
SAL,SCOTT
December 21, 2016

"DO NOT GO HERE - LYING, RUDE, INCONSIDERATE DEALERSHIP"

- Ashley8Roxanne

On November 21,2016 I walked into Smithtown VW looking to do an early trade in for my 2014 Jetta. I was aware that I had 8 months left on my lease but needed to trade the car in to prevent any type of over mileage. I walked around the showroom for 15 minutes without being approached by a single sales person, mind you it was only 9am, but still the salesmen that were on the floor found eating their breakfast sandwiches more important than making their first sale of the day. After 15 minutes I was finally greeted by a manager of some sort, I'm guessing since he was sitting in the far left hand corner office, who told me that his sales person John would be over to help me shortly. The only reason I'm willing to give this experience a single star is due to my Salesman John Zahn. He was very polite and got right down to business. I had told him that I was aware of my situation and that I would be giving the dealership $3,000 to pay my lease off early. Please keep in mind, this was during their $0, 0, 0, 0 event - $0 due at signing, $0 security deposit, 0 first months payment, $0 down payment. The deal that John had came back with was great for what I needed, I decided on a 2017 Tiguan lease with 18k miles per year. At that moment, $393/mo sounded great. Long story short, I leave to go to work and come back that evening to finalize everything. One my way back to the dealership, Scott the Finance Manager reached out to ask that I bring an additional $250 for title, taxes, etc....this is during the event where I shouldn't have to bring anything to signing. I still stopped and took the cash out anyway to avoid any type of headache. Once I got to the dealership, I was directed to sit in Scott's office to finalize and go over everything. While sitting in Scott's office, we had a friendly conversation on how we both got into finance; I am a Mortgage Loan Originator. While we were going over everything I made him aware that the $3,000 was to go towards the paying my lease off early. He agreed and stated that the payoff would be sent directly to VW Credit and also advised me that they would be paying my November Payment for the Jetta and that I wouldn't have to make the Tiguan's payment until January.(This was due to the $0 first month's payment deal going on) I still paid the additional $250 to avoid the hassle of having the paperwork re-written, shook his hand, and went on my merry way. I walked out of the dealership with a feeling of having a good experience with the dealership for the 2nd time. 3 weeks went by and I never received my statement for the Tiguan and every time I checked my account on VWCredit it showed that the Jetta had not been paid off. One December 14, 2016, after countless calls to VWCredit reassuring me that at times it takes up to 2-3 weeks for the pay-off to come in, I received a check payable to me in the amount of $3,100+, no note attached, zero instructions as to what the check was for. Having a strange feeling in the pit of my stomach, I called VWCredit again to see if the payoff for my Jetta was ever sent in, and if the November Payment that was promised was ever made - they both were not. In fear that I would receive a derogatory mark on my credit thus causing me to lose my MLO License and my beloved career, I called into the dealership asking to speak to Scott. I was finally transferred over to him and did his demeanor change. He was no longer the polite man I had spoke to weeks before as I was handing him $3250, no he was short spoken, rude, and would barely allow me to get a word in edge wise. I made him aware that VWCredit still had not received the pay-off or my November payment. He replied back snidely that I was incorrect. As I attempted to explain my conversation to him, mid sentence, he transferred me up to a Donna's Voicemail, with out a single word from him. He's the Finance Manager, this is unacceptable behavior. Donna gave me a call back shortly after I left her a voicemail and made me aware that they sent the check to me to cash and then send the pay-off up to VWCredit. Keep in mind, it takes 3-4 business days for a check of that size to clear in a bank account. Once the check clears, I then have the write a check, mail it up the VWCredit (another 3 business days), and have them post it to my account, another 3-4 business days. With all of the holiday's in December, this most likely wouldn't have happened until January - causing me to be 2 months behind on my Jetta Payment. I asked her to have the owner or the highest manager give me a call as soon as possible. The General Manager of Smithtown VW, David Lowville (?), reached out to me that day to apologize for my poor experience and to let me know that the whole ordeal was unacceptable on their end. He promised me that first thing the next day when he was back in the dealership, he would look over my lease agreement, and get back to me with something they would do to rectify this situation. As you can imagine, I did not receive a call the next day. I even reached out to him the day after, left a voicemail and called him 2 other times to see if he would live up to his word. On top of all of this, they cancelled the check for the $3100.00 which caused my bank to charge me a $15 cancelled check fee, and my Tiguan payment was due for this month, December, when I was promised and lead to believe that I would have my first month off and not have to make a payment until January. I put $3000 towards paying off my early trade in, that they didn't forward over to VWCredit. So basically during the $0, 0, 0, 0 event - $0 due at signing, $0 security deposit, 0 first months payment, $0 down payment. I put $3,000 down, paid $250 at signing, AND had to make my 1st month's payment. This dealership is a bunch of liar's and thieves. Their upper management do not care one bit about a customer and are only looking to cushion their pockets. As a financial industry professional, it makes me absolutely sick the way they have treated me and I am in fear of what they have done and will do in the future to other customers. Do not give these people your business.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John Zah, Scott Finance Manager, David Lowville General Manager
October 19, 2016

"Great service, respectful atmosphere"

- nyyankees219

I recently leased a VW Jetta from a Mr. Anthony Caputo. He was very knowledgeable on everything pertaining to each vehicle I asked about, and he guided me through the entire leasing process from my first step into the dealership until the second I left having happily signed a lease. He was not overly pushy, as most car salesman usually are. The rest of the staff was kind and courteous to me as well. I 100% recommend this dealership to anyone and everyone, and make sure you ask for Mr. Caputo!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Anthony Caputo
October 15, 2016

"Great customer service. GO SEE SAL"

- Ryannas26

If you happen to stop by volkswagen looking for a great deal on an even better vehicle go see Sal D'amino. Great guy, very down to earthe and gives all kinds of great deals to ensure you getc the best bang for your buck!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Salvatore D'amico
October 12, 2016

"GREAT CARS AND SERVICE"

- DomJOramas

Sal was a huge help. I went there for service advice and ended up talking to Sal about buying a 2013 GTI. He provided great information and was very friendly. The car is amazing, & is a great deal. Will definitely be back to get it. Thank you!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sal D'amico
October 11, 2016

"family atmosphere"

- talldave68

Best experience i have ever had in my 32 years of buying a vehicle. I never write reviews but this experience was so wonderful that i need the public to hear it. If you want a no hassle family experience then visit this dealership. My salesperson is a very nice woman named jessica. I will buy all my vehicles from her and send all my friends, family and co workers to see her so they can experience what i have.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jessica, David and Scott.
September 20, 2016

"Happy Customer"

- Stickshift123

Purchased a used VW Jetta from this dealership and have not a single complaint about this dealership. The management staff does right by their customers. I will be a Smithtown VW customer for life. Love my Jetta.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
James
August 02, 2016

"good people"

- mc69

Let me prevent you from the beginning that this is a dealership that got its last face lift in 1980 or so, based on how worn it looks, both showroom and service waiting area. that should not turn you down. The owner knows how to pick management for both sales and service, they are hard working, honest, low money making people that somehow they get inspired and driven by customer total satisfaction. This is exactly the "Dodgeball" story of "Average Joe" going against "White Goodman Globogym" (Huntington, Donaldsons and others) and actually winning. I have bought 3 cars from them and service them in the past 9 years. All three were wins agains the other named dealers that treated me like an insignificant potential client. Is this coincidence, i bet you no. I had my frustrations with them and still ended up to be better treated by them that other "friendly" dealerships shouting commercials every day on local stations,. I you are unhappy, they will try to correct it and please you in the limits of reasonable profit making business. They are hard working, down to the earth people. If you want your ego get inflated, go to BMW or else. this is car dealership for middle class, hard working people

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sal D'Amico
1
1 - 10 of 29 results