About Us
Copyright 2014 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Smithtown Volkswagen

530 E. Jericho Turnpike, Saint James, New York 11780
Sales: (866) 308-5672

Makes: Volkswagen|Service Center
 
Average
57% Recommend

Overall Rating 3.3

17 Lifetime Reviews

Write a Review
Smithtown Volkswagen
17 Lifetime Reviews
Smithtown Volkswagen Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

17 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
J N
7/22/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Best Lease Experience yet"

Just leased my first VW, my first Passat SE. I have to say it was my best leasing experience yet and I have leased 6 consecutive cars! They made it such an easy and pleasurable experience from start to finish. The Passat SE is an excellent car and much more fun to drive than my last 3 Fusions. I will definitely lease from Smithtown VW again and recommend for those looking to buy or lease.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Sales Consultant Deborah H & Internet Manager Kim H

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Plaka
5/27/2014
Reason For Visit
Service

"Major disappointment, will never go back"

I have taken my two VWs to this dealer many times for service, especially after I bought them used for a full checkup. I felt that after every single repair over the last 5 years there were always loose ends and problems remained. But the most recent service topped it all... took my 2004 Jetta for misfiring and engine stalling occasionally. Other mechanics told me the ignition coils needed replacing so I suggested it to them - their solution was to replace a speed sensor. I don't know if that fixed it, because other things happened... They pointed out I needed a new Catalytic Converter and fortunately it was covered under the extended warranty. So they replaced it... but the moment I picked it up I heard something banging against the bottom of the car. Shop was closed, I had to get home so I drove off. Next morning on the way to work, car started misfiring again. Leaving in the evening, it misfired in idle and then shut off... worse than before. So I took it back, leaving it at night for next day. Had to leave it for the day... "Oh, the bolt holding the Cat was defective and it lost pressure"... translated it means, our mechanic didn't know what he was doing and was not able to install the Cat properly. I asked if that was the reason for the same misfiring I brought it in originally before I had a Cat problem... yes, absolutely. Next day I pick up the car and Cat seemed to be on properly, but my car's shifting was totally off from the moment I left their premises. It only got worse as I drove on and eventually it slipped into neutral while driving in D over 30 mph... what the xxx... Took it back a third time and yet another day without a car to get to work, begging my family to take me at 6am... Turns out my transmission was shot, lost gears 2 and 4. All pure coincidence while VW Smithtown was working on my car. I almost believe it, but now I have a car without a transmission and many new parts. Transmission costs more than the car is worth... but that's irrelevant. Bottom line, service is bad at VW Smithtown. They are friendly but the quality of the repairs it below standard. And they never offered a loaner car for the inconvenience or any other sort of compensation or apology for messing up the Cat installation in the first place. My recommendation, don't go there!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Paul

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
patersonc
5/21/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Worst dealership "

I went to purchase the 2012 TDI Manual Black exterior and interior. The interest rate they gave me was 5.79, and they wouldn't even try to go lower, or budge on the price. But most importantly when I ran the vin number through my insurance agent I was informed the vehicle, which was "certified used" was in fact in an accident with damage estimating $5,000. The dealership told me they didn't know about the damage and couldn't even tell me where it was. I decided not go purchase a used car that had damage I wasn't even informed about from the start. Very disappointing. The dealership is old looking and doesn't seem very clean. They wouldn't do anything to help me in any way. I would never go there or recommend to anyone.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Bob

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
dillon7m3
2/07/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"This is the second car that I have purchased from..."

This is the second car that I have purchased from Smithtown VW in the last year. The customer service both times was phenomenal! I dealt with Mark, Kim, and Sal. All are super knowledgable and friendly. They make the whole process extremely easy. Their prices and customer service cannot be beat. I would never go anywhere else (and I live an hour away). Best VW dealer hands down!!! THANK YOU MARK, KIM, AND SAL!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Mark Lieberman, Kim Hogan, Sal

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
elim769
9/28/2013
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"This has got to be the worst VW dealership on Long..."

This has got to be the worst VW dealership on Long Island. I haven't even visited this place cause the used car salesman was so dumb and unprofessional, I am amazed the owner employs him. After several email exchanges for a car inquiry, the genius sales person Ivan tells me that Kelley Blue Book is not in the car business. Then after he realized he is not dealing with an amateur, he threatens me thru an email. Then I get the sales manager David to argue with me. Whatever you do folks, stay away from this place. They are boiler room sales people. The general Sales Manager Mark Lieberman was not even around. I can assure you from my experience, they are not selling a lot of cars. Probably because of their horrific attitude. Buyer beware...they will make some excuse that I was rude. xxx straight I was rude...they are lucky that's all I was. Stay away......!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Garbage dealership

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Ivan, David

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
raypreis
7/23/2013
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Ms. Kimberly Hogan is, by far, the most friendly and..."

Ms. Kimberly Hogan is, by far, the most friendly and knowledgable new car salesperson that I have ever dealt with. Well, actually, I did not deal with her, my sister-in-law did. I came along for the ride. Ms. Hogan is a consummate professional and stickler for detail. She made the "new car dealership thing" a pleasant experience. When I get my next new car, it will be a VW from Kimberly. My sister-in-laws new Passat is awesome. Smithtown VW and Kimberly would be a tough act to follow. Ray R. - Smithtown, NY

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Kimberly Hogan

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
JGEH
6/28/2013
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Had a great deal on a brand new car. Sales lady was very..."

Had a great deal on a brand new car. Sales lady was very good and it was an ok experience at this dealer. They need to do some major renovation to that showroom... After all, got the car i wanted.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Debora

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Bgiese
10/17/2012
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"I did research on car I wanted for my children.Raven..."

I did research on car I wanted for my children.Raven communicated with me all week. She claimed to have 7of the style and trims I was interested in. Well when I arrived(1.5hours away from home) they had no cars for me. Was very disappointed they tried to make a deal-ha-had a trade in and was planning on driving a new car home.Well I did Toyota down the road was the best!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Kim&Raven

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
dansan382
9/14/2012
Reason For Visit
Service

"Go into Smithtown Volkswagen all the time for my service..."

Go into Smithtown Volkswagen all the time for my service needs for both of my Volkswagens. Nothing but great people there, very helpful, very friendly and the job is always done right and fast. I have never had a problem in the 4+ years I've been dealing with this place. Parts guys are great, service is great and so is sales. They really take care of me on the few times that something does break or go wrong. I won't bring my cars anywhere else.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Tom, Chris, Barbara, Maureen

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
dtrejj
8/28/2012
Reason For Visit
Service

"My MIL warning light came on, so I called ahead to make..."

My MIL warning light came on, so I called ahead to make sure my car was still under warranty, the person on the phone then informed me my car was not. I then spoke to the service director Terry who was very helpful and polite he then reassured me and told me my case falls under the goodwill guidelines. The write up process was flawless quick and easy. Tom handled evrrything smoothly and my car was done before noon on the same day extremely satisfied with the services provided at smithtown Volkswagen!.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Terry & Tom

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
1
1 - 10 of 17 results

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory