Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Cooley Motors

Rensselaer, NY

1.5
83 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

401 N Greenbush Road

Rensselaer, NY

12144

Directions

Is this your dealership?

83 Reviews of Cooley Motors

Sort by Write a review
September 23, 2020

"Met with Walter Ponce. Smooth, easy transaction. Walter..."

- Smithholly3

Met with Walter Ponce. Smooth, easy transaction. Walter was friendly, courteous and followed up with all questions. I love my new Atlas! Highly recommend this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Walter Ponce
August 09, 2020

"NIGHTMARE!!!"

- donnaraenorling

I also would give 0 stars if allowed. Worst car buying experience ever! Walter and Larry, Salesman and Sales Manager had given me a printed offer in June. At that time, there was a double owner loyalty rebate of $1,500. Larry assured me that even though the rebate ended in June, his written offer was good for 90 days. I made all of my decisions on this number. I decided to try to sell my vehicle on my own thinking it was worth more than they were offering me. 2014 CX-5 with 26K miles in excellent condition. After a few failed sales attempts and a family crises, I decided it was easier just to trade in (plus less sales tax). Walter and I had been texting for weeks. I called him and told him of my decision. Since it was an odd number I owed, I gave him a debit card for the down payment and we agreed what my cashier's check amount should be for pick up. I even texted him again to be sure. Day of pickup, the Finance Officer, Collon, told me I owed $680 more than the agreed upon price. I was angry. Were they trying to pull one over on me since I am a 64 year old widow? He went to talk to Larry. Larry stormed in and told me I was not leaving there until I gave him an additional $680. He was not honoring the original quote. He was mean, disrespectful and abusive. He threw my check at me and told me to get out. He didn't want my business. When Collon came back, I was in tears. He went to speak to the General Manager, Ted. He returned to tell me they would Simoniz my car for free (an $680 value - ironic isn't it?). I just wanted to get out at that point so I wrote a check. I was so shaken up that I did not fully inspect my car. Upon arriving home, I saw it was filthy (tons of leaves in the windshield bay from all the time it was at the dealership (since January - it was now July). The clock even had the wrong time. In going through my paperwork, I noticed the New Car Inspection Form - which has a checklist of items to be completed was blank - never done, never signed. I wrote e-mails to the dealership. Ted was worthless - just stuck up for his guys. Supposedly, he spoke to the owner, Eric Cooley, who also did nothing. I have contacted my personal attorney and Mazda Corporate. Do yourself a favor, run!!! They are liars and thieves. I have spoken to Corporate. Of course they are shocked and furious to hear that this is how a dealership treats its valued loyal customers. My CX-5 was on the lot for all of 2 days before it sold. Horrible customer service. I hope no one ever has to experience what did. Should have been a happy day and turned into a nightmare!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Walter, Larry, Collon, Ted
March 22, 2020

"6 year Bumper to Bumper Warranty - Isn't"

- thedickins1

Clutch failed on 2019 Jetta. Warranty specifically listed clutch disk. Fine. However other parts that were replace were said to be in good condition in Video they sent me however they replaced them anyways and charged me. We requested parts saved. They did not. One salesman remarked that I must have been driving with the brake on - what an idiotic insulting thing to say. Owned VW's for 30 years. There is an obvious decline in quality since lawsuit. Will never buy a new one.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
don't recall names
December 05, 2019

"A nightmare"

- usny

I would give them zero if I could. I bought a new mazda and was told it was .9 percent interest without the discount and 2,9 with the discount . I took the discount and the 2.9 percent . . I received my notice from Wells Fargo today and I'm being charged 4.9 percent, Wells Fargo told me when I asked that Cooley set it up that way and I would have to go to them. I called and was told that discount was with Mazda and it was too late to do anything about it , With a excellent credit rating why didn't they just do what they told me they would? So what they do is screw their customers and give the highest rating for their own benefit .It will cost me over 1500 dollars more if I make all the payments. Instead I'm going to pay off the car with the first payment. They outright lied to me .. Pay close attention to what they are pulling , better yet don't go there at all. Update: 11 days later and no registration I called DMV and was told they haven't even received the paperwork on the car yet. STAY AWAY ! Michael

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Walter , Frank
September 17, 2019

"Service department nightmare "

- Angry customer

I brought my 2012 CX-9 in for service. There is water leaking out of a floor vent in the passenger side whenever I make a left turn. They supposedly took care of the problem. Drive the car home and still water is coming out of the vent. Called them to explain that I was still having the same problem and was told to just drive it for a week and it should stop. Of course that didn’t solve the problem so I brought the car back a 2nd time. Again they said the car is fixed now we found a stick in the drain for condensation... I take the car home and after the AC is on for a short time water continues to leak... the carpet is completely soaked and I’m worried about mildew or mold. I call the service department and explain to them the inconvenience of now having to bring the car back a 3rd time for what should have been fixed correctly to begin with. Both my wife and I work and we have to shuttle toddlers back and forth to pre-school on top of working different shifts in an operating room. The very rude and unsympathetic service employee I was speaking to grew tired of me explaining my situation to him and said “ we are done here” and hangs up the phone on me. I have never been treated so poorly by a “service department” in my life.... I have been a long time customer of Cooley Mazda but I will never do business with them again... I apologize for the very long rant....

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Various service department employees
August 09, 2019

"Incompetent"

- Jake Blues

I own a Mazda CX-9, which has a known problem, the "transfer case". Our car was making a noise, which my mechanic localized to the transfer case. He suggested taking it in to the dealer to get the issue diagnosed. Brought it to Cooley for a diagnostic exam. After a half hour of work, they declared that it needed a new transmission, but that the transfer case was fine. They "heard a sound" in the transmission. Estimated cost, $6k. I took the vehicle to a transmission guy, who actually disassembled the drive train and determined that Cooley had it exactly backwards: the transmission was fine, it was the transfer case that was bad. I understand that they didn't take the thing apart and were making a guess based on limited info. What I don't know is what would have happened had I let them do the work. My strong sense was that they were going to freight in the transmission and just go ahead and swap it out. But the bigger issue is, a Mazda shop should be the ultimate expert at diagnosing a Mazda problem, but there seemed to be very little actual effort expended in this diagnostic process. Not recommended.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Unknown
March 20, 2019

"Horrible Customer Service"

- Sarah428

I have been to Cooley several times over the last 4 months. At first Olga (the saleswoman), was very pleasant and accommodating. I really felt that she was willing to work with me to get me the best price for the vehicle that I wanted. Unfortunately, the payments were still a bit too high for me at that particular time, so I took HER advice and waited until March to get the best Mazda lease deal. I finally went back there this afternoon, ready to get serious about leasing the vehicle that I was interested in and even saved a good portion of my tax return to put more money down on the car that I wanted (I didn't tell them that I had more $$$ to put down, of course because I wanted them to negotiate the msrp). Upon arriving, I was immediately given an attitude by Olga and by her sales manager who insinuated that I "trashed them on Facebook" all because I commented on a FB post a week or so ago giving specific details that this dealership purposely left out when people were commenting that it was a great deal (Cooley was advertising a 2019 Mazda CX 5 for $179/month and I commented that in order to get that price, you had to put 15% msrp down which was over $6400- not including tax, title, registration, or acquisition fees- for a base/sport CX 5 that you would be giving back in 3 years.... how is that "trashing"? It is 100% the truth according to Cooley themselves when I called about this deal and had to talk to 2 people to get answers because they weren't even aware of the post). Well, the appointment went downhill from there and the manager basically told me that Olga wouldn't be able to negotiate the msrp price on the particular vehicle that I was looking to lease. They immediately tried to quickly get me out the door after mentioning 3 separate times that I "trashed them" and they also proceeded to interrogate me several times about going to DePaula Mazda to get a better price on the CX 5. News flash.... that's called car shopping! You guys aren't the only fish in the sea, nor should you be. Screw them! I'll gladly take my business somewhere else if they're not willing to negotiate. Their customer service skills suck and they are all clearly sneaky and childish. A manager should not introduce himself to you then immediately say, "nice to meet you in person rather than seeing you bad mouthing us on Facebook". Get it through your heads Cooley, I didnt bad mouth you... I mentioned key details that you failed to disclose to potential customers in an effort to not waste their time like you wasted mine. Anyways, I've heard many horror stories about Cooley and read numerous bad reviews about them on FB, Yelp, and Google. Bottom line is, walking away from their dealership today was clearly a blessing in disguise. I would rather work with DePaula Mazda. At least they don't have sneaky sales reps. Stay classy Cooley!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Olga Busch
February 10, 2019

"Nonsense service "

- Murali

Though it can be finished in less than 1 hr, they said it will take 1.5 hrs but finished in less than 1hr. Still they charged for 1.5 hr for labour charges.. Will never go there, and worst experience with staff over there..

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Not sure
December 29, 2018

"Easily the worst customer service experience of my life."

- astanners

My recent experience at Cooley Motors was easily the worst customer service I have ever experienced. I would avoid going here at any and all costs. -I called in a service appointment request on Fri the 21st. -Per their request I dropped off the car on Wed the 26th first thing in the morning for a 2hr service. -I called 4.5hrs later and got an answering machine. -I received a call back 35 mins later stating “I was told something about your car by the service supervisor but I forgot because I’ve had a few calls, I’ll have him call you.” -This continues on with me calling 3 more times up until 4:45 when I finally got the services manager on the phone who told me he had a few items on my car to discuss and asked if he could call back in 2 minutes when he had my work sheet. NO CALL -5:15 PM now 15 minutes before close I asked if I could have my car back. They told me to come in (no other info) I went to the dealership and was told they couldn’t do the recall they stated they were going to because my fuel level was high (no call anytime during the 9hrs for me to come and drive it to waste some fuel). The major issue I was experiencing (fuel door not opening) was no fixed even though I called asking for that part to be replaced and set an appointment so they could get parts in and ready. The only item they did do was replace my key fob battery. Now I’m driving with no ability to refuel, quickly running out of gas and their answer was we will call in the part FIRST thing in the AM on the 27th. They stated I would receive a call that morning and even re confirmed my phone number. It is now Saturday the 29th and I have yet to receive a call. This is the absolute worst organized business I have ever seen and the Cooley’s should be ashamed to have their name on the door.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Services Manager, Services Coordinator at main desk (Art I believe)
November 27, 2018

"Awful Customer Service"

- S.Proper

I went to Cooley when my lease from them was ending to lease another vehicle. I met with Zach Williams who maybe spent an hour with me between the two times we met and he could not give me he price I wanted. He even stated that I could go to any other dealership and they would not beat the price he gave. He continued to text me day after day asking if I had decided on the car to make the deal without giving me a better price. Well I did go to another dealership who not only gave me a better price, but a better price on a nicer car. Zach continued to text, not call, text me incessantly and when I finally told him that I found a better deal he ask “how I could possibly have done this to him after jerking him around for six weeks wasting his time (we had only been talking for less than 3 weeks) that he wished he knew where I worked so he could come in and waste my time and then go somewhere else”. He was completely inappropriate and unprofessional. I have never been treated so badly by a customer service representative. I will never go back or reccomend Cooley to anyone looking to buy or lease a car and if I could give a no star review I would.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Zach Williams
1
...
1 - 10 of 83 results