Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Dorschel Volkswagen

Rochester, NY

not yet
rated
102 Reviews

3817 West Henrietta Road

Rochester, NY

14623

Directions

102 Reviews of Dorschel Volkswagen

Sort by
September 18, 2021

"I need a seatbelt in my 2015 VW GTI. I work full-time and..."

- rhodessharone

I need a seatbelt in my 2015 VW GTI. I work full-time and take care of my 8-month-old infant full-time. I wanted to avoid making multiple trips to the dealership because such trips require me to take time off of work and, because there is no mask mandate and infants cannot be masked or vaccinated, it requires me to sit outside the dealership while waiting for service. Accordingly, I called to ask that the parts be ordered. I provided the VIN and was assured that the part would be in (I even offered to pay for it ahead of time), I called later and confirmed that the part had come in. When I took my GTI in for service I waited with my infant in carrier for over an hour, in the sun, on a patio next to a dead bird. I had to change his diaper there. Finally, I was called and informed that the dealership did not actually have the part and that I would have to come back again later. I lost more than half a day of work to this chore and was given nothing in recompense and hardly even an apology. I also put a deposit on a new key from this same dealership--paying about $200--and was told that I would be called when it came in. I never received a call but eventually confirmed that a key came in. However, I have no time to go back to the dealership for either the seatbelt or the key (and I have to assume that the key will take at least two more trips). It seems I'm out the $200, my lost wages, and I still need a new seatbelt and key. I would prefer to give a "negative star" rating, but that is not an option. Additionally, I've now left many voicemails for various managers at Bob Johnson/Dorschel (there was some sort of merger but the signage is only half-changed) and have heard nothing back.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
unknown
May 19, 2020

"I bought a Jetta in 2013 and knew I wanted to go back in..."

- K2161988

I bought a Jetta in 2013 and knew I wanted to go back in the future! Everything went smoothly and I love my car! Kudos!

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chelsea and James
November 19, 2019

"Complete waste of time"

- Sean

Today I brought my car to Dorschel Volkswagen to get a flat tire repaired. I dropped my car off at 7:15 am, spoke with the service department about how I needed the flat tire replaced. I was dropped off at my work by their friendly shuttle driver. At noon, I received a text from Dorschel that included a hyperlink which brought me to a list of additional recommended services that totaled approximately $ 1500-2000 dollars. It stated that I could refuse the additional services and that they would still complete the original service as discussed. I called to confirm that my car was ready at the end of the day. They said that it was and then forwarded my call to the technician who worked on my car and the call went straight to voicemail. I had to get a ride from work back to Dorschel (their shuttle keeps weird hours, stops at 4pm). When I arrived, I saw my car parked out front with the donut still on the car. It was a little after 6pm so no one from service was still there. The woman who was working the cashier’s desk was very busy fielding complaints from multiple customers. When it was my turn, she got me an invoice that said that I “refused all services” and my keys. She was kind and was trying her best to be helpful but she is not a service technician and no one left any message with her as to why they decided to not fix my tire as agreed upon. Dorschel Volkswagen wasted an entire day with my car for nothing and now I have to put a number of extra miles driving around on a donut, in search of competent professionals who are capable of fixing a flat tire.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Andy Honan
November 10, 2019

"Worst service, there are two Volkswagen dealerships in..."

- H

Worst service, there are two Volkswagen dealerships in Rochester and dorschel will never get my business. I was interested in a 2018 Tiguan but they did not have any on site, I requested to test drive a 2019 Tiguan because the body style is the same as 2018 and I wanted to see how it felt driving. Because they did not have a used 2019 on site as well, they refused to allow me to test drive one of the new 2019 tiguans. I was told it would be one year until I would be able to find a 2018 Tiguan. This is not true, there are several throughout the state and they were just not at dorschel. Because they didn’t have a car on site they thought they could sell me that day, no test drive. I value building relationships and good customer service, if in the future there is a Tiguan. I will not buy from dorschel.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris holdrigde
September 12, 2019

"Arrogant & Defensive"

- jz1961

Initially called to inquire about a car & the advertised price. Talked to several different employees about the seemingly high price. They all became quite defensive and acted like I was trying to “steal” the car from them. When all was said & done and I finally talked to a non-arrogant human there (Mark in sales) thank God for Mark! I was right...the car was “accidentally” overpriced by $10,000.00.! Seems like they would rather not go the extra mile to figure out an error-instead accuse & blame the customer instead. I bought my car elsewhere as you should too.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Alan, Stephanie, Carrie, Chris, Rick, Kevin, Mark, Paul.
August 25, 2019

"Always professional"

- Robert1235

I continue to do business with Dorschel over the years because I can count on them to offer good deals on quality automobiles and excellent service at fair prices. The sales and service people are always professional,courteous,and,helpful. Mark Houser worked with me to reach a good deal on my 4th Tiguan which was equipped just the way I wanted it. Why go anywhere else?

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mark Houser
August 19, 2019

"Lame Operation, you guys should be on que more"

- Tranquility

How do you guys stay in business? Poor customer service, vehicle repair takes way longer, can't talk to to anyone except the receptionist, for updates, sad

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service,
December 01, 2017

"Burnt my clutch and will not fix it"

- 2016GTI

Horrible experience over all. Dropped off my 2016 GTI for a bumper cover replacement, they joy drove my car, burnt out my clutch. And then they took my car apart for “diagnosis” and then assumed that I abuse my vehicle and which I DO NOT. And then said that I have to pay labor to put my car back together after they took it apart (they did not disclose that with me before taking it apart even though I asked). I drove my car in and it was perfectly fine and picked it up with a slipping clutch. But they didn’t stop there. As I went to pick my car up (torn apart) they did not bother to move my car out of their service lift/bay for the flat bed to pick it up. They had me, my brother and a friend push the car out ourselves to get it outside and on the flat bed. I dealt with Chris Kist and Ryan Beattie who’s the VW/Maserati/Alfa Romeo service manger.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris Kist, Ryan Beattie
September 14, 2017

"NEVER AGAIN!"

- ineffables

If you love yourself, stay away from this place! I have never experienced such abysmal service from a dealership. It's shameful. I've been three times -- each one worst than the last. These fools will schedule you for an appointment to fix something and then tell you they don't have the part. How? Now something that should've taken 2 hours takes 24 hours. Not sorry. No f*cks given. Just a Kanye shrug. No loaners but you can get this airport-like 90 minutes to go 10 minutes away because it's a gen-pop super shuttle. Don't do it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris Kist
August 15, 2017

"Service is Slooooow"

- DorsxhelVWcustomer

Every time I go in for VW service it takes OVER 2 hrs. Even for simple oil changes and inspections. I ALWAYS make an appointment and still end up stuck there for 2 to 3 hours. And the real kicker is, I see my technician taking a breakfast or lunch break in the middle of my service. Who does that? After 3 VW's from Dorschel, Never will I buy a car from them again.

Read More
Customer Service
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kris
1
...
1 - 10 of 102 results